Men Taking Responsibility

Fourth Sunday of Easter

Acts 4:8-12

Peter, filled with the Holy Spirit, said: "Leaders of the people and elders: If we are being examined today about a good deed done to a cripple, namely, by what means he was saved, then all of you and all the people of Israel should know that it was in the name of Jesus Christ the Nazorean whom you crucified, whom God raised from the dead; in his name this man stands before you healed. He is the stone rejected by you, the builders, which has become the cornerstone. There is no salvation through anyone else, nor is there any other name under heaven given to the human race by which we are to be saved."

1 John 3:1-2

Beloved: See what love the Father has bestowed on us that we may be called the children of God. Yet so we are. The reason the world does not know us is that it did not know him. Beloved, we are God's children now; what we shall be has not yet been revealed. We do know that when it is revealed we shall be like him, for we shall see him as he is.

John 10:11-18

Jesus said: "I am the good shepherd. A good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep. A hired man, who is not a shepherd and whose sheep are not his own, sees a wolf coming and leaves the sheep and runs away, and the wolf catches and scatters them. This is because he works for pay and has no concern for the sheep. I am the good shepherd, and I know mine and mine know me, just as the Father knows me and I know the Father; and I will lay down my life for the sheep. I have other sheep that do not belong to this fold. These also I must lead, and they will hear my voice, and there will be one flock, one shepherd. This is why the Father loves me, because I lay down my life in order to take it up again. No one takes it from me, but I lay it down on my own. I have power to lay it down, and power to take it up again. This command I have received from my Father."

Most of my early life, I ran away from responsibility: I procrastinated on homework; and if I didn’t get it done, I would make excuses. I never got a job, and the only chore I ever did was clean the house. I learned this from my father. Don’t get me wrong, I love my father, and he loved me—that was his greatest gift. He also taught me to love classical music, encouraged me to play sports, and to stand up for the little guy. But I imitated him in running from responsibility. When I met Christ, that’s when I wanted to be better, to be perfect like Him. I started learning responsibility from the young male core leaders at LifeTeen and from the monks at Westminster Abbey.

[Watch Fr. Justin’s homily delivery here.]

I think I’ve neglected my responsibility as pastor because I haven’t been completely candid about speaking Christ’s truth to the men in our parish. So, I’ll try to do so today with love.

When I arrived here six and a half years ago, to be honest, I recognized that most men in our parish, not all, didn’t appear to be strong. For every five women that came to a spiritual event, only one man would come. Many were passive, shy, and showed no passion for God. I don’t want this to hurt you, but many haven’t been entirely spiritually responsible. And now we see it in some young men here, who are passive, self-focused, lack confidence, and look somewhat defeated.

It is true that, in every religion and in almost all parishes, women are more devoted than men. But there are local parishes stronger than we, where the men lead prayer and spiritual ministries, go to Confession and daily Mass more, mentor young men in faith, and live bold Christian lives. I’m not the only one who sees this: other priests and people who visit different parishes see this.

I apologize for not bringing this up earlier. But the great news is that I can bring it up now because you’re ready for it. There’s been a lot of growth: increased participation at Mass and Confession, more involvement in spiritual ministries, and men tell me they like to hear hard truths—that says a lot!

Let’s go to the Gospel to see what kind of men Jesus is calling us to be. He says, “I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep. The hired hand, who is not the shepherd and does not own the sheep, sees the wolf coming and leaves the sheep and runs away” (Jn 10:11-12). Jesus is the perfect man, the perfection of masculinity, and one of the marks of masculinity is that a man sacrifices himself so that others can live. Of course, all Christians are supposed to sacrifice themselves for others (Cf. Jn 15:13). But, because men are on average biologically larger and stronger than women, their sacrifice is usually in the form of protection. A man should be ready to protect physically his family, younger siblings, and groups of people. (And if anyone misunderstands that women should only be helpless and rescued, go watch some of my favourite movies, Aliens, The Hunger Games and A Quiet Place, where the woman is clearly the hero, but the men are all responsible.)

