What do I want to be when I grow up?

Second Sunday in Ordinary Time

Isaiah 49:3, 5-6

The LORD said to me: You are my servant, Israel, through whom I show my glory. Now the LORD has spoken who formed me as his servant from the womb, that Jacob may be brought back to him and Israel gathered to him; and I am made glorious in the sight of the LORD, and my God is now my strength! It is too little, the LORD says, for you to be my servant, to raise up the tribes of Jacob, and restore the survivors of Israel; I will make you a light to the nations, that my salvation may reach to the ends of the earth.

1 Corinthians 1:1-3

Paul, called to be an apostle of Christ Jesus by the will of God, and Sosthenes our brother, to the church of God that is in Corinth, to you who have been sanctified in Christ Jesus, called to be holy, with all those everywhere who call upon the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, their Lord and ours. Grace to you and peace from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ.

John 1:29-34

John the Baptist saw Jesus coming toward him and said, "Behold, the Lamb of God, who takes away the sin of the world. He is the one of whom I said, 'A man is coming after me who ranks ahead of me because he existed before me.' I did not know him, but the reason why I came baptizing with water was that he might be made known to Israel." John testified further, saying, "I saw the Spirit come down like a dove from heaven and remain upon him. I did not know him, but the one who sent me to baptize with water told me, 'On whomever you see the Spirit come down and remain, he is the one who will baptize with the Holy Spirit.' Now I have seen and testified that he is the Son of God."

Do you remember when you were young? What were you like? What memories stood out for you? For me, I liked, and still do, wandering in my mind; or as my elderlies would say, day-dreaming. I often pondered on the question of “What do I want to be when I grow up?” Such a simple question but there’s simply no easy answer to it! A number of years later, my quest for self-discovery continues. It is not surprising that, over the years, I have found plenty of companions on the same quest of discovering who we really are and what we are called to do.

This week’s readings reassure us, pilgrims on earth, that we are “formed” by our loving God; “called to be saints”; and chosen to bring the Good News to all; so that we may testify for our Lord Jesus Christ. Like the prophet Isaiah, St. Paul, and John the Baptist, each one of us is lovingly “formed […] in the womb” and called to be a servant of God; to serve God and each other in unique ways (Is 49:5). Isaiah has been “called” and “named” by God even before he was born (ref. Is 49:1). His mission is not merely to “bring Jacob back … and that Israel might be gathered” but also to be given “as a light to the nations, that [God’s] salvation may reach to the end of the earth” (Is 49:5-6). When God forms and names you, and me, in our mother’s womb, what is God’s plan for us?

Heavenly Father, the source of love and light, make every moment of my life a reflection of your eternal and glorious light, so that other people may get to know and love you.

In St. Paul’s letter to the Corinthians, he clearly explains that he is “called to be an Apostle of Christ Jesus by the will of God” (1Cor 1:1). His mission is to journey with all those who are “sanctified in Christ Jesus, called to be saints”; not just a selected few, but “together with all those who in every place call on the name of our Lord Jesus Christ” (1Cor 1:2).

Lord Jesus Christ, humble and wounded servant of God, you willingly walked among us so that we may learn to journey with the poor, the ill, the lonely, and the oppressed. Strengthen us to be everyday saints among our fellow pilgrims on earth.

Finally, the figure of John the Baptist looms large in the Gospel stories. In the Gospel of John, we learn that John the Baptist’s greatness comes not from his grand gesture of baptizing Jesus and the multitudes who approach him looking for answers, nor from his heroic defiance against King Herod which results in his imprisonment and execution; his greatness comes from his willingness to be small. When he sees Jesus coming toward him, he proclaims Jesus as the Lamb of God and that Jesus “ranks ahead” of him (Jn 1:29). John’s job is to prepare the way so that Jesus “might be revealed to Israel” and to bear witness to the Son of God (John 1:31, 34). John “testified” that “the Spirit descending from heaven like a dove, and remain on [Jesus]” and also “testified that this is the Son of God” (John 1:32,34).

Spirit of the Living God, empower us to be Christ’s witnesses on earth. When pain seems unbearable, let us not lose heart; when the world tells us to be indifferent and self-centered, let us not lose heart; when we hear God’s voice, let us be Christ for each other.
Posted: January 19, 2020

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


Other Sunday Reflections

Are we able to perceive the hidden Truth?
To be able to perceive the Truth, we need an open heart and a willing ear Continue Reading >
“Come to Me” (Mt 11:28)
It is exactly in these times of uncertainties that we are brought back to the only certainty of hope and love through the in-dwelling Spirit of Christ. Continue Reading >
Freedom in Accepting Our Bodies
Let’s talk about the challenge of not accepting our bodies. All of us have experiences of not being satisfied with the way we look. We’re self-conscious about our size, shape,… Continue Reading >

我長大後要做什麼?

