What our eyes cannot see, our heart perceives and understands

Fourth Sunday of Easter

Acts 4:8-12

Peter, filled with the Holy Spirit, said: "Leaders of the people and elders: If we are being examined today about a good deed done to a cripple, namely, by what means he was saved, then all of you and all the people of Israel should know that it was in the name of Jesus Christ the Nazorean whom you crucified, whom God raised from the dead; in his name this man stands before you healed. He is the stone rejected by you, the builders, which has become the cornerstone. There is no salvation through anyone else, nor is there any other name under heaven given to the human race by which we are to be saved."

1 John 3:1-2

Beloved: See what love the Father has bestowed on us that we may be called the children of God. Yet so we are. The reason the world does not know us is that it did not know him. Beloved, we are God's children now; what we shall be has not yet been revealed. We do know that when it is revealed we shall be like him, for we shall see him as he is.

John 10:11-18

Jesus said: "I am the good shepherd. A good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep. A hired man, who is not a shepherd and whose sheep are not his own, sees a wolf coming and leaves the sheep and runs away, and the wolf catches and scatters them. This is because he works for pay and has no concern for the sheep. I am the good shepherd, and I know mine and mine know me, just as the Father knows me and I know the Father; and I will lay down my life for the sheep. I have other sheep that do not belong to this fold. These also I must lead, and they will hear my voice, and there will be one flock, one shepherd. This is why the Father loves me, because I lay down my life in order to take it up again. No one takes it from me, but I lay it down on my own. I have power to lay it down, and power to take it up again. This command I have received from my Father."

While the world has been turned upside down by the mighty Covid-19 virus and many continue to struggle with their physical, financial, psychological, and spiritual well-being, hope still abounds in the midst of such restlessness, fear, and distress. This Sunday’s readings reassure us that “there is no salvation through anyone else” but the beloved Son of God, “Jesus Christ the Nazorean” (Acts 4:12, 10). This Nazorean is not an outsider who does not understand human suffering, nor a hired hand who values their own life over that of the sheep under their charge, but the Good Shepherd who willingly “lays down his life for the sheep” (Jn 10: 11). 。Like Martha, who acknowledges Jesus’ salvific power even as she grieves for Lazarus’ death, “knows” that “he will rise in the resurrection on the last day”, we also “know” in our head that Jesus is the ultimate source of our salvation (Jn 11:24). However, do we truly see, and perhaps feel, it in our heart and soul?

The journey from head to heart is strenuous and challenging but necessary as we strive to follow the Good Shepherd’s voice. In the first reading, Peter, now without his beloved teacher and friend, shows no fear in front of the “leaders of the people and elders”; pointing out their faults and blessings in equal measure (Acts 4:8). This scene in the Acts of the Apostles stands in stark contrast to that of the Upper Room where Peter and the other apostles are hiding from the Jewish authorities in fear for their own lives. What is Peter’s secret weapon? Before Jesus’ departure, He had promised his followers an Advocate, the Spirit of truth, “whom the Father will send in [Jesus’] name (Jn 14:25). The Holy Spirit “will teach you everything, and remind you of all that I have said to you” (Jn 14:26). Peter finally sees what Jesus meant after the Pentecost. Therefore, with a heart transformed and empowered by the Holy Spirit (after receiving the Holy Spirit on Pentecost), Peter calls the leaders and elders out for choosing to crucify Jesus, “the Nazorean whom you crucified” (Acts 4:10). At the same time, Peter also offers them a way out, that is, hope. Peter explains that just as the cripple is healed and saved in Jesus’ name, salvation will come to those who call on His name (ref. Acts 4:9-10, 12). This stone, though rejected by the builders, has become the “cornerstone” on which our hope rests.

Our journey from head to heart is indeed challenging, if we don’t keep our eyes open and our ears tuned, we could easily get all tangled up in brambles. However, as we follow the promptings of the Holy Spirit, this strenuous journey suddenly turns into an adventure of a lifetime! The Spirit in us; the same Spirit promised by Jesus and given to us through the sacrament of confirmation, sharpens all our senses, and most importantly our heart, to “taste and see that the Lord is good”, and appreciate “what love the Father has bestowed on us” (Ps 34:8, 1 Jn 3:1). What our eyes cannot see, our heart perceives and understands, “we are God’s children now; … we shall be like him, for we shall see him as he is” (1 Jn 3:2). All our hope rests on this knowledge of the heart that we are God’s children, not orphans, and that God, our Father, will never forsake us even when we turn a blind eye to His love.

