We Are His people, the sheep of His Flock (Ps 100:3)


Alleluia! Christ is risen! On this fourth Sunday of Easter, also known as the Good Shepherd Sunday, we renew our confidence in the one true God, our Good Shepherd, Lord Jesus Christ, who remains faithful and steadfast throughout our pilgrimage on earth. As the Psalmist proclaims, God is the one who “made us”, and therefore we belong to God; “We are his people, the sheep of his flock” to whom He tends (Ps 100:3). What an honour and privilege for us to be counted as one belonging to God’s fold.

This week’s first reading reveals the depth of Paul’s commitment to Jesus and his mission of bringing the Good News to the ends of the earth. Paul sees his mission as a fulfilment of what “the Lord has commanded”; he affirms the necessity of bringing light to the Gentiles by referring to Isaiah, “I have made you a light to the Gentiles, that you may be an instrument of salvation to the ends of the earth” (Acts 13:47). Paul contends that Jesus the Servant continues his mission through the servant apostles, that is, he and his companions in evangelization, who are sent to bring the Good News not only to the Jews but also the Gentiles (ref. Ignatius Catholic Study Bible 230). Indeed, Paul and his companions fully understand and accept the challenges and dangers that await them; they speak “boldly” even under threats of persecution. With the Holy Spirit working in them, even the ugliness of this whole encounter in Antioch has not diminished their joy and resolve. Like Jesus who has been rejected by His own, “no prophet is accepted in the prophet’s hometown”, Paul and Barnabas are met with “jealousy and … violent abuse” (Lk 4:24, Acts 13:45,46). Since they’re not welcomed in Antioch, instead of giving up, they take this as a sign for them to bring the Good News to the Gentiles, saying, “It was necessary that the word of God be spoken to you first, but since you reject it and condemn yourselves as unworthy of eternal life, we now turn to the Gentiles” (Acts 13:46). They then shake off the dust from their feet as a symbolic gesture of curse according to the Jewish custom, before continuing their mission, “filled with joy and the Holy Spirit” (Acts 13:52). Paul and Barnabas are the epitomes of faithfulness as evident in their courage, joy, and determination. As they urge the believers “to remain faithful to the grace of God”, following Jesus’ footsteps, they themselves are also blazing the way for other believers (Acts 13:43).

Indeed, the Good News is intended for everyone, Jews or Gentiles. In John’s vision, he sees “a great multitude, which no one could count, from every nation, race, people, and tongue” (Rev 7:9). The Good Shepherd welcomes everyone who desires to belong; those who “hear” His voice and follow Him. John’s vision also depicts a vision of love. It is the Lamb of God, the only Son of God, Christ the King, who provides food to those who hunger; “life-giving water” to those who thirst; shelter to those labour under the sun; comfort and peace to those who mourn; and most of all, eternal life to those who seek God (ref. Rev. 7:15-17, Jn 10:28). To the Good Shepherd, each sheep is not just a faceless and nameless resident in His fold; He knows and calls each by name. God’s love, indeed, knows no boundary. Jesus affirms that what the Father has given to Him, “no one can take them out of [His] hand” (Jn 10:28). Jesus has already proven His commitment to this great love when He willingly offered up His life as a sacrifice, once and for all, so that we, His sheep, may have life.

If today we hear God’s voice, let us harden not our heart! Indeed, we live in a world full of sound and fury; voices that deliberately pull us away from the sheepfold and our Shepherd. However, our Good Shepherd is faithful and steadfast, full of compassion and mercy; we can be assured that if we ask, He will lead us back to His fold of love.

Posted:

FLL Editorial Team

 


Other Sunday Reflections

God’s Laborers
Are we ready to accept the Lord’s invitation to exercise the lay apostolate and our common priesthood to become God’s “laborers” in our own different ways, each according to the… Continue Reading >
“Run so as to win”
Where does this “resoluteness” of Jesus come from? Continue Reading >
This Is My Body … This Is My Blood
When we receive Christ’s Body and Blood, we unite ourselves to Christ and bear witness to the greatest love of all. Continue Reading >

「我們是天主的子民,是祂牧場的羊群」 (詠 100:3)


