“The day of the Lord will come like a thief” (2 Peter 3:10)

Second Sunday of Advent

Isaiah 40:1-5, 9-11

Comfort, give comfort to my people, says your God. Speak tenderly to Jerusalem, and proclaim to her that her service is at an end, her guilt is expiated; indeed, she has received from the hand of the LORD double for all her sins. A voice cries out: In the desert prepare the way of the LORD! Make straight in the wasteland a highway for our God! Every valley shall be filled in, every mountain and hill shall be made low; the rugged land shall be made a plain, the rough country, a broad valley. Then the glory of the LORD shall be revealed, and all people shall see it together; for the mouth of the LORD has spoken. Go up on to a high mountain, Zion, herald of glad tidings; cry out at the top of your voice, Jerusalem, herald of good news! Fear not to cry out and say to the cities of Judah: Here is your God! Here comes with power the Lord GOD, who rules by his strong arm; here is his reward with him, his recompense before him. Like a shepherd he feeds his flock; in his arms he gathers the lambs, carrying them in his bosom, and leading the ewes with care.

2 Peter 3:8-14

Do not ignore this one fact, beloved, that with the Lord one day is like a thousand years and a thousand years like one day. The Lord does not delay his promise, as some regard "delay," but he is patient with you, not wishing that any should perish but that all should come to repentance. But the day of the Lord will come like a thief, and then the heavens will pass away with a mighty roar and the elements will be dissolved by fire, and the earth and everything done on it will be found out. Since everything is to be dissolved in this way, what sort of persons ought you to be, conducting yourselves in holiness and devotion, waiting for and hastening the coming of the day of God, because of which the heavens will be dissolved in flames and the elements melted by fire. But according to his promise we await new heavens and a new earth in which righteousness dwells. Therefore, beloved, since you await these things, be eager to be found without spot or blemish before him, at peace.

Mark 1:1-8

The beginning of the gospel of Jesus Christ the Son of God. As it is written in Isaiah the prophet: Behold, I am sending my messenger ahead of you; he will prepare your way. A voice of one crying out in the desert: "Prepare the way of the Lord, make straight his paths." John the Baptist appeared in the desert proclaiming a baptism of repentance for the forgiveness of sins. People of the whole Judean countryside and all the inhabitants of Jerusalem were going out to him and were being baptized by him in the Jordan River as they acknowledged their sins. John was clothed in camel's hair, with a leather belt around his waist. He fed on locusts and wild honey. And this is what he proclaimed: "One mightier than I is coming after me. I am not worthy to stoop and loosen the thongs of his sandals. I have baptized you with water; he will baptize you with the Holy Spirit."

This Sunday’s Gospel reading is from the first few verses of Chapter 1 of the Gospel according to St. Mark. Verse 1 “The beginning of the good news of Jesus Christ, the Son of God” is also a title for the entire gospel (Ref: Ignatius Bible Study [IBS] P65). The “good news” is that Christ has come to rescue all nations from sin, selfishness, and Satan and to reveal the inner life of God to the world (Ref: IBS). Jesus is first revealed as “The Son of God” in verse 11 when He comes from Nazareth to be baptized by John the Baptist in the Jordan; as Jesus comes out of the water, “these words were heard from heaven ‘You are my Son, the Beloved, the One I have chosen’”. The Son of God is also the predominant title for Jesus in the Gospel (Ref: IBS).

After the opening verse, St. Mark uses a scene in the Old Testament to usher in the appearance of John the Baptist in the wilderness who “as it is written in the Prophet Isaiah” will “’Prepare the way of the Lord, make his paths straight”’ (Mk 1:2,3). John’s attire was distinctive of Old Testament prophets, he was “clothed in camel’s hair, with a leather belt around his waist” (Mk 1: 6; IBS). He proclaimed a baptism of repentance for the forgiveness of sins, and baptized people who came to him from the Judean countryside and Jerusalem in the River Jordan, the main river in Palestine. The Jordan is the site where stories of deliverance happened in the Old Testament – the Israelites crossed the Jordan to inherit the Promised Land; and Naaman the Syrian (a Gentile) was cleansed of leprosy in the waters of the Jordan. John’s ministry at the Jordan prepares for the Messiah’s salvation of Israel and the Gentiles (Ref. IBS). And, it is in the river Jordan that John the Baptist proclaimed, “The one who is more powerful than I is coming after me;” and “I have baptized you with water; but he will baptize you with the Holy Spirit” (Mk 1: 8).

