Boasting of Our Weaknesses

Fourteenth Sunday in Ordinary Time

EZEKIEL 2:2-5

As the LORD spoke to me, the spirit entered into me and set me on my feet, and I heard the one who was speaking say to me: Son of man, I am sending you to the Israelites, rebels who have rebelled against me; they and their ancestors have revolted against me to this very day. Hard of face and obstinate of heart are they to whom I am sending you. But you shall say to them: Thus says the Lord GOD! And whether they heed or resist—for they are a rebellious house— they shall know that a prophet has been among them.

2 CORINTHIANS 12:7-10

Brothers and sisters: That I, Paul, might not become too elated, because of the abundance of the revelations, a thorn in the flesh was given to me, an angel of Satan, to beat me, to keep me from being too elated. Three times I begged the Lord about this, that it might leave me, but he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for power is made perfect in weakness.” I will rather boast most gladly of my weaknesses, in order that the power of Christ may dwell with me. Therefore, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and constraints, for the sake of Christ; for when I am weak, then I am strong.

MARK 6:1-6

Jesus departed from there and came to his native place, accompanied by his disciples. When the sabbath came he began to teach in the synagogue, and many who heard him were astonished. They said, “Where did this man get all this? What kind of wisdom has been given him? What mighty deeds are wrought by his hands! Is he not the carpenter, the son of Mary, and the brother of James and Joses and Judas and Simon? And are not his sisters here with us?” And they took offense at him. Jesus said to them, “A prophet is not without honor except in his native place and among his own kin and in his own house.” So he was not able to perform any mighty deed there, apart from curing a few sick people by laying his hands on them. He was amazed at their lack of faith.

We’ve just started our annual Sabbath Summer season at St. Anthony’s, and here are my six recommendations for a restful, renewing, and re-creative summer: 1) Read good literature, because good books are the simplest way to renew the whole person, body, mind, and soul; 2) Go on vaca-tion, because you’re so tired; 3) Waste time with friends, in the sense of enjoy their company and don’t try to accom-plish anything; 4) Go on retreat, because wasting time with God is the most renewing activity for the soul; 5) Go to Confes-sion—allow Jesus to remove the weight of sin so as to start the Sab-bath well; 6) Go to counselling, because we have problems that need a good Christian counsellor.

Now, we all have reasons we don’t do these things.  We’re too busy.  We don’t need a vacation, or a retreat.  There’s probably pride in these reasons: We don’t need help.  We delay Con-fession because we think we’re not that bad.  We don’t go for coun-selling because it’s embarrassing and we think we can handle it on our own.

I never thought I needed counselling, until, in 2010, my superior in Rome told me to go, and last August, Archbishop Miller told me to go during my sab-batical.  I was surprised, because, in truth, I’m so proud.  I didn’t think my problems were that bad.  I thought I only needed rest and a retreat.  And I didn’t want people to know about it because, again, I’m so proud.

As we begin our Sabbath Summer, we need more humility, to accept our weak-nesses.  In the Second Reading, St. Paul admits that he was tempted to pride.  “Considering the exceptional character of the revelations, to keep me from being too elated, a thorn was given me in the flesh, a messenger of Satan to torment me, to keep me from being too elated” (2 Cor 12:7).  In this letter, St. Paul had just recounted how he had been given a special grace from God fourteen years earlier: a vision of heaven.  He received such a rare grace that God allowed him to suffer a ‘thorn in the flesh,’ to prevent him from becoming proud.  Most scholars believe that the thorn was some kind of physical suffering, headaches, fevers, or problems with his eyes (Thomas Stegman, SJ, Second Corinthi-ans in Catholic Commentary on Sacred Scripture, 270-271).

St. Thomas Aquinas teaches that pride is the most grievous sin, because we’re not just turning towards a lesser good, like pleasure, fame, or other people, but we’re turning away from the greatest good, God Himself.  We’re say-ing, in effect, that we don’t need Him or won’t listen to Him.  St. Thomas writes, “Pride by its very nature… is the contempt of God.”  Can you imagine this?  When we avoid humbling our-selves and asking for help, we’re unintentionally showing contempt for God.

Pride is always an illusion.  We avoid going to Confession be-cause we think we’re already great people, but, in fact, most of us, according to St. Teresa of Avila’s seven mansions of the interior life, are either in the first or second mansion, or not even in the castle.

Most of us need more rest, but pride in our culture says we need to work more, buy more, do more.  And when we go on vacation, we have to go everywhere and see everything, forgetting that we need to rest, because we are creatures.  Pride blinds us to our human need for friendships, and therefore we spend so much time on devices, and we’re the ones who suffer.

“Three times I appealed to the Lord about this, that it would leave me, but he said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for power is made per-fect in weakness’” (2 Cor 12:8-9).  This is fascinat-ing: God doesn’t take away the pain, but gives St. Paul enough grace to endure it.  Now, sometimes God does take away our illness and problems, but sometimes He doesn’t, in order to make us wake up to reality.

