Are we able to perceive the hidden Truth?

Fifteenth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Isaiah 55:10-11

Thus says the LORD: Just as from the heavens the rain and snow come down and do not return there till they have watered the earth, making it fertile and fruitful, giving seed to the one who sows and bread to the one who eats, so shall my word be that goes forth from my mouth; my word shall not return to me void, but shall do my will, achieving the end for which I sent it.

Romans 8:18-23

Brothers and sisters: I consider that the sufferings of this present time are as nothing compared with the glory to be revealed for us. For creation awaits with eager expectation the revelation of the children of God; for creation was made subject to futility, not of its own accord but because of the one who subjected it, in hope that creation itself would be set free from slavery to corruption and share in the glorious freedom of the children of God. We know that all creation is groaning in labor pains even until now; and not only that, but we ourselves, who have the firstfruits of the Spirit, we also groan within ourselves as we wait for adoption, the redemption of our bodies.

Matthew 13:1-9

On that day, Jesus went out of the house and sat down by the sea. Such large crowds gathered around him that he got into a boat and sat down, and the whole crowd stood along the shore. And he spoke to them at length in parables, saying: "A sower went out to sow. And as he sowed, some seed fell on the path, and birds came and ate it up. Some fell on rocky ground, where it had little soil. It sprang up at once because the soil was not deep, and when the sun rose it was scorched, and it withered for lack of roots. Some seed fell among thorns, and the thorns grew up and choked it. But some seed fell on rich soil and produced fruit, a hundred or sixty or thirtyfold. Whoever has ears ought to hear."

The parable of the sower in this Sunday’s Gospel reading can be read on two levels. The first level is in the context of Jesus’ earthly ministry — His encounter with the people to whom He preaches. The parable could also be the reflection of the experiences and situations of Matthew’s early Christian community. In both circumstances, it explains why Jesus’ words elicit a mixed reception from the crowd: the evil one is at work; people’s hearts are too shallow; others are preoccupied with worldly concerns but some, who “hear the word and understand it”, bear and yield fruits (Mt 13:23). The second level is allegorical. It invites us to look beyond the words in the text to a hidden message that it means to convey.

The allegory of the sower parable begins with the sower’s method of sowing. In reality, this “broadcast” method of planting seeds seems rather wasteful. It is imprudent if not foolish to scatter seeds on unsuitable ground. But if God is the sower and the seed is His word, then as Isaiah says in the First Reading, “For just as from the heavens the rain and snow come down and do not return there till they have watered the earth, making it fertile and fruitful, giving seed to him who sows . . .”, so too, is the work of God. Even when the method is apparently not very efficient and the sower may suffer frustrations in many ways, it will “[achieve] the end for which [God] sent it” (Is 55:10-11). And just like the rain and snow water the earth no matter on what kind of ground they fall, God’s gift of salvation is freely extended to all people and to all nations. His generosity is impartial, gratuitous and disproportionate! When hearts are open to God’s word, God’s grace is superabundant. Not only does God’s grace make one’s heart fruitful but also make up for all the lost seeds which do not produce anything

Then the focus of interest is shifted to the harvest. The bounteousness of the harvest does not depend on the method of planting but is determined by the nature of the soil/ground. The four different types of soil/ground reflect the dispositions or attitudes of those who receive God’s word, evidently yielding different results. While in nature, these soils/grounds are already predetermined in their suitability for farming; in the case of human hearts, there is free will and hence, one has the freedom of choice to accept or reject the gift of salvation. Even among those who accept, their yield is different, “some a hundredfold, some sixtyfold, and some thirtyfold” (Mt 13:8-9). In our spiritual journey, like seeds, we often fall into different soils. At times, we may give up our effort before they germinate; or we may be too superficial in our spiritual progress; and at other times, we may be dwindled by anxieties, distractions and the lure of worldly cares. But sometimes, and somehow, when we fall on rich and fertile soil, free of pecking birds, stones and weeds, we should persevere and give thanks to the Lord, for whatever fruits we may bear, it is “only God who causes the growth” (1 Cor. 3:7).

The final allegorical element is related to the “mysteries of the kingdom of heaven” (Mt 13:11). The word “mystery” is used in the Book of Daniel (rf Dn 2:18-19, 27-30) and also in the Gospels of Luke and Mark (rf Lk 8:10, Mk 4:11). In each instance, it implies a divine decree which will affect the course of human history, but can only be known when revealed. In the case of Daniel, it is the knowledge to interpret King Nebuchadnezzar’s dream; in the case of Jesus’ disciples, it is the recognition of the actual realization of God’s plan made present in the person of Jesus. Jesus’ double answer to the disciples’ question about the purpose of the parable reveals the secrets of divine revelation. He distinguishes the grace given between the disciples and the crowd. His use of the parable is not to punish the crowd. It is their hardness of heart, their deliberate resistance and continuous indifference that prevent God’s grace from reaching them. In contrast, the disciples witness with faith the present reality of the mystery in the events of Jesus’ earthly life.