In this Second Sunday of Advent, John the Baptist’s proclamation points to the coming of the Messiah, for whom “[He is] not worthy to stoop down and untie the thong of his sandals” (Mk 1:7). For us who have been baptized sacramentally in water and in the Holy Spirit, Advent is the season for us to await the joyful commemoration of the First Coming of God’s only Begotten Son at Christmas. More importantly, it is a reminder that we are awaiting for the second coming of our Lord in glory, and we must strive for Jesus to find us worthy of eternal joy in heaven.

Very often, we hear people say that so much evil and darkness now prevail in the world, that the end is imminent. Do we have a clue when will the second coming of Christ be? In the second reading, St. Peter tells us we will not find out, there is no clue, no forewarning, “The day of the Lord will come like a thief” (2 Peter 3:10). “The Lord is not slow about his promise” of the second coming, “but [He] is patient with [us], not wanting any to perish, but all to come to repentance” (2 Peter 3:9). In other words, our Lord is giving us a chance to repent and live a life of righteousness before He comes again.

St. Peter leaves us with this question, “What sort of persons ought you to be in leading lives of holiness and godliness” (2 Peter 3:10) ? How must we live so that Jesus will find us worthy for eternal joy in heaven when the time comes

Posted: December 6, 2020

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


Other Sunday Reflections

The Joy of Knowing How to Read the Bible
This Sunday’s readings give us a good glimpse into Typology - an amazing biblical interpretation technique that enables us to see the unity of the Old and New Testaments. Continue Reading >
This is Justice, This is Mercy
Mr. Perry, our school principal, once shared a story about when he was young, he and his family took the ferry to Salt Spring Island. He had a friend who… Continue Reading >
“You do not know what you are asking” (Mk 10:38)
By this time in his ministry, Jesus has foretold three times his own Death and Resurrection to the apostles. The last prediction is the most detailed, specifying that his death… Continue Reading >

「主的日子必要如盜賊一樣到來」 ( 伯後 3:10)

將臨期第二主日

依撒意亞先知書 40:1-5,9-11

「你們安慰,安慰我的百姓吧!」你們的天主說。你們應向耶路撒冷說知心的話,並向她宣告:她的苦役已期滿,她的罪債已清償,因為她為了自己的一切罪過,已由上主手中,承受了雙倍的懲罰。有一個呼聲喊說:「你們要在曠野,預備上主的道路;在荒野,為我們的天主,修平一條大路!一切深谷要填滿;一切山陵要剷平;隆起的要削為平地;崎嶇的要闢成坦途!上主的光榮要顯示出來;凡有血肉的,都會看見——這是上主親口說的。」給熙雍傳喜訊的啊!請登上高山!給耶路撒冷報喜訊的啊!請大聲疾呼!高呼吧!不要畏懼!向猶大各城報告說:你們的天主來了!吾主上主帶著威能來到;他的手臂獲得了勝利。他的勝利品與他同在;他獲得的酬勞在他面前。他必如牧羊人,牧放自己的羊群;以自己的手臂集合小羊,把牠們抱在自己的懷中;溫良地帶領哺乳的母羊。

聖伯多祿宗徒後書 3:8-14

親愛的諸位,唯有這一件事,你們不可忘記:就是在天主前,一日如千年,千年如一日。主決不延遲他的應許,有如某些人所想像的。其實,是他對你們含忍,不願任何人喪亡,只願眾人回心轉意。可是,主的日子必要如盜賊一樣來到;在那一日,天要轟然過去;所有原質,都要因烈火而溶化;大地及其中所有的工程,也都要被焚毀。這一切既然都要這樣消失,那麼,你們便應該度聖潔和虔敬的生活,以等候並催促天主日子的來臨!在這日子,天要為火所焚毀;所有原質,也要因烈火而溶化;可是,我們卻按照他的應許,等候那正義常住在其中的新天新地。為此,親愛的諸位,你們既然等候這一切,就應該勉力,使他見到你們沒有玷污、沒有瑕疵,且安然無懼。

