The Greatest Story Ever Told

Fourth Sunday of Lent

Joshua 5:9A, 10-12

The LORD said to Joshua, “Today I have removed the reproach of Egypt from you.” While the Israelites were encamped at Gilgal on the plains of Jericho, they celebrated the Passover on the evening of the fourteenth of the month. On the day after the Passover, they ate of the produce of the land in the form of unleavened cakes and parched grain. On that same day after the Passover, on which they ate of the produce of the land, the manna ceased. No longer was there manna for the Israelites, who that year ate of the yield of the land of Canaan.

2 Corinthians 5:17-21

Brothers and sisters: Whoever is in Christ is a new creation: the old things have passed away; behold, new things have come. And all this is from God, who has reconciled us to himself through Christ and given us the ministry of reconciliation, namely, God was reconciling the world to himself in Christ, not counting their trespasses against them and entrusting to us the message of reconciliation. So we are ambassadors for Christ, as if God were appealing through us. We implore you on behalf of Christ, be reconciled to God. For our sake he made him to be sin who did not know sin, so that we might become the righteousness of God in him.

Luke 15:1-3, 11-32

Tax collectors and sinners were all drawing near to listen to Jesus, but the Pharisees and scribes began to complain, saying, “This man welcomes sinners and eats with them.” So to them Jesus addressed this parable: “A man had two sons, and the younger son said to his father, ‘Father give me the share of your estate that should come to me.’ So the father divided the property between them. After a few days, the younger son collected all his belongings and set off to a distant country where he squandered his inheritance on a life of dissipation. When he had freely spent everything, a severe famine struck that country, and he found himself in dire need. So he hired himself out to one of the local citizens who sent him to his farm to tend the swine. And he longed to eat his fill of the pods on which the swine fed, but nobody gave him any. Coming to his senses he thought, ‘How many of my father’s hired workers have more than enough food to eat, but here am I, dying from hunger. I shall get up and go to my father and I shall say to him, “Father, I have sinned against heaven and against you. I no longer deserve to be called your son; treat me as you would treat one of your hired workers.”’ So he got up and went back to his father. While he was still a long way off, his father caught sight of him, and was filled with compassion. He ran to his son, embraced him and kissed him. His son said to him, ‘Father, I have sinned against heaven and against you; I no longer deserve to be called your son.’ But his father ordered his servants, ‘Quickly bring the finest robe and put it on him; put a ring on his finger and sandals on his feet. Take the fattened calf and slaughter it. Then let us celebrate with a feast, because this son of mine was dead, and has come to life again; he was lost, and has been found.’ Then the celebration began. Now the older son had been out in the field and, on his way back, as he neared the house, he heard the sound of music and dancing. He called one of the servants and asked what this might mean. The servant said to him, ‘Your brother has returned and your father has slaughtered the fattened calf because he has him back safe and sound.’ He became angry, and when he refused to enter the house, his father came out and pleaded with him. He said to his father in reply, ‘Look, all these years I served you and not once did I disobey your orders; yet you never gave me even a young goat to feast on with my friends. But when your son returns who swallowed up your property with prostitutes, for him you slaughter the fattened calf.’ He said to him, ‘My son, you are here with me always; everything I have is yours. But now we must celebrate and rejoice, because your brother was dead and has come to life again; he was lost and has been found.’”

In this 4th Sunday of Lent, we have a great privilege to read Jesus’ greatest parable, the Tale of the Prodigal son. It reminds me of the book, The Return of the Prodigal Son by Henri Nouwen. It depicts every fine detail and the spiritual reflections of the magnificent painting of the same name by Rembrandt. It is such a wonderful and most enjoyable book which I have read. It is the greatest story ever told that speaks so eloquently of who God is, and how we may nurture a right relationship with Him.