Jesus distinguishes the shepherd from the hired hand. We see from this that there are two choices: die to protect others, or run away. For men this choice is between being a protector or predator. Either we use our strength to give or take life. But a third option is being a wimp, where a man doesn’t help or hurt, but gives up, is indifferent.

The choice to sacrifice oneself is primarily spiritual. Men usually provide for their family’s physical and material wellbeing, but Jesus’ example tells us that the man must provide primarily for the spiritual and moral wellbeing of his family. At the most vibrant parishes, men work hard at their day jobs and then come to the parish to help others.

This choice to sacrifice ourselves also seems to be a predominantly male reality. Women typically are more responsible than men. When a parent leaves a relationship, it’s usually the father, while the woman takes care of the children. That’s also why we don’t see as many young women as lost as young men; they don’t stay home all day playing video games. Perhaps this is because women have an innate sense of motherhood; every month, their bodies remind them that they’re able to give life to a child. Men don’t have this biological reminder. That’s why boys, in order to become men, have traditionally had rites of passage where they choose to become men.

In our culture, young men have steps in maturation that we celebrate: volunteering, getting a driver’s license, getting a job, helping their younger siblings, asking a girl out, buying a car, living on their own. We don’t have to do these things and help others, but Jesus says, “The hired hand runs away because a hired hand does not care for the sheep” (Jn 10:13). When we care about people, we take responsibility for them.

In marriage, fathers have to choose to assume a sacrifice equal to what their wives are enduring. When women are pregnant, they often have to endure periods of pain leading up to the pain of labour. So men must choose to do more to share the responsibility of parenthood: more work, more chores, always helping their wives. That’s where we become like Jesus.

Jesus says, “I am the good shepherd. I know my own and my own know me, just as the Father knows me and I know the Father” (Jn 10:14-15). Jesus knows us because we belong to Him, we are His sheep. He possesses us, not like things, but as friends and family belong to each other. Pope Benedict XVI says that children and parents “belong to each other… in mutual responsibility” (Jesus of Nazareth, Vol. 1, 281): parents take responsibility for their children and children grow in taking responsibility for their parents. And Jesus says that the way He cares for the Father is the way He cares for us (Cf. Jn 17:); that’s why He lays down His life for us. “For this reason the Father loves me, because I lay down my life in order to take it up again” (Jn 10:17).

The more we think about how much we love our family, the more we’ll lay down our lives for them. And it’ll be done willingly. None of us is forced. That’s the beauty of choosing responsibility—if we freely choose it, then it’s a sign of love. Jesus says, “No one takes it from me, but I lay it down of my own accord. I have power to lay it down, and I have power to take it up again. I have received this command from my Father” (Jn 10:18).

Next week, I’ll be away for one week of rest. This is my last opportunity to invite you to two events. First, think about the people you love who don’t know Christ. Take responsibility for them and pray for them. If you can, invite them to Alpha this Wednesday and Thursday. It’s our responsibility to help them know and love Jesus.

That’s our question for reflection today: “Jesus, where in my life do You want me to take more responsibility for others?”

Second, we start the consecration to Jesus through St. Joseph on May 8. I believe this will be a game changer for our parish, because we’re going to do six weeks of reflection on the love of the Holy Family: We’re going to look at their example, talk to them, ask for their help, so that our families can become happier. I am on my knees asking you to buy this book and join your parish family in growing.

This is Kendrick Castillo:

In 2019, in Colorado, when he was 18, he charged at a gunman in his classroom, pinned him to the wall, saving all 28 students, but the gunman got off one bullet and killed Kendrick.

Let me now share portions of what Kendrick’s father, John, wrote: “I remember how happy we were when the time came to have [Kendrick] baptized and to introduce him to Christ and His Church. I loved Kendrick so much… I spent so much time with him… We went camping… fishing… hunted deer and elk… And we went to Mass. I was reliving with Kendrick the life I had with my father, and this is the beauty of having a strong father figure in one’s life” (Tyler Rowley, Because of Our Fathers, 33).

