The Lost Sheep

Twenty-fourth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Exodus 32:7-11, 13-14

The LORD said to Moses, “Go down at once to your people, whom you brought out of the land of Egypt, for they have become depraved. They have soon turned aside from the way I pointed out to them, making for themselves a molten calf and worshiping it, sacrificing to it and crying out, ‘This is your God, O Israel, who brought you out of the land of Egypt!’ “I see how stiff-necked this people is, ” continued the LORD to Moses. Let me alone, then, that my wrath may blaze up against them to consume them. Then I will make of you a great nation.” But Moses implored the LORD, his God, saying, “Why, O LORD, should your wrath blaze up against your own people, whom you brought out of the land of Egypt with such great power and with so strong a hand? Remember your servants Abraham, Isaac, and Israel, and how you swore to them by your own self, saying, ‘I will make your descendants as numerous as the stars in the sky; and all this land that I promised, I will give your descendants as their perpetual heritage.’” So the LORD relented in the punishment he had threatened to inflict on his people.

1 Timothy 1:12-17

Beloved: I am grateful to him who has strengthened me, Christ Jesus our Lord, because he considered me trustworthy in appointing me to the ministry. I was once a blasphemer and a persecutor and arrogant, but I have been mercifully treated because I acted out of ignorance in my unbelief. Indeed, the grace of our Lord has been abundant, along with the faith and love that are in Christ Jesus. This saying is trustworthy and deserves full acceptance: Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners. Of these I am the foremost. But for that reason I was mercifully treated, so that in me, as the foremost, Christ Jesus might display all his patience as an example for those who would come to believe in him for everlasting life. To the king of ages, incorruptible, invisible, the only God, honor and glory forever and ever. Amen.

Luke 15:1-32

Tax collectors and sinners were all drawing near to listen to Jesus, but the Pharisees and scribes began to complain, saying, “This man welcomes sinners and eats with them.” So to them he addressed this parable. “What man among you having a hundred sheep and losing one of them would not leave the ninety-nine in the desert and go after the lost one until he finds it? And when he does find it, he sets it on his shoulders with great joy and, upon his arrival home, he calls together his friends and neighbors and says to them, ‘Rejoice with me because I have found my lost sheep.’ I tell you, in just the same way there will be more joy in heaven over one sinner who repents than over ninety-nine righteous people who have no need of repentance. “Or what woman having ten coins and losing one would not light a lamp and sweep the house, searching carefully until she finds it? And when she does find it, she calls together her friends and neighbors and says to them, ‘Rejoice with me because I have found the coin that I lost.’ In just the same way, I tell you, there will be rejoicing among the angels of God over one sinner who repents.” Then he said, “A man had two sons, and the younger son said to his father, ‘Father give me the share of your estate that should come to me.’ So the father divided the property between them. After a few days, the younger son collected all his belongings and set off to a distant country where he squandered his inheritance on a life of dissipation. When he had freely spent everything, a severe famine struck that country, and he found himself in dire need. So he hired himself out to one of the local citizens who sent him to his farm to tend the swine. And he longed to eat his fill of the pods on which the swine fed, but nobody gave him any. Coming to his senses he thought, ‘How many of my father’s hired workers have more than enough food to eat, but here am I, dying from hunger. I shall get up and go to my father and I shall say to him, “Father, I have sinned against heaven and against you. I no longer deserve to be called your son; treat me as you would treat one of your hired workers.”’ So he got up and went back to his father. While he was still a long way off, his father caught sight of him, and was filled with compassion. He ran to his son, embraced him and kissed him. His son said to him, ‘Father, I have sinned against heaven and against you; I no longer deserve to be called your son.’ But his father ordered his servants, ‘Quickly bring the finest robe and put it on him; put a ring on his finger and sandals on his feet. Take the fattened calf and slaughter it. Then let us celebrate with a feast, because this son of mine was dead, and has come to life again; he was lost, and has been found.’ Then the celebration began. Now the older son had been out in the field and, on his way back, as he neared the house, he heard the sound of music and dancing. He called one of the servants and asked what this might mean. The servant said to him, ‘Your brother has returned and your father has slaughtered the fattened calf because he has him back safe and sound.’ He became angry, and when he refused to enter the house, his father came out and pleaded with him. He said to his father in reply, ‘Look, all these years I served you and not once did I disobey your orders; yet you never gave me even a young goat to feast on with my friends. But when your son returns, who swallowed up your property with prostitutes, for him you slaughter the fattened calf.’ He said to him, ‘My son, you are here with me always; everything I have is yours. But now we must celebrate and rejoice, because your brother was dead and has come to life again; he was lost and has been found.’”

In this Sunday’s gospel reading, we hear that Jesus is teaching with parables again, one of which is the parable of the lost sheep. Jesus said, “Who among you, having a hundred sheep and losing one of them, will not leave the ninety-nine in the wilderness and seek out the lost one till he finds it? And finding it, will he not joyfully carry it home on his shoulders?” (Luke 15:4-5).