Many centuries of believers before Christ awaited the coming of the Messiah but did not see it. Many longed to hear the words of God, not from prophets but spoken by God Himself and never heard it. We Christians of the latter days are able to share the blessedness of the disciples, not in the sense of seeing Jesus physically or hearing Him actually speaking, but the faith of the disciples which now we have in Jesus as the Son of God and our Saviour. By opening our hearts, we perceive the hidden Truth; through Scriptures and Sacraments, we continue to encounter the real Jesus and in living out His words in our lives, we experience the kingdom of heaven here on earth.

Posted: July 12, 2020

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


Other Sunday Reflections

Eighteenth Sunday In Ordinary Time
How to turn our littleness into greatness?
"Incline your ear, and come to me; listen, so that you may live"(Is 55:3) Continue Reading >
Eighteenth Sunday In Ordinary Time
Would You Bring Only the Old or the New?
What does Jesus teach about the Kingdom of God? What is the significance of rejecting the ideologies of both left and right, the idolatry of both the new and the… Continue Reading >
Eighteenth Sunday In Ordinary Time
How to Ask for the Best Gifts
"At Gibeon the Lord appeared to Solomon in a dream by night; and God said, 'Ask what I should give you'" (1 Kg 3:5).—This is what God is saying to… Continue Reading >

我們能洞悉隱藏的真理嗎?

常年期第十五主日

依撒意亞先知書 55:10-11

上主說:「譬如雨和雪從天降下,不再返回原處,只有灌溉田地,使之生長萌芽,償還播種者種子,供給吃飯者食糧;同樣,從我口中發出的言語,也不能空空地回到我這裡來;反之,它必實行我的旨意,完成我派遣它的使命。」

羅馬書 8:18-23

弟兄姊妹們:我實在以為:現時的苦楚,與將來在我們身上,要顯示的光榮,是不能較量的。凡受造之物,都熱切地等待天主子女的顯揚,因為,受造之物,被屈伏在敗壞的狀態之下,並不是出於自願,而是出於使它屈伏的那位的決意;但受造之物,仍懷有希望,脫離敗壞的控制,得享天主子女的光榮自由。因為我們知道,直到現在,一切受造之物,都一同歎息,同受產痛;不但是萬物,就是連我們已蒙受聖神初果的人,也在自己心中歎息,等待著義子期望的實現,即我們肉身的救贖。

瑪竇福音 13:1-23

在那一天,耶穌從家裡出來,坐在海邊;有許多群眾,集合到他面前。耶穌只好上船,坐下;群眾都站在岸上。耶穌就用比喻,給他們講論了許多事,說:「看,有個撒種的,出去撒種。他撒種的時候,有的落在路旁;飛鳥來,把種子吃了。「有的落在石頭地裡,那裡沒有多少土壤;因為土壤不深,雖然很快發了芽,但太陽一出來,就被曬焦,又因為沒有根,就枯乾了。「有的落在荊棘中;荊棘長起來,便把它們窒息了。「有的落在好地裡,就結了果實:有一百倍的,有六十倍的,有三十倍的。「有耳的,聽吧!」門徒來問耶穌說:「為什麼你用比喻,對他們講話?」耶穌回答門徒說:「因為天國的奧妙,是給你們知道,而不是給他們知道。因為凡有的,還要給他,使他富足;但是,凡沒有的,連他所有的,也要由他奪去。為此,我用比喻,對他們講話,因為他們看是看,卻看不見;聽是聽,卻聽不見,也不瞭解;這樣在他們身上,正應驗了依撒意亞的預言,說:「『你們聽是聽,但不瞭解;看是看,但不明白。因為這百姓的心,遲鈍了,耳朵難以聽見。他們閉了眼睛,免得眼睛看見,耳朵聽見,心裡瞭解而轉變,使我醫好他們。』「但你們的眼睛,是有福的,因為看得見;你們的耳朵,是有福的,因為聽得見。我實在告訴你們:有許多先知和義人,希望看見你們所看見的,而沒有看到;希望聽見你們所聽見的,而沒聽到。「那麼,你們聽這撒種者的比喻吧!凡聽天國的話,而不瞭解的,那惡者就來,把撒在他心裡的奪去:這是指那撒在路旁的。「那撒在石頭地裡的,即是指人聽了天國的話,立刻高興接受;但在心裡沒有根,不能持久,一旦為這話發生了艱難和迫害,就立刻跌倒了。「那撒在荊棘中的,即是指人聽了天國的話,卻有世俗的焦慮,和財富的迷惑,把話蒙住了,結不出果實。「那撒在好地裡的,即是指那聽了天國的話,而瞭解的人;他當然結出果實,有結一百倍的,有結六十倍的,有結三十倍的。」