“Kendrick was an altar server and helped the priests with funerals. He took great joy in helping people… Picnics. Holiday gatherings. Kendrick helped with it all. The guys loved him. Oftentimes Kendrick would listen to the veterans tell war stories. Kendrick was so impressed with their patriotism and service to our country, along with their strong faith.”

“There were times when my wife would call me at work, ask if I was very busy, and tell me that I should take some time to grab a Happy Meal and go eat lunch with Kendrick. I would always take her up on the suggestion and show up unexpectedly at school… That type of stuff is so important… We should take more time to thank God for the life and blessings He has given us… Thank you, God.”

“I know this is a story about fatherhood, but I must tell you about my wife, Maria. She is the one who gave Kendrick his amazing heart… When he was a baby, she would do all the things mothers do… dress him in nice clothes, teach him to talk, read him books, put on videos like Veggie Tales… She also played a major role in teaching Kendrick about his Catholic faith.”

“Our lives… have changed in a significant way since Kendrick died… To be perfectly honest, the hardest part for me has been to see my wife’s pain. I just pray that I am strong enough to carry us both through this life until the day we meet Kendrick again. The special bond I shared with Kendrick sometimes makes me think of the two gunmen and their fathers… Shooter A regularly witnessed his father beating his mother, when his father was around at all… Just eleven days before the attack, Shooter A tweeted that he missed his father. In fact, Shooter A was… a biological female who ‘transitioned’ in high school… As for Shooter B… before leaving his house to kill his classmates, he spray-painted ‘F— Society…’ then doused his mother’s car with gasoline and set it on fire.”

“I was not surprised when I learned about what Kendrick did. His whole life led up to that moment… [He] absorbed all the good things he and I had been raised with, all that he had been taught by strong and faithful Catholic men, positive father figures who loved God. In one split second, Kendrick summoned up all he had learned in his life in order to protect his friends and save their lives. Kendrick was doing what his grandfather, father, mother, and Church taught him. He was being like Jesus… And there is no greater love than that.”

Posted: April 25, 2021

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


Other Sunday Reflections

Heaven Is Full of Cinderella Occupants
Blessings do not go to the powerful people, but to the humble and lowly ones: the poor, the mournful, the meek, and the hungry (cf. Mt 5:3-7). Continue Reading >
“My flesh is food . . . my blood is drink”
a Eucharistic life of faith, love, service, piety, humility , gratitude and reverence Continue Reading >
It Matters That God is Called ‘Father’
Why is God called ‘Father’? Can He be called ‘Mother’? In the Second Reading, we see an example of the unanimous tradition of calling God, ‘Father’: “All who are led… Continue Reading >

承擔責任的人

復活期第四主日

宗徒大事錄 4:8-12

那時候,伯多祿充滿聖神,向他們說:「各位百姓首領和長老!如果你們今天詢問我們,有關向一個病人行善的事,並且他怎樣痊瘉了,我很高興告訴你們和全以色列百姓:是憑納匝肋人耶穌基督的名字,即是你們所釘死,天主從死者中所復活的那一位;就是憑著他,這個站在你們面前的人好了。這位耶穌,為你們就是『匠人所棄而不用的石頭,反而成了屋角的基石。』除他以外,無論憑誰,決無救援,因為在天下人間,沒有賜下其他名字,使我們賴以得救。」

若望一書 3:1-2

親愛的諸位:請看:父賜給我們何等的愛情,使我們得稱為天主的子女,而且我們也真是如此。世界所以不認識我們,是因為不認識父。可愛的諸位,現在我們是天主的子女,但我們將來如何,還沒有顯明;可是,我們知道:一顯明了,我們必要相似他,因為我們要看見他實在怎樣。——上主的話。