This parable reminds me of a high school re-union we had last year. The first thing my classmate who sat next to me said was “I don’t go to church anymore”. Having not caught up with each other for many years, I was pondering how to respond to this person who was once very pious and we used to work on Legion of Mary assignments together. More surprises. Another classmate who sat across the table said, “I have been studying Buddhism for a few years. It is beautiful philosophy and has immense wisdom”. Still another said, “I will copy the ‘Prayer of the Heart’ to still the storm in my heart whenever I am troubled”. “The best prayer in Buddhism” she added. At least 30% of the people in that table have left the church; almost all of them had received over ten years of education in a Catholic school and were baptized Catholics.

My friends who left the church are not alone. We hear from the First Reading that since the time of Moses, this had happened. “They have quickly turned from the way [Yahweh] commanded them” (Exodus 32:7). With Jesus’ reassurance in the parable, we know that “He will seek out the lost [sheep] until He finds it” (Luke 15:4). And finding it, not only will He “joyfully carry it home on his shoulders”, “He will call his friends and neighbours together and say: ‘Celebrate with me for I have found my lost sheep’” (Luke 15:5-6).

When Jesus is finding the lost sheep, He leaves “the ninety-nine in the wilderness” (Luke 15:5-6). We are among one of these. As we await for the joyful celebration, we must be attentive and listen to our Shepherd in the hope that He will consider us trustworthy and appoint us to His service as St. Paul said of himself in the second reading, “[Christ Jesus] has considered me trustworthy and appointed me to his service” (1 Timothy 12).

Posted: September 15, 2019

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


Other Sunday Reflections

God Never Gives up on Us; Why Should We?
Be persistent, “will not God grant justice to his chosen ones who cry to Him day and night?” (Lk 18:7)  Continue Reading >
The miracle of the ten lepers
“God calls us to live in gratitude, obeying with joy to the One who has given us so much, infinitely more than we could ever give to him” (Pope Francis… Continue Reading >
Healing is Simpler Than Imagined
I know a man who’s got a lot of problems: He struggles with his closest relationships, with his work, and with his direction in life. He blames everything: God hasn’t… Continue Reading >

迷途的羔羊

常年期第二十四主日

出谷紀 32:7-11, 13-14

那時候,上主訓示梅瑟說:「你下去!因為,你從埃及國領出來的百姓,敗壞了。他們很快就離開了我所指示給他們的道路,為自己鑄了一隻牛犢,朝拜牠,向牠祭獻,並且說:『以色列,這就是領你離開埃及的天主。』」上主向梅瑟說:「我看這百姓,真是一個執拗的百姓!你讓我向他們發怒,消滅他們;我要使你成為一個大民族。」梅瑟求上主他的天主息怒,說:「上主,你為什麼要向百姓發怒呢?這是你以大力,用強硬的手臂,由埃及國領出來的百姓。「求你紀念你的僕人亞巴郎、依撒格和以色列,你曾指著自己,向他們發誓說:我要使你們的後裔,像天上的繁星那樣多;我必將所許諾的那整塊土地,賜給你們的後裔,叫他們永遠擁有。」上主於是撤銷了要加於百姓的災禍。

弟茂德前書 1:12-17

親愛的:我感謝我們的主基督耶穌,他賜給了我能力,因為他認為我忠信,就委派了我去為他服役。原先,我是個褻瀆者、迫害者和施暴者;但是,我蒙受了憐憫,因為,我當時是在不信之中,出於無知,而做了那些事。然而,我們的主,賜我格外豐厚的恩寵,使我在耶穌基督內,有了信和愛。這話是確實的,值得完全接納的,就是基督耶穌來到世界上,是為拯救罪人;而我就是其中的魁首。但是,我所以蒙受了憐憫,是為使基督耶穌,在我這個魁首身上,顯示出他的寬大和忍耐,為給將來信靠他而獲得永生的人,一個榜樣。願尊崇和光榮,歸於萬世的君王:那不死不滅,不可見的唯一天主,於無窮世之世!阿們。