我們可以從兩個層面來看本主日的福音讀經 — 撒種的比喻。第一個層面是以耶穌在世傳教, 與來聽祂講道的人相遇為背景 。比喻也可反映瑪竇身處的早期基督徒團體的經驗和情況。在這兩種情形下, 解釋了為什麼群眾對耶穌的說話會有不同程度的接受:邪惡的干擾、人心的膚淺、一些人只忙於關注世俗的事,但有些「聽了話而了解的人」,則能結出碩果 (瑪 13:23)。第二個層面是隱喻式, 好叫我們在文字表面以外,洞悉一個隱藏的信息。

撒種比喻的隱喻,以撒種者的撒種方法來開始。事實上,這「廣播」式的撒種方法似乎很浪費。在不適合的地上撒種,若不是愚蠢,都可以說是不很明智。然而,若天主是撒種者,而種子是祂的聖言,按依撒意亞在第一篇讀經所說的「譬如雨和雪從天降下,不再返回原處,只有灌溉田地,使之生長萌芽,償還播種者種 . . .」, 天主的事工也是一樣。即使這方法效率不高,且會令撒種者在多方面受到挫折,但最終都能「完成【上主】派遣它的使命 」(依 55:10-11)。又比如雨和雪,無論落在怎樣的地也給它灌溉,天主的救恩也是無條件地恩賜給天下萬民。祂的慷慨大方是均等的,無償的和不相稱的!當我們對天主聖言打開心扉時,天主的恩典是非常豐盛的。天主的恩典不但讓人心結出健碩的果實,更可彌補所有失去而沒有收穫的種子。

隨後,焦點轉移到收穫上。豐收程度並不取決於種植 的方法,而是取決於土地的性質。四種不同類型的土地反映出人接受天主聖言的意向或態度,而因此明顯地,結出不同的果實。在大自然中,這些土地已預先被決定了是否適宜耕種;就人心而言,人有自由意志,因而有自由選擇接受或拒絕救恩。而即使在選擇接受的人當中,收穫也截然不同:「有一百倍的,有六十倍的,有三十倍的」(瑪 13:8-9)。在靈修旅途上,我們猶如種子,經常掉進不同的土壤裏。有時,我們也許會在發芽前已放棄努力;或靈修進步只是流於表面;又或許在其他時候,我們會被焦慮、分心或世俗的誘惑而削弱意志。但有時如果我們落在肥沃的土壤中,沒有啄食的鳥,沒有石頭和野草的話,我們應該持之以恆,並感謝上主,因為我們所能結出的果實,「只在那使之生長的天主」 (格前 3:7)。

隱喻最後的一環關乎「天國的奧秘」(瑪 13:11)。「奧秘」這詞,在《達尼爾書》 (參 達 2:18-19, 27-30)、《路加福音》 (參 路8:10)和《馬爾谷福音》(參 谷 4:11) 也用過。在每一個情況下都暗示著會影響人類歷史的天主旨意,只有在揭示時才能被人知道。對達尼爾來說,奧秘是給拿步高王解夢的知識;而對耶穌的門徒來說,則在於體會到實現於耶穌身上的天主計劃。耶穌語帶雙關地回應門徒問用比喻的目的,是為了揭示天主秘密的啟示。祂 區別了賜給門徒和群眾的恩典。耶穌用比喻不是要懲罰群眾,而是人的心硬﹑刻意的抵抗和持續的冷漠,阻止了天主的恩典臨達他們身上。相反,門徒以信德見證耶穌一生展現奧秘的事蹟。

在基督來臨之前的數個世紀,不少信徒盼望默世亞的降臨,卻沒有見到。許多人渴望聽到天主親自說的話,而不是透過先知發言,也沒有聽到。作為後世的基督徒,我們可以分享門徒的福氣,不是說能直接見到耶穌本人或親耳聽到祂說話,而是我們現在能藉著門徒們的信德,以耶穌為天主子,我們的救世主。敞開我們的心扉,能洞悉隱匿的真理;透過聖經和聖事,我們能繼續與真實的耶穌相遇,而在生活中實踐祂的教誨時,我們能體驗天國臨於人間。

Posted: July 12, 2020

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


其他主日反省

甲年(瑪竇) 常年期第十五主日:有耳的,打開心門聽吧! 吳智勳神父

瑪竇福音記載七個天國的比喻,今日福音撒種的比喻是第一個。比喻是表達真理極有力的媒介,耶穌奧妙的道理,往往隱含在比喻中,留待人開放心靈去「悟」。今日撒種的比喻很妙,人可從撒種者、種子或田地的角度去悟。

繼續閱讀 >
領受降福的三種方式 Fr. Jusin Huang

為什麼耶穌似乎降福某些人比其他人多一些呢?福音中的門徒也問過類似的問題,「為什麼你用比喻對他們講話﹖」耶穌用比喻向群眾講話,但只給宗徒們解釋–為什麼?

繼續閱讀 >