The Bible is in a Nutshell Just God’s Wedding Invitation

Twenty-eighth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Isaiah 25:6-10A

On this mountain the LORD of hosts will provide for all peoples a feast of rich food and choice wines, juicy, rich food and pure, choice wines. On this mountain he will destroy the veil that veils all peoples, the web that is woven over all nations; he will destroy death forever. The Lord GOD will wipe away the tears from every face; the reproach of his people he will remove from the whole earth; for the LORD has spoken. On that day it will be said: "Behold our God, to whom we looked to save us! This is the LORD for whom we looked; let us rejoice and be glad that he has saved us!" For the hand of the LORD will rest on this mountain.

Philippians 4:12-14, 19-20

Brothers and sisters: I know how to live in humble circumstances; I know also how to live with abundance. In every circumstance and in all things I have learned the secret of being well fed and of going hungry, of living in abundance and of being in need. I can do all things in him who strengthens me. Still, it was kind of you to share in my distress. My God will fully supply whatever you need, in accord with his glorious riches in Christ Jesus. To our God and Father, glory forever and ever. Amen.

Matthew 22:1-14

Jesus again in reply spoke to the chief priests and elders of the people in parables, saying, "The kingdom of heaven may be likened to a king who gave a wedding feast for his son. He dispatched his servants to summon the invited guests to the feast, but they refused to come. A second time he sent other servants, saying, 'Tell those invited: "Behold, I have prepared my banquet, my calves and fattened cattle are killed, and everything is ready; come to the feast."' Some ignored the invitation and went away, one to his farm, another to his business. The rest laid hold of his servants, mistreated them, and killed them. The king was enraged and sent his troops, destroyed those murderers, and burned their city. Then he said to his servants, 'The feast is ready, but those who were invited were not worthy to come. Go out, therefore, into the main roads and invite to the feast whomever you find.' The servants went out into the streets and gathered all they found, bad and good alike, and the hall was filled with guests. But when the king came in to meet the guests, he saw a man there not dressed in a wedding garment. The king said to him, 'My friend, how is it that you came in here without a wedding garment?' But he was reduced to silence. Then the king said to his attendants, 'Bind his hands and feet, and cast him into the darkness outside, where there will be wailing and grinding of teeth.' Many are invited, but few are chosen."

If there is one theme that captures all messages that the Bible was written to convey, it’s marriage and family.

St. John Paul II minces no words in pointing out the centrality of marriage and family in God’s plan of salvation: “The history of mankind, the history of salvation, passes by way of the family” (Letter to Families, 23).

The theme of marriage and family runs through the Bible like a thread, weaving its way intricately and skillfully from the first chapter to the last. It bookends the whole Bible, starting from the broken marriage and family of Adam and Eve in Genesis, ending with the perfect union of Christ and the Church in the wedding feast of the Lamb in Revelation. As if to punctuate its significance, Jesus’ first miracle also happened in a wedding feast – the wedding at Cana.

Having lost its original luster in Adam and Eve due to the first parents’ original sin, the institution of marriage regains the preeminence of its immaculate state in the one-flesh unity of Christ and his Church – a unity manifested outwardly as a sign in the Sacrament of the Eucharist, and inwardly as an ontological reality and organic whole in the Body of Christ.

Both Christian marriage and the Eucharist are pointing us to something much bigger. The day will come when all of humanity – ancient, contemporary, and future; regardless of race, culture, and language – is invited to celebrate together with God and all the angels and saints above in an eternal, joyful, and heavenly wedding feast; which, to put simply, is what we call “heaven” or “the kingdom of God”; where, to elaborate further, justice and peace will reign and tears will be no more (Is 25:8, Rev 21:4). As a result of this divine plan, which must and will come to pass, the whole Bible should really be understood as an invitation from God for everyone to attend His heavenly wedding feast. It’s the heavenly Father’s call for His waylaid children to come home after a prolonged sojourn here on earth. “Blessed are those who have been called to the wedding feast of the Lamb” (Rev 19:9).