馬爾谷福音 1:1-8

天主子耶穌基督福音的開始,正如依撒意亞先知書上記載的:「看,我派遣我的使者在你面前,預備你的道路。曠野中有呼號者的聲音:你們當預備上主的道路,修直他的途徑。」此時,若翰出現在曠野裡施洗,並宣講悔改的洗禮,以赦免罪過。猶太全地和耶路撒冷的群眾都出來,到他那裡,承認自己的罪過,在約但河受他的洗。若翰穿的是駱駝毛的衣服,腰間束的是皮帶,吃的是蝗蟲與野蜜。他宣告說:「那比我更有力量的,要在我以後來,我連俯身解他的鞋帶,也不配。我以水洗你們,他卻要以聖神洗你們。」

本主日的福音讀經取自《馬爾谷福音》第一章的首幾節。第一節「天主子耶穌基督福音的開始」也是這本福音的題目(參 Ignatius Bible Study [IBS] 65 頁)。「福音」就是基督來到世上,從罪惡、自私自利、撒旦的邪惡中,拯救天下萬民,並將天主的本性展示給世人 (參 IBS)。在第 11 節,耶穌從納匝肋來到約但河,接受若翰洗者的施洗時,第一次被顯示為「天主子」;當耶穌剛從水裡上來,「有聲音從天上說:『你是我的愛子,我因你而喜悅』」。而在《馬爾谷福音》,耶穌主要的名號是天主子。

在福音開始的第一節之後,聖馬爾谷用舊約聖經裏面的情景,引進在曠野裏出現的若翰洗者,「正如先知依撒意亞書上記載的」他會「預備上主的道路,修直他的途徑」(谷 1:2,3)。若翰穿上舊約時代先知的獨特服裝,「穿的是駱駝毛的衣服,腰間束的是皮帶」(谷 1: 6; IBS)。他宣講悔改的洗禮,為得罪之赦,並在巴勒斯坦的主要河流 — 約但河 —為來自猶太全地和耶路撒冷的群衆施洗。在舊約聖經中,很多得救的故事都發生在約但河 — 以色列人渡過約但河,繼承上主應許賜給他們的地方; 約但河水,使納阿曼(一個外邦人)的痲瘋病得到潔淨,獲得治癒。在約但河,若翰的事工為默世亞拯救以色列和外邦人作準備 (Ref. IBS)。也是在約但河,洗者若翰作了這樣的宣講「那比我更有力量的,要在我以後來」而「我以水洗你們;他卻要以聖神洗你們」(Mk 1: 8)。

在將臨期第二主日,洗者若翰的宣講指向「默西亞」的來臨,而他自己卻「連俯身解他的鞋帶也不配 」 (谷 1:7)。為我們曾接受水和聖神洗禮的人來說,將臨期是守候的季節,我們殷切期待聖誕節,在那一天,我們心懷喜樂,紀念天主唯一聖子第一次降臨人間。更重要的是,將臨期提醒我們,也在等候上主第二次光榮的到來,為此,我們必須努力做好自己,讓祂到來時,會認為我們堪當天堂永遠的福樂。

我們經常聽到人說,現今世界如此邪惡黑暗,末日即將到來。究竟耶穌第二次來臨,會在何時呢?我們有沒有線索?聖伯多祿在讀經二告訴我們,這日期我們意料不到,無跡可尋,也沒有任何預警,「主的日子必要如盜賊一樣到來」 ( 伯後 3:10)。「主決不遲延他的應許」— 祂的第二次來臨 — 只是「【他】對【我們】含忍,不願任何人喪亡,只願眾人回心轉意」(伯後 3:9)。換言之,在祂再來之前,祂給我們機會悔改,活出正義的人生。

聖伯多祿留給我們個問題 「你們應該怎樣以聖潔和虔敬的態度生活」( 伯後 3:11) ? 那麽,我們應該如何生活,耶穌才會認為我們配享天堂永福呢?

Posted: December 6, 2020

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


其他主日反省

乙年將臨期第二主日 – 不願意人喪亡的天主 吳智勳神父

將臨的意思是期待主的來臨。今日三篇讀經都提到這問題,但每篇的意義卻不同。首先,依撒意亞先知書提到的將臨,發生於公元前六世紀,當時以色列人正處於流亡期間,先知給他們說:「你們的天主來了」,一切痛苦會成為過去。但事實上,這喜訊只應驗了一半。

繼續閱讀 >
重新開始 Fr. Justin Huang

由於今天第一篇讀經提及,又因為我們現在正處於將臨期,也就是新的禮儀之年的開始,我識別出一個主題,我們將在將臨期和聖誕節期間談論這個主題。這個主題是:「 Begin Again 重新開始」。

繼續閱讀 >