The New Jerusalem As Envisioned by Isaiah

The Epiphany of the Lord

Isaiah 60:1-6

Rise up in splendor, Jerusalem! Your light has come, the glory of the Lord shines upon you. See, darkness covers the earth, and thick clouds cover the peoples; but upon you the LORD shines, and over you appears his glory. Nations shall walk by your light, and kings by your shining radiance. Raise your eyes and look about; they all gather and come to you: your sons come from afar, and your daughters in the arms of their nurses. Then you shall be radiant at what you see, your heart shall throb and overflow, for the riches of the sea shall be emptied out before you, the wealth of nations shall be brought to you. Caravans of camels shall fill you, dromedaries from Midian and Ephah; all from Sheba shall come bearing gold and frankincense, and proclaiming the praises of the LORD.

Ephesians 3:2-3A, 5-6

Brothers and sisters: You have heard of the stewardship of God’s grace that was given to me for your benefit, namely, that the mystery was made known to me by revelation. It was not made known to people in other generations as it has now been revealed to his holy apostles and prophets by the Spirit: that the Gentiles are coheirs, members of the same body, and copartners in the promise in Christ Jesus through the gospel.

Matthew 2:1-12

When Jesus was born in Bethlehem of Judea, in the days of King Herod, behold, magi from the east arrived in Jerusalem, saying, “Where is the newborn king of the Jews? We saw his star at its rising and have come to do him homage.” When King Herod heard this, he was greatly troubled, and all Jerusalem with him. Assembling all the chief priests and the scribes of the people, He inquired of them where the Christ was to be born. They said to him, “In Bethlehem of Judea, for thus it has been written through the prophet: And you, Bethlehem, land of Judah, are by no means least among the rulers of Judah; since from you shall come a ruler, who is to shepherd my people Israel.” Then Herod called the magi secretly and ascertained from them the time of the star’s appearance. He sent them to Bethlehem and said, “Go and search diligently for the child. When you have found him, bring me word, that I too may go and do him homage.” After their audience with the king they set out. And behold, the star that they had seen at its rising preceded them, until it came and stopped over the place where the child was. They were overjoyed at seeing the star, and on entering the house they saw the child with Mary his mother. They prostrated themselves and did him homage. Then they opened their treasures and offered him gifts of gold, frankincense, and myrrh. And having been warned in a dream not to return to Herod, they departed for their country by another way.

“Rise up in splendor, Jerusalem! Your light has come, the glory of the Lord shines upon you…Raise your eyes and look about; [the nations] all gather and come to you” (Is 60:1, 4).

At a time when Israel’s survival as a nation is threatened by the collapse of the kingdom of Israel in the north and the invasion of Jerusalem by Sennacherib, the king of Assyria, in the south, Isaiah’s message of hope that extolls the splendor of Jerusalem and its glorious future must have sounded more like a mockery than an encouragement to its people. But with the benefit of hindsight and the enlightenment of history, now we know his prophecy is in fact so accurate that it strains credulity.

With a laser-sharp futuristic vision, the prophet foresees in this Sunday’s first reading a New Jerusalem upon which “the glory of the Lord shines” (Is 60:1). Gone was the city of Jerusalem, sacked and destroyed by the Romans in 70 A.D; its residents, more than one million of them according to the Jewish historian Josephus, massacred or left to die from famine. Appearing on the world stage of history, not as a replacement but as a continuation, was the Church, the New Jerusalem (CCC 756). Gone also was the Jerusalem temple, razed to the ground, not one stone was left upon another as Jesus had predicted (cf. Lk 21:6). With the temple demolished, all but inevitable was the abrupt termination of the Mosaic sacrifices and Aaronic priesthood. The sacred duties of worship and sanctification of the temple have been taken over and continued until this day by the Church, the New Jerusalem Temple, through its divine liturgies, Christ-centered sacraments, and Petrine priesthood.

Never should we be taken aback by the “spot or wrinkle or any such thing” that we see in the Church every so often (Eph 5:27). We say this without minimizing the seriousness of the consequences that endanger Peter’s boat whenever the Church falls short (cf. Lk 8:22-23). If life to us is a process of learning and striving for excellence, history to the Church, the New Jerusalem, is a process for it to progress and spiral towards perfection. The Church, often referred to as the Holy City, is undergoing purification; it will be made “holy and without blemish” by Christ (CCC756, Eph 5:27). “As living stones we here on earth are built into it”, until the world is made anew and the New Jerusalem “[comes] down out of heaven from God, prepared as a bride adorned for her husband” (CCC756, Rev 21:2).

