Be the wise sheep of Jesus

Fourth Sunday of Easter

Acts 2:14A, 36-41

Then Peter stood up with the Eleven, raised his voice, and proclaimed: "Let the whole house of Israel know for certain that God has made both Lord and Christ, this Jesus whom you crucified." Now when they heard this, they were cut to the heart, and they asked Peter and the other apostles, "What are we to do, my brothers?" Peter said to them, "Repent and be baptized, every one of you, in the name of Jesus Christ for the forgiveness of your sins; and you will receive the gift of the Holy Spirit. For the promise is made to you and to your children and to all those far off, whomever the Lord our God will call." He testified with many other arguments, and was exhorting them, "Save yourselves from this corrupt generation." Those who accepted his message were baptized, and about three thousand persons were added that day.

1 Peter 2:20B-25

Beloved: If you are patient when you suffer for doing what is good, this is a grace before God. For to this you have been called, because Christ also suffered for you, leaving you an example that you should follow in his footsteps. He committed no sin, and no deceit was found in his mouth. When he was insulted, he returned no insult; when he suffered, he did not threaten; instead, he handed himself over to the one who judges justly. He himself bore our sins in his body upon the cross, so that, free from sin, we might live for righteousness. By his wounds you have been healed. For you had gone astray like sheep, but you have now returned to the shepherd and guardian of your souls.

John 10:1-10

Jesus said: "Amen, amen, I say to you, whoever does not enter a sheepfold through the gate but climbs over elsewhere is a thief and a robber. But whoever enters through the gate is the shepherd of the sheep. The gatekeeper opens it for him, and the sheep hear his voice, as the shepherd calls his own sheep by name and leads them out. When he has driven out all his own, he walks ahead of them, and the sheep follow him, because they recognize his voice. But they will not follow a stranger; they will run away from him, because they do not recognize the voice of strangers." Although Jesus used this figure of speech, the Pharisees did not realize what he was trying to tell them. So Jesus said again, "Amen, amen, I say to you, I am the gate for the sheep. All who came before me are thieves and robbers, but the sheep did not listen to them. I am the gate. Whoever enters through me will be saved, and will come in and go out and find pasture. A thief comes only to steal and slaughter and destroy; I came so that they might have life and have it more abundantly."

Shepherds in the land of Israel, where Jesus lived and preached, hold three things dearly: water, their tents and their sheep. Allusions to shepherd and sheep abound in the Bible. There are various “shepherd texts” in the Old Testament, and numerous parables dealing with the shepherd and the flock in the New Testament (rf Nm 27:16-17, Ez 34, Gn 31:39-40, Ps 23:1-4, Mt 18:12; 25:32, Mk 14:27, Heb 13:20, Lk 15:1-7). Religious and political leaders of Israel are often compared to shepherds, and the people to the flock. When shepherds do not attend to their responsibilities, great harm befalls the sheep.

The parable of this Sunday’s Gospel reading focuses first on the gate (vv 1-2) and then on the shepherd (vv 3-5) with the explanation that Jesus is the gate (vv 7-10) and also the shepherd in later verses (vv 11-18). Jesus portrays a vivid picture of the shepherd’s life with his sheep. Not only does the shepherd guide, protect and look after the sheep, he is like a father to them, giving each of them a name. But like any other relationships, this intimate relation between the shepherd and his flock needs mutual understanding and cooperation.

As Jesus’ followers, we are His sheep. The first thing we are told is to recognize His voice, that is, we listen to and obey His commandments as our personal response to Him. In this world, there are many voices luring us to go astray. Despite they appear attractive and promising, these voices are not from the shepherd. Like the parable of the narrow door that the road leading to perdition is wide and spacious, so do charming voices (rf Mt 7:13-14). The voice of the shepherd may not be as loud or delightful as the other voices, but it pierces the heart and the soul because it is the voice of love. The crowd heard this voice on Pentecost Sunday when Peter addressed them (first reading), “they were cut to the heart” (Acts 2:37).

Secondly, we have to know our name. The shepherd gives each of his sheep a name because each sheep has its own characteristic and is different from each other; but he loves every one of them. We, too, have our own individuality and our own crosses; and God loves each of us personally. As the shepherd who knows his sheep by their names, so does Jesus know of our sufferings and pains in life, because He Himself has undergone the same experiences. Thus, in the second reading Peter says, “. . . by His wounds you have been healed. For you were going astray like sheep, but now you have returned to the shepherd and guardian of your souls” (1 Pt 2:24-25).

