Begin Again

Second Sunday of Advent

Isaiah 40:1-5, 9-11

Comfort, give comfort to my people, says your God. Speak tenderly to Jerusalem, and proclaim to her that her service is at an end, her guilt is expiated; indeed, she has received from the hand of the LORD double for all her sins. A voice cries out: In the desert prepare the way of the LORD! Make straight in the wasteland a highway for our God! Every valley shall be filled in, every mountain and hill shall be made low; the rugged land shall be made a plain, the rough country, a broad valley. Then the glory of the LORD shall be revealed, and all people shall see it together; for the mouth of the LORD has spoken. Go up on to a high mountain, Zion, herald of glad tidings; cry out at the top of your voice, Jerusalem, herald of good news! Fear not to cry out and say to the cities of Judah: Here is your God! Here comes with power the Lord GOD, who rules by his strong arm; here is his reward with him, his recompense before him. Like a shepherd he feeds his flock; in his arms he gathers the lambs, carrying them in his bosom, and leading the ewes with care.

2 Peter 3:8-14

Do not ignore this one fact, beloved, that with the Lord one day is like a thousand years and a thousand years like one day. The Lord does not delay his promise, as some regard "delay," but he is patient with you, not wishing that any should perish but that all should come to repentance. But the day of the Lord will come like a thief, and then the heavens will pass away with a mighty roar and the elements will be dissolved by fire, and the earth and everything done on it will be found out. Since everything is to be dissolved in this way, what sort of persons ought you to be, conducting yourselves in holiness and devotion, waiting for and hastening the coming of the day of God, because of which the heavens will be dissolved in flames and the elements melted by fire. But according to his promise we await new heavens and a new earth in which righteousness dwells. Therefore, beloved, since you await these things, be eager to be found without spot or blemish before him, at peace.

Mark 1:1-8

The beginning of the gospel of Jesus Christ the Son of God. As it is written in Isaiah the prophet: Behold, I am sending my messenger ahead of you; he will prepare your way. A voice of one crying out in the desert: "Prepare the way of the Lord, make straight his paths." John the Baptist appeared in the desert proclaiming a baptism of repentance for the forgiveness of sins. People of the whole Judean countryside and all the inhabitants of Jerusalem were going out to him and were being baptized by him in the Jordan River as they acknowledged their sins. John was clothed in camel's hair, with a leather belt around his waist. He fed on locusts and wild honey. And this is what he proclaimed: "One mightier than I is coming after me. I am not worthy to stoop and loosen the thongs of his sandals. I have baptized you with water; he will baptize you with the Holy Spirit."

Because of the First Reading and because we’re now in Advent, the beginning of a new liturgical year, I’ve discerned a theme that we’re going to be talking about during Advent and Christmas, and that theme is: Begin Again.

This been a challenging year, and we all can spiritually lose our footing at some point: We’re distracted, perhaps depleted, discouraged, or isolated.

But God always begins again in our lives. That’s the point of His renewing every covenant with mankind: We break our marriage relationship with Him and what does He do? Begins again (Cf. CCC 55).

God says in the First Reading, “Comfort, O comfort my people… Speak tenderly to Jerusalem” (Is 40:1-2). It’s His nature to comfort those who are afflicted. It’s also His nature to challenge us, because in order to be truly happy and reach perfection, we need to be pushed outside our comfort zone. But the First Reading says that the time of suffering for the people of Jerusalem is over.

The theme of Begin Again is taken from the teachings of Venerable Bruno Lanteri (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bruno_Lanteri#/media/File:Pio_Bruno_Lanteri_OMV.jpg), an Italian priest who lived from 1759-1830, lived in very difficult times: The French Revolution persecuted the Church, with priests and nuns being killed, while inside the Church, there was a heresy called Jansenism, which “obscured the truth of God’s love” (https://www.omvusa.org/bruno-lanteri/about-bruno-lanteri/history/).

