Who are the Genuine Leaders Among Us?

Sixteenth Sunday in Ordinary Time

JEREMIAH 23:1-6

Woe to the shepherds who mislead and scatter the flock of my pasture, says the LORD. Therefore, thus says the LORD, the God of Israel, against the shepherds who shepherd my people: You have scattered my sheep and driven them away. You have not cared for them, but I will take care to punish your evil deeds. I myself will gather the remnant of my flock from all the lands to which I have driven them and bring them back to their meadow; there they shall increase and multiply. I will appoint shepherds for them who will shepherd them so that they need no longer fear and tremble; and none shall be missing, says the LORD. Behold, the days are coming, says the LORD, when I will raise up a righteous shoot to David; as king he shall reign and govern wisely, he shall do what is just and right in the land. In his days Judah shall be saved, Israel shall dwell in security. This is the name they give him: “The LORD our justice.”

EPHESIANS 2:13-18

Brothers and sisters: In Christ Jesus you who once were far off have become near by the blood of Christ. For he is our peace, he who made both one and broke down the dividing wall of enmity, through his flesh, abolishing the law with its commandments and legal claims, that he might create in himself one new person in place of the two, thus establishing peace, and might reconcile both with God, in one body, through the cross, putting that enmity to death by it. He came and preached peace to you who were far off and peace to those who were near, for through him we both have access in one Spirit to the Father.

MARK 6:30-34

The apostles gathered together with Jesus and reported all they had done and taught. He said to them, “Come away by yourselves to a deserted place and rest a while.” People were coming and going in great numbers, and they had no opportunity even to eat. So they went off in the boat by themselves to a deserted place. People saw them leaving and many came to know about it. They hastened there on foot from all the towns and arrived at the place before them. When he disembarked and saw the vast crowd, his heart was moved with pity for them, for they were like sheep without a shepherd; and he began to teach them many things.

I can’t help but feel disappointed, and perhaps disillusioned, when I look at the leaders of some of the most powerful nations on earth. Many lead with might rather than compassion and equity; placing bottom line, or even self-interests, rather than human dignity at the heart of their policies. These policies often condemn the most vulnerable among society (the homeless, unemployed or underemployed, single parents, Indigenous peoples, persons of colour, women, children, elderlies, those struggling with addictions and mental health issues, migrants, refugees, etc.) to undue hardships and hopelessness. Such leaders build walls rather than bridges; provoke war and hatred rather than peace and reconciliation. Are there any genuine leaders among us?

This Sunday’s readings shine a spotlight on our Good Shepherd, Jesus Christ, particularly, how he leads and why he leads the way he does. In the first reading, Jeremiah reminds us that our Good Shepherd is sent to restore “justice and righteousness” so that “Judah will be saved and Israel will live in safety” (Jer 23:5,6). The Church, according to the Catechism, is the “new Israel” (ref. CCC 877). Therefore, Christ comes so that we may be saved. Indeed, Christ is our genuine shepherd who gathers rather than scatters; reigns with “compassion” (Mk 6:34), “justice and righteousness” (Jer 23:5); breaks down “the dividing wall” (Eph 2:14); brings peace and reconciliation (ref. Eph 2:15,16).

In the first reading, God condemns “the shepherds who destroy and scatter the sheep” (Jer 23:1). Good leaders, on the contrary, facilitate unity by gathering the nation into one fold so that the flock “shall not fear any longer” and “shall be fruitful and multiply” (Jer 23:3, 4). Christ is the “righteous branch” from David who rules justly and wisely, and “shall reign as king and deal wisely, and shall execute justice and righteousness in the land” (Jer 23:5). He also “leads [us] in right paths for his name’s sake. Even though [we] walk through the darkest valley, [we] fear no evil” (Ps 23:3-4). It is, indeed, God’s loving intention that everyone, not just the rich, the famed, and the powerful, should be able to live peacefully, freely, and abundantly under the leadership of the Good Shepherd. As Christ is our leader, each of us is also called to lead the way He leads, that is, lovingly, wisely and justly.

In Saint Paul’s letter to the Ephesians, Paul describes Christ as “our peace”, whose mission is to break down the “dividing wall, that is, the hostility between us” (Eph 2:14). Peace seems like a good benchmark by which we assess our decisions and actions. How often have we seen political decisions that divide and even provoke hostility among citizens and nations? For instance, the Americans are experiencing deep rifts and divisions due to the policies of the current administration. Building a wall or placing parents and children in separate detention centres may appear to be effective short-term measures; however, these measures are short-sighted in scope, divisive in nature, and most importantly, lack empathy and compassion. Further, on a personal level, do our decisions and actions reconcile or divide; bring peace or hostility? What would our Good Shepherd do?

