Seeking the Truth

Thirteenth Sunday in Ordinary Time

2 Kings 4:8-11,14-16A

One day Elisha came to Shunem, where there was a woman of influence, who urged him to dine with her. Afterward, whenever he passed by, he used to stop there to dine. So she said to her husband, "I know that Elisha is a holy man of God. Since he visits us often, let us arrange a little room on the roof and furnish it for him with a bed, table, chair, and lamp, so that when he comes to us he can stay there." Sometime later Elisha arrived and stayed in the room overnight. Later Elisha asked, "Can something be done for her?" His servant Gehazi answered, "Yes! She has no son, and her husband is getting on in years." Elisha said, "Call her." When the woman had been called and stood at the door, Elisha promised, "This time next year you will be fondling a baby son."

Romans 6:3-4, 8-11

Brothers and sisters: Are you unaware that we who were baptized into Christ Jesus were baptized into his death? We were indeed buried with him through baptism into death, so that, just as Christ was raised from the dead by the glory of the Father, we too might live in newness of life. If, then, we have died with Christ, we believe that we shall also live with him. We know that Christ, raised from the dead, dies no more; death no longer has power over him. As to his death, he died to sin once and for all; as to his life, he lives for God. Consequently, you too must think of yourselves as dead to sin and living for God in Christ Jesus.

Matthew 10:37-42

Jesus said to his apostles: "Whoever loves father or mother more than me is not worthy of me, and whoever loves son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me; and whoever does not take up his cross and follow after me is not worthy of me. Whoever finds his life will lose it, and whoever loses his life for my sake will find it. "Whoever receives you receives me, and whoever receives me receives the one who sent me. Whoever receives a prophet because he is a prophet will receive a prophet's reward, and whoever receives a righteous man because he is a righteous man will receive a righteous man's reward. And whoever gives only a cup of cold water to one of these little ones to drink because the little one is a disciple— amen, I say to you, he will surely not lose his reward."

Last week, we talked about overcoming the fear of speaking the truth. Today, the theme is seeking the truth. Many of you have asked me to address the topic of racism, so let’s seek the truth as best we can regarding racism. Let’s try to find out what’s morally true, what are the facts, and how we can contribute to its eradication.

[Listen to Fr. Justin’s homily here.]
Part 1 : http://thejustmeasure.ca/wp-content/uploads/2020/06/p1-Homily-June-28-2020.mp3
Part 2 : http://thejustmeasure.ca/wp-content/uploads/2020/06/p2-Homily-June-28-2020.mp3

[Watch Fr. Justin’s homily delivery here.]
https://youtu.be/8ZJi6jHXUeM

Jesus’ teaching in the Gospel gives us guidance in our search for truth:

1) He says, “Whoever loves father or mother more than me is not worthy of me; and whoever loves son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me” (Mt 10:37). This teaching was just as difficult for people in Jesus’ time as it is for us, because family relationships were extremely important back then (Curtis Mitch & Edward Sri, The Gospel of Matthew in Catholic Commentary on Sacred Scripture, 148). Do we love Jesus more than our family? As we’ve said many times, to love Jesus more than our family doesn’t mean to love them less, but to love them more than we already do. That said, as the Catechism states, family ties are important, but they’re not absolute (2232).

Jesus says that He is truth (Jn 14:6), so let’s look again at His teaching, ‘Whoever loves father or mother more than [truth] is not worthy of me; and whoever loves son or daughter more than [truth] is not worthy of me.’ This is good, because when we love truth even above our family, then we can no longer be pushed around by false opinions or manipulated by the crowd.

Most of us will need to train ourselves to love the truth above all else, because we were raised to believe that all truth is subjective or that family and relationships are the most important criteria for life.

2) “Whoever does not take up their cross and follow me is not worthy of me” (Mt 10:38). Jesus is not only telling us to bear inconveniences but be ready to suffer a shameful death in order to follow Him. Remember, crucifixion in Roman times was meant to intimidate whole populations into conformity: They would crucify criminals in public, along roads, to warn others not to go against their rule. So, to follow Jesus and the truth means a cross will come and we shouldn’t be surprised (Daniel Mueggenborg, Come Follow Me, Year A, 212-213).