In Ven. Bruno’s life and in the lives of all the people he served, they were tempted by discouragement, suffering, and physical pain, but his main message was: “Never give in to discouragement; lift your heart immediately to the God who loves you, and begin again” (Fr. Timothy Gallagher, Overcoming Spiritual Discouragement, 6-7).

A: Here are three areas where we can begin again:

1) In understanding Who God truly is. The psalm we prayed today says, “Show us your steadfast love, O Lord” (Ps 84). During two previous Christmas Masses, I taught you that the words ‘steadfast love’ is one word in Hebrew: Hesed. I need you to remember this word for life. Do you know God’s love as steadfast?
Ven. Bruno writes: “It is very important to understand deeply how good God is, and not to measure him by our own limitations or think that he tires of our wavering, weakness, and negligence; that because of our sins he withdraws his help and denies his grace…. Let us think of him as he truly is, filled with goodness, mercy, and compassion, and let us know him as the loving Father he is, who raises us when we have fallen, who never tires of forgiving us, and to whom we give great joy and honor when we seek forgiveness” (https://www.omvusa.org/bruno-lanteri/life-legacy/begin-again/from-begin-again/).

Imagine there’s a person who’s always late, promises to help but never does, and never lives up to his or her potential. We get tired of this person! And we tend to think God the Father will respond like we do, but He doesn’t.

We’ve probably tried this year to grow spiritually and morally, but have failed in some ways. God the Father doesn’t give up on us, and doesn’t want us to give up in our spiritual growth.

Let me tell you a delicate story about God’s fatherhood, and I share this with permission. A woman once came to me and shared that, years ago, she fell in love with a priest. Nothing sinful ever happened, thank God, but she went to two other priests for advice on what to do. Unfortunately, these two priests didn’t give her an experience of God’s fatherhood; they didn’t do anything wrong, but their comments didn’t redirect her focus to God the Father’s steadfast love for her as His child.

Like this woman, all of us have vulnerable areas in our lives and past that we don’t like to talk about, because they’re embarrassing and we feel shame. And probably most of us have never experienced God the Father’s true love for us when we reveal such experiences.

When this woman told me about her experience, I tried to pass on to her a kind of fatherhood that had been revealed to me over the years. Whenever I told P. Alban and Msgr. O’Brien, my two spiritual directors over the years, embarrassing parts of my life, they always reacted calmly, lovingly, and rationally; they were neither morally lax in their counsel nor scrupulous and excessive. And so, when this woman revealed to me her temptation, I didn’t overreact or express shock, but I reminded her that she didn’t do anything sinful and that experiencing a bad temptation doesn’t mean she’s bad.

So, my question to you is: Do you know that God the Father would react similarly if you revealed to Him the embarrassing parts of your life? You might feel like you’re a bad person for having some temptation or committing a grave sin, but God the Father looks on you with love; He’s calm and rational.

2) We begin again in understanding God’s purpose for our lives. St. Peter writes in the Second Reading, “With the Lord one day is like a thousand years, and a thousand years are like one day. The Lord is not slow about his promise… but is patient with you, not wanting any to perish, but all to come to repentance” (2 Pt 3:8-9). God the Father wants us to come to repentance, meaning a change of heart, away from sin and towards Him. God gives us time on earth to move towards Him, and this time includes suffering.

This year has been full of suffering. So, we need to begin again by remembering God’s purpose for our lives and the reasons why suffering is allowed.

Do you believe there are different levels of happiness (http://thejustmeasure.ca/wp-content/uploads/2018/10/Four-Levels-of-Happiness.png)? Philosophers say there are four levels, and 70% of people default to seeking levels 1 and 2: pleasure and ego satisfaction. If we live at these levels, the COVID-19 situation will greatly ruin our happiness. But what does suffering do? It forces us to look at higher levels of happiness, that of contribution and the ultimate good. It would be nice if we didn’t need suffering to get us there, but we all do, because, without suffering, we all tend to stay at levels 1 and 2.

