Qualities of a disciple – Are you a disciple Jesus defined in Matt 10:37-42?

Thirteenth Sunday in Ordinary Time

2 Kings 4:8-11,14-16A

One day Elisha came to Shunem, where there was a woman of influence, who urged him to dine with her. Afterward, whenever he passed by, he used to stop there to dine. So she said to her husband, "I know that Elisha is a holy man of God. Since he visits us often, let us arrange a little room on the roof and furnish it for him with a bed, table, chair, and lamp, so that when he comes to us he can stay there." Sometime later Elisha arrived and stayed in the room overnight. Later Elisha asked, "Can something be done for her?" His servant Gehazi answered, "Yes! She has no son, and her husband is getting on in years." Elisha said, "Call her." When the woman had been called and stood at the door, Elisha promised, "This time next year you will be fondling a baby son."

Romans 6:3-4, 8-11

Brothers and sisters: Are you unaware that we who were baptized into Christ Jesus were baptized into his death? We were indeed buried with him through baptism into death, so that, just as Christ was raised from the dead by the glory of the Father, we too might live in newness of life. If, then, we have died with Christ, we believe that we shall also live with him. We know that Christ, raised from the dead, dies no more; death no longer has power over him. As to his death, he died to sin once and for all; as to his life, he lives for God. Consequently, you too must think of yourselves as dead to sin and living for God in Christ Jesus.

Matthew 10:37-42

Jesus said to his apostles: "Whoever loves father or mother more than me is not worthy of me, and whoever loves son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me; and whoever does not take up his cross and follow after me is not worthy of me. Whoever finds his life will lose it, and whoever loses his life for my sake will find it. "Whoever receives you receives me, and whoever receives me receives the one who sent me. Whoever receives a prophet because he is a prophet will receive a prophet's reward, and whoever receives a righteous man because he is a righteous man will receive a righteous man's reward. And whoever gives only a cup of cold water to one of these little ones to drink because the little one is a disciple— amen, I say to you, he will surely not lose his reward."

Today’s readings matter a lot to us since they define the qualities of a disciple, but we have to expound the meaning of these qualities before we can confidently say we are the “defined disciple” in Matt 10:37-42.

2 Kings records the story of the Shunammite woman, who gives high regards to prophet Elisha, calls him a holy man of God, takes the initiative to invite him to dinner, and prepares him lodging to ease his tiring itineraries (2Kings 4:9, NABRE). Because of her devotion and persistence, she gains her reward: she is granted a son after her long barren years.

Besides being like the Shunammite woman, having faith in God, giving reverence to pastors, taking initiative and being persistent in charity, what other qualities should a “defined disciple” possess? Jesus in Matt 10:37-39 offers us an important guideline : “Whoever loves father or mother more than me is not worthy of me, and whoever loves son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me; and whoever does not take up his cross and follow after me is not worthy of me. Whoever finds his life will lose it, and whoever loses his life for my sake will find it.” (NABRE) Let’s see what Jesus means here.

To begin, family ties and worldly values surely pale before spiritual priorities, and Jesus has shed light on this: “What profit would there be for one to gain the whole world and forfeit his life? Or what can one give in exchange for his life” (Matt 16:26, NABRE)? A “defined disciple” cares for his / her family for sure, but his / her evangelizing mission is more compelling.

Next, a “defined disciple” has to take up his / her cross, which involves self-denial: “Whoever wishes to come after me must deny himself, take up his cross, and follow me”, but what does self-denial mean (Matt 16:24, NABRE)? Well, self-denial means acting like Jesus, doing God’s will in spite of all odds.

Lastly, MK 8:35: “Whoever loses his life for my sake and that of the gospel will save it…(NABRE) clarifies what is said in Matt 10:37 because the evangelist has added the word ‘Gospel’, so a “defined disciple” who loses his or her life for the sake of the Gospel will be rewarded. Many commentators say to “find life” means finding spiritual life, while some say it means finding one’s true self. Undoubtedly, following the Lord and living out our call and mission can let us find our true self.