The New Jerusalem envisioned by Isaiah is also for all nations: “Nations shall walk by your light…they all gather and come to you” (Is 60:3-4). While unthinkable to the Jews at the time who shunned the Gentiles because they were considered “unclean”, the prophecy is perfectly fulfilled in the Catholic Church. “Catholic”, a word first used by St. Ignatius of Antioch (d. 108 AD), means universal or for all nations. St. Paul refers to this important attribute of the Church as “the mystery [that] was made known to me by revelation” in the second reading (Eph 3:2). In this mystery of the universality or catholicity of the kingdom of God: “the Gentiles are coheirs, members of the same body, and copartners in the promise in Christ Jesus through the gospel” (Eph 3:6).

Now we know why the Church concludes this Sunday’s readings with Matthew’s gospel account on the visit of the three wise men. After many years of preparation, prophecy, and anticipation; after a lengthy labor and many painful birth pangs; history has given birth, in this “infant wrapped in swaddling clothes and lying in a manger”, to the world’s savior (Lk 2:12). He will reconcile all things, “making peace by the blood of his cross, whether those on earth or those in heaven” (Col 1:20). The time has come for all barriers to come down, all hatreds to disappear, and all hostilities among the nations to vanish. So here they come: three wise men from the east, representing the Gentile nations; paying tribute to the new born King; bringing with them “gifts of gold, frankincense, and myrrh” in recognition of his Kingship, Divinity, and Passion; just as Isaiah has envisioned (Mt.2:11, Ignatius Catholic Study Bible).

Posted: January 5, 2020

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


Other Sunday Reflections

Are we able to perceive the hidden Truth?
To be able to perceive the Truth, we need an open heart and a willing ear Continue Reading >
“Come to Me” (Mt 11:28)
It is exactly in these times of uncertainties that we are brought back to the only certainty of hope and love through the in-dwelling Spirit of Christ. Continue Reading >
Freedom in Accepting Our Bodies
Let’s talk about the challenge of not accepting our bodies. All of us have experiences of not being satisfied with the way we look. We’re self-conscious about our size, shape,… Continue Reading >

依撒意亞預見的新耶路撒冷

主顯節

依撒意亞先知書 60:1-6

耶路撒冷啊!起來炫耀吧!因為你的光明,已經來到;上主的榮耀,已經照耀在你身上。看啊!黑暗籠罩著大地,陰雲遮蔽著萬民;但上主卻照耀著你,他的榮耀,要彰顯在你的身上。萬民要奔赴你的光明;眾王要投奔你升起的光輝。舉目向四方觀望吧!他們都聚集來到你這裡;你的眾子,要從遠方而來,你的女兒,要被抱回來。那時,你見到這情形,必要喜形於色,你的心靈,必要興奮愉快,因為,海洋的珍寶,都要歸於你,萬民的財富,都要歸你所有。成群結隊的駱駝,以及米德楊和厄法的獨峰駝,要齊集在你境內;牠們從舍巴,滿載黃金和乳香而來,宣揚上主的榮耀。

厄弗所書 3:2-3,5-6

弟兄姊妹們:想你們必聽說過,天主為了你們,以恩寵賜與我的職分;就是藉著啟示,使我得知他的奧秘;這奧秘在以前的世代,沒有告訴過任何人,現在卻藉聖神,啟示給他的聖宗徒和先知;這奧秘就是:外邦人藉著福音,在基督耶穌內,與猶太人同為承繼人,同為一身,同為恩許的分享人。

瑪竇福音 2:1-12

當黑落德為王時,耶穌誕生在猶大的白冷。看,有賢士從東方來到耶路撒冷,說:「剛誕生的猶太人君王在那裡?我們在東方見到了他的星,特來朝拜他。」黑落德王聽見了,就驚慌起來;全耶路撒冷也同他一起驚慌。黑落德王便召集了眾司祭長和民間的經師,仔細考問他們:「默西亞應當生在那裡?」他們對他說:「在猶大的白冷,因為先知曾這樣記載:『你猶大白冷啊!你在猶大的郡邑中,決不是最小的,因為將由你出來一位領袖;他將牧養我的百姓以色列。』」於是,黑落德暗暗把賢士叫來,仔細詢問他們那星出現的時間;然後打發他們往白冷去,說:「你們去仔細尋訪那嬰孩,幾時找到了,就向我報告,好讓我也去朝拜他。」 賢士聽了王的話,就走了。看,他們在東方所見的那星,走在他們前面,直至來到嬰孩所在的地方,就停在上面。他們一見到那星,極其高興歡喜。他們走進屋裡,看見嬰孩和他的母親瑪利亞,就俯伏朝拜了那嬰孩,並打開自己的寶匣,給嬰孩奉獻了禮物,即黃金、乳香和沒藥。賢士在夢中得到指示,不要回到黑落德那裡,就由另一條路,返回自己的地方。