God the Father loves us and wants our greatest happiness, so He will allow suffering to force us to higher levels of happiness. Remember, if we protect our children from all suffering, they become spiritually and morally weak. Good parents allow their children to undergo adversity, and that’s what God is doing for our good.

We need to think in terms of eternity. We don’t have to suffer forever. But, for this short time of suffering, we have the opportunity of self-definition, and can determine who we will be. During this crisis, are we going to be disciples of Christ and people of virtue?

Understanding God’s purpose for our lives doesn’t always make suffering easy. But in a moment of hopelessness this year, this truth did keep me focused and got me through the hopelessness. We can all begin again by understanding God’s purpose for our lives.

3) We begin again in receiving God’s mercy and forgiveness. The Gospel talks about St. John the Baptist’s “baptism of repentance for the forgiveness of sins” (Mk 1:4). To begin again, we need God’s forgiveness.

Ven. Bruno wrote, “I will not allow myself to be discouraged, however I may fall… Though I fall a thousand times, each time… I will rise again as peaceful as if it were the first, knowing my weakness and knowing, Lord, your great mercy… If I should fall even a thousand times a day, a thousand times, with peaceful repentance, I will say immediately, [now I begin], my God, my God!” (https://www.omvusa.org/bruno-lanteri/life-legacy/begin-again/from-begin-again/).

How many times a day do we fall and sin? With the first person we talk to when we wake up, in the car, at work and school, by wasting time, etc. But the Good news is God’s great mercy! If we fall a thousand times today, a thousand times we’ll get up peacefully and turn to God for forgiveness.

Many people have shared with me how renewing it’s been to go to Confession during this crisis. It’s a spiritual fresh start and gives us stability. Yesterday, I was amazed that the line-up for Confession led to six straight hours of offering the Sacrament

In the next few weeks, we’re going to look again at the essentials of God’s vision for our parish. We’re going to begin again in terms of our love for the Eucharist, our desire to be saints, loving like Jesus, and then sharing Him with everyone we meet. We’re going to look forward to a blessed Christmas, and then Alpha on January 7.

I’ve come out of a difficult time in my life. I never thought that I would be so run down that I would need ten weeks to recover, to work on my problems, and to come to understand God’s mercy in a profoundly deeper way, and to understand His purpose for my life. A number of you have said I’m beaming, which is something you never said about me before(!), but what I’ve received is a grace that God the Father wants for all of us. And a big part of my renewal is beginning again. I begin again every day, sometimes every hour, because God begins again.

Source: The JustMeasure: Begin Again

Posted: December 6, 2020

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


Other Sunday Reflections

To go through life's nadir at the foot of the mountain
Glimpses and tastes of glory that once exhilarated the disciples can also exhilarate us. Continue Reading >
Seeing Into the Future
Over the years, I’ve reminded you how God takes care of us in suffering, but today I’m challenging you to make it your own by doing a spiritual exercise. Continue Reading >
Lent is a Time of Grace
At the heart of Lent is an invitation to dig deeper: to reflect, review, and renew; it is, indeed, a springboard for radical transformation of our heart and mind. Continue Reading >

重新開始

將臨期第二主日

依撒意亞先知書 40:1-5,9-11

「你們安慰,安慰我的百姓吧!」你們的天主說。你們應向耶路撒冷說知心的話,並向她宣告:她的苦役已期滿,她的罪債已清償,因為她為了自己的一切罪過,已由上主手中,承受了雙倍的懲罰。有一個呼聲喊說:「你們要在曠野,預備上主的道路;在荒野,為我們的天主,修平一條大路!一切深谷要填滿;一切山陵要剷平;隆起的要削為平地;崎嶇的要闢成坦途!上主的光榮要顯示出來;凡有血肉的,都會看見——這是上主親口說的。」給熙雍傳喜訊的啊!請登上高山!給耶路撒冷報喜訊的啊!請大聲疾呼!高呼吧!不要畏懼!向猶大各城報告說:你們的天主來了!吾主上主帶著威能來到;他的手臂獲得了勝利。他的勝利品與他同在;他獲得的酬勞在他面前。他必如牧羊人,牧放自己的羊群;以自己的手臂集合小羊,把牠們抱在自己的懷中;溫良地帶領哺乳的母羊。