God’s invitation for us to attend this cosmic wedding feast has been expressed in many different forms scripturally. For example, in Proverbs, it’s expressed as “Wisdom” sending out her maidens to invite those who are “simple” and “lacking in understanding” to “Come, eat of my food, and drink of the wine I have mixed” (9:4-5). In Isaiah, it’s expressed playfully as God touting those who are thirsty and poor – people in need and deprived of real wealth – to drink and eat well from Him for free:

“All you who are thirsty, come to the water! You who have no money, come, receive grain and eat; come, without paying and without cost, drink wine and milk! Why spend your money for what is not bread; your wages for what fails to satisfy? Heed me, and you shall eat well, you shall delight in rich fare” (Is 55:1-2).

In this Sunday’s first reading, also from Isaiah, the same invitation is expressed powerfully as a cocktail of wedding goodies:

  • Venue of the wedding feast – “On this mountain” (25:6). In other words, Mount Moriah where the Jerusalem temple was situated; it’s also where Abraham sacrificed his only son from Sarah, Isaac; and where God, the Father, sacrificed His only Son, Jesus. These biblical events are pointing us to the heavenly Temple of Jerusalem where the wedding feast of the Lamb is to take place (cf. Heb 8:1-5).
  • Who “will provide for all peoples” in this extraordinary cosmic feast (25:6)? – God, just as Abraham had prophesized when he was asked a similar question by Isaac (cf. Gen 22:14).
  • What’s the menu? – “juicy, rich food and pure, choice wines”, as is already prefigured in the eucharistic feast the Church celebrates (25:6).
  • What will the host of the feast, the Groom, do in this wedding feast? – “he will destroy the veil that veils all peoples”, the way the groom unveils his bride during a wedding (25:7). This is also why when Jesus died, “the veil of the sanctuary was torn in two from top to bottom” (Mt 27:51). For what separates God and man must be completely destroyed by Jesus’ redemptive grace.
  • What more will the Groom do? – “he will destroy death forever…wipe away the tears from all faces; the reproach of his people he will remove from the whole earth” (25:8). Remember St. Paul’s defiance in confronting death? “Where, O death, is your victory? Where, O death, is your sting?” (1 Cor 15:55). Now we know why he was defiant.
  • What should we do on receiving the invitation to the wedding feast of the Lamb? – “let us rejoice and be glad that he has saved us!” (25:9) Amen! As St. Paul says, “Rejoice in the Lord always” (Phil 4:4).

Small wonder, given the riches of the theme of the wedding feast in the Isaiah reading, Jesus’ parable of the wedding feast is chosen by the Church as this Sunday’s gospel reading (cf. Mt 22:1-14). Jesus warns us to come prepared. We are told that those who are “not dressed in a wedding garment” will be cast “into the darkness outside, where there will be wailing and grinding of teeth” (Mt 22:13). Since the wedding garment “represents the righteous deeds of the holy ones”, the terrifying consequence for those experiencing wardrobe malfunction does make a lot of sense (Rev 19:8)!

Posted: October 11, 2020

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


Other Sunday Reflections

How do we prepare for Advent in this unprecedented time?
In the beginning of the Advent season, we are waiting, watching, expecting, and preparing ourselves for the coming of a Savior. With the entire globe weathering COVID-19, the highly infectious… Continue Reading >
The Shepherd and the King
Jesus is no ordinary king. Like David, his Old Testament type, he is a Shepherd-King. Continue Reading >
Is the rich getting richer and the poor getting poorer?
In God's kingdom of eternal joy, there is no shortage of resources nor discrimination of treatment. Continue Reading >

