“The appearance of his face changed, and his clothes became dazzling white” (Luke 9:28)

Second Sunday of Lent

Genesis 15:5-12,17-18

The Lord God took Abram outside and said, “Look up at the sky and count the stars, if you can. Just so,” he added, “shall your descendants be.” Abram put his faith in the LORD, who credited it to him as an act of righteousness. He then said to him, “I am the LORD who brought you from Ur of the Chaldeans to give you this land as a possession.” “O Lord GOD,” he asked, “how am I to know that I shall possess it?” He answered him, “Bring me a three-year-old heifer, a three-year-old she-goat, a three-year-old ram, a turtledove, and a young pigeon.” Abram brought him all these, split them in two, and placed each half opposite the other; but the birds he did not cut up. Birds of prey swooped down on the carcasses, but Abram stayed with them. As the sun was about to set, a trance fell upon Abram, and a deep, terrifying darkness enveloped him. When the sun had set and it was dark, there appeared a smoking fire pot and a flaming torch, which passed between those pieces. It was on that occasion that the LORD made a covenant with Abram, saying: “To your descendants I give this land, from the Wadi of Egypt to the Great River, the Euphrates.”

Philippians 3:17-4:1

Join with others in being imitators of me, brothers and sisters, and observe those who thus conduct themselves according to the model you have in us. For many, as I have often told you and now tell you even in tears, conduct themselves as enemies of the cross of Christ. Their end is destruction. Their God is their stomach; their glory is in their “shame.” Their minds are occupied with earthly things. But our citizenship is in heaven, and from it we also await a savior, the Lord Jesus Christ. He will change our lowly body to conform with his glorified body by the power that enables him also to bring all things into subjection to himself. Therefore, my brothers and sisters, whom I love and long for, my joy and crown, in this way stand firm in the Lord.

Luke 9:28B-36

Jesus took Peter, John, and James and went up the mountain to pray. While he was praying his face changed in appearance and his clothing became dazzling white. And behold, two men were conversing with him, Moses and Elijah, who appeared in glory and spoke of his exodus that he was going to accomplish in Jerusalem. Peter and his companions had been overcome by sleep, but becoming fully awake, they saw his glory and the two men standing with him. As they were about to part from him, Peter said to Jesus, “Master, it is good that we are here; let us make three tents, one for you, one for Moses, and one for Elijah.” But he did not know what he was saying. While he was still speaking, a cloud came and cast a shadow over them, and they became frightened when they entered the cloud. Then from the cloud came a voice that said, “This is my chosen Son; listen to him.” After the voice had spoken, Jesus was found alone. They fell silent and did not at that time tell anyone what they had seen.

This Sunday’s Gospel Reading is Luke’s account of Jesus’ transfiguration. While He prays on a mountain “The appearance of his face changed, and his clothes became dazzling white” (Luke 9:29). Moses and Elijah also appear in glory and they speak to Jesus “of his exodus, which he was about to accomplish at Jerusalem” (Luke 9:31). The transfiguration ends with the climax when “from the cloud came a voice that said, ‘This is my Son, my Chosen; listen to him!’” (Luke 9:35).

In his Angelus of February 25, 2018, Pope Francis explained that the transfiguration is related to what happened six days before, when Jesus reveals to his disciples that in Jerusalem he will “suffer many things. He will be rejected by the elders and chief priests and teachers of the Law and put to death. Then after three days he will be raised to life” (Luke 9:22).

The Pope said that the announcement is a challenge to Peter and the whole group of disciples, who reject the idea that Jesus is to suffer and die. By leading Peter, James and John to a high mountain and showing them his glory – the glory of the Son of God – Jesus enables them to face His Passion in a positive way.

Pope Francis encouraged his audience to climb up with Jesus on the mountain, to stop with Him, to be more attentive to the voice of God and to allow oneself to be enveloped and transformed by the Spirit. It is important to live out the experience of contemplation and prayer and to enjoy intimacy with God.

Personally, the transfiguration account has always been uplifting and inspiring. I remember once driving by the church on a dull day when my heart was quite burdened with the news from a very dear friend who was stricken with a mysterious ailment for almost a year. Tests after tests were done but there was no conclusive diagnosis. While one could say that no news is good news but the discomfort caused by the symptoms and the anxiety of the seemingly endless wait was very trying to the patient and the family. So on this dreary day, I decided to stop by the church to pray. I went into the chapel hoping to find some solace before the Blessed Sacrament. Although I was like the disciples who were “weighed down with sleep” but “stayed awake” yet for some reason, I was able to talk to Jesus almost right away, telling Him all that was on my mind. When I left after a brief stay, the burden was lifted from my heart. It was as if I had a moment of transcendence in which my faith was strengthened just when it began to dwindle under the cares of the world.

Posted: March 17, 2019

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


Other Sunday Reflections

Repent or Perish
Repent or perish (Lk 13:5). Jesus meant every word he said. Continue Reading >
“The appearance of his face changed, and his clothes became dazzling white” (Luke 9:28)
Pope Francis encouraged us to climb up with Jesus on the mountain, to be more attentive to the voice of God and to allow oneself to be enveloped and transformed… Continue Reading >
Our own forty days in the desert
This Sunday’s Gospel Reading is Luke’s account of Jesus’ transfiguration. While He prays on a mountain “The appearance of his face changed, and his clothes became dazzling white” (Luke 9:29).… Continue Reading >

「他的面容改變,他的衣服潔白發光」(路9:28)