As Jesus begins the parable, we hear that the younger son, who represents a sinner, egre-giously insults his father by demanding his inheritance immediately. “Give me my share of your estate that should come to me” (Lk 15:12). Three times he has emphasized “Me”, which is heart of the problem. The father, who is oblivious to the insult, gives the boy exactly what he wants. It underlines a deeper spiritual meaning, in which many of us want the gifts of God (good life, success, health, and love) as our own possessions without a right relationship with the giver. This will never work spiritually. Our God, a transcendental source, is the one who gives, and He exists in gift form. When we wander away from the source and refuse to acknowledge it, the gifts dry up. This is when the younger son wanders into a space, “chóra makros” in Greek, meaning “a great wide emptiness”. This is where we go to when we wander away from the source. The parable further lays out this state of moral deterioration, “a severe famine struck that country…, but nobody gave him any” (Lk 15:14-16). As if his spiritual emptiness is not enough, a famine breaks out that highlights his poverty, both physical and spiritual, more poignantly. This spiritual language shows that when we divorce from God, we will have no life. In fact, we will become less than human, “to eat his fill of the pods on which the swine fed” (Lk 15:16). Furthermore, in this “chóra makros”, no one would give him anything as he wanders into the land of calculation, contract, and exchange. In contrast, it is the land of rich graciousness and gratuitous giving where his father lives!

Having hit bottom, the young boy “went back to his father” (Lk 15:20). As we are all sin-ners, we find ourselves many times in this space throughout our life. We may be living a materially rich life but divorce from God, or on a path of self-indulgence but have hit rock bottom, like the prodigal son. This is the land where we wander into, and we inevitably dry up. The key is that we have to decide to return. God is love, but because of his gracious love, He always respects our freedom. Without freedom, our lives would not be ours. Therefore, it is a decisive and an absolutely indispensable process to muster the freedom, the courage, and the energy, to turn back. Grace floods the moment when this happens. All these times the father has been waiting and watching, and the moment when he sees him, “he runs to his son” (Lk 15:20). How embarrassing it is! In Jewish tradition, an older man would sit, and people would come to him. For an old man to run is extremely undignified, so is our God, full of grace! He embraces the young man and says, “bring the finest robe and put it on him; put a ring on his finger” (Lk 15:20). In the painting of “The Return of Prodigal Son”, Rembrandt shows us that when the father puts his arms around his younger son, the light does not come from any sources outside, but it radiates out from the father himself. How beautiful! Our God lavishes his love on us, and he wants to bring us back into his circle of grace. This grace is above all joyful as it is a true celebration, a “big feast” as the parable describes. Jesus says, “I have told you this so that my joy may be in you and your joy may be complete” (Jn 15:11). That is the attitude of the father. The Bible is a story of God who relentlessly pursues for us. Our God, who wants nothing more than to bring us back into the circle of grace, would humiliate himself, and go to any ridiculous streams to “seek the lost, bring back the strays” (Ezk 34:16).

Are we ready to enter into the rhythm of grace? Are we ready to respond to this Father, who wants nothing more for us than to become fully alive? Let this rich parable sink in, wash over us, move us into the dynamics of the story, and illuminate where we are spiritually.


Acknowledgement
This is an excerpt from Bishop Robert Barron’s homilies, including
“The Prodigal Son”, “The Father and the Son”, and “The Lesson of the Prodigal Son”. For more information, please visit WordOnFire.org.

Posted: March 31, 2019

Ben Cheng

 


Other Sunday Reflections

What is the Core of Our Mission?
Our Sunday Gospel reports the Lord’s calling of his first disciples. What is it about this scene that is so peaceful and right, and why is it related to our… Continue Reading >
Preventing Divisions in the Parish
Here are some things that may be dividing us at St. Anthony’s: A few people don’t think we should be using Alpha; a few didn’t want us to give 10%… Continue Reading >
What do I want to be when I grow up?
We are “formed” by God; “called to be saints” and chosen to bring the Good News to all; to testify for our Lord Jesus Christ. Continue Reading >

最偉大的故事

四旬期第四主日

若蘇厄書 5:9,10-12

那時候,上主對若蘇厄說:「今天我由你們身上,消除了埃及的恥辱。」以色列子民在基耳加耳紮營。正月十四日晚上,在耶里哥平原,舉行了逾越節。逾越節次日,他們吃了當地的出產,即在那一天,吃了無酵餅和火烤的麥子。他們吃了當地出產的次日,「瑪納」就停止了。以色列子民既沒有「瑪納」,那年,就以客納罕地的出產為生。——上主的話。