For example, many people need to come to Confession monthly, simply to stay on top of things.  Their temptation to lust, greed, an-ger will always be with them.  We might think that once they go to Confession enough and stop these sins for a while that they won’t have to go back.  Not so.  They will always have these weaknesses, and God says, “My grace in Confession will be enough for you,” and so they’ll have to go to Confession every month for the rest of their lives in order to avoid falling back.

Once St. Paul realizes that God’s plan is to leave him with this weakness, he changes his response: “So, I will boast all the more gladly of my weakness-es, so that the power of Christ may dwell in me.  Therefore I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities for the sake of Christ; for whenever I am weak, then I am strong” (2 Cor 12:9-10).  His response is precisely to go against his pride: In-stead of hiding his weakness, he boasts of it, for two reasons: 1) He wants the people to whom he’s writing to know that it’s Jesus Who is working through him and that everything comes from Him; 2) The more he’s aware of his weak-nesses, the more he’ll ask for help, and the more he’ll get it (Stegman, 272).

I’m so full of pride, and God, out of love, humbled me.  Through Archbishop Miller’s request, God was saying to me, “Your problems are so seri-ous that you need professional help.  You’ve been struggling with overwork and exhaustion for years.  Here’s the way of heal-ing.  And I’ll heal not only your exhaustion but also your pride.”

So, during my sabbatical, I did online counselling eleven times in addition to my thirty-day retreat.  It was so fruitful after one session, that I started doing it three times a week when I returned from South Dako-ta.  And it’s been so good that I’ve been going to counselling every three weeks since then, and I don’t plan on stopping.  I need some-one to help me live the fullness of life.

I now understand what St. Paul meant about boasting of his weaknesses, in order to have true strength.  Just as St. Paul boasts of his weak-nesses, let me boast of my need for help.  I need a counsellor, in order to grow humanly, in my emotions and in my mind.  I need a spiritual director who helps me especially morally.  I have Trudy, whom I call about my prayer life.  I have a coach for parish renewal, and a coach for the health of our leadership team at the parish.  I need five coaches in my life because I am weak, and because of God’s grace through them, I’m strong.

Here again are my six recommendations:

1) Read good literature.  Start with this book: Man’s Search for Meaning by Viktor Frankl.  If you want to know what to do with your life, read about the meaning of life.  This very short book is about a psychologist’s journey in Auschwitz and his finding meaning when everything in life was taken from him.  Of course, the most important book to read daily is God’s book, the Bible.  After that, read books by the saints, and other great classics.  Here are two lists of great books:  The Book Club by PragerU and Brandon Vogt’s Best Catholic Books of All Time.

2) Go on vacation.  God commands us to rest.  Have you ever realized that the only people who don’t rest are slaves?  They have to work.  Only slaves work all the time.  It’s true that we’re called to lay down our lives for each other, but not by constant work.  We lay down our lives by doing God’s will, and then by willing the other person’s good.  God asks us to love our neighbour as we love ourselves, which includes showing others how to rest.

3) Waste time with friends.  We can survive without friends, but not thrive.  God wants us to thrive.  Take the initiative, take a risk, humble yourself, and ask those people with whom you want to spend time if they’re free.  Some will reject you, but some will accept, and you’ll be better for it.  Some of the best times in life are when we’re not looking at the clock, and we cre-ate evenings or days when we don’t have to rush to something else.  The reason these times are special is because they have a taste of eternity.

4) Go on retreat.  Most of us suffer from spir-itual coasting, and some of us are lazy and slothful.  Retreats are times of renewal.  Do it once a year.  We’ll talk about this more in two weeks.

5) Go to Confession.  Do holy people go to Con-fession once a year or once a week?  They go more frequent-ly.  Is it because their sins are greater?  It’s because they want to root out even venial sins.  People who love Jesus more, go more frequently.

6) Go to counselling.  A large number of Catho-lics talk about things in Confession that should be brought up in counsel-ling.  That’s understandable if it’s been years since we’ve been go-ing to Confession.  But, if we go once a month or more, Confession is focused on moral and spiritual growth, on discernment and ac-tion.  Counselling is where we talk about past issues, our emotions, and personal struggles.  Since men in particular struggle with pride, it follows that the proudest men avoid counselling, as I did.  I hope that God will force your hand as He did mine, and that you’ll humble yourself, too.  Here’s a list of Catholic and Christian counsellors vetted by our archdio-cese.

God wants us to be strong, but it only comes through admitting the truth and relying on Him.  The only way out is humility.  When we are weak, then we are strong.