亞肋路亞!基督復活了!在這復活期第四主日,也稱為善牧主日,我們重申對唯一的真天主、我們的善牧、主耶穌基督的信賴,在我們塵世的旅途上,祂一直信實堅定。正如《聖詠》作者所宣告,上主是「造成了我們」的那一位,因此我們屬於上主;祂牧放我們,「我們是天主的子民,是祂牧場的羊群」(詠 100:3)。我們被納入上主的羊棧,是何等的光榮和榮幸。

本週的《讀經一》揭示了保祿對耶穌和祂的使命 — 將福音帶到地極 — 的承諾,是何等深厚。保祿認為他的使命是為完成「主如此命令 [他]們」的;他引用《依撒意亞先知書》「我已立你作為外邦人的光明,把救恩帶到地極」,肯定了把光明帶給外邦人是必要的 (宗 13:47)。保祿辯稱,僕人耶穌通過僕人宗徒們,繼續祂的使命,也就是說,祂和祂的福傳夥伴,不僅被派遣把福音帶給猶太人,也帶給外邦人 (參考 Ignatius Catholic Study Bible 230)。的確,保祿和他的同伴們完全理解,並接受等待着他們的挑戰和危險;即使在迫害的威脅下,他們也「放膽地」說話。充滿着聖神,即使安提約基雅的遭遇如此醜惡,也沒有減少他們的喜樂和決心。就像耶穌被自己人拒絕一樣,「沒有一個先知在本鄉受悅納的」,保祿和巴爾納伯也遭受「嫉妒 … 辱罵」(路 4:24,宗 13:45,46)。他們在安提約基雅不受歡迎,他們非但沒有放棄,反而認為是把福音傳給外邦人的徵兆,便說:「天主的聖道,本來應該先講給你們聽,但因你們拒絕接受,並斷定自己不配得永生。看!我們就要轉向外邦人」(宗 13:46)。按照猶太人的習俗,二人拂去腳上的塵土,作為詛咒的象徵,然後,他們「充滿喜樂和聖神」,繼續使命 (宗 13:52)。保祿和巴爾納伯是信實的榜樣,從他們的勇氣、喜樂和決心表現了出來。當他們敦促信徒「務要堅持天主的恩寵」,跟隨耶穌的腳步時,他們也在為其他信徒開闢道路 (宗 13:43)。

的確,福音是為每一個人的,無論是猶太人還是外邦人。在若望的神視中,他看見「有一大夥群眾,沒有人能夠數清,是來自各邦國、各支派、各民族、各異語的」(默 7:9)。善牧歡迎所有渴望歸屬的人;那些「聽到」祂的聲音並跟隨祂的人。若望的神視也描繪了一個愛的願景。天主羔羊,唯一的天主子,基督君王,為飢餓的人提供食物;為口渴的人提供「生命的水泉」;為在陽光下勞作的人提供遮蔭;給予哀慟的人安慰和平安;而最重要的是,賜予尋求天主的人永生 (參考 默 7:15-17, 若 10:28)。對善牧來說,每一隻羊都不是祂羊棧裡無面貌無名字的居民;祂認識他們,呼喚他們的名字。天主的愛,確實是沒有界限的。耶穌肯定天父賜給祂的,「誰也不能從[祂]手中,把他們奪去」(若 10:28)。當祂甘願獻出自己的生命作犧牲時,耶穌已經實踐了祂對這偉大愛情的承諾,好讓我們 — 祂的羊群 — 能獲得生命。

如果今天我們聽到天主的聲音,我們不要心硬!的確,我們生活在一個充滿喧囂和怒氣的世界; 那故意把我們從羊棧和牧人身邊拉開的聲音。然而,我們的善牧是信實而堅定的,充滿憐愛和慈悲;我們可以放心,只要我們請求,衪會帶領我們回到衪愛的羊棧。

Posted: May 8, 2022

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


其他主日反省

丙年(路加) 復活期第四主日:我認識我的羊,我的羊也認識我 吳智勳神父

今日是聖召主日,傳統稱這一天為善牧主日。善牧主日能給人一個印象以為單指神父作為牧者的聖召,改稱為聖召主日,可以包括修士和修女的聖召,目的是希望整個教會能為各種聖召祈禱。

繼續閱讀 >