簡而言之,聖經就是天主的婚宴請柬

常年期第二十八主日

依撒意亞先知書 25:6-10

萬軍的上主在這座山上,要為萬民擺設美酒佳餚的盛宴;佳餚是精選的,美酒是醇清的。在這座山上,你要撤除那封在萬民臉上的面帕,那掩蓋各國的殮帳。上主要永遠取消死亡;吾主上主要從人人的臉上,拭去淚痕,要由整個地面,除去自己民族的恥辱:因為上主說了。到那一天,人要說:「看!這是我們所依賴的、拯救我們的天主;這是我們所依賴的上主;我們要因他的救援,鼓舞喜樂,因為上主的手,停留在這山上。」

斐理伯書 4:12-14,19-20

我也知道受窮,也知道享受;在各樣事上和各種境遇中,或飽飫、或飢餓、或富裕、或貧乏,我都得到了秘訣。我依賴加強我力量的那位,能應付一切。但是,你們也實在做得好,因為你們分擔了我的困苦。我的天主必要以自己的財富,在基督耶穌內,豐富地滿足你們的一切需要。願光榮歸於天主,我們的父,直到永遠。阿們。

瑪竇福音 22:1-14

那時候,耶穌用比喻對司祭長和民間的長老說:「天國好比一個國王,為自己的兒子辦婚宴。他打發僕人,去召叫被請的人,來赴婚宴,被請的人,卻不願意來。「國王又派自己的僕人,說:『你們對被請的人說:看,我已經預備好了我的盛宴,我的公牛和肥畜都宰殺了,一切都齊備了,你們來赴婚宴吧!』「被請的人卻不理:有的去耕田,有的去做自己的生意,其餘的竟捉住僕人,凌辱後殺死了。「於是,國王大怒,派自己的軍隊,消滅了那些殺人凶手,焚毀了他們的城市。「然後,對僕人說:『婚宴已經齊備了,但是被請的人,都不配。現在,你們到各路口去,凡是你們所遇到的,都請來赴婚宴。』「那些僕人就出去,到大路上,凡遇到的,無論壞人好人,都召集來了,婚宴就坐滿了客人。「國王進來,巡視參加婚宴的客人,看見在那裡,有一個沒有穿婚宴禮服的人,便對他說:『朋友,你到這裡來,怎麼不穿婚宴禮服?』那人無言以對。國王於是對僕役說:『你們捆起他的手腳,把他丟在外面的黑暗中;在那裡必有哀號和切齒。』「因為被召的人多,被選的人少。」

若果說有一個主題能夠涵蓋到聖經傳達的所有信息,那就是婚姻與家庭。

聖若望保祿二世直言不諱地指出婚姻與家庭是天主救世計劃的中心:「人類的歷史,人類的救恩史,都因著家庭而展開」(致家庭書, 23)

婚姻與家庭這主題,縱橫交錯且美妙地貫連著聖經的第一章至最後一章。這主題在聖經的首尾兩端,開始於《創世紀》裏亞當和厄娃的破碎婚姻及家庭,完結於《默示錄》裏基督和教會在羔羊婚宴中完美的結合。

因原祖父母的原罪,婚姻制度在亞當和厄娃內失去了原來的光澤,但在基督與教會一體的結合內,婚姻制度重拾其卓越的聖潔無瑕—從外看,這結合表現於聖體聖事的標記;從內看,則表現於基督妙身形而上的本體與生命性。

基督徒的婚姻及聖體給我們指向一個更偉大的事情。這日子將要來到,那時候全人類—古、今和未來;無論種族、文化及語言—會被邀請與天主及天上眾天使、諸聖人一同慶祝一個永恆、喜樂、和天上的婚宴;簡而言之,這便是我們所稱的「天堂」或「天主的國」;進一步闡述,那裡要被正義與和平所統治,再沒有眼淚與悲傷(依 25:8, 默 21:4)。天主這計劃一定終會實現。故此,整部聖經應被視為天主獻給每一個人,參加祂天上的婚宴的邀請。這是天父給祂在塵世的迷惘中,長期寄居的子女的歸家呼喚。「被召赴羔羊婚宴的人,是有福的」(默 19:9)。