格林多後書 5:17-21

弟兄姊妹們:誰若在基督內,他就是一個新受造物,舊的已成過去,看,都成了新的。這一切都是出於天主;他曾藉基督,使我們與他自己和好,並將這和好的職務,賜給了我們;這就是說:天主在基督內,使世界與自己和好,不再追究他們的過犯,且將和好的話,放在我們口中。所以,我們是代基督作大使了,好像是天主藉著我們,來勸勉世人。我們現在代基督請求你們:與天主和好吧!因為他曾使那不認識罪的,替我們成了罪,好叫我們在他內,成為天主的正義。——上主的話。

路加福音 15:1-3,11-32

那時候,稅吏及罪人,都來接近耶穌,為聽他講道。法利塞人及經師竊竊私議,說:「這個人與罪人交往,又同他們吃飯。」耶穌於是對他們設了這個比喻,說:「一個人,有兩個兒子,那小的,向父親說:父親,請把我應得的一份家產,分給我吧!父親於是把產業,分給他們。過了不多幾天,小兒子把所有的一切,都收拾起來,就往遠方去了。他在那裡荒淫度日,耗盡他的錢財。「當他把所有的,都揮霍盡了以後,那地方正遇著大荒年,他便開始窮困起來。他去投靠當地一個居民;那人打發他,到自己的莊田裡,去放豬。他恨不得拿豬吃的豆莢,來果腹,可是,沒有人給他。「他反躬自問:我父親有多少傭工,都口糧豐盛,我在這裡,反要餓死!我要起身,到我父親那裡去,並且要給他說:父親!我得罪了天,也得罪了你。我不配再稱作你的兒子;請把我當作你的一個傭工吧!他便起身,到他父親那裡去了。「他離的還遠的時候,他父親就看見了他,動了憐憫的心,跑上前去,擁抱他,熱情地親吻他。「兒子向他父親說:父親,我得罪了天,也得罪了你,我不配再稱作你的兒子!「他父親卻吩咐自己的僕人,說:你們快拿出上等的長袍,給他穿上,把戒指戴在他手上,給他穿上鞋,再把那隻肥牛犢牽來,宰了;我們應吃喝歡宴,因為我這個兒子,是死而復生,失而復得了。他們就歡宴起來。「那時,他的長子,正在田裡。當他回來,快到家的時候,聽見有奏樂及歌舞的聲音,於是叫一個僕人過來,問他這是什麼事。「僕人向他說:你弟弟回來了。你父親因為見他無恙歸來,便為他宰了那隻肥牛犢。長子就發怒,不肯進去。他父親於是出來,勸解他。「他回答父親說:你看,這些年來,我服事你,從未違背過你的命令,而你從未給過我一隻小山羊,讓我同我的朋友們歡宴;但你這個兒子,同娼妓耗盡了你的財產,他一回來,你反而為他宰了那隻肥牛犢。「父親給他說:孩子!你常同我在一起,凡我所有的,都是你的;只因為你這個弟弟,死而復生,失而復得,我們應當歡宴喜樂!」

在這四旬期第四主日,我們有幸讀到耶穌最偉大的一個比喻,蕩子的故事。這讓我想起盧雲神父(Henri Nouwen)所著的「蕩子回頭」一書。這本書描述了倫勃朗( Rembrandt)的同名名畫,畫中的每一細節和靈性上的反思。這是所我讀過最令人愛不釋手,非常精彩的一本書。這是有史以來最偉大的故事,把天主是誰娓娓道來,並解釋我們應如何與祂建立正確的關係。