若望福音 10:11-18

那時候,耶穌說:「我是善牧:善牧為羊捨掉自己的性命。傭工,因為不是牧人,羊也不是他自己的,一看見狼來,便棄羊逃跑;狼就抓住羊,把羊趕散了;因為他是傭工,對羊漠不關心。「我是善牧,我認識我的羊,我的羊也認識我,正如父認識我,我也認識父一樣;我並且為羊捨掉我的性命。我還有其他羊,還不屬於這一棧,我也該把他們領來,他們要聽我的聲音;這樣,將只有一個羊群,一個牧人。「父愛我,因為我捨掉我的性命,為再取回它。誰也不能奪去我的性命,而是我甘心情願捨掉它。我有權捨掉它,我也有權再取回它:這是我由我父所接受的命令。」

(本篇譯稿為黃謙善神父主日講道,若內容有不一致的情況,一概以英文原稿為準。)

我在早年的大部分時間裡,都在逃避責任:我拖延家庭作業;如果沒做完,就會找藉口。我從來沒有找工作做,我唯一做過的家務活就是打掃房子。
我從我父親那裡學到這些。別誤會,我愛我父親,他也愛我–這是他給我的最好的禮物。他還教我欣賞古典音樂,鼓勵我參加體育運動,為弱小者挺身而出。但我效仿了他逃避責任的榜樣。
當我與基督相遇時,我想變得更好,想要像祂一樣完美。我開始從LifeTeen的年輕男性核心領導人和威斯敏斯特大教堂(Westminster Abbey)的僧侶們那裡學習負責任的美德。

[黃神父主日講道視頻 (英語)]

我想我忽視了我作為神父的責任,因為我沒有完全坦誠地向我們本堂的男士們講基督的真理。所以,今天我會嘗試用愛來做這件事。

六年半前來到這裡時,老實說,我意識到我們本堂的大多數男性教友,不是所有,看起來不夠堅強。每五個女人來參加靈修活動中,只有一個男人會來。許多人被動、害羞,對天主毫無熱情。我不想以此傷害你,但很多人在靈修上並沒有完全負起責任。現在我們在這裡的一些年輕人身上看到了這一點,他們被動、自私、缺乏信心,看起來有點沮喪。

的確,在每一個宗教和幾乎所有的教區,女人都比男人更虔誠。但有一些地方的教區比我們更強大,在那裡,男人們領導祈禱和靈修事工,更多地參加修和聖事及日常彌撒,在信仰上指導年輕人,過著確信大無畏的基督教生活。我不是唯一一個看到這一點的人:其他神父和訪問過不同堂區的人也都看到了這一點。

我為沒有早點提出這件事道歉。但好消息是,我現在可以提出了,因為你的心田已經準備好了。你已經成長了很多:參加彌撒和修和聖事的人數增加了,更多的人參與了靈修事工,男士們告訴我他們喜歡聽到難接受的真理-這足以說明問題!

讓我們看看福音,看看耶穌召叫我們成為什麼樣的人。 「祂說:『我是善牧。善牧為羊捨掉自己的性命。僱工因不是牧人,羊也不是他自己羊的,一看見狼來,便棄羊逃跑。』」(若10:11 -12)。耶穌是完美的男人,是男子氣概的完美體現,而男子氣概的標誌之一就是一犧牲自我,讓別人活了下來。當然,所有基督徒都應該為他人犧牲自己(參看。若15:13)。但是,由於男性在生理上一般比女性更強大、更健壯,他們的犧牲通常是以保護的形式體現的。一個男人應該準備好保護他的家人、兄弟姐妹和其他人群。 (如果有人誤解認為女人只應該是無助和被拯救的,那就去看一些我最喜歡的電影,《異形》、《飢餓遊戲》和《安靜的地方》,在這些電影中,女人顯然是英雄,但男人們都負有責任。)。
耶穌區分牧羊人和僱工。由此可見,這裡有兩種選擇:一是為保護他人而死,二是逃之夭夭。對男人來說,這個選擇是做保護者還是捕食者。要么我們用我們的力量來給予或奪走生命。但第三種選擇是做一個懦夫,一個既不幫助也不傷害,是一個放棄的,無動於衷的男人。

