Take, bless, break, give

Solemnity of the Most Holy Body and Blood of Christ

Genesis 14:18:20

In those days, Melchizedek, king of Salem, brought out bread and wine, and being a priest of God Most High, he blessed Abram with these words: "Blessed be Abram by God Most High, the creator of heaven and earth; and blessed be God Most High, who delivered your foes into your hand." Then Abram gave him a tenth of everything.

1 Corinthians 11:23-26

Brothers and sisters: I received from the Lord what I also handed on to you, that the Lord Jesus, on the night he was handed over, took bread, and, after he had given thanks, broke it and said, "This is my body that is for you. Do this in remembrance of me." In the same way also the cup, after supper, saying, "This cup is the new covenant in my blood. Do this, as often as you drink it, in remembrance of me." For as often as you eat this bread and drink the cup, you proclaim the death of the Lord until he comes.

Luke 9:11B-17

Jesus spoke to the crowds about the kingdom of God, and he healed those who needed to be cured. As the day was drawing to a close, the Twelve approached him and said, "Dismiss the crowd so that they can go to the surrounding villages and farms and find lodging and provisions; for we are in a deserted place here." He said to them, "Give them some food yourselves." They replied, "Five loaves and two fish are all we have, unless we ourselves go and buy food for all these people." Now the men there numbered about five thousand. Then he said to his disciples, "Have them sit down in groups of about fifty." They did so and made them all sit down. Then taking the five loaves and the two fish, and looking up to heaven, he said the blessing over them, broke them, and gave them to the disciples to set before the crowd. They all ate and were satisfied. And when the leftover fragments were picked up, they filled twelve wicker baskets.

The miracle story in today’s Gospel Reading has been recounted by all of the four evangelists (rf Mt 14:13-21, Mk 6:31-44, Lk 9:11-17, Jn 6:1-14). Obviously, this miracle, with its Eucharistic colouring, is considered of paramount importance in the primitive apostolic preaching. The early Christians perceived that it was a prophecy-in-act which foretold Jesus at the Last Supper and later at their own breaking of the bread (rf Acts 2:42). Indeed, the Church recognizes the closeness of the parallel in the very actions of Jesus (take, bless, break and give) that this four-fold action becomes the central and essential part of her liturgical celebration. As often as we hear or see these four words, we think of Communion; but these very words have already been realized in Jesus’ life . . .

With only five loaves, two fish but a few thousand people, Jesus in His compassion, nevertheless took up what was available – a gesture of willingness to do something for others against all odds. In His love for us, He took “the form of a slave, being born in human likeness . . .” (Phil 2:7). He willingly took up the cross, laid upon Himself all of our offences and by His death, took away the sins of the world.

Jesus blessed the bread and the fish. In Hebrew tradition, to bless a meal is to give thanks for it. Jesus gave thanks to His Father for His provisions even though they were scanty. And though He is God, but as the Son, Jesus often thanks His heavenly Father in prayers (rf Mt 11:25, Lk 10:21, Jn 11:40-42). He is thankful even at the Last Supper when facing His imminent death which is according to His Father’s will (rf Mk 14:22-23, Mt 26:25-28, Lk 22:17-20).

Jesus broke the bread and gave them to His disciples to be distributed among the hungry crowd. The bread has to be broken in order to be given and shared. By sharing, “all ate and were satisfied” (Lk 9:17). There was even leftover to be gathered up. As the Bread of Life, Jesus was broken on the cross so that becoming food Himself, He gave us eternal life. In Holy Communion, Jesus being present in the form of bread, is broken into many pieces. By eating and sharing this broken bread, we who are many are gathered together and become one in Christ (rf 1 Cor 10:17).

Inasmuch as these four words summarized Jesus’ life, they reflect a pattern of our Christian life as well. In baptism, we take on a new identity as God has taken us as His children. We are blessed and with a grateful attitude, we give thanks for all the grace and gifts we receive. We are broken by pain, grief and disappointments in life, but God gives us strength to start anew each time we turn to Him for help.