3) “Whoever finds their life will lose it, and whoever loses their life for my sake will find it” (Mt 10:39). Conforming ourselves to truth means we lose our life in the sense that we’re constantly adapting what we currently know to reality, and this is like a daily dying to self. You know how we sometimes feel badly when we change our mind about something? It’s similar to when I realized that I couldn’t see people for spiritual direction anymore as a pastor . When I accepted the truth that, as pastor, I had to focus on the sacraments, preaching, and leadership, an old part of me had to die. But I found a better life, if you will, because I could love people more authentically, and ultimately, it was better for all of you.

Some of us are stubborn and cling to our opinions even when we receive new factual information, and, while it may feel good never ‘to admit we were mistaken,’ we’re just fooling ourselves, because, in the end, we’re following something false. Life is not about appearing right in front of others, and the point of discussions is not to win, but to find the truth . That means we must follow the truth wherever it leads us. And if that means changing our opinion, so be it. There is so much freedom here. When I discovered this, I could never lose a discussion anymore! Because I wasn’t in it to win! The win is when I learn the truth!

So let’s now try to seek the truth with regard to racism.

1) The first point is to start with moral principles. It should be obvious to everyone that racism is a grave moral evil (CCC 1935). We should feel a righteous anger whenever someone is unjustly discriminated against, and I hope all of us do. It’s good that everyone was outraged at the death of George Floyd, the way he suffered, and the way four men who are supposed to protect us contributed to his death.

Some of us also have been personally affected by racism. It happened in my family. I told you how some members of the Chinese side of my family at one point wouldn’t accept my Caucasian mother . A survey by Angus Reid, for example, showed that half of Chinese Canadians have been insulted since the pandemic started, and 43% have been threatened or intimidated. To seek the truth, we need to acknowledge the deep pain many people, including some of us, have experienced, and then try to heal.

We should also do everything we morally can to end racism, which means not ever being racist ourselves, teaching others not to be racist, and correcting people when they are. We should participate in events and peaceful protests to end racism, but, as Christians, most importantly pray for conversions of heart.

There should also be a condemnation of riots and looting, because the ends don’t justify the means. To say riots are wrong does not mean we’re being light on racism. One error is that because racism is so heinous, any means is necessary to end it or it’s understandable if people riot. Evil cannot be corrected by more evil.

We must follow moral forms of protest, as in 1955, in Alabama, 40,000 black Americans refused to take the bus to and from work and crippled the city’s buses financially.

There should also be a healthy respect towards police officers and all lawful authority. This doesn’t mean we can never criticize them; respect means we hold them to a high standard.

2) Search for the facts. While moral principles on racism are clear, sometimes concrete facts are disputed. Is there systemic racism in Canada? How much? Against whom? How much corruption is there in the police? What are the facts regarding racism in Canada as opposed to the U.S. and other countries? Some might object to these questions even being raised, thinking there are obvious answers. There may be obvious answers, but people are still allowed to ask questions in order to verify the facts.

Right now, there’s a strong tendency to shout people down who disagree with the common consensus—this isn’t right. In order for people to think and learn, they need to be able to ask questions and listen for answers. Many people are against racism but it’s possible to disagree on what we know about the current situation and the best way to fight it.

Here are four very important principles about having discussions:

1) When we lay out the facts as we know them, we need to be dispassionate, and not force people to accept them immediately.

2) Focus on one topic, rather than jumping around. Many people make sweeping statements about racism in Vancouver, then nationalize it to Canada, then back to their personal experience, etc. In order to find the truth, we need to focus our statements. 3) Qualify our statements: When we make assertions, specify exactly what we’re talking about, for example, the time period, the place, the actual words of the person we’re quoting, etc. 4) Modify our position within the discussion. When we’re searching for truth in a discussion, we’ll constantly affirm whatever is accurate in what the other person is saying, and we may even modify our position based on more information.

I recently had a discussion with two teenagers here and they changed my mind on certain points about racism. I cite this example because anyone can change my mind. In this case, we were focused in our discussions, not jumping around making claims we couldn’t back up, and I was open to modifying what I knew.