常年期第二主日

依撒意亞先知書 49:3,5-6

上主對我說:「以色列,你是我的僕人,我因你而自豪。」我在上主眼中是光榮的;天主是我的力量。那由母胎中,形成我作他的僕人、將雅各伯領回他面前、並把以色列聚集在他面前的上主,現在說:「你作我的僕人,復興雅各伯支派,領回以色列遺留下的人,還是小事,我更要使你作萬民的光明,使我的救恩達於地極。」

格林多前書 1:1-3

因天主的旨意,蒙召為耶穌基督宗徒的保祿,偕同索斯特乃弟兄,致書給格林多的天主教會,就是給那些在基督耶穌內受祝聖,與所有在各地呼求我們的主,亦即他們和我們的主、耶穌基督之名,一同蒙召為聖的人:願恩寵與平安,由我們的天主父和主耶穌基督,賜給你們。

若望福音 1:29-34

那時候,若翰見耶穌向他走來,便說:「看,天主的羔羊,除免世罪者!這位就是我論及他,曾說過:有一個人在我以後來,成了在我以前的,因他原先我而有。連我也不曾認識他,但為使他顯示於以色列,為此,我來以水施洗。」若翰又作證說:「我看見聖神,彷彿鴿子,從天降下,停在他身上。我也不曾認識他,但那派遣我來以水施洗的,給我說:你看見聖神降下,停在誰身上,誰就是那要以聖神施洗的人。「我看見了,我便作證:他就是天主子。」

還記得你小時候嗎?你是怎麼樣的呢?有什麼回憶是最難忘的呢?我喜歡的,至現在仍然喜歡的是胡思亂想;正如我的長輩們說:做白日夢。我常常思量這個問題:「我長大後要做什麼?」這個如此簡單的問題,卻根本沒有容易的答案!多年之後,我繼續找尋自我。這些年來,並不意外,我找到了很多和我一樣的同伴,都在追尋自己真正是誰,和自己的召喚是什麼。

本週的讀經,再次給塵世中的旅者保證,我們是慈愛的天主所「形成」,「蒙召為聖的人」;並被選為福音的傳播者;好讓我們為主耶穌基督作證。正如先知依撒意亞、聖保祿、若翰洗者一樣,我們每一個人都是在愛內,在「母胎中 【⋯】形成」的,並蒙召作天主的僕人;由各人用自己獨一無二的方法,去服侍天主及互相服待 (依 49:5)。依撒意亞還未出生之時,天主已「召叫」了他,並「給他起了名字」(參 依 49:1)。他的使命不光是為了「把雅各伯領回⋯並把以色列聚集」,而且還要作為「萬民的光明,使【天主】的救恩達於地極」(依 49:5-6)。當我們在母腹,天主造了你和我,並為我們命名之時,祂究竟對我們有何計劃呢?

天上的父親,仁愛和光明之源,求祢使我生命的每一刻都反映着祢永恆和輝煌的光明,好讓他人能認識祢和愛祢。

在聖保祿致格林多人書信中,他清楚解釋他是「因天主的旨意,蒙召為耶穌基督宗徒」(格前 1:1)。他的任務是與「那些在基督耶穌內受祝聖…蒙召為聖」的人同行;不是只與被選的少數人,而是「與所有在各地呼求我們的主⋯耶穌基督之名的人」同行。

主耶穌基督,謙卑而受盡折磨創傷的天主之僕,祢願意與我們同行,好讓我們學習與貧病、孤獨和受壓迫的人同行。求祢賜給我們力量,讓我們在麈世旅途上,在日常生活中成聖。

最後,約翰洗者在福音故事裏是一個很重要的人物。在若望福音,我們知道約翰洗者的偉大並非來自他給耶穌施洗的壯觀舉動,或是來向他尋找答案的群眾,也不是來自他英雄式的藐視黑落德王以致入獄及被處死;他的偉大是因為他願意做個小人物。當他看見耶穌向他走來,便宣稱耶穌為天主的羔羊,而耶穌是在他「以前的」(若 1:29)。約翰的任務是為耶穌準備道路,為使祂「顯示與以色列」和為耶穌是天主子作證 (若 1:31,34)。約翰 「作證」說「聖神,彷彿鴿子,從天降下,停在【耶穌】身上」,「他便作證:他就是天主子」 (若 1:32, 34)。

生活的天主聖神,賜給我們力量使我們在世上成為為基督作見證的人。當痛苦看似不能忍受的時候,讓我們不要氣餒;當世人要我們冷漠和自我中心的時候,讓我們不要沮喪;當我們聽見天主的聲音時,讓我們成為彼此的基督。
Posted: January 19, 2020

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


其他主日反省

甲年常年期第二主日:信仰的歷程 吳智勳神父

今日福音記載︰若翰洗者看見聖神像鴿子從天降下,在耶穌上面停著,他本來不認識耶穌,但派他來用水施洗的那一位對他說︰「你看見聖神降下,停在誰上面,誰就是那要用聖神施洗的人」。這是若翰所看見的,於是他作證,耶穌就是天主子。以上是若翰信仰歷程的三步曲:他看見、他認識、他作證。

繼續閱讀 >
靈性友誼 Fr. Jusin Huang

讓我們來處理兩個有關友誼的問題。首先,所謂的「不相稱的軛unequally yoked」,來自聖保祿(格林多後書6:14)的教導,現在這個詞語指的是一段婚姻或一對情侶約會,其中一方在靈性上比另一方強大。當同一個犁上兩頭牛帶軛的力量和速度不平均時,傷害就有可能發生。

繼續閱讀 >