From the brambles of our own pride, Christ frees us with His ultimate sacrifice out of love, “I lay down my life in order to take it up again. No one takes it from me, but I lay it down on my own” (Jn 10:17-18). We “offer You our failures, we offer You attempts”; we rise again “to create ourselves anew” (“Ashes” by Tom Conry)

From the ashes of our fear, the Good Shepherd reassures, “I came so that [you] might have life and have it more abundantly […] I will lay down my life for [you]” (Jn 10:10,15). Lord, we rise again in hope, joy, and love.

As we continue this joyful Easter season, let us dig deeper into our heart to heed and follow the voice of our Good Shepherd.

Posted: April 25, 2021

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


Other Sunday Reflections

“Men of Galilee, why gaze in wonder at the heavens?” (Acts 1:11)
“This Jesus whom you saw ascending into heaven will return as you saw him go” (Acts 1:11) Continue Reading >
Three Characteristics of Happy Families
The classic Russian novel Anna Karenina, by Leo Tolstoy, begins with this famous sentence: “All happy families are alike; each unhappy family is unhappy in its own way.” The second… Continue Reading >
The Catholic Church and Catholicity
When the Catholic Church opens her arms to welcome all peoples, she does so not only because of charity, important as it is in Jesus’ teaching, it’s also because of… Continue Reading >

我們眼睛看不見的,我們的心能意會和明白

復活期第四主日

宗徒大事錄 4:8-12

那時候,伯多祿充滿聖神,向他們說:「各位百姓首領和長老!如果你們今天詢問我們,有關向一個病人行善的事,並且他怎樣痊瘉了,我很高興告訴你們和全以色列百姓:是憑納匝肋人耶穌基督的名字,即是你們所釘死,天主從死者中所復活的那一位;就是憑著他,這個站在你們面前的人好了。這位耶穌,為你們就是『匠人所棄而不用的石頭,反而成了屋角的基石。』除他以外,無論憑誰,決無救援,因為在天下人間,沒有賜下其他名字,使我們賴以得救。」

若望一書 3:1-2

親愛的諸位:請看:父賜給我們何等的愛情,使我們得稱為天主的子女,而且我們也真是如此。世界所以不認識我們,是因為不認識父。可愛的諸位,現在我們是天主的子女,但我們將來如何,還沒有顯明;可是,我們知道:一顯明了,我們必要相似他,因為我們要看見他實在怎樣。——上主的話。

若望福音 10:11-18

那時候,耶穌說:「我是善牧:善牧為羊捨掉自己的性命。傭工,因為不是牧人,羊也不是他自己的,一看見狼來,便棄羊逃跑;狼就抓住羊,把羊趕散了;因為他是傭工,對羊漠不關心。「我是善牧,我認識我的羊,我的羊也認識我,正如父認識我,我也認識父一樣;我並且為羊捨掉我的性命。我還有其他羊,還不屬於這一棧,我也該把他們領來,他們要聽我的聲音;這樣,將只有一個羊群,一個牧人。「父愛我,因為我捨掉我的性命,為再取回它。誰也不能奪去我的性命,而是我甘心情願捨掉它。我有權捨掉它,我也有權再取回它:這是我由我父所接受的命令。」

當世界被新型冠狀病毒弄得天翻地覆,很多人仍然在身體、經濟、心理和心靈健康上掙扎之際,其實世界在不安、恐懼、痛苦中仍然充滿着希望。本主日的讀經向我們保證,除了天主的至愛之子,「納匝肋人耶穌基督」之外 ,「無論憑誰,決無救援 」(宗 4:12, 10)。這納匝肋人不是一個不明白人類痛苦的局外人,也不是珍惜自己生命多過他所牧放的羊群的傭工,祂是善牧,願意「為羊捨掉自己的性命」(若 10:11)。正如瑪爾大,當她為拉匝祿之死而哀傷時,她承認了耶穌的救贖權柄,並「知道」「在末日復活時,他必要復活」,理智上,我們「知道」耶穌是我們終極的救恩之源 (若 11:24)。但我們是否真的看見,又或許,在心靈上真的感覺到呢?