路加福音 15:1-32

那時候,稅吏及罪人,都來接近耶穌,為聽他講道。法利塞人及經師竊竊私議,說:「這個人與罪人交往,又同他們吃飯。」耶穌於是對他們設了這個比喻,說:「你們當中,那個人有一百隻羊,遺失了其中一隻,而不把這九十九隻,留在荒野,去尋找那遺失的一隻,直至找到呢?找到了,就歡喜的把牠放在自己的肩膀上,回到家裡,請他的友好及鄰人來,對他們說:你們與我一同歡樂吧!因為我那隻遺失了的羊,又找到了。「我告訴你們:同樣,對於一個罪人悔改,在天上的所有歡樂,甚於對那九十九個無須悔改的義人。「或者,一個婦女,有十個『達瑪』,如果她遺失了一個,那有不點上燈,打掃房屋,細心尋找,直至找到呢?找到了,她就請朋友及鄰人來,說:你們與我一同歡樂吧!因為我失去的那個 『達瑪』,又找到了。「我告訴你們:對於一個罪人悔改,在天主的使者前,也是這樣歡樂。」耶穌又說:「一個人,有兩個兒子,那小的,向父親說:父親,請把我應得的一分家產,分給我吧!父親於是把產業,分給他們。過了不多幾天,小兒子把所有的一切,都收拾起來,就往遠方去了。他在那裡荒淫度日,耗盡他的錢財。當他把所有的,都揮霍盡了以後,那地方正遇著大荒年,他便開始窮困起來。他去投靠當地一個居民;那人打發他,到自己的莊田裡,去放豬。他恨不得拿豬吃的豆莢,來果腹,可是,沒有人給他。「他反躬自問:我父親有多少傭工,都口糧豐盛,我在這裡,反要餓死!我要起身,到我父親那裡去,並且要給他說:父親!我得罪了天,也得罪了你。我不配再稱作你的兒子;請把我當作你的一個傭工吧!他便起身,到他父親那裡去了。他離的還遠的時候,他父親就看見了他,動了憐憫的心,跑上前去,擁抱他,熱情地親吻他。「兒子向他父親說:父親,我得罪了天,也得罪了你,我不配再稱作你的兒子!「他父親卻吩咐自己的僕人,說:你們快拿出上等的長袍,給他穿上,把戒指戴在他手上,給他穿上鞋,再把那隻肥牛犢牽來,宰了;我們應吃喝歡宴,因為我這個兒子,是死而復生,失而復得了。他們就歡宴起來。「那時,他的長子,正在田裡。當他回來,快到家的時候,聽見有奏樂及歌舞的聲音,於是叫一個僕人過來,問他這是什麼事。「僕人向他說:你弟弟回來了。你父親因為見他無恙歸來,便為他宰了那隻肥牛犢。長子就發怒,不肯進去。他父親於是出來,勸解他。「他回答父親說:你看,這些年來,我服事你,從未違背過你的命令,而你從未給過我一隻小山羊,讓我同我的朋友們歡宴;但你這個兒子,同娼妓耗盡了你的財產,他一回來,你反而為他宰了那隻肥牛犢。「父親給他說:孩子!你常同我在一起,凡我所有的,都是你的;只因為你這個弟弟,死而復生,失而復得,應當歡宴喜樂!」

在本週的福音中,我們聽到耶穌再次用比喻教導我們;而其中一個比喻是 「迷途的羔羊」。耶穌說: 「你們中間那個人有一百隻羊,遺失了其中的一隻,而不把這九十九隻丟在荒野,去尋覓那遺失的一隻,直到找著呢?待找著了,就喜歡的把牠放在自己的肩膀上 」(路 15:4 – 5)。

這比喻令我回想起去年的中學舊生聚會。坐在我身旁的同學頭一句話便說:「我已沒有上教堂了」。由於我們多年沒有聯絡,我正思索如何回應這位從前對信仰非常熱心的同學,我們當年曾經一起履行聖母軍的職務。令我出乎意料的事還陸續有來。坐在我對面的同學説 :「我研究佛學已有多年。那是美妙的哲學,更有無窮的智慧」。另一位又說:「每當我感到煩惱,便會抄《心經》來平復心情」。她更說那是「佛教最好的經文」。同桌的同學,雖然幾乎全都在天主教學校受教育十年以上,並且領了洗,但最少百份之三十已離開教會了。

像我的朋友們這樣離開教會的,並非絕無僅有。從讀經一,我們聽到自梅瑟時代,已經有這樣的事情:「他們很快便就離開了【上主】給他們指的道路」(出 32:7)。但有了耶穌在比喻中的保證,我們知道祂會「尋覓那遺失的一隻 ,直到找著」(路 15:4)。找到之後,衪不單會 「喜歡地把牠放在自己的肩膀上」,還會 「請他的友好及鄰人來」,並說:「你們與我同樂罷! 因為我那隻遺失了的羊,又找到了」(路 15:5-6)。

在尋找那迷失的羔羊之時,耶穌把「九十九隻羊丟在荒野」 (路15:5 – 6)。我們便是這些羊。在等待那歡欣喜樂的時刻,我們要用心聆聽牧者,希望祂會認為自己值得信任,可以選中我們為衪服務,正如聖保祿在讀經二中這樣說及他自己:「【基督耶穌】認為我忠信。就派定了我服役」 (弟前 1:12)。

Posted: September 15, 2019

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


其他主日反省

一個人的價值 Fr. Jusin Huang

兩年前,我學到了一些關於男孩和女孩的有趣的差別。在學年結束時,我們向我們學校的一些工作人員告別,其中一些人已經在這裡超過十五年了。我們舉行了一次集會,孩子們圍成一個大圈,唱著歌,給站在中間的老師們送禮物。最後,一些女孩走到老師面前擁抱他們。 四至七年級的女孩都哭了。我對他們的成熟感到驚訝

繼續閱讀 >
丙常年期第廿四主日:慈悲的天主 吳智勳神父

今日福音的三個比喻,被視為路加福音的心臟,突出了天主的慈悲。耶穌與稅吏和罪人來往,引起法利塞人和經師的不滿,認為罪人必須受到隔離,免玷污別人。

繼續閱讀 >