Through the Eyes of Faith

Nineteenth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Wisdom 18:6 - 9

The night of the passover was known beforehand to our fathers, that, with sure knowledge of the oaths in which they put their faith, they might have courage. Your people awaited the salvation of the just and the destruction of their foes. For when you punished our adversaries, in this you glorified us whom you had summoned. For in secret the holy children of the good were offering sacrifice and putting into effect with one accord the divine institution.

Hebrews 11:1-2, 8-19

Brothers and sisters: Faith is the realization of what is hoped for and evidence of things not seen. Because of it the ancients were well attested. By faith Abraham obeyed when he was called to go out to a place that he was to receive as an inheritance; he went out, not knowing where he was to go. By faith he sojourned in the promised land as in a foreign country, dwelling in tents with Isaac and Jacob, heirs of the same promise; for he was looking forward to the city with foundations, whose architect and maker is God. By faith he received power to generate, even though he was past the normal age —and Sarah herself was sterile— for he thought that the one who had made the promise was trustworthy. So it was that there came forth from one man, himself as good as dead, descendants as numerous as the stars in the sky and as countless as the sands on the seashore. All these died in faith. They did not receive what had been promised but saw it and greeted it from afar and acknowledged themselves to be strangers and aliens on earth, for those who speak thus show that they are seeking a homeland. If they had been thinking of the land from which they had come, they would have had opportunity to return. But now they desire a better homeland, a heavenly one. Therefore, God is not ashamed to be called their God, for he has prepared a city for them. By faith Abraham, when put to the test, offered up Isaac, and he who had received the promises was ready to offer his only son, of whom it was said, “Through Isaac descendants shall bear your name.” He reasoned that God was able to raise even from the dead, and he received Isaac back as a symbol.

Luke 12:32-48

Jesus said to his disciples: “Do not be afraid any longer, little flock, for your Father is pleased to give you the kingdom. Sell your belongings and give alms. Provide money bags for yourselves that do not wear out, an inexhaustible treasure in heaven that no thief can reach nor moth destroy. For where your treasure is, there also will your heart be. “Gird your loins and light your lamps and be like servants who await their master’s return from a wedding, ready to open immediately when he comes and knocks. Blessed are those servants whom the master finds vigilant on his arrival. Amen, I say to you, he will gird himself, have them recline at table, and proceed to wait on them. And should he come in the second or third watch and find them prepared in this way, blessed are those servants. Be sure of this: if the master of the house had known the hour when the thief was coming, he would not have let his house be broken into. You also must be prepared, for at an hour you do not expect, the Son of Man will come.” Then Peter said, “Lord, is this parable meant for us or for everyone?” And the Lord replied, “Who, then, is the faithful and prudent steward whom the master will put in charge of his servants to distribute the food allowance at the proper time? Blessed is that servant whom his master on arrival finds doing so. Truly, I say to you, the master will put the servant in charge of all his property. But if that servant says to himself, ‘My master is delayed in coming,’ and begins to beat the menservants and the maidservants, to eat and drink and get drunk, then that servant’s master will come on an unexpected day and at an unknown hour and will punish the servant severely and assign him a place with the unfaithful. That servant who knew his master’s will but did not make preparations nor act in accord with his will shall be beaten severely; and the servant who was ignorant of his master’s will but acted in a way deserving of a severe beating shall be beaten only lightly. Much will be required of the person entrusted with much, and still more will be demanded of the person entrusted with more.”

In this age of atheism and materialism, many people see faith as essentially an interior attitude that is subjective, imaginative, and psychological. It is, in a word, objectively unreal and subjectively self-deceiving. People claiming to have faith, so they say, are living in a self-invented world that does not exist. Foolish are the believers because they are dreaming their lives away.

Not so according to this Sunday’s readings.

More than a subjective and self-deceiving attitude that lacks objective reality, the Christian faith is grounded on what God has done in human history and what the ancients have attested to, namely, the Passover events (cf. Wisdom 18:6) and the fulfillments of God’s promises to Abraham, both immediate and remote, including Jesus’ incarnation, suffering, and resurrection, and the coming of the Kingdom of Heaven (cf. Hebrews 11:8-19).