Jesus then goes on to talk about rewards: “Whoever receives you receives me, and whoever receives me receives the one who sent me. Whoever receives a prophet because he is a prophet will receive a prophet’s reward, and whoever receives a righteous man because he is righteous will receive a righteous man’s reward. And whoever gives only a cup of cold water to one of these little ones to drink because he is a disciple—amen, I say to you, he will surely not lose his reward” (Matt 10:40-42, NABRE).

Reward in Greek is a trading term; it means you will receive what you give. Jesus’ promise of rewards definitely gives encouragement and hope to the disciples: “Rejoice and be glad, for your reward will be great in heaven…”(Matt 5:12, NABRE); “And everyone who has given up houses or brothers or sisters or father or mother or children or lands for the sake of my name will receive a hundred times more…”(Matt 19:29, NABRE). One important reminder is reward is purely God’s generosity, and we can only say: “We are unprofitable servants; we have done what we were obliged to do” (Luke 17:10, NABRE).

Prophets are God’s spokesman in the Old Testament, and Paul says: “Some people God has designated in the church to be, first, apostles; second, prophets; third, teachers…”, so prophets are people who evangelize, and evangelization is the mission of all Christians (1 Cor 12:28, NABRE). How can this come about? It is because in the resurrected Christ, we are driven by the Holy Spirit to fulfill the mission of prophets: “We were indeed buried with him through baptism into death, so that, just as Christ was raised from the dead by the glory of the Father, we too might live in newness of life”, and like the Shunammite woman’s son, we are newly created (Rom6:4, NABRE).

Prophet Micah defines a righteous man by saying: “Only to do justice and to love goodness, and to walk humbly with your God” (Mic 6:8, NABRE). To be righteous, Jesus wants us not only to keep the commandments, but to live out the spirit of the law; He asks the rich young man to give away worldly treasure (Matt19:21-30, NABRE); He makes us see only God will bandage and heal in the Good Samaritan (Lk 10:30-37, NABRE); He wants us to forgive instead of penalizing (Jn 8:3-11, NABRE); so a “defined disciple” is a righteous person who practices detachment, readily forgives, is merciful, and lives a fruitful life in the Lord.

Both Jesus’ disciples and Matthew’s community face great challenges in their missionary journey, so when Jesus says those who offer the disciples a cup of cold water would be rewarded, He wants people to be kind to his disciples, who need encouragement badly. Likewise, our Lord wants His disciples to be supportive to each other; a cup of cold water is the symbol of mutual support.

To sum up, qualities of a disciple include taking the initiative, being devoted and persistent, willing to take up one’s cross, doing God’s will, fulfilling the mission of a prophet, being righteous, and supportive to brothers and sisters in the missionary journey. Based on the messages of today’s readings, we can conclude if we are the “defined disciple” Jesus describes in Matt 10:37-42.

Something to take home
1.As a disciple, do you often hide in your comfort zone? Do you take the initiative and are persistent in evangelization? If you think you are incompetent, have you started to equip yourself such as joining a bible class? Many non-Catholics joined our parish activities, have you ever thought of sharing our faith with them?
2.If your family do not support your evangelizing activities, will you then give up spreading the Good News? Have you tried to change their way of thinking?
3.How would you understand “taking up the cross and deny oneself”?
4.How would you offer your brothers and sisters a cup of cold water?
5.Do you think Jesus’ reminder to the disciples in Matt 10:37-42 is warning or encouragement?