犧牲自己的選擇主要是靈性上的。男人通常養家糊口,但耶穌的例子告訴我們,男人必須首先為家人提供精神和道德上的福祉。在最有活力的堂區,男人們努力工作,然後來到堂區幫助他人。

這種犧牲自我的選擇似乎也是以男性為主的現實。女性通常比男性更負責任。當父母離異時,通常是父親離棄,而女人則照顧孩子。這也是為什麼我們看不到年輕女性像年輕男性那樣迷失的;她們不會整天呆在家裡玩電子遊戲。也許這是因為女性有一種與生俱來的母性意識;每個月,她們的身體都會提醒她們,她們能夠賦予孩子生命。男人沒有這種生理上的醒覺。這就是為什麼男孩為了成為男子漢,傳統上會舉行成年儀式,他們選擇成為男子漢。

在我們的文化中,年輕男性在成熟過程中有一些值得我們慶祝的步驟:志願服務、考駕照、找工作、幫助弟弟妹妹、約會女孩、買車、自己生活。 」我們不必做這些事,也不必幫助別人,但耶穌說,「因為他是僱工,對羊漠不關心。」(若10:13) 當我們關心別人的時候,我們就會對他們負責。

在婚姻中,父親必須選擇承擔與妻子所承受相同的犧牲。當女性懷孕時,她們往往不得不忍受一段時間的疼痛,最終經歷分娩疼痛。因此,男人必須選擇做更多的事情來分擔為人父母的責任:更多的工作,更多的家務,總是幫助他們的妻子。那就是我們變得像耶穌的地方。

耶穌說:「我是善牧。我認識我的羊,我的羊也認識我,正如父認識我,我也認識父一樣。」(若10:14-15)。耶穌認識我們是因為我們屬於祂,我們是祂的羊。祂擁有我們,不是像東西一樣,而是像朋友和家人一樣彼此相屬。教宗本篤十六世說:「相孩子和父母『彼此相屬』(…)。在相互責任中。」(Jesus of Nazareth, Vol. 1, 281):父母對他們的孩子負責,孩子成長再對父母負責。耶穌說,祂關心父的方式就是祂關心我們的方式(Cf. Jn 17:);這就是祂為我們獻出生命的原因。 「父愛我,因為我捨掉了我的性命,為再取回它來。」(若10:17)

我們越是想著我們有多愛我們的家人,我們就越願意為他們獻出我們的生命。而且會心甘情願地做。我們都不是被迫的。這就是選擇責任的美妙之處–如果我們自由選擇,那就是愛的象徵。耶穌說:「誰也不能奪去我的性命,而是我心甘情願捨掉口它;我有權捨掉它,我也有權再取回它來:這是我由我父所接受的命令。」 (若10:18)
下個星期,我將外出休息一周。這是我邀請你參加兩個活動的最後機會。首先,想想你所愛的不認識基督的人。為他們承擔責任,為他們祈禱。如果可以的話,邀請他們在本週三和周四參加「啟發」(Alpha)。幫助他們認識和愛耶穌是我們的責任。

這就是我們今天要反思的問題:「耶穌,在我的生命中,你希望我在哪里為別人承擔更多的責任?

其次,我們從5月8日開始「通過聖若瑟獻身予耶穌the consecration to Jesus through St. Joseph。我相信這將改變我們堂區的遊戲規則,因為我們將對神聖家庭的愛進行為期六週的反思:我們將以聖家為榜樣,與他們交談,請求他們的幫助,這樣我們的家庭才能變得更加幸福。我懇求你買下這本書,和你的堂區家庭一起成長。
這是Kendrick Castillo。

2019年,在科羅拉多州,當時他18歲,他在教室裡沖向一名持槍歹徒,將他按在牆上,救出了全班共28學生。持槍歹徒發出了一顆子彈,殺死了肯德里克(Kendrick Castillo)