四旬期第二主日

創世紀 15:5-12,17-18

那時候,上主領亞巴郎到外面,說:「請你仰觀蒼天,數點星辰,你能夠數清嗎?」又對他說:「你的後裔也將這樣。」亞巴郎相信了上主,上主就以此算為亞巴郎的正義。上主又對亞巴郎說:「我是上主,我從加色丁人的烏爾,領你出來,是為將這片土地,賜給你作為產業。」亞巴郎說:「我主上主!我怎能知道我要佔有這片土地,作為產業?」上主對亞巴郎說:「你給我拿來一隻三歲的母牛,一隻三歲的母山羊,一隻三歲的公綿羊,一隻斑鳩和一隻雛鴿。」亞巴郎便把這一切拿來,每樣從中間剖開,將一半與另一半相對排列,只有飛鳥沒有剖開。有鷙鳥落在獸屍上,亞巴郎就把牠們趕走。太陽快要西沉時,亞巴郎昏沉地睡著,忽覺陰森萬分,就害怕起來。當日落天黑的時候,看,有冒煙的火爐,及燃燒著的火炬,由那些肉塊中間經過。在這一天,上主與亞巴郎立約,說:「我要賜給你後裔的這片土地,就是從埃及河直到幼發拉底河。」——上主的話。

斐理伯書 3:17-4:1

弟兄姊妹們:你們要一同效法我,也要注意那些按照我們的表樣,生活行動的人。我曾多次對你們說過,現在再含淚對你們說:因為有許多人,行事為人,是基督十字架的敵人;他們的結局是喪亡;他們的天主是肚腹;以羞辱為光榮;他們只思念地上的事。至於我們,我們的家鄉原是在天上;我們等待主耶穌基督、我們的救主,從那裡降來;他必以他使一切屈服於自己的大能,改變我們卑賤的身體,相似他光榮的身體。為此,我所親愛和懷念的弟兄、我的喜樂、我的冠冕、我可愛的諸位,你們應這樣屹立在主內。——上主的話。

路加福音 9:28-36

那時候,耶穌帶著伯多祿、若望和雅各伯,上山祈禱。正當耶穌祈禱時,他的面容改變,他的衣服潔白發光。忽然,有兩個人,即梅瑟和厄里亞,同耶穌談話。他們顯現在光耀中,談論耶穌的去世,即耶穌在耶路撒冷,必要完成的事。伯多祿和他的同伴,都昏昏欲睡。他們一醒過來,就看見耶穌的光耀,及在耶穌旁邊侍立的兩個人。那兩個人正要離開時,伯多祿對耶穌說:「老師,我們在這裡真好!讓我們搭三個帳棚:一個為你,一個為梅瑟,一個為厄里亞。」伯多祿原來不知道要說什麼。伯多祿說這話的時候,有一片雲彩遮蔽了耶穌、梅瑟和厄里亞。他們進入雲彩時,門徒就害怕起來。從雲中有聲音說:「這是我的兒子,我所揀選的,你們要聽從他!」這聲音發出後,只見耶穌獨自一人。當時,門徒都守了秘密,把所見的事,一點也沒有告訴任何人。

本主日的福音讀經是聖路加描述耶穌顯聖容的章節。當祂在山上祈禱時,「他的面容改變,他的衣服潔白發光」(路 9:29)。梅瑟和厄里亞顯現在光耀中,與耶穌談話,談及祂的「去世,即耶穌在耶路撒冷,必要完成的事」(路 9:31)。 然後,耶穌顯聖容就在「雲中有聲音說:『這是我的兒子,我所揀選的,你們要聽從他』」的高潮中結束(路 9:35)。

教宗方濟各在二零一八年二月二十五日帶領信眾誦念《三鐘經》時,解釋耶穌顯聖容與六天之前所發生的事有關,當時耶穌向門徒揭示「人子必須受許多苦,被長老、司祭長和經師們棄絕,並且要被殺,但第三天必要復活」(路 9:22)。

教宗說,這個宣佈對伯多祿和所有門徒都是一個挑戰,他們拒絕接受耶穌將會受苦和死的想法 。帶領伯多祿,雅各伯和若望來到高山,向他們展示祂的榮耀 – 天主子的榮耀 – 耶穌使他們能夠以積極的方式面對祂的苦難。

教宗方濟各鼓勵信眾與耶穌一同上山,與祂一同停下來,用心聆聽上主的聲音,讓自己充滿聖神,被聖神改造。 重要的是要把思考和祈禱的經驗活出來,享受與天主親密的關係。

對我來說,耶穌顯聖容的始末是令人振奮和有啟發性的。記得有一次,灰暗的一天,我帶着沉重的心情,開車經過聖堂,因為我得知一個非常要好的朋友得了一個怪病,整整一年,經過無數的化驗都未能確診。雖然,常言道,没有消息便是好消息,但症狀帶來的不適和無休止的焦慮對於病人和家人來說非常難受。在這個憂悶的日子,我决定在聖堂停下來祈禱。我走進小堂,希望在耶穌聖體面前找到一些安慰。雖然我像那些門徒一樣「眼睛沉重而要睡著」但卻「醒寤」,不知何解, 我竟然可以馬上跟耶穌談話,告訴祂我心裏所想的一切。短暫逗留後,當我離開時,我已如釋重負。 就像當我因世俗的掛慮而信德低落時,我便得到一刻的超越,使我的信德立刻得到提升。

Posted: March 17, 2019

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


其他主日反省

丙年復活期第二主日:我主,我的天主! 吳智勳神父

本週的福音章節甲乙丙年都同用,最明顯的理由是它所記敘的事發生於耶穌復活後第八天,而每年復活期第二個主日正是第八天。這段聖經內容豐富,它既講述耶穌派遣門徒、預告聖神來臨、提及罪的赦免、亦透露了主日的來由(耶穌兩次顯現都在星期日,所以慢慢地基督徒以主日取代了設於星期六的安息日)。今天讓我們從多默宗徒身上作反省。

繼續閱讀 >