Posted: June 28, 2020

Grace Liu

 
作者阿信為天主教徒,香港聖神修院宗教學學士(夜間神學首間畢業生)。香港中文大學翻譯系碩士,羅馬傳信大學神學碩士(S.T.L.)。一直從事翻譯及英語教授工作, 曾為香港公教真理學會翻譯多本作品。著作有:「驀然回首 ─ 靈修之旅」(論盡神學出版社,2004年),「寄往天鄉的信」 (論盡神學出版社,2005年),「呵氣如蘭:舊約聖經硏讀及反省」(塔冷通心靈書舍出版,2010年) ,「上主的照拂•如蘭 – 香在無心處」(塔冷通心靈書舍出版, 2018年)。阿信現居溫哥華,致力推廣聖經閱讀,主要是向教友介紹釋經家對聖經的看法,在堂區主持聖言邂逅團體已近廿年,分別主持舊約及新約聖經課程。 Grace is a holder of Sacred Theology Licentiate, Pontifical Urban University of Rome. Bachelor of Religious Sciences & of Sacred Theology, Holy Spirit Seminary College of Theology & Philosophy (H.K.). Master of Translation, The Chinese University of Hong Kong. Grace has translated many works for the HK Catholic Truth Society and has been working as English tutor. She is the author of 4 books, one of which is on the reading and reflections of the Old Testament. Grace has been O.T and N.T instructor of the Encounter of the Word Bible group in her parish for over 20 years.


Other Sunday Reflections

How do we prepare for Advent in this unprecedented time?
In the beginning of the Advent season, we are waiting, watching, expecting, and preparing ourselves for the coming of a Savior. With the entire globe weathering COVID-19, the highly infectious… Continue Reading >
The Shepherd and the King
Jesus is no ordinary king. Like David, his Old Testament type, he is a Shepherd-King. Continue Reading >
Is the rich getting richer and the poor getting poorer?
In God's kingdom of eternal joy, there is no shortage of resources nor discrimination of treatment. Continue Reading >

門徒的素質 – 你是位稱職的門徒嗎?

常年期第十三主日

列王紀下 4:8-11,14-16

有一天,厄里叟路過叔能;那裡有一個富貴的婦人,曾經挽留他吃飯。因此,厄里叟每次路過那裡,總到她家裡吃飯。婦人對丈夫說:「現在我看出:這個時常路過我們這裡的天主的人,是位聖者。我們可以在房頂上,給他蓋一間小房,裡面放一張床,一張桌子,一把椅子和一盞燈。這樣,他幾時來到我們這裡,都可以在那裡休息。」有一天,厄里叟又到了那裡,就進入那間小房休息。厄里叟問僕人革哈齊,說:「我們究竟能為這婦人做什麼?」革哈齊回答說:「可憐她沒有兒子,丈夫又老了。」厄里叟說:「快叫她來!」僕人就將那婦人叫來。那婦人站在門口;厄里叟就對她說:「明年這時,你必懷抱著一個兒子。」

羅馬書 6:3-4,8-11

弟兄姊妹們:難道你們不知道:我們受過洗,歸於基督耶穌的人,就是受洗,歸於他的死亡嗎?我們藉著洗禮,已歸於死亡,與他同葬了,為的是基督怎樣藉著父的光榮,從死者中復活了,我們也怎樣在新生活中度生。所以,如果我們與基督同死,我們相信也要與他同生,因為我們知道:基督既從死者中復活,就不再死;死亡不再統治他了,因為他死,是死於罪惡,僅僅一次;他活,是活於天主。你們也要這樣,看自己是死於罪惡,在基督耶穌內,活於天主的人。

瑪竇福音 10:37-42

那時候,耶穌對宗徒說:「誰愛父親或母親,超過我,不配是我的人;誰愛兒子或女兒,超過我,不配是我的人。誰不背起自己的十字架,跟隨我,不配是我的人。誰要獲得自己的生命,必要喪失生命;誰為我的原故,喪失了自己的生命,必要獲得生命。「誰接納你們,就是接納我;誰接納我,就是接納那派遣我來的。「誰接納一位先知,因為他是先知,將領受先知的賞報。「誰如果給這些小子中的一個,一杯涼水喝,只因他是門徒,我實在告訴你們,他決不會失去他的賞報。」

今個主日的讀經對我們來說事關要緊,因為它們講的是門徒的素質,我們先要弄清楚一個稱職的門徒應該是怎樣的,然後才能反省自己是否一位稱職的門徒。

列下4記載了叔能婦人的故事,她對厄里叟先知非常尊敬,稱他為天主的聖者(列下4:9),而且為人主動又堅持,常常招待先知,為他預備住的地方,使先知在旅途中有舒適休憩的地方。就是因為她的主動、熱心,使她羸得最大的賞報:不育的她生了一個兒子。