天主邀請我們參加這震撼性的寰宇婚宴,在聖經內用了多種不同的形式來表達。例如:《箴言》表達為「智慧」派遣她的童女去邀請那些「單純的」和「無知的」,「來,吃我的食糧,飲我配製的酒」(9:4-5)。《依撒意亞先知書》則以輕鬆有趣的態度描寫婚宴是天主招徠貧窮及飢渴的人—在患難中及被剝削財富的人—到祂那裏白白地、好好地吃喝:

「凡口渴的,請到水泉來!那沒有錢的,也請來罷!請來買不花錢,不索值的酒和奶吃!你們為什麼為那些不能充食的東西花錢,為那些不足果腹的東西浪費薪金呢?你們若細心聽我,你們就能吃豐美的食物,你們的心靈必因脂膏而喜悅」(依 55:1-2)。

本主日的第一篇讀經,同樣也是來自《依撒意亞先知書》,強而有力地把同一個邀請表達為一個滿是福祉的婚宴:

  • 婚宴會場—「這座山上」(25:6)。這是指耶路撒冷聖殿所在的摩黎雅山;這也是亞巴郎祭獻他由撒辣所生的獨生子—依撒格—的地方;又是天父犧牲祂唯一聖子—耶穌—的地方。這些聖經的記載,把我們指向天上的耶路撒冷聖殿,即羔羊婚宴的場地 (參閱希8:1-5)。
  • 誰「要為萬民擺設」這超凡卓越的寰宇婚宴 (25:6)?—天主,正如依撒格問亞巴郎同樣問題時,亞巴郎所預言的一般(參照 創22:14)。
  • 菜單是甚麼?—「肥甘的盛宴,美酒的盛宴」,正如教會在慶祝聖體聖事盛宴中已經預象的(25:6)。
  • 盛宴的主人,新郎,在婚宴中會做甚麼?—「祂要撤除那封在萬民上的封面」,猶如新郎在婚禮中揭開新娘的面紗(25:7)。這也是為甚麽耶穌死時,「聖所的帳幔,從上到下分裂為二」(瑪 27:51)。因為把天主和人分隔開的,必須被耶穌的救贖恩典徹底摧毀。
  • 新郎還會做甚麼?—「他要永遠取消死亡… 從人人的臉上拭去淚痕,要由整個地面除去自己民族的恥辱」(25:8)。可記得聖保祿如何面對死亡而毫不戰慄?「死亡!你的勝利在那裡?死亡!你的刺在那裡?」(格前15:55)。我們現在明白,他為何不害怕。
  • 當我們接到羔羊婚宴的請柬時,我們該做甚麽?—「我們要因他的救援鼓舞喜樂!」(25:9)亞孟!如聖保祿所言「在主內應當常常喜樂」(斐 4:4)。

鑑於《依撒意亞先知書》讀經中談及的婚宴主題是如此豐富,難怪教會選用耶穌「婚宴的比喻」作為本主日的福音讀經來配合 (參照 瑪 22:1-14)。耶穌告誡我們要做好準備。祂告訴我們,那些「不穿婚宴禮服」的,會被「丟在外面的黑暗中:在那裡要有哀號和切齒」(瑪22:13)。既然婚宴禮服「代表聖徒們的義行」,衣著不當的人要承擔可怕的後果,也相當合理吧 (默19:8)!

Posted: October 11, 2020

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


其他主日反省

甲年(瑪竇) 常年期第廿八主日:信仰有如參加喜宴嗎? 吳智勳神父

今日福音中天國的比喻,其實是兩個比喻:一個是對猶太人說的,特別是當權的司祭長和民間長老;另一個可說是對我們這些基督徒說的。 第一個比喻是說,天國是首先給猶太人的;猶太人先被邀請,這是很清楚的福音訊息。所謂僕人,可以代表歷代先知;不同年代天主派遣先知到來召請祂的子民,但他們拒絕了邀請,甚至出手殺害上主的僕人,而招至上主的懲罰。

繼續閱讀 >