聖伯多祿宗徒後書 3:8-14

親愛的諸位,唯有這一件事,你們不可忘記:就是在天主前,一日如千年,千年如一日。主決不延遲他的應許,有如某些人所想像的。其實,是他對你們含忍,不願任何人喪亡,只願眾人回心轉意。可是,主的日子必要如盜賊一樣來到;在那一日,天要轟然過去;所有原質,都要因烈火而溶化;大地及其中所有的工程,也都要被焚毀。這一切既然都要這樣消失,那麼,你們便應該度聖潔和虔敬的生活,以等候並催促天主日子的來臨!在這日子,天要為火所焚毀;所有原質,也要因烈火而溶化;可是,我們卻按照他的應許,等候那正義常住在其中的新天新地。為此,親愛的諸位,你們既然等候這一切,就應該勉力,使他見到你們沒有玷污、沒有瑕疵,且安然無懼。

馬爾谷福音 1:1-8

天主子耶穌基督福音的開始,正如依撒意亞先知書上記載的:「看,我派遣我的使者在你面前,預備你的道路。曠野中有呼號者的聲音:你們當預備上主的道路,修直他的途徑。」此時,若翰出現在曠野裡施洗,並宣講悔改的洗禮,以赦免罪過。猶太全地和耶路撒冷的群眾都出來,到他那裡,承認自己的罪過,在約但河受他的洗。若翰穿的是駱駝毛的衣服,腰間束的是皮帶,吃的是蝗蟲與野蜜。他宣告說:「那比我更有力量的,要在我以後來,我連俯身解他的鞋帶,也不配。我以水洗你們,他卻要以聖神洗你們。」

(本篇譯稿為黃謙善神父主日講道,若內容有不一致的情況,一概以英文原稿為準。)

由於今天第一篇讀經提及,又因為我們現在正處於將臨期,也就是新的禮儀之年的開始,我識別出一個主題,我們將在將臨期和聖誕節期間談論這個主題。這個主題是:「 Begin Again 重新開始」。

這是充滿挑戰的一年,我們都可能在某個時候在靈性上失去立足之地:我們心煩意亂,也許精疲力竭、氣餒或孤立。

但是天主總是在我們的生活中重新開始。這就是祂與人類盟約的意義所在:我們和祂斷絕了婚姻關係,祂會怎麼做?重新開始(Cf. CCC 55)。

天主在第一篇讀經中說:「你們安慰,安慰我的百姓罷! …你們應向耶路撒冷說寬心的話,」(依40:1-2)。安慰那些受苦受難的人是祂的本性。挑戰我們也是祂的天性,為了使我們獲得真正的快樂並達到完美,我們有必要被推出我們的舒適區。但第一篇讀經說,耶路撒冷人民的苦難時代已經結束。

「Begin Again 重新開始」這個主題取自意大利可敬的Bruno Lanteri 神父(https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bruno_Lanteri#/media/File:Pio_Bruno_Lanteri_OMV.jpg),他生於1759年至1830年,生活在非常艱難的法國大革時期。教會,神父和修女受到迫害,而當時在教會內,有一種名為「詹森主義Jansenism」的異端,它「掩蓋了天主愛的真相」(https: //www.omvusa.org/bruno-lanteri /about-bruno-lanteri/history/)。

在可敬的Lanteri 神父和他所服務的所有人的生活中,他們在精神和肉體上都感到沮喪、痛苦, 誘惑。但他的主要信息是:「永遠不要屈服於沮喪;立即把你的心託付給愛你的天主,然後重新開始。」(Fr. Timothy Gallagher, Overcoming Spiritual Discouragement, 6-7).