Further, Jesus is portrayed as attentive, caring, and compassionate in Mark’s Gospel. Like an attentive and caring parent or friend, Jesus, notices how exhausted his Apostles are after their mission, gently invites them to “come away to a deserted place … and rest a while” (Mk 6:31). Indeed, the Good Shepherd leads those who labour for His sake to “lie down in green pastures … beside still waters” and restore their souls. (Ps 23:2-3). A good leader recognizes that there’s a time to labour and there’s a time to rest. On the contrary, many secular leaders often push their citizens to the ultimate limit, disregarding the dire consequences resulted from their decisions.

Finally, a genuine leader commands trust. We know that Jesus, our Good Shepherd is trustworthy because he is one of us! He accepts his mission of love to live and journey with us, and even sacrifices his own life for us, in order to reconcile us to God. As the Psalmist proclaims, we can walk confidently without fear because our Good Shepherd is our “rod” and “staff”, guiding us every step of the way (Ps 23:4).

Returning to the initial question: Are there any genuine leaders among us? The answer is a resounding “yes”! Christ calls each one of us to lead according to the richness of gifts given to us. Indeed, he has already provided a roadmap to genuine leadership: A genuine leader gathers rather than scatters; brings peace instead of hatred; and leads with compassion.

Posted: July 22, 2018

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


Other Sunday Reflections

The Word of God Is Love Not Violence
Just as Isaiah’s nakedness doesn’t make him a flasher; Jesus’ destructive act doesn’t make him a violent person. Continue Reading >
To go through life's nadir at the foot of the mountain
Glimpses and tastes of glory that once exhilarated the disciples can also exhilarate us. Continue Reading >
Seeing Into the Future
Over the years, I’ve reminded you how God takes care of us in suffering, but today I’m challenging you to make it your own by doing a spiritual exercise. Continue Reading >

在我們當中,誰是真正的領導人?

常年期第十六主日

耶肋米亞先知書 23:1-6

上主說:禍哉,那摧殘我牧場上的羊群,並把羊群趕散的牧人——上主的斷語。為此,上主,以色列的天主,對牧放我民的牧人這樣說:「你們驅散趕走了我的羊群,不加照顧;現在,看,我必依照你們的惡行,來懲罰你們——上主的斷語。「我要集合我尚存的羊,從牠們被驅散的各地,引導牠們,再回到自己的羊棧,叫牠們滋生繁殖。我要興起牧者,來牧放牠們,使牠們無恐無懼,再也不會失掉一個——上主的斷語。「看,時日將到——上主的斷語——我必給達味,興起一支正義的苗芽,叫他執政為王,斷事明智,在地上執行公道正義。在他的日子裡,猶大必要獲救,以色列必安居樂業;人將稱他為『上主是我們的正義。』」

厄弗所書 2:13-18

弟兄姊妹們:現今,在基督耶穌內,你們從前遠離天主的人,藉著基督的血,成為親近的了。因為基督是我們的和平,他使雙方合而為一。他以自己的肉身,拆毀了中間阻隔的牆壁,就是雙方的仇恨,並廢除了由規條命令,所組成的法律,為把雙方在自己身上,造成一個新人,而成就和平。他以十字架,誅滅了仇恨,也以十字架,使雙方合成一體,與天主和好。所以他來,向你們遠離的人,傳布了和平的福音,也向那親近的人,傳布了和平,因為藉著他,我們雙方,在一個聖神內,才得以到達父面前。

馬爾谷福音 6:30-34

那時候,宗徒都回到耶穌面前,將他們所行所教的一切,報告給耶穌。耶穌向他們說:「你們來,私下到荒野裡,去休息一會兒!」因為來往的人很多,以致他們連吃飯的工夫也沒有。他們便乘船,私下往荒野去。人看見他們走了。許多人也知道他們要去的地方,便從各城,徒步前往那裡,且在他們之前,先到達了。耶穌一下船,看見一大夥群眾,就對他們,動了憐憫的心,因為他們好像沒有牧人的羊;於是,耶穌便開口教訓他們許多事。

看到世界上一些強國的領袖,我不能不感到失望,連本來僅存的些許寄望也幻滅了。他們以強勢,而不是以愛心和平等來領導;他們的政策以底線,或自己的利益,而不是人類的尊嚴為依歸。這些政策經常將弱勢社群(無家可歸者、失業或工作不足的人、單親父母、原住民、有色人種、婦女、孩子、老人、因癮癖或精神問題而掙扎的人、移民、難民等等)推往不必要的困苦和絕望中。這些領袖建造圍牆而非橋樑;挑起戰爭和憎恨而非和平與修和。在我們當中,到底有沒有真正的領導人?