Lastly, we have to follow the shepherd. The sheep follow their master because they trust him. They do not need to know where he leads them nor what to do next; all they know is to follow the shepherd and all will be taken care of. In our lives, we sure must have times of doubts, fear and worries, but Jesus tells us that He is the shepherd, the good shepherd who is willing even to lay down his life for his sheep and the one, who will leave his flock of ninety-nine sheep in order to find the one which is lost. (rf Jn 10:11, Mt 18:12-14, Lk 15:3-7). Jesus is the model of complete trust to His Father for “when He was abused, He did not return; when He suffered, He did not threaten; but He entrusted Himself to the one who judges justly” (1 Pt 2:23).

Inasmuch as sheep are known to be harmless and defenceless, they are also reputed as mindless and stupid. So let us not be the archetype but the wise sheep of Jesus. Let us recognize the right voice, follow the true master and stay close to him.

Posted: May 3, 2020

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


Other Sunday Reflections

Will We Still Eat and Drink on Resurrection?
Does this mean our risen bodies will continue to live biologically? So many unanswered questions! Continue Reading >
How Jesus Deals with Our Failures
Jesus is the Lord of life, therefore, let’s look at how He resurrects life from our failures. Everyone knows that, when we fail, God forgives us and begins again, but… Continue Reading >
Did Jesus really rise from the dead?
On the third day, He rose again from the dead . . .” Continue Reading >

做隻明智又屬於耶穌的羊

復活期第四主日

宗徒大事錄 2:14,36-41

五旬節那天,伯多祿同十一位宗徒站起來,高聲向群眾說:「猶太人,及所有居住在耶路撒冷的人!請你們留意,側耳靜聽我的話!以色列全家應確切知道:天主已把你們所釘死的這位耶穌,立為主,立為默西亞了。」眾人一聽見這些話,就心中刺痛,於是向伯多祿和其他宗徒說:「諸位仁人弟兄!我們該作什麼?」伯多祿便對他們說:「你們悔改吧!你們每人要以耶穌基督的名字受洗,好赦免你們的罪過,並領受聖神的恩惠。因為這恩許就是為了你們和你們的子女,以及一切遠方的人,因為都是我們上主天主所召叫的。」他還講了許多作證的話,並勸他們說:「你們應救自己脫離這邪惡的世代。」於是,凡接受他的話的人,都受了洗;在那一天約增添了三千人。

伯多祿前書 2:20-25

親愛的諸位:你們如果因行善而受苦,且堅心忍耐,這才是中悅天主的事。你們原是為此而蒙召的,因為基督也曾為你們受苦,給你們留下了榜樣,叫你們追隨他的足跡。他沒有犯過罪,他口中也從未出過謊言;他受辱罵,卻不還罵;他受虐待,卻不報復,只將自己交給那照正義施行審判的天主;他在自己身上,親自承擔了我們的罪過,上了木架,為叫我們死於罪惡,而活於正義。你們是因他的創傷,而獲得了痊瘉。你們從前有如迷途亡羊,現在卻被領回,歸依你們的靈牧和監督。

若望福音 10:1-10

那時候,耶穌說:「我實實在在告訴你們:凡不由門進入羊棧,而由別處爬進去的,便是賊,是強盜。由門進去的,才是羊的牧人。看門的給他開門,羊聽從他的聲音;他按名字呼喚自己的羊,並引領他們出來。當他把羊放出來以後,就走在羊前面;羊也跟隨他,因為羊認得他的聲音。羊決不跟隨陌生人,反而逃避陌生人,因為羊不認得陌生人的聲音。」耶穌給他們講了這個比喻。他們卻不明白他所講的是什麼。於是,耶穌又對他們說:「我實實在在告訴你們:我是羊的門;凡在我以前來的,都是賊和強盜;羊沒有聽從他們。我就是門,誰若經過我進來,必得安全;可以進,可以出,可以找到草場。賊來,無非是為偷竊、殺害、毀滅;我來,卻是為叫他們獲得生命,且獲得更豐富的生命。」

在耶穌生活和傳教的以色列,牧羊人最珍视三件物件:水、他們的帳棚和羊。聖經中關於牧羊人和羊的典故,非常豐富;舊約有多篇 「牧羊人課文」,新約亦有很多牧羊人及羊群的比喻 (參 戶 27:16-17, 則 34, 創 31:39-40, 詠 23:1-4, 瑪 18:12; 25:32, 谷 14:27, 希 13:20, 路 15:1-7)。 以色列的宗教和政治領袖經常被比作牧羊人,而人民則比作羊群。當牧羊人不履行職責時,羊群便會受到極大的傷害。