作為門徒,除了像叔能婦人一樣信靠主,尊敬教會牧者、愛德工作主動、堅持外,還要做什麼?耶穌在瑪10:37-39給我們重要的提示:「誰愛父親或母親超過我,不配是我的;誰愛兒子或女兒超過我,不配是我的。誰不背起自己的十字架跟隨我,不配是我的。誰獲得自己的性命,必要喪失性命;誰為我的緣故,喪失了自己的性命,必獲得性命」。耶穌這些話有甚麼意思?

首先,家庭和世上所有價值的優次對比屬靈生命的優次顯然是稍遜的,因為耶穌也解釋過:「人縱然賺得了全世界,卻賠上了自己的靈魂,為他有什麼益處?或者,人還能拿什麼作為自己靈魂的代價」(瑪16:26);一個稱職的門徒當然愛家人,但福傳的使命比留在家庭的安逸窩更具迫切性。

此外,稱職的門徒要背起十字架,棄絕自己,就像瑪16:24所說:「誰若願意跟隨我,該棄絕自己,背著自己的十字架來跟隨我 」,什麼是棄絕自己呢?那就是像耶穌一樣,勇敢地在各種困厄中承行天父的旨意。

最後,谷8:35:「因為誰若願意救自己的性命,必要喪失性命;但誰若為我和福音的原故,喪失自己的性命,必要救得性命」澄清了瑪10:37的意思,因為馬爾谷加了「福音」,意思就明顯了;那就是稱職的門徒為了傳福音而失去生命必獲得賞報。很多釋經家認為獲得「性命」是指靈性的生命,但也有釋經家解作「成為真正的自己」,的確,門徒的被召就是為了跟隨主,活出召叫和使命才能成為真正的自己。

接下來耶穌講賞報:「誰接納你們,就是接納我;誰接納我,就是接納那派遣我來的。誰接納一位先知,因為他是先知,將領受先知賞報;誰接納一位義人,因他是義人,將領受義人的賞報。誰若只給這些小子中的一個,一杯涼水喝,因他是門徒,我實在告訴你們,他決失不了他的賞報」(瑪10:40-42)。

「賞報」的希臘文是商業用語,即付出和獲得成正比。如今耶穌對門徒說賞報為使門徒在福傳的挑戰中重新有勇氣、有盼望:「你們歡喜踴躍罷!因為你們在天上的賞報是豐厚的」(瑪5:12);「並且,凡為我的名,捨棄了房屋、或兄弟、或姊妹、或父親、或母親、或妻子、或兒女、或田地的,必要領取百倍的賞報,並承受永生」(瑪19:29),但賞報完全是天主的慷慨,並非我們可以自誇,我們只可以說:「我們是無用的僕人,我們不過做了我們應做的事」(路17:10)。

舊約的先知是天主的代言人,在格前12:28保祿說:「天主在教會內所設立的:第一是宗徒,第二是先知,第三是教師……」,可見先知是宣揚福音的人,也就是所有的基督徒的使命。稱職的門徒如何作先知?那是因為在復活的基督內,我們充滿了聖神去行先知之職:「我們藉著洗禮已歸於死亡與他同葬了,為的是基督怎樣藉著父的光榮,從死者中復活了,我們也怎樣在新生活中度生」(羅6:4),而我們的賞報就像叔能婦人的兒子一樣,有改造了的新生。

至於舊約義人的定義是:「上主要求於你的是什麼:無非就是履行正義,愛好慈善,虛心與你的天主來往」(米6:8),但耶穌要求的不光是守誡命,更要明白法律的精神;例如祂叫富少年要捨棄財物 (瑪19:21-30);「慈善的撒瑪黎雅人」(路10:30-37) 讓我們看到只有天主才會慈悲地治癒受傷跌倒的人;此外還要以寬恕代替懲罰 (犯姦淫的婦人 – 若8:3-11);由此可見稱職的門徒也是個義人,他能捨棄世間財富,富有天主的慈悲、能以寬恕代替懲罰,而他們的賞報就是在主內享有豐盛的生命。