3) Learn to be critical and recognize bias in media sources. Just as we discussed with regard to our treatment of police, there should be also a healthy respect towards the media. This means holding them to a high standard of impartiality. I never used to think the mainstream media had a bias until 20 years ago when I saw that pro-life marches were almost never covered by the media, or given disproportionately poor coverage. And then I saw repeatedly negative press about socially conservative values.

What about now with regard to racism? I honestly didn’t think there would be any bias, until watching Global National daily and I started to wonder: Why aren’t they giving enough coverage to the riots as I see on other news outlets? Having watched and checked every Global National episode from May 27 to June 23, they covered the riots only five out of 28 days, and it was only 11% of their overall time reporting on racism. Considering that, by June 3, at least 300 law enforcement personnel had been injured , 17 innocently killed , including a number of black Americans , these riots should have better treatment.

I also saw this short clip of what I would call two reporters outright lying. ( View at 1:48 to 2:50 and then 3:32 to 3:42.)

If there were a caravan of pro-lifers in cars swearing and throwing bottles and doing graffiti, how do you think the media would respond? And if a pro-family group set a building on fire, would they say it’s ‘not unruly’? This doesn’t mean that every media outlet is not telling the truth, but I’m now extremely skeptical of what I’m being told by Global National and CNN, and MSNBC. Anything they say on racism I need to verify or check the other side of the story.

4) Black Lives Matter—should Catholics support it? The largest group that takes this name is the Black Lives Matter Global Network Foundation. They want to eliminate racism, but, according to their own website, they advance LGBT ideology, seek to “dismantle the Western-prescribed nuclear family structure” and, “When we gather, we do so with the intention of freeing ourselves from the tight grip of heteronormative thinking” , which means that heterosexualilty is the default human sexual orientation.

Deacon Harold Burke-Sivers, a Black Catholic on EWTN, said, “‘Marching to protest the inequitable treatment of black people by those in authority—that’s good.’ However, the policies espoused by the Black Lives Matter [Global Network Foundation] on family and sexuality constitute ‘a radical feminist agenda disguised as a movement for “Black Lives Matter.” No Catholic can support the national organization, whatsoever'”.

Gloria Purvis, another Black Catholic, said: “It’s a mistake to say that Black Lives Matter—the organization—is the head of this movement… For me, as a… devout Catholic, as a loyal daughter of the Church, I have no problem saying ‘Black Lives Matter.’ I know it doesn’t make me a member of the organization.” That point is worth re-emphasizing: black lives do matter and we should stand up for them, but without supporting the Black Lives Matter Global Network Foundation.

Purvis also said, “Some Catholics hesitate to attend protests… because they say that not only ‘black lives matter,’ but that ‘all lives matter… Purvis explained that the phrase ‘Black Lives Matter’ is not meant to devalue the lives of others, and while all lives do matter, she has observed that ‘in practice’ in the U.S., ‘what we’ve seen is that black lives don’t.'”

I was shocked when I watched a six-minute interview of the former president of the Greater New York Black Lives Matter, Hawk Newsome. He actually said, “If this country doesn’t give us what we want, then we will burn down this system and replace it. All right? And I could be speaking … figuratively. I could be speaking literally. It’s a matter of interpretation… I don’t condone nor do I condemn rioting… I just want black liberation and black sovereignty, by any means necessary” . I was thrilled to see that Black Lives Matter Global Network distanced itself from these comments! But then I wondered, “Why didn’t they condemn his not condemning the riots, his ‘burning down the system,’ or ‘by any means necessary’?” If anyone else used this language, it would be condemned.

That’s why there are healthy debates among Catholics whether we should even use the hashtag BlackLivesMatter. We all agree that we need to fight against racism while not supporting a group that advocates against the foundation of the human family and marriage, which are critical for human flourishing. But there is disagreement as to the implications of using the hashtag. On the one hand, to the average person, that hashtag usually means that we’re against racism; on the other hand, if we use the hashtag, we could inadvertently be supporting a group that has some very harmful moral principles. It seems to me that we should all simply know what we’re saying and to whom.

Finally, Bishop Edward Braxton, another black Catholic, wrote that most leaders of the Black Lives Matter movement reject the Church’s teaching on sexuality and abortion and “others… are reluctant to work with the Church because they think Catholics have not done enough to fight racism.” However, he still dialogues with them and presents the Church’s teaching on race as well as sexuality. He “wrote that all Catholics have an obligation to work for racial justice in the framework of Catholic teaching about the dignity of the human person, and the sanctity of human life, and to work, above all, for conversion.”