「耶路撒冷啊!起來炫耀罷!因你的光明已經來到,上主的榮耀已經照耀在你身上。舉起你的眼向四方觀望罷![萬民]都聚集來到你這裡」(依 60:1, 4)。

那是以色列面對滅亡的危機,四面楚歌的時刻。在北面,北以色列王國已經瓦解;在南面,耶路撒冷又被亞述王散乃黑黎布入侵。先知依撒意亞充滿希望的訊息,既讚揚耶路撒冷的光輝,又幢景美好的將來;對以色列人來說,這本來是鼓勵的說話,其實更像一個莫大的諷刺。然而,在歷史的光照和藉著回顧的幫助,今天我們才知道他的預言其實準確得令人難以置信。

在本主日的第一篇讀經,先知以像雷射般精準的目光來看未來,預見新耶路撒冷蒙受「上主的榮耀」(依 60:1)。耶路撒冷聖城已成過去,它在公元七十年被羅馬人攻陷、摧毀;按猶太歷史學家 Josephus,有百多萬居民被屠殺或因饑荒而死亡。但教會—新耶路撒冷—卻出現於世界歷史舞台上,把聖城延續下去, 但不是取代了它(CCC 756)。同樣地,耶路撒冷聖殿已成過去,它也被夷為平地,如耶穌所預言,沒有一塊石頭留在另一塊石頭上 (參 路 21:6)。聖殿既被摧毀,梅瑟法律規定的祭獻及亞郎司祭職,也無可避免地突然中斷了。然而,透過聖祭禮儀、以基督為中心的聖事及從伯多祿傳下來的聖秩職份,教會—新的耶路撒冷聖殿—接過了聖殿欽崇和聖化的神聖職務,並延續至今。

我們絕對不應該因為看見教會有時候會出現的「瑕疵…皺紋,或其他類似的缺陷」而震驚至目瞪口呆(弗 5:27)。我們這樣說並不是意圖輕輕抹過每次教會犯錯時所帶來的後果的嚴重性,和這些事情如何危害著伯多祿這條船(參閱路8:22-23)。如果說人生是一個讓我們學習及努力達致完善的過程,歷史便是一個讓教會—新耶路撒冷—進步並輾轉地日趨圓滿的過程。常被稱為聖城的教會,在經歷著煉淨;基督會使教會「成為聖潔和沒有污點的」(CCC 756, 弗 5:27)。「我們就是活石,要在此世形成一個屬神的殿宇」,直至天地更新,新耶路撒冷便會「從天上由天主那裡降下,就如一位裝飾好迎接自己丈夫的新娘」(CCC 756, 默 21:2)。

依撒意亞所預見的新耶路撒冷也是屬於天下萬民的:「萬民要奔赴你的光明…他們都聚集來到你這裡」(依 60:3-4)。儘管依撒意亞的預言對當代猶太人來說是不可思議的 – 因為他們排斥外邦人,認為他們是「不潔」的 – 但是它卻在至公的教會中得以圓滿實現。「至公」一詞最早由安提約基雅的聖依納爵(公元108年卒)首先使用,是普世及或天下萬民的意思。在第二篇讀經中,聖保祿在論及公教會這重要的特性時說,它是「藉著啟示,使我得知 ⋯ 的奧秘」(弗 3:2)。在這普世或至公的天國的奧秘中,「外邦人藉著福音在基督耶穌內與猶太人同為承繼人,同為一身,同為恩許的分享人」(弗 3:6)。

如此說來,我們便明白為何本主日的讀經以《瑪竇福音》三位賢士來朝的記載來結束。在多年準備、預言及期待之後;在漫長的分娩及產痛之後;歷史終於給人誕下了救世主,他是「一個嬰兒,裹著襁褓,躺在馬槽裡」(路 2:12)。祂會讓萬有修和,重歸於好:「無論是地上的,是天上的,都與自己重歸於好,因著他十字架的血立定了和平」(哥 1:20)。時候將到而且現在就是,拆毁所有屏障吧!除去一切仇恨和萬民之間的敵意吧!看啊!他們來了:來自東方和代表著外邦人的三位賢士;他們向新生王致敬,帶來了「禮物:黃金、乳香和沒藥」,明認著祂的王權、天主性和苦難;就如依撒意亞所預視的一樣 (瑪 2:11, Ignatius Catholic Study Bible)。

Posted: January 5, 2020

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


其他主日反省

甲年主顯節:顯示與回應 吳智勳神父

主顯節是慶祝主耶穌顯露給外邦人(東方賢士)的節日。我們全是外邦人,因此,對我們來說,主顯節也是我們一個重大的日子。

繼續閱讀 >
靈性成長的最佳時機 Fr. Jusin Huang

你希望今年過得比去年好些嗎?我再問一遍:你希望今年過得比去年好些嗎?可惜,根據我的經驗,大多數人都會犯同樣的錯誤,因為他們無法突破每天每天的循環慣例。大多數的生活都有一股我們無法阻擋的趨勢。

繼續閱讀 >