以下是我們可以重新開始的三個領域:

1)了解天主的真實身份。我們今天答唱詠中說:「上主,求祢向我們顯示祢的寬仁(堅定不移)。」(詠85)。在前兩次的聖誕彌撒中,我教過你們「寬仁(堅定不移)steadfast love」這個詞在希伯來語中只有一個詞:Hesed。我請你們永遠記住這詞。你知道天主的愛是寬仁堅定不移的嗎?

可敬的Lanteri 神父寫道:「深刻地理解天主是多麼的善良是非常重要的,不要用我們自己的局限來衡量祂,也不要認為祂厭倦了我們的猶豫不決、軟弱和疏忽;因為我們的罪孽,祂撤回了祂的幫助,拒絕了祂的恩典…。讓我們想想祂的真實,充滿善良、憐憫和同情,讓我們知道祂是慈愛的天父,在我們跌倒時扶持我們,不厭其煩地寬恕我們,在我們尋求寬恕時給予我們極大的喜悅和榮譽。(https://www.omvusa.org/bruno-lanteri/life-legacy/begin-again/from-begin-again/).

想像一下,有一個人總是遲到,答應幫忙,但從來沒有做到,而且從來沒有發揮出他或她的潛力。我們厭倦了這個人!我們傾向於認為聖父會像我們那樣回應,但祂不是這樣的。

我們今年可能嘗試在靈性和道德上有所成長,但在某些方面卻失敗了。聖父沒有放棄我們,也不想讓我們放棄在靈性的成長。

讓我告訴你們一個關於天主作為父親的微妙故事,我得到同意分享這個故事。幾年前,一位女士來找我,告訴我她愛上了一位神父。感謝天主,沒有什麼罪惡的事情發生,但她去向另外兩位神父請教該怎麼做。不幸的是,這兩位神並沒有讓她體驗到天主的父性;不能說他們做錯任何事,但他們的評論並沒有把她的注意力轉向聖父對她的堅定的愛,因為她是聖父的孩子。

和這位女士一樣,我們所有人在生活和過去都有不願談論的脆弱領域,因為它們令人尷尬,讓我們感到羞恥。很可能因為當我們大多數人透露這樣的經歷時,從未體驗過聖父對我們的真愛。

當這位女士告訴我她的經歷時,我嘗試把多年來向我揭示的一種父愛向她傳遞。每當我告訴我的兩位靈修導師P. Alban and Msgr. O’Brien,一些多年來讓我在生活中感到尷尬的事情時,他們的反應總是平靜、慈愛和理性的;他們既沒有道德上的鬆懈,也沒有一絲不苟和過分嚴厲。所以,當這個位女士向我透露她的誘惑時,我沒有過度的反應,也沒有表現出震驚,但我提醒她,她沒有做任何罪惡的事情,經歷了糟糕的誘惑並不意味著她是壞人。

所以,我要問的是:你知道,如果你向聖父透露你生活中令人尷尬的事情,祂也會有類似的反應嗎?你可能會因為受到誘惑或犯下嚴重的罪行而覺得自己是個壞人,但是天主是用愛看待你,祂是冷靜和理性的。

2)我們重新開始理解天主對我們生命的旨意。聖伯多祿在第二篇讀經中寫道:「在天主前一日如千年,千年如一日。主決不遲延他的應許,…是他對你們含忍,不願任何人喪亡,只願眾人回心轉意。 (伯後3:8-9)

聖父要我們悔改,意思是要我們回心轉意,不再犯罪,轉向祂。天主給我們在世上的時間,讓我們向祂走去,這段時間包括了受苦。

今年充滿了苦難。因此,我們需要重新開始,記住天主對我們生命的旨意,以及祂允許受苦的原因。

你相信幸福有不同的層次嗎? (http://thejustmeasure.ca/wp-content/uploads/2018/10/Four-Levels-of-Happiness.png)?哲學家說有四個層次,70%的人默認追求第一和第二層次:快樂和自我滿足。如果我們生活在這些層面,新冠肺炎的處境將極大地毀掉我們的幸福感。但是苦難能做什麼呢?它迫使我們著眼於更高層次的幸福,那就是貢獻和至善。如果我們不需要痛苦就能達到目標,那就太好了,但我們都需要,因為沒有痛苦,我們都傾向於,停留在1級和2級。