現在讓我分享肯德里克的父親約翰(John)寫作的一部分:「我記得當我們讓肯德里克受洗並將他介紹給基督和他的教會時,我們是多麼高興。我太愛肯德里克了,…。我和他在一起的時間太多了,…。我們去露營…。垂釣…。獵鹿和麋鹿…。我們參加彌撒。我和肯德里克一起重溫了我和我父親的生活,這就是在一個人的生活中有一個強大的父親形象的美妙之處。(Tyler Rowley, Because of Our Fathers, 33)

「肯德里克是一名輔祭,幫助祭司們處理葬禮。他從幫助別人…中獲得了極大的樂趣。野餐。假日聚會。肯德里克幫了我大忙。大家都很喜歡他。肯德里克經常會聽退伍軍人講述戰爭故事。肯德里克對他們的愛國精神和對國家的服務以及他們堅定的信念留下印象深刻。

有時候我妻子會在我工作的時候打電話給我,問我是不是很忙,然後告訴我應該花點時間去買一份 Happy Meal,然後和肯德里克一起吃午餐 。我總是接受她的建議,並出人意料地出現在學校…。這樣的事很重要,…。我們應該花更多的時間感謝天主賜予我們的生命和祝福…。謝謝你,天主。

我知道這是一個關於父親的故事,但我必須告訴你我妻子瑪麗亞(Maria)的故事。是她給了肯德里克神奇的愛心…。當他還是個嬰兒的時候,她會做所有母親做的事情…。給他穿上漂亮的衣服,教他說話,讀書給他聽,放像「蔬果仔樂園Veggie Tales」 的故事這樣的視頻給他看。她還在傳授肯德里克天主教信仰方面扮演了重要的角色。

我們的生命…”自從Kendrick…去世後已經發生了很大的變化。老實說,對我來說最難的是看到我妻子的痛苦。我只是祈禱我有足夠的力量帶著我們一起度過這一生,直到我們再次見到肯德里克的那一天。我和肯德里克之間的親蜜關係有時會讓我想起那兩個持槍歹徒和他們的父親…。槍手A經常目睹他的父親偶然出現時毆打他的母親。就在襲擊發生前11天, 槍手A在推特上(Tweter)表示,他想念他的父親。事實上,槍手A是…。一位在高中…變性的女生。至於槍手B…。在離開家去殺他的同學之前,他以漆噴了「F-Society…再用汽油澆了他媽媽的車,然後放火燒了車。

「當我得知肯德里克的所作所為時,我並不感到驚訝。他的一生導致了那一刻,…。[他]吸收了他和我從小所受的一切好東西,所有他從堅強而忠誠的天主教徒那裡學到的東西,他們都是熱愛天主的積極的父親人物。在一瞬間,肯德里克為了保護他的朋友和拯救他們的生命,用上了他一生中學到的所有東西。肯德里克正在做他的祖父、父親、母親和教會教他的事情。效法耶穌…。沒有比這更偉大的愛了。

Posted: April 25, 2021

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


其他主日反省

我們眼睛看不見的,我們的心能意會和明白 Susanna Mak

在我們內的聖神;耶穌應許我們的同一位聖神,藉着堅振聖事賜給我們的聖神,使我們感官靈敏,而最重要的是使我們的心能「體驗 ⋯ 觀看:上主是何等的和藹慈善」,並能感激「父賜給我們何等的愛情」(詠 34:8, 若一 3:1)。

繼續閱讀 >
乙年(馬爾谷) 復活期第四主日:我認識我的羊,我的羊也認識我 吳智勳神父

今天福音中,耶穌有點像為牧人賣廣告。如果純粹從廣告的角度去看,好像不太高明,因為工作又辛苦,又危險,甚至要「為羊捨命」,不把應徵的嚇走才怪…那些真的去應徵時,人們還以為他們是失戀,或受了大挫折,才會「看破紅塵」,做了如斯消極的選擇。

繼續閱讀 >