Not limited to the earthly aspects, these four words also act as the pointers for our spiritual lives as Christians. Modelling the gestures of Jesus, we should accept the lives that God has given us. We should place our trust in His beneficence and love, and take up our daily cross as the crucible of His design and will. With a thankful spirit, we should be grateful for everything that God provides, even though they seem to have little or no value at all. We should break up our pride, selfishness and bad habits. We should share the gifts we have received and give ourselves in service to others. In this way, not only do we become “salt of the earth” and “light of the world” (rf Mt 5:13-16), but also as bread – taken, blessed, broken and given – for each other. In this way, our lives would be truly Eucharistic in nature like Jesus.

Lord, as you took the bread, your body,
take us , bless us, break us, give us to others,
so that in you we may be instruments of salvation for the world.
Amen
(Taken from Living with Christ Sunday Missal 2018-2019 Pg 613)
Posted: June 23, 2019

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


Other Sunday Reflections

“Why are you afraid? Have you still no faith?” (Mk 4:40)
We must entrust to Christ for He alone can bring us to the safe haven of salvation Continue Reading >
Heaven Is Full of Cinderella Occupants
Blessings do not go to the powerful people, but to the humble and lowly ones: the poor, the mournful, the meek, and the hungry (cf. Mt 5:3-7). Continue Reading >
Giving the Body for Others
I’ve never forgotten what the spiritual writer, Kimberly Hahn, said about the C-section scars on her stomach.  She was saddened by them, but her husband said that maybe the marks would… Continue Reading >

拿起、祝福、擘開、 發給

基督聖體聖血節

創世紀 14:18-20

那時候,至高者天主的司祭,撒冷王默基瑟德,帶來了餅酒,祝福亞巴郎,說:「願天地的主宰、至高者天主降福你!至高者天主既將你的敵人交於你手,願天主受讚美!」亞巴郎於是將所得的,拿出十分之一,給了默基瑟德。

格林多前書 11:23-26

弟兄姊妹們:這是我從主所領受的,我也傳授給你們:主耶穌在他被交付的那一夜,拿起餅來,祝謝了,擘開,說:「這是我的身體、為你們而犧牲的;你們應這樣做,為紀念我。」晚餐後,又同樣拿起杯來,說:「這杯是用我的血,所立的新約;你們每次喝,應這樣做,為紀念我。」的確,直到主再來,你們每次吃這餅,喝這杯,你們就是宣告主的死亡。

路加福音 9:11-17

那時候,耶穌向群眾講論天主的國,並治好了那些急需治療的人。天將要黑的時候,那十二人,前來對耶穌說:「請遣散群眾,叫他們到附近的村莊田舍,去投宿覓食,因為我們這裡是荒野。」耶穌卻向他們說:「你們給他們食物吧!」他們回答說:「我們只有五個餅和兩條魚,除非我們親自去給這些人購買食物。」原來男人已大約有五千。耶穌於是對自己的門徒說:「叫眾人分組坐下,約五十人一組。」門徒就照樣做了,叫眾人坐下。耶穌於是拿起那五個餅和兩條魚,望天,祝福了,擘開,遞給門徒,叫他們擺在群眾前。眾人吃了,也都飽了;他們把所剩下的碎塊,收集了十二筐。

本主日福音讀經裏面的奇蹟故事,四位福音作者(參考 瑪 14:13-21, 谷 6:31-44, 路 9:11-17, 若 6:1-14)都有記載。明顯地,這個帶着聖體聖事色彩的奇蹟,對於宗徒初期的傳道宣講,極為重要。早期基督徒察覺到這是以行動來預像,預言耶穌的最後晚餐和後來他們自己的擘餅 (參考 宗 2:42)。教會也承認耶穌這組動作 (拿起、祝福、擘開、發給) 的預像對比,因此這四個動作成為感恩祭獻的中心, 禮儀中必需的部份。而通常當我們聽到或看見這四個文字,我們會不其然地想及聖體聖事;但這些文字,在耶穌的生命中,已經實踐了 . . .