從理智至心靈的旅程,艱苦而充滿着挑戰,但當我們努力跟隨善牧的聲音時,這旅程卻是必須的。在《讀經一》,當伯多祿失去了他至愛的老師和朋友,在「百姓首領和長老」前,他沒有恐懼,並指出他們的錯誤和相等的恩典 (宗 4:8)。《宗徒大事錄》的這一幕和在晚餐廳的一幕是鮮明的對比。伯多祿和其他宗徒,因為怕猶太人,便躲藏在晚餐廳,以保性命。伯多祿的秘密武器是什麼?耶穌離開之前,祂應承了祂的追隨者,一位護慰者,真理的聖神,「父因【耶穌】的名所要派遣來的」(若 14:25)。「祂必要教訓你們一切,也要使你們想起,我對你們所說的一切 」(若 14:26)。五旬節後,伯多祿終於明白了耶穌的意思。以一顆被聖神轉化和因神恩而充滿力量的心(在五旬節接受了天主聖神之後),伯多祿能面對百姓首領和長老,指出他們選擇了把耶穌釘在十字架上,「納匝肋人 ⋯ 是你們所釘死」(宗 4:10)。而同時,伯多祿也為他們提供出路 — 希望。伯多祿解釋道,像藉耶穌之名而被治好和得救的瘸子,所有呼求祂聖名的人,都會獲得救恩 (參 宗 4:9-10, 12)。這塊石頭,雖然為匠人所棄而不用,反而成了我們希望所在的「屋角基石」。

這從理智至心靈的旅程,實在充滿着挑戰,如果我們不睜開眼睛,不打開耳朵,我們很容易糾結於荊棘叢中。只要我們跟隨天主聖神的提示,這艱苦的旅程會變成我們一生中最充滿奇遇的冒險之旅!在我們內的聖神,耶穌應許我們的同一位聖神,藉着堅振聖事賜給我們的聖神,使我們的感官靈敏起來,而最重要的是,使我們的心能「體驗 ⋯ 觀看:上主是何等的和藹慈善」,並能感激「父賜給我們何等的愛情」(詠 34:8, 若一 3:1)。我們眼睛看不見的,我們的心能體會和明白,現在「我們是天主的子女;⋯我們必要相似他,因為我們要看見他實在怎樣」。(若一 3:2)。我們所有的希望是基於自己心裡所知,知道我們是天主的子女,我們不是孤兒,而天主身為我們的父親,即使當我們對祂的愛視若無睹,祂也永不會放棄我們。

基督以祂的仁愛,作出了終極的犧牲,從糾結於荊棘中的自傲,釋放了我們,「誰也不能奪去我的性命,而是我甘心情願捨掉它;我有權捨掉它,我也有權再取回它」 (若 10:17-18)。我們「獻給祢自己的失敗,我們獻給你自己的嘗試」;我們復活「為締造一個全新的自己」(Tom Conry 寫的 “Ashes” 「灰燼」中的歌詞)。

我們在恐懼的灰燼中,善牧向我們保證,「我來,卻是為叫【你們】獲得生命,且獲得更豐富的生命 ⋯ 我並且為【你們】捨掉我的性命」(若 10:10,15)。上主,我們在希望、喜樂、和愛情中復活了。

在這喜樂的復活節期間,讓我們更深入地進入自己的內心,去留心和聽從善牧的聲音吧。

Posted: April 25, 2021

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


其他主日反省

乙年(馬爾谷) 復活期第四主日:我認識我的羊,我的羊也認識我 吳智勳神父

今天福音中,耶穌有點像為牧人賣廣告。如果純粹從廣告的角度去看,好像不太高明,因為工作又辛苦,又危險,甚至要「為羊捨命」,不把應徵的嚇走才怪…那些真的去應徵時,人們還以為他們是失戀,或受了大挫折,才會「看破紅塵」,做了如斯消極的選擇。

繼續閱讀 >