These three Catholic leaders are showing us a way forward to end racism. Their search for truth while remaining faithful to Catholic teaching, acknowledging the real facts of racism, and then mobilizing people against it, is inspiring and comes from their relationship with Jesus. They see the truth clearly because they love Jesus more than their family; they’ve taken up their cross and have been misunderstood by many; and they’ve lost their life in the sense that they’ve adapted themselves constantly to the truth, who is Jesus Christ Himself.

Source: The JustMeasure: Seeking the Truth

Posted: June 28, 2020

Fr. Jusin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


Other Sunday Reflections

Eighteenth Sunday In Ordinary Time
How to turn our littleness into greatness?
"Incline your ear, and come to me; listen, so that you may live"(Is 55:3) Continue Reading >
Eighteenth Sunday In Ordinary Time
Would You Bring Only the Old or the New?
What does Jesus teach about the Kingdom of God? What is the significance of rejecting the ideologies of both left and right, the idolatry of both the new and the… Continue Reading >
Eighteenth Sunday In Ordinary Time
How to Ask for the Best Gifts
"At Gibeon the Lord appeared to Solomon in a dream by night; and God said, 'Ask what I should give you'" (1 Kg 3:5).—This is what God is saying to… Continue Reading >

求真務實

常年期第十三主日

列王紀下 4:8-11,14-16

有一天,厄里叟路過叔能;那裡有一個富貴的婦人,曾經挽留他吃飯。因此,厄里叟每次路過那裡,總到她家裡吃飯。婦人對丈夫說:「現在我看出:這個時常路過我們這裡的天主的人,是位聖者。我們可以在房頂上,給他蓋一間小房,裡面放一張床,一張桌子,一把椅子和一盞燈。這樣,他幾時來到我們這裡,都可以在那裡休息。」有一天,厄里叟又到了那裡,就進入那間小房休息。厄里叟問僕人革哈齊,說:「我們究竟能為這婦人做什麼?」革哈齊回答說:「可憐她沒有兒子,丈夫又老了。」厄里叟說:「快叫她來!」僕人就將那婦人叫來。那婦人站在門口;厄里叟就對她說:「明年這時,你必懷抱著一個兒子。」

羅馬書 6:3-4,8-11

弟兄姊妹們:難道你們不知道:我們受過洗,歸於基督耶穌的人,就是受洗,歸於他的死亡嗎?我們藉著洗禮,已歸於死亡,與他同葬了,為的是基督怎樣藉著父的光榮,從死者中復活了,我們也怎樣在新生活中度生。所以,如果我們與基督同死,我們相信也要與他同生,因為我們知道:基督既從死者中復活,就不再死;死亡不再統治他了,因為他死,是死於罪惡,僅僅一次;他活,是活於天主。你們也要這樣,看自己是死於罪惡,在基督耶穌內,活於天主的人。

瑪竇福音 10:37-42

那時候,耶穌對宗徒說:「誰愛父親或母親,超過我,不配是我的人;誰愛兒子或女兒,超過我,不配是我的人。誰不背起自己的十字架,跟隨我,不配是我的人。誰要獲得自己的生命,必要喪失生命;誰為我的原故,喪失了自己的生命,必要獲得生命。「誰接納你們,就是接納我;誰接納我,就是接納那派遣我來的。「誰接納一位先知,因為他是先知,將領受先知的賞報。「誰如果給這些小子中的一個,一杯涼水喝,只因他是門徒,我實在告訴你們,他決不會失去他的賞報。」

(本篇譯稿為黃謙善神父主日講道,若內容有不一致的情況,一概以英文原稿為準。)

上週,我們談到了克服害怕說真話的問題。今天的主題是求真務實。你們中的許多人都要求我談論種族主義的話題,所以讓我們竭盡所能來探討有關種族主義的真相。讓我們試著找出什麼在道德上是正確的,什麼是事實,以及我們如何才能為根除它做出貢獻。

耶穌在福音中的教導給我們尋找真理的指引:

1)祂說:「誰愛父親或母親超過我,不配是我的;誰愛兒子或女兒超過我,不配是我的。」(瑪10:37)  這種教導對耶穌時代的人和我們這個時代一樣困難,因為家庭關係在當時是極其重要的((Curtis Mitch & Edward Sri, The Gospel of Matthew in Catholic Commentary on Sacred Scripture, 148))。我們愛耶穌勝過愛我們的家人嗎?正如我們多次說過的那樣,愛耶穌勝過愛我們的家人並不意味著不愛他們,而是比以往更愛他們。也就是說,正如天主教教理所說,家庭紐帶很重要,但不是絕對的(2232)。

耶穌說祂是真理(若14:6),所以讓我們再看看祂的教導,「誰愛父親或母親超過[真理],不配是我的;誰愛兒子或女兒超過[真理],不配是我的。」(若14:6)  這是好的,因為當我們熱愛真理甚至高於我們的家庭時,我們就不會再被錯誤的意見擺佈,也不會再被人群操縱了。

我們大多數人都需要訓練自己熱愛真理高於一切,因為我們從小就相信所有的真理都是主觀的,或者認為家庭和人際關係是生命最重要的標準。

2)「誰不背起自己的十字架跟隨我,不配是我的。」(瑪10:38)  耶穌不僅告訴我們要忍受不便,而且要準備好承受可恥的死亡,以便跟隨祂。記住,在羅馬時代,把人釘死在十字架上是為了阻嚇所有的人,讓他們順從:他們會在公共場合,道路邊,把罪犯釘在十字架上,警告其他人不要違背他們的統治。所以,跟隨耶穌和真理意味著十字架將會到來,我們不應該感到驚訝(Daniel Mueggenborg, Come Follow Me, Year A, 212-213)

3)「獲得自己的性命,必要喪失性命;誰為我的緣故,喪失了自己的性命,必要獲得性命。」(瑪10:39) 順應事實意味著我們失去了生命,因為我們不斷地將我們目前所知的東西順應現實,這就像是每天都在進行自我死亡。你知道當我們改變主意的時候我們有時會有多難受嗎?就像當我意識到不能再以神師的身份引導人們的靈修一樣。當我接受了這樣一個事實,作為神父,我必須專注於禮儀、講道和領導,我的舊我必須死去。但我找到了更好的生活,如果你願意的話,因為我可以更真誠地愛別人,最終,這對你更好。

我們一些人即使在收到新的事實信息時仍然固執地堅持自己的觀點,儘管我們永遠不去承認自己的錯可能會感覺很好,但我們只是在自欺欺人,因為最終,我們遵循的是錯誤的東西。生命不是為了在別人面前表現自己是對的,討論的重點不是為了取勝,而是找到真理。這意味著無論真理指引我們走到哪裡我們必須跟隨它。如果這意味著必須改變我們的看法,那就順應吧。我們多麼自由。當我發現這一點時,我再也不會在任何討論中失敗了!因為我參與討論不是為了贏!對我來說,當我知道真相的時候,才算是勝利!

所以現在讓我們試著去尋找有關種族主義的真相。

(1)首先是從道德原則做起。每個人都應該清楚種族主義是一種嚴重的道德罪惡 。 (CCC,1935) 每當有人受到不公正的歧視時,我們都應該感到義憤填膺,我希望我們所有人都是這樣想的。每個人都對喬治•弗洛伊德George Floyd的死亡感到憤怒,他遭受的痛苦,以及四個本應保護我們的人卻導致他死亡,這種義憤是件好事。

我們有些個人也受到過種族主義的影響。這事也發生在我家。我告訴過你們我家的一些華人成員一度不接受我的白人母親。 例如,安格斯•里德(Angus Reid)的一項調查顯示,自疫情開始以來,一半的華裔加拿大人受到侮辱,43%的人受到威脅或恐嚇。 為了尋求真相,我們需要認識到許多人,包括我們中的一些人,經歷了深深的痛苦,然後設法治愈。

我們還應該盡己所能在道義上結束種族主義,這意味著永遠不要做種族主義者,教導別人不要這樣做,並在人們這樣做的時候糾正他們。我們應該參加活動和和平抗議來結束種族主義,但身為教徒最重要的是祈禱心靈的轉變。