耶穌在開始講述這比喻時,我們聽到象徵罪人的小兒子,很過份地侮辱父親,要求將屬於他的一份家業立刻給他。「父親,請把我應得的一份家產給我罷!」(路 15:12)。說話中他三次強調「我」,這便是問題的癥結。父親對兒子的侮辱卻置諸不理,竟把兒子所要求的給了他。此事在靈性上的深層意義,是我們許多人都希望能得到天主的恩賜(美好的生活、成功、健康和愛情),認為是我們擁有的,但卻沒有和施與者建立正確的關係。在靈性上,這是永遠不成的。我們的天主是一個超性的泉源,祂賜給我們一切,並存在於給我們的恩賜中。當我們走離這恩寵泉源並拒絕承認祂時,恩典便會枯竭。這便是小兒子遊走至的空間,希臘語中的“chóra makros”,意思是「無盡的空虛」。脫離了恩寵之源,我們便會墮進這空間。這個比喻再進一步敍述道德敗壞的情況,「那地方正遇著大荒年…… 可是沒有人給他」(路 15:14-16)。禍不單行,單單靈性上的空虛仍不夠苦,飢荒爆發,加深了他身體和靈性上的貧困。這靈性上的言語表示,與天主分離,我們不單止便沒有生命,事實上,我們更會變得不是人,「他恨不能拿豬吃的豆莢來果腹」(路 15:16)。此外,當他進入了計算,合約和交換的「無盡空虛」中,沒有人會給他任何東西。相對來說,他父親的住處卻是恩典豐盛,無償給與的地方!

陷入最低谷時,小兒子「便起身到他父親那裏去了」(路 15:20)。我們是罪人,一生中,會發現自己多次在這空間。物質上,我們可能仍過著富足的生活,但靈性,卻遠離天主,或自我放縱,像蕩子一樣陷入了低谷窘境。這是我們遊走進的土地,最終難免乾涸。雖然如此,重點的是我們要下定決心回頭!天主是愛,祂親切慈愛,更尊重我們的自由。沒有自由,我們的生命就不屬於我們。因此,立下決心是不可或缺的,要集中提起自由、勇氣和精力去回頭。當我們一轉念回頭時,恩典會充滿著我們。那位父親一直在等待和守候,當看到他小兒子時便「跑上前去」(路 15:20)。這是多麼尷尬!在猶太人傳統,年長男人會上坐,人會來到他面前。一個老人要跑是非常沒尊嚴的,但我們的天主竟然因愛我們會這樣做,衪充滿聖寵!那父親擁抱年輕人說:「拿出上等的袍子來給他穿上,把戒指戴在他手上」(路 15:20)。在「蕩子回頭」畫中,倫勃朗讓我們看到,當父親擁抱著他的小兒子時,光並非來自外面的任何光源,而是從父親身上散發出來。這多美麗!我們的天主毫不吝嗇地傾注祂的愛給我們,祂只想我們回到祂恩寵的棧內。這恩典是至歡欣喜悦的,因為這是真正的慶典,像比喻中所描述的「盛宴」。耶穌說:「我對你們講論了這些事,為使我的喜樂存在你們內,使你們的喜樂圓滿無缺」(若15:11)。這就是父親的態度。聖經是一個天主義無反顧地尋覓我們的故事。我們的天主,一心只想把我們帶回祂恩寵的棧裡,甚至謙卑自己,即使是去到任何莫名奇妙的溪水畔,「失落的我要尋找;迷路的,我要領回」(則 34:16)。

我們準備好進入這恩典的韻律嗎?我們是否已準備好回應這父親,一位只想我們的生命活力充沛的父親?讓這發人深省的比喻在我們的心靈中沉澱,洗滌我們,感動我們投入故事,並在靈性上啟發光照我們。


鳴謝
這是 Bishop Robert Barron 講道摘錄,包括
“The Prodigal Son”, “The Father and the Son”, 和 “The Lesson of the Prodigal Son”. 詳情請溜覧 WordOnFire.org.

Posted: March 31, 2019

Ben Cheng

 


其他主日反省

丙年(路加)四旬期第四主日:有情的父親 吳智勳神父

路加福音特別喜歡說天主的慈悲,因此被稱為罪人的福音。路加在第十五章裏,連續說了三個比喻:即失去的羊、失去的錢幣、失去的兒子,三個都襯托出天主的慈悲。中國人有句說話:「浪子回頭金不換」,形成我們側重講浪子回頭。其實,如果將注意力放在浪子身上,就錯過了這個比喻的意思,路加是想講父親的慈悲。

繼續閱讀 >