無論耶穌的門徒或瑪竇的團體在福傳的途上都充滿挑戰,所以當耶穌說如果有人給卑微的門徒一杯涼水喝,也會有賞報,目的就是鼓勵人善待門徒,讓他們在充滿挑戰的福傳途中得到主的應許而鼓舞。最後,主也鼓勵門徒要彼此鼓勵、支持,一杯涼水就是象徵。
總而言之,門徒的素質包括在福傳使命上主動、堅持、願意背起十字架、行天父的旨意,作先知、作義人、和福傳工作上的弟兄姊妹互相支持鼓勵。既然明白了門徒的素質,我們也是時候反省自己是否一位稱職的門徒。

反省
1.作為門徒,我們在福傳的使命上有主動和堅持嗎?有沒有常藉口沒有信心而躲在安樂窩中?如果真的覺得自己不夠裝備,那末有開始充實自己嗎?例如閲讀聖經,參加聖經班?在堂區活動中,有很多非教友,作為門徒的我們,有想過自己有向他們福傳的責任嗎?
2.家人的彼此支持很重要,但如果因為家人不支持福傳活動,作為門徒的我們,可會因此而卻步不前?或就此放棄?有想過改變家人的想法嗎?
3.對「背十字架棄絕自己」你有什麼領會?
4.你如何給福傳的弟兄姊妹一杯涼水喝?
5.你認為耶穌在瑪10:37-42的提示對門徒是警告還是鼓勵?

阿信

Posted: June 28, 2020

Grace Liu

 
作者阿信為天主教徒,香港聖神修院宗教學學士(夜間神學首間畢業生)。香港中文大學翻譯系碩士,羅馬傳信大學神學碩士(S.T.L.)。一直從事翻譯及英語教授工作, 曾為香港公教真理學會翻譯多本作品。著作有:「驀然回首 ─ 靈修之旅」(論盡神學出版社,2004年),「寄往天鄉的信」 (論盡神學出版社,2005年),「呵氣如蘭:舊約聖經硏讀及反省」(塔冷通心靈書舍出版,2010年) ,「上主的照拂•如蘭 – 香在無心處」(塔冷通心靈書舍出版, 2018年)。阿信現居溫哥華,致力推廣聖經閱讀,主要是向教友介紹釋經家對聖經的看法,在堂區主持聖言邂逅團體已近廿年,分別主持舊約及新約聖經課程。 Grace is a holder of Sacred Theology Licentiate, Pontifical Urban University of Rome. Bachelor of Religious Sciences & of Sacred Theology, Holy Spirit Seminary College of Theology & Philosophy (H.K.). Master of Translation, The Chinese University of Hong Kong. Grace has translated many works for the HK Catholic Truth Society and has been working as English tutor. She is the author of 4 books, one of which is on the reading and reflections of the Old Testament. Grace has been O.T and N.T instructor of the Encounter of the Word Bible group in her parish for over 20 years.


其他主日反省

甲年(瑪竇) 常年期第十三主日:代價與賞報 吳智勳神父

今日的福音裡,耶穌用具體例子說明門徒的代價和賞報。 首先,作為耶穌的門徒,生活中的選擇應以基督為首位。耶穌的例子有點剌耳,好像愛父母子女與愛基督不能兩全。其實,當時的基督徒在選擇跟隨基督時,往往與猶太教或外教的家人發生衝突,聽從父母子女能成為愛天主的障礙。門徒的代價就是在矛盾的環境中,放基督在首位。

繼續閱讀 >
求真務實 Fr. Jusin Huang

上週,我們談到了克服害怕說真話的問題。今天的主題是求真務實。你們中的許多人都要求我談論種族主義的話題,所以讓我們竭盡所能來探討有關種族主義的真相。讓我們試著找出什麼在道德上是正確的,什麼是事實,以及我們如何才能為根除它做出貢獻。

繼續閱讀 >