還應該譴責騷亂分子和搶劫的惡劣行為,因為最終不法的手段是不正確的。說騷亂是錯誤的,並不意味著我們對種族主義掉以輕心。一個錯誤的理解是:因為種族主義是如此令人髮指,如果人們想結束種族主義而不擇手段製告騷亂,或者認為人們騷亂是可以理解的。邪惡是不能被更多的邪惡所糾正。

我們必須遵循道義上的抗議形式,就像1955年在阿拉巴馬州,40,000名美國黑人拒絕乘坐公交車上下班,使該市的公交車在財務上陷入癱瘓,還應該尊重警察和所有合法權力。這並不是說我們永遠不能批評他們,尊重是指我們對他們的要求很高。

(2)實事求是。雖然關於種族主義的道德原則是明確的,但有時具體的事實是有爭議的。加拿大是否存在系統性種族主義?有多大的程度?對付誰?警察中有多少腐敗?與美國和其他國家相比,加拿大關於種族主義的事實是什麼?

一些人甚至可能會反對提出這些問題,認為答案顯而易見。答案可能是顯而易見的,但人們仍允許提問以核實事實。

目前,有一種強烈的趨勢是,對不同意共同共識的人大喊大叫–這是不對的。為了讓人們思考和學習,他們需要提問和傾聽答案。許多人反對種族主義,但對於當前形勢的了解以及抗爭最佳的方式,我們可能會持不同意見。

有四個非常重要的討論原則:1)當我們陳述我們所知道的事實時,我們需要冷靜,而不是強迫人們立即接受它們。 2)專注於一個話題, 不要東拉西扯,以免分散主題。

許多人在溫哥華髮表關於種族主義的概括性聲明,然後將其國際化到加拿大,然後回到他們的個人經歷等等。為了找到真相,我們需要集中我們的聲明。 3)限定你的陳述:當我們做出斷言時,準確地說明我們所說的是什麼,例如,我們引用的人的時間段、地點、實際話語等。 4)修改你在討論中的立場。當我們在討論中尋找真相時,我們會不斷地肯定對方所說的話,甚至可能會根據更多的信息來修改我們的立場。

我最近與兩名青少年就種族問題進行了一次討論,他們改變了我對種族主義某個觀點的看法。我舉這個例子是因為任何人都可以改變我的想法。在這種情況下,我們專注於我們的討論,而不是跳躍著提出我們不能支持的主張,我對修改我所知道的事情持開放態度。

(3)學會批判,認清媒體來源的及其偏見。正如我們討論過如何對待警察一樣,對媒體也應該有健康的尊重。這意味著對他們保持高標準,包括他們的公正性。我過去從來不認為主流媒體有偏見,直到20年前,我看到媒體幾乎從來沒有報導過維護生命的遊行,或者給出了不成比例的糟糕的報導。然後,我多次看到媒體對社會保守價值觀持負面看法。

現在關於種族主義的情況如何?老實說,我本來不認為會有任何偏見,直到看了環球國家日報,我開始懷疑:為什麼他們沒有像我在其他新聞媒體上看到的那樣,對騷亂進行足夠的報導?他們查看了從五月二十七日至六月二十三日的環球電視台的每一集,它們於28 天內只報導了五天即只有百分之十一的種族主義暴亂…想想傷患的數目。 (?)。我還看了這段短片,我稱之為兩名記者徹頭徹尾地撒謊(從1點48分到2點50分,然後從3點32分到3點42分)。如果有一群生命維護者在車裡罵人、扔瓶子、塗鴉的大篷車,你認為媒體會作何反應?如果支持家庭的組織放火焚燒一座大樓,他們會說這不是不守規矩的嗎?