More than a mere mental conviction or a feeble hope that something will somehow become a reality, faith “is the realization of what is hoped for and evidence of things not seen” (Hebrews 11:1). In other words, faith actually “gives us even now something of the reality we are waiting for” (Benedict XVI, Spe Salvi, n.7). We are convinced that even now our faith has brought us blessings aplenty; even now we are growing in holiness and becoming more and more like Jesus due to our faith. Faith enables us to see things that are not seen in this world.

Once again, we need St. John Paul II to help us understand the supreme nobility of the act of faith: “Men and women can accomplish no more important act in their lives than the act of faith” because “it is here that freedom reaches the certainty of truth and chooses to live in that truth” (Fides et Ratio, n.13).

“Do not be afraid any longer, little flock, for your Father is pleased to give you the kingdom.
Sell your belongings and give alms,” Jesus challenged his disciples to live in faith in this Sunday’s gospel (Luke 12:32-33). Through the eyes of faith we see no fear. Through the eyes of faith we behold with great love each other’s profound beauty as the children of God. Through the eyes of faith we set our sights on the “inexhaustible treasure in heaven” (Luke 12:33) during our pilgrimage on earth. Unfortunately, for people whose hearts are fixated only on temporal matters and pleasures, the invisible grandeur that our eyes of faith envision is always just a “dream”.

Posted: August 7, 2016

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


Other Sunday Reflections

The Shepherd and the King
Jesus is no ordinary king. Like David, his Old Testament type, he is a Shepherd-King. Continue Reading >
Is the rich getting richer and the poor getting poorer?
In God's kingdom of eternal joy, there is no shortage of resources nor discrimination of treatment. Continue Reading >
Preparing for the Royal Visit
If we do not live like we “know” Christ every single day, how do we expect Christ to “know” us when He comes again? Continue Reading >

透過信德的目光

常年期第十九主日

智慧篇 18:6-9

我們的祖先,曾預先得知那一夜的事,而且,由於確實知道自己所相信的誓言,是多麼可靠,因此都心安神樂。所以,你的子民所期待的,就是義人的救援,及仇人的滅亡。你怎樣懲罰了仇敵,也怎樣光榮了我們,為召叫我們歸向你。善人的聖潔子孫,都曾在暗中獻祭,同心合意訂立了神聖的盟約,為使聖徒同甘共苦,並同唱了列祖的讚美歌。——上主的話。

希伯來書 11:1-2, 8-19

弟兄姊妹們:信德是所希望之事的擔保,是未見之事的確證。先人們因這信德,都曾得到褒揚。因著信德,亞巴郎一蒙召選,就聽命前往他將要承受為產業的地方。他出發時,還不知道要到那裡。因著信德,他作客他鄉,旅居在所應許的地域,與有同樣恩許的承繼人:依撒格和雅各伯,寄居在帳幕內,期待著那有堅固基礎的城;這城的工程師和建築者,就是天主。因著信德,連石女撒辣,雖然過了適當年齡,也獲得懷孕生子的能力,因為她相信,那應許者是信實的。因此,由一個人,且由一個已屆暮年的人,生育子孫,有如天上的星辰那麼多,又如海邊的沙粒,不可勝數。這些人,還未獲得所恩許的,就懷著信德死去。他們雖只由遠處觀望,便表示歡迎,並明認自己在世上,只是外方人和旅客。的確,說這話的人,是表示自己正在尋找一個家鄉。如果他們仍懷念所離開的家鄉,他們還有回鄉的機會;但是,事實上,他們現在所渴望的,是一個更美麗的家鄉,即天上的家鄉。因此,天主自稱是他們的天主,又不以他們為恥,因為,天主已給他們預備了一座城。因著信德,亞巴郎在受試探時,獻上了依撒格。亞巴郎就是那承受了恩許的人,但他卻獻上了自己的獨生子。原來天主曾向亞巴郎說過:「只有由依撒格所生的,才稱為你的後裔。」亞巴郎深信:天主有使人從死者中復活的能力,因此,他又得回了依撒格,以作預像。——上主的話。