這個主日福音讀經中的比喻 , 首先集中於羊棧的門 (第 1-2 節),然後是羊的牧人(第3-5節)。耶穌被解釋為門(第 7-10 節),而在往後的幾節,耶穌也是牧人(第 11-18 節)。耶穌鮮明地繪畫出牧人與祂的羊的日常生活。祂不只帶領,保護和照料羊群,也像牠們的父親一樣,給牠們起名字。然而,與其他關係一樣,牧人與羊群的親密關係,必須建立於互相理解和合作之上。

作為耶穌的追隨者,我們是祂的羊。我們被提醒的第一件事,是認得祂的聲音,換句話說,我們要聽從祂的誡命,作為自己對祂的回應。在世上,有許多引誘我們誤入歧途的聲音。聽起來好像很吸引和有為,卻不是從牧羊人來的聲音。猶如窄門的比喻所說,通往滅亡的道路既寬且廣,誘人的聲音也是如此 (參 瑪 7:13-14)。牧羊人的聲音可能不像其他聲音響亮或悅耳,卻穿透我們的心靈,因為這是愛的聲音。在五旬節那天,當伯多祿對群眾講話時 (讀經一),他們聽到這聲音「就心中刺痛」(宗 2:37)。

其次,我們要知道自己的名字。牧羊人給每一頭羊起名字,是因為每頭羊都有其不同的特徵; 但每一頭祂都愛。我們也有自己的獨特性和自己的十字架; 而天主也愛我們每一個。就像可以叫出每隻羊的名字的牧羊人,耶穌也知道我們人生中的苦與痛,因為祂自己也有同樣的經驗。所以,伯多祿在讀經二這樣說:「⋯你們是因他的創傷而獲得了痊癒。你們從前有如迷途的亡羊,如今卻被領回,歸依你們的靈牧和監督」 (伯前2:24-25)。

最後,我們要追隨我們的牧者。羊願意跟隨主人,因為牠們信任他。牠們並不知道牧羊人會帶牠們往那裡去,也不知道下一步該怎樣做;牠們只知道,跟隨牧羊人就會得到照料。在我們的生活中,必然會有懷疑、恐懼或焦慮的時刻,但耶穌告訴我們,祂是我們的牧者,一個願意為羊捨生的善牧,一個會為尋找一隻迷途的羊而放下其餘九十九隻的牧者 (參 若 10:11, 瑪 18:12-14, 路 15:3-7)。耶穌就是對聖父完全信賴的榜樣因「他受辱罵,卻不還罵;他受虐待,卻不報復,只將自己交給那照正義行審判的天主」( 伯前 2:23)。

羊雖是被譽為無害和不能自保,但也以愚昧笨拙聞名。讓我們不要做那些典型的羊, 而做頭明智屬於耶穌的羊。讓我們能辨認出正確的聲音,緊緊跟隨真正的主人。

Posted: May 3, 2020

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


其他主日反省

甲年(瑪竇) 復活期第四主日:認識你們的牧者 吳智勳神父

本主日是聖召主日,教會呼籲教友關注聖召、培育聖召、為聖召祈禱。提起聖召,人們會聯想到聖經上的例子。有些是戲劇性的,如基督召叫保祿,使他跌倒在地,暫時失明;有些是集體性的,如基督在加里肋亞湖邊召叫伯多祿兄弟及雅各伯兄弟,他們四人一齊放下一切跟隨耶穌;有些是爽快洒脫的,如耶穌召叫在稅關工作的瑪竇,他推開工作便跟隨去;有些是輕描淡寫的,如耶穌在路上遇見斐理伯,只叫一聲︰「來,跟隨我」,他便若無其事的去了。

繼續閱讀 >
三個提示來幫助我們聽到耶穌的聲音 Fr. Justin Huang

我們的思想可能會一整天在充滿希望和沮喪、感受被愛和孤獨、受到鼓勵和沮喪之間搖擺–例如,我們怎麼知道哪個思想是從耶穌來的?耶穌什麼時候在督促我們,或者只是我們對自己太苛刻了?我們從福音中知道,耶穌可以非常溫和,但祂也批評他的門徒不理解(「唉! 無知的人哪! 為信先知們所說的一切話,你們的心竟是這般遲鈍!(路24:25)。

繼續閱讀 >