這並不意味著每家媒體都在說實話,但我現在不再對環球電視台、CNN和MSNBC所說的話深信不疑。他們關於種族主義的任何言論,我都需要核實或核實故事的另一面。

(4)「黑人的生命也重要」  天主教徒應該支持這標語嗎?使用這個名字的最大的組織是黑人生命也是全球網絡基金會 (Black Lives Matter Global Network Foundation)。他們想要消除種族主義,而且根據他們自己的網站,他們推進同性戀意識形態,尋求「拆除西方規定的核心家庭結構,內容說:「當我們聚集在一起時,我們這樣做的目的是將我們自己從異性戀思維的牢牢控制中解放出來,這意味著異性戀是默認的人類性取向

哈羅德•伯克-西弗斯執事(Deacon Harold Burke-Sivers)在EWTN上一名黑人天主教徒,他說,「遊行抗議當權者對黑人的不公平待遇–這很好。然而,「黑人的生命也很重要」「全球網絡基金會Global Network Foundation」所擁護的家庭和性政策構成了“一場偽裝成”「黑人的生命也重要Black Lives Matter」運動的激進女權主義議程。任何天主教徒不管是怎樣都不能支持這個國家組織,

另一位黑人天主教徒格洛麗亞•普爾維斯(Gloria Purvis)說「黑人的生命也很重要Black Lives Matter」,這場運動的頭目是錯誤的。對我來說,作為一名虔誠的天主教徒,作為教會的忠實女兒,我毫不猶豫地說黑人的生命很重要。但我知道這並不能讓我成為該組織的一員。 」

這一點值得再次強調:黑人的生命確實很重要,我們應該為他們挺身而出,但我們不應該在支持「黑人的生命也很重要」全球網絡基金會(Black Lives Matter Global Network Foundation)的情況下去做。 Gloria Purvis 還說「一些天主教徒在參加抗議活動時猶豫不決…。因為他們說不僅「黑人的生命很重要,「所有的生命都很重要All Lives Matter。普爾維斯解釋說,「黑人的生命很重要這句話並不意味著貶低其他人的生命,雖然所有的生命都很重要,但她觀察到,在美國,「實際上」,我們看到的的確是,黑人的生命並不重要。 」

這也就是為什麼天主教徒中有一場健康的辯論,我們是否應該使用「黑人的生命也很重要BlackLivesMatter」這標語。 我們都同意,我們需要與種族主義作鬥爭,而不是支持一個主張反對人類家庭和婚姻基礎的團體,這對人類的繁榮至關重要。但對於使用這個標題的含義存在分歧。對於普通人來說,這個標籤通常意味著我們反對種族主義;但我們可能無意中支持了一個有一些非常有害的道德原則的群體。在我看來,我們都應該清楚地知道我們在說什麼,對誰說。

最後,另一位黑人天主教徒愛德華•布拉克斯頓主教Bishop Edward Braxton在牧函中寫到(Black Lives Matter)運動的大多數的領導人拒絕教會在性和墮胎方面的教導;「運動中的其他人不願與教會合作,因為他們認為天主教徒在打擊種族主義方面做得不夠。

儘管如此,主教還是與這運動的領導人對話,介紹教會在關於種族的教義,以及關於性的教義。布拉克斯頓主教寫道,所有天主教徒都有義務在天主教關於人的尊嚴和生命的神聖的教義框架內為種族正義而工作,最重要的是為皈依而工作。

這三位天主教領袖為我們指明了一條結束種族主義的前進道路。他們對真理的追求,同時忠於天主教教義,承認種族主義的真實事實,然後動員人們反對種族主義,這一切都來自於他們與耶穌的關係。他們清楚地看到了真相,因為他們愛耶穌勝過愛他們的家人;他們背起了十字架,被許多人誤解;他們失去了生命,因為他們不斷地服膺真理,也就是耶穌基督自己。

Posted: June 28, 2020

Fr. Jusin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


其他主日反省

門徒的素質 – 你是位稱職的門徒嗎? Grace Liu

在今日的讀經,耶穌告訴我們門徒的素質,讓我們反省自己是否一位稱職的門徒。

繼續閱讀 >
甲年(瑪竇) 常年期第十三主日:代價與賞報 吳智勳神父

今日的福音裡,耶穌用具體例子說明門徒的代價和賞報。 首先,作為耶穌的門徒,生活中的選擇應以基督為首位。耶穌的例子有點剌耳,好像愛父母子女與愛基督不能兩全。其實,當時的基督徒在選擇跟隨基督時,往往與猶太教或外教的家人發生衝突,聽從父母子女能成為愛天主的障礙。門徒的代價就是在矛盾的環境中,放基督在首位。

繼續閱讀 >