路加福音 12:32-48

那時候,耶穌對門徒說:「你們小小的羊群,不要害怕!因為你們的父,喜歡把天國賜給你們。「要變賣你們所有的,來施捨,為你們自己準備不朽的錢囊、在天上準備取用不盡的寶藏;在那裡,盜賊不能走近,蠹蟲也不能損壞,因為你們的寶藏在那裡,你們的心,也必在那裡。「你們要束上腰,點著燈;應當如同僕人,等候自己的主人,由婚宴回來,為的是主人來到,一敲門,就立刻給他開門。主人來到時,所遇見醒寤著的那些僕人,是有福的。我實在告訴你們:主人要束上腰,請他們入席,自己親自伺候他們。主人二更來也罷,三更來也罷,他所遇見醒寤著的僕人,是有福的。「你們應該明白這一點:如果家主知道盜賊何時要來,【他必要醒寤,】 決不容許自己的房屋被挖穿。你們也應當準備,因為在你們料想不到的時辰,人子就來了。」伯多祿說:「主,你講這個比喻,是為我們呢,還是為眾人?」主說:「究竟誰是忠信及精明的管家?不是那受主人委派,管理自己的家僕,按時分配食糧的人嗎?主人回來時,看見他如此行事,那僕人才是有福的。我實在告訴你們:主人必要委派他,管理自己的一切財產。如果那個僕人心裡說:我的主人必會遲來;他便開始拷打僕婢,也吃也喝也醉酒。在他料想不到的日子,不知覺的時刻,那僕人的主人就會來到,必要剷除他,使他與不信的人,遭受同樣的命運。「那知道主人的旨意,而偏偏不作準備,或竟然不奉行他旨意的僕人,必然要多受拷打;那不知道,而做了該受拷打之事的,要少受拷打。給誰的多,向誰要的也多;交託誰的多,向誰索取的也格外多。」 -- 基督的福音

在這個無神論及物質主義的世代,很多人認為信德主要是一個主觀的,想像的和心理上的內在態度。也就是說,客觀上, 信德不是真的, 而主觀上, 信德是自我欺騙的。所以他們說,自稱有信德的人是活在自創的世界裏, 而這世界是不存在的。他們認為信徒是愚蠢的,因他們在夢中虚渡一生。

這個主日的讀經告訴我們,事實並非如此。

基督信仰不但不是個主觀、自我欺騙, 和欠缼客觀性的態度,它反而是植根於天主在人類歷史上所做的一切,以及遠古人類的見証,即逾越事件 (參看 智18:6) 和上主對亞巴郎的承諾。這些承諾,無論是涉及當時或其後的,都一一應驗了,包括耶穌降生成人、苦難、復活,以及天國的來臨 (參看 希11:8-19) 。

信德不只是人心中的一點信念,也不只是一點盼望,希望某些事情會成真,而是「所盼望之事物的保證,是看不見之事物的憑據」(希11:1) 。換言之,「就在目前這一刻,信德已給了我們一些期待中的事實」《教宗本篤十六世宗座書函 – 得救在於希望 n.7》。我們深信,在目前這一刻, 我們已因著信德而獲得滿滿的祝福;在目前這一刻,我們已因著信德而能夠在成聖路上成長,變得更肖似耶穌。信德讓我們看到在這世界上看不到的事情。

我們再次需要聖若望保祿二世來幫助我們明白信德的無比尊貴高尚: 「在人的生命裡,沒有甚麼行為比信德的行為更為重要」因為「在信德裡,人自由地找到真理,並選擇活在真理中」《聖若望保祿二世宗座書函 – 信德與論理 n.13》

「小小的羊群,你們不要害怕!因為你們的父樂意把天國賜給你們。該變賣你們所有的去 濟窮人」(路12:32-33)在這主日的讀經,耶穌挑戰祂的門徒要活在信德中。透過信德的目光, 我們不會害怕。透過信德的目光,我們以愛心欣賞彼此作為天主子女的美善。透過信德的目光, 在人生的旅途上我們把目光放在天上用不盡的寶藏上。不幸地,為那些心裡只有現世財富和享受的人,我們用信德的目光所看見的光輝景象, 永遠只能是一個「夢」。

Posted: August 7, 2016

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


其他主日反省

丙年常年期第十九主日:聽從 吳智勳神父

今日三篇讀經,讓我嘗試用「聆聽」兩個字把它們連起來。第一篇讀經提到關於「那一夜」的事,那一夜是指上主解救以色列人脫離埃及奴役的那一晚。以色列人很重視那逾越的晚上,世世代代都再聽那一夜的故事,希望後代的子孫不要忘記天主對他們的愛。這就是聆聽的作用,使人牢記天主的眷顧,提高感恩的警覺。

繼續閱讀 >