天父愛我們,要我們得到最大的幸福,所以祂會允許苦難迫使我們達到更高的幸福。記住,如果我們保護我們的孩子免受一切苦難,他們在靈性和道德上就會變得軟弱。好的父母允許他們的孩子經歷逆境,這就是天主為我們做的好事。

我們需要從永恆的角度來思考。我們不必永遠受苦。但是,在這短暫的痛苦中,我們有機會自我定義,並可以決定要做怎樣的人。在這場危機中,我們會成為基督的門徒和有德行的人嗎?

能夠理解天主對我們生命的目的並不會讓痛苦變得容易。但今年確實幫助我集中精力,克服了剎那的絕望。我們都可以重新開始來理解天主對我們生命的旨意。

3)我們重新開始接受天主的憐憫和寬恕。福音談到洗者約翰的「悔改的洗禮,為得罪之赦」(谷1:4)。重新開始,我們需要天主的寬恕。

可敬的Bruno寫道:「我不會讓自己灰心喪氣,不管我可能會跌倒…。儘管我跌倒了一千次,每次…。我會像第一次一樣平靜地站起來,知道我的軟弱,也知道,主啊,祢偉大的仁慈…。如果我一天摔倒一千次,一千次,帶著平靜的懺悔,我會立即說,[現在我就開始],我的天主,我的天主!」(https://www.omvusa.org/bruno-lanteri/life-legacy/begin-again/from-begin-again/).

我們一天有多少次跌倒和犯罪?當我們醒來,和第一個交談, 在車上、在工作中和在學校裡、浪費時間等等。但是好消息是天主的仁慈!如果我們今天跌倒一千次,我們都會平靜地站起來,向天主尋求寬恕。

很多人跟我分享了在這場危機中辦告解是多麼讓人振奮的。這是一個靈性上的新開始,給了我們穩定。昨天,我驚訝地發現,等待告解聖事的人龍竟然持續六個小時。

在接下來的幾周里,我們將再看看天主對我們堂區的指示。我們將重新開始我們對聖體的愛、想成為聖人的願望、像耶穌一樣去愛,然後與我們遇到的每一個人分享祂。我們期待著一個幸福的聖誕節,然後是1月7日的「啟發課程Alpha」。

我已經走出了我人生中一段困難的時期。我從來沒有想過我會如此疲憊,以至需要10週的時間來恢復,解決我的問題,以更深刻的方式理解天主的仁慈,理解祂對我生命的目的。你們中有些人說我容光煥發,這是你們以前從來沒有說過的(!),但我所得到的是天父想要給我們所有人的恩典。我人生的很大的一部分更新又要開始了。我每天都會重新開始,有時是每小時,因為天主總會重新開始。

Posted: December 6, 2020

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


其他主日反省

「主的日子必要如盜賊一樣到來」 ( 伯後 3:10) Shiu Lan

本主日的福音讀經取自《馬爾谷福音》第一章的首幾節。第一節「天主子耶穌基督福音的開始」也是這本福音的題目(參 I […]

繼續閱讀 >
乙年將臨期第二主日 – 不願意人喪亡的天主 吳智勳神父

將臨的意思是期待主的來臨。今日三篇讀經都提到這問題,但每篇的意義卻不同。首先,依撒意亞先知書提到的將臨,發生於公元前六世紀,當時以色列人正處於流亡期間,先知給他們說:「你們的天主來了」,一切痛苦會成為過去。但事實上,這喜訊只應驗了一半。

繼續閱讀 >