只有五餅、二魚但數千人,耶穌在祂的同情中,還是拿起可用得到的所有 — 這表示祂願意在任何困難裏也為別人做些事情。為愛我們,祂拿取了「奴僕的形體,與人相似 . . .」(斐 2:7)。祂願意拿起十字架,把我們的所有過犯,放在自己身上,並以自己的聖死,洗去世人的罪惡。

耶穌祝福了餅和魚。以希伯來人的習俗,祝福餐膳就是祝謝感恩。耶穌感謝祂父親所賜予的,雖然所賜的並不豐富。即使祂是天主,但以聖子的身份,耶穌經常在祈禱時,感謝祂在天的父親 (參考 瑪 11:25, 路 10:21, 若 11:40-42)。在最後晚餐中,即使因遵從聖父旨意,面對即將來臨的死亡,祂還是感恩(參考 谷 14:22-23, 瑪 26:25-28, 路 22:17-20)。

耶穌把餅擘開,遞給門徒,讓他們分給飢餓的群眾。餅要被擘開和砸碎,才能把它分給大家共享。因肯分享,「眾人吃了,也都飽了」(路 9:17),還有剩下的可以收集。作為生命之糧,耶穌在十字架上被砸碎,祂成為食糧,給了我們永生。在聖體聖事內,耶穌臨在麵餅之內,也被擘開砸碎為多塊。我們雖多, 但共享了那擘開砸碎的餅後,也被聚集在一起,在基督內成為一體(參考 格前 10:17)。

這四個文字,不但概括了耶穌的一生,亦反映出我們基督徒的生活模式。在聖洗聖事內,我們拿了一個新的身份,因天主拿了我們為祂的子女。我們蒙受祝福,懷著感恩的心,感激我們所得的恩寵和賜予。我們的生命,被痛苦、悲傷和失望所砸碎 , 但每次我們向天主求助時,祂都會給予我們力量,讓我們能重新開始。

除了在俗世生活的層面外,這四個字也是我們基督徒屬靈生活的指標。我們應該仿傚耶穌的舉動, 接受天主給我們的生命。我們應該信靠祂的至善和仁愛,背起每天的十字架,十字架上盛載着天主的安排和旨意。懷著感恩的心,我們應該感激天主給我們的一切,雖然這一切好像是微小或甚至沒有什麼價值。我們應該砸碎自己的驕傲、自私和壞習慣。應該將自己得到的恩典與人共享,奉獻自己,為人服務。這樣,我們不只成為「地上的鹽」和「世界的光」(參考 瑪 5:13-16),也會成為彼此的餅 — 被拿起、被祝福、被擘開及被分給大家。這樣,我們的生命就會像耶穌一樣,擁有聖體聖事的真正特質。

上主,當你拿起麵餅,你的身體時
也拿起我們,祝福我們,擘開我們,把我們分給別人
好讓在祢內,我們可以成為救世的工具
亞孟
取自《與基督生活》主日彌撒經書 2018-2019 第 613 頁
Posted: June 23, 2019

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


其他主日反省

聖體文化 Fr. Jusin Huang

幾個月前,有兩則不好的消息:1)有人在網上銷售聖體。上面寫著:「真正由天主教神父祝聖的聖體!共有九個!德國製造! 署名“撒旦教 黑彌撒」。黑彌撒是一種崇拜魔鬼並嘲笑天主教彌撒的儀式。賣彌家聲稱是由一位參與秘密撒旦教的神父提供的—但這沒法得到證實,但其實我不感到驚訝,因為德國的教會已經一團糟了。德國的主教們自己也教導違背天主教教義的道理。

繼續閱讀 >
丙年基督聖體聖血節:信仰的高峰 吳智勳神父

聖體聖事是「整個基督徒生活的泉源與高峰」(《教會憲章》11),也集信仰的大成。每當神父祝聖了聖體聖血後,大家一同歡呼歌頌:「基督,我們傳報你的聖死,我們歌頌你的復活,我們期待你光榮地來臨。」這幾句話表達了基督徒最高的德行:愛德、信德和望德。讓我們對這幾句話作反省。

繼續閱讀 >