這個主日的讀經將我們的善牧─耶穌基督─放在鎂光燈下,特別是如何領導和為何會這樣領導。在讀經一,耶肋米亞提醒我們善牧的興起是為恢復「公道正義」以至「猶大必要獲救,以色列必安居樂業」(耶 23:5,6)。所以基督到來是為我們的得救。的確,基督是我們的真善牧,集合而不驅散;以「憐憫」(谷 6:34), 「公道正義」(耶 23:5)來治理;拆毀了「中間阻隔的牆壁」(弗 2:14);成就和平,與天主和好 (參 弗 2:15, 16)。

在讀經一,天主譴責「那摧殘我牧場上的羊群,並把羊群趕散的牧人」(耶 23:1)。好領袖帶領國家步向團結,合而為一,好讓羊群「無恐無懼」和「滋生繁殖」(耶 23:3,4)。基督是「正義的苗芽」,從以公義智慧治國的達味而來的, 會「執政為王,斷事明智,在地上執行公道正義」(Jer 23:5)。也「為了自己的名號,領我踏上了正義的坦途。縱使我[們]應走過陰森的幽谷,我[們]不怕凶險」(詠 23:3-4)。每一個人─而不只是富人、名人或有權世的人─都應能在善牧的領導下,過和平、自由而富足的生活。這確是天主的仁愛旨意。基督是我們的領袖,我們每人都被召叫以的方式—就是以仁愛,明智和公義去領導。

在聖保祿致厄弗所人書,他形容基督是「我們的和平」,祂的使命是拆毀「中間阻隔的牆壁,就是雙方的仇恨」(弗 2:14)。要衡量我們自己的決定和行動,和平似乎是一個好的準則。我們不是常常見到分化人民或國家,甚至挑起敵意的政治決策嗎?例如,現在美國政府的政策在美國人之間亦製造了洪溝和分裂。建一道牆,或把父母和孩子分開在不同的收容中心可能是有效的短期解決辦法;但這些辦法,眼界是短視的,本質是分化的,而最重要的是,缺乏同理和同情心。另一方面,在個人的層面,我們的決定和行動是修和還是分化,會帶來和平還是敵意呢?我們的善牧會怎樣做?

在《馬爾谷福音》,耶穌被描述為一個留意別人需要,關心別人以及有憐憫心的人。就像一個細心、富於關懷的父母或朋友,耶穌留意到祂的宗徒們宣講回來,筋疲力盡,便輕輕請他們「到荒野裏,去休息一會兒」(谷 6:31)。的確,善牧帶領為祂的緣故而勞作的人「躺在青綠的草場 ⋯ 在幽靜的水旁」使他們的心靈回復舒暢(詠 23:2-3。好的領導人明白作息有序。俗世的領導人則經常把人民推到極限,並不理會自己的決定所引發的可怕後果。

最後,真正的領袖令人信服。我們知道耶穌,我們的善牧是值得信任的,因為祂是我們其中的一個!祂接受了仁愛的使命,和我們一起生活前行,為了我們與天主和好,甚至為我們犧牲了自己的生命。像聖詠作者的宣稱,我們可以懷著信心,無懼地前行,因為善牧是我們的「牧杖」和「短棒」,祂每一步都帶領着我們(詠 23:4)。

回到原來的問題:在我們中間,有沒有真正的領袖?答案是一句肯定的「有」!基督召叫我們每一個人都以自己所得的豐富恩寵去領導別人。是的,祂已經提供了成為真正領導者的途徑:真正的領袖集合而不驅散;帶來和平而不是仇恨;並以憐憫心來領導。

Posted: July 22, 2018

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


其他主日反省

乙年(馬爾谷) 常年期第十六主日:接觸天主,吸取靈氣 吳智勳神父

上星期的福音提到耶穌經過一番培育後,派遣門徒出去。今日的福音敘述門徒回來向耶穌報告發生的事,大概他們為自己所做的一切而自豪。報告了甚麼,馬爾谷沒有記下來,因為覺得並不重要,反而耶穌所說的才是重要的:「你們靜靜地到偏僻的地方去休息一下」。

繼續閱讀 >
主日教理 天主教香港教區
教理中心及教理委員會
教理主題:教會的牧民職務
繼續閱讀 >