Source: Boasting of Our Weaknesses

Posted: July 4, 2021

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


Other Sunday Reflections

“They had argued with one another who was the greatest (9:34).
Jesus said to the twelve, “Whoever wants to be the first must be last of all and servant of all” (9:35). Continue Reading >
Perfect Freedom is Found in Christ
In June of this year, I read an article by Sohrab Ahmari, an Iranian who converted to Catholicism in 2016, and about his anxiety as a new father. The anxiety… Continue Reading >
The Mystery of Suffering
The next time we are confounded by the human fear of suffering, will we choose to follow James’ advice to persevere for spiritual maturity? Or, will we adopt the pre-Pentecost… Continue Reading >

誇耀我們的軟弱

常年期第十四主日

厄則克耳先知書 2:2-5

當上主向我講話時,有一種神力,進入我內,使我站起來;我聽見上主同我講話。他向我說:「人子,我派遣你到以色列子民,到反抗我的叛逆之民那裡去;他們和他們的祖先,直到今天,還違背我。雖然那些子民厚顏無恥,心腸頑硬,我仍派遣你到他們那裡,向他們說:『我主上主這樣說』。「他們原是叛逆的家族;無論他們聽,或是不聽,終究都要承認:在他們中有一位先知。」

格林多後書 12:7-10

弟兄姊妹們:為了使我不會因那高超的啟示,而過於高舉自己,故此,有一根刺,加在我身上,就是撒旦的使者來拳擊我,免得我過於高舉自己。關於這事,我曾三次,求主使它脫離我;但主對我說:「有我的恩寵,為你夠了,因為我的德能,在軟弱中,才全顯出來。」所以,我甘心情願,誇耀我的軟弱,好叫基督的德能,常在我身上。為此,我為基督的原故,喜歡在軟弱中,在凌辱中,在艱難中,在迫害中,在困苦中,因為我幾時軟弱,正是我有能力的時候。

馬爾谷福音 6:1-6

那時候,耶穌來到自己的家鄉,門徒也跟隨著他。到了安息日,耶穌便開始在會堂教訓人。眾人聽了,就驚訝說:「他這一切,是從那裡來的呢?所賜給他的,是何等的智慧?怎麼藉他的手,行出這樣的奇能?這人不就是那個木匠嗎?他不是瑪利亞的兒子;雅各伯、若瑟、猶達、西滿的兄弟嗎?他的姊妹,不是也都在我們這裡嗎?」他們便對耶穌起了反感。耶穌對他們說:「先知除了在自己的本鄉、本族、和本家之外,是沒有不受尊敬的。」耶穌在那裡,不能行什麼奇能,只給少數的幾個病人覆手,治好了他們。耶穌因他們的無信心,而感到詫異。

(本篇譯稿為黃謙善神父主日講道,若內容有不一致的情況,一概以英文原稿為準。)
我們又開始聖安東尼教堂一年一度的夏季安息日(Sabbath Summer),這裡有六個建議,讓我們度過一個寧靜、恢復活力和重新創造的夏天:1)讀好的文學作品,因為好書是更新整個人、身體、心靈和靈魂的最簡單方式;2)去度假,因為你太累了;3)花時間和朋友在一起,享受他們的陪伴,而不是企圖完成任何事情;4)去做避靜,心靈更新最有效的活動。 (3)浪費時間和朋友在一起,不要試圖完成任何事情;5)去辦修和聖事–讓耶穌除去罪的重擔,好開始安息日;6)去諮詢心理輔導,因為我們有問題,需要一個好的基督徒輔導師。

現在,我們總有理由不做這些事情。我們似乎太忙了,不需要度假,也不需要參加避靜。
這些理由很可能是出於我們的驕傲:我們不需要幫助。我們推遲辦告解是因為我們認為我們沒那麼壞。我們不去做心理輔導,因為這很尷尬,我們認為我們可以自己處理。
我從未想過我需要心理輔導,直到2010年,在羅馬的長上讓我去,去年8月,米勒總主教(Bishop Miller)讓我在休假期間去做輔導。我很驚訝,因為說實話我很驕傲, 我不認為我的問題有那麼嚴重。我以為我只需要休息和去做避靜。我不想讓人們知道這件事,因為我的確非常驕傲。
當我們開始夏天安息日時,我們需要更多的謙卑來接受自己的弱點。在第二篇讀經中,聖保祿承認自己很驕傲。 「免得我因那高超的啟示而過於高舉自己,故此在我身上給了我一根刺,就是撒旦的使者來拳擊我,免得我過於高舉自己。」(格後12:7)。在這封信中,聖保祿剛剛講述了他是如何在十四年前從天主那裡得到一種特殊的恩典:天堂的異象。他得到瞭如此難得的恩典,天主使得他忍受「在身上給了一根刺」,以防止他變得驕傲。大多數學者認為刺是某種身體上的痛苦,頭痛,發燒,或眼睛的問題(Thomas Stegman, SJ, Second Corinthians in Catholic Commentary on Sacred Scripture, 270-271)。
聖多馬思(St.Thomas Aquinas)教導我們,驕傲是最嚴重的罪過(https://www.newadvent.org/summa/3162.htm#article6),因為我們不僅轉向了一種比如對快樂、名聲或其他人低層次的善;而且正在背離最偉大的善,即是天主本身。實際上,我們是在說,我們不需要祂,或者不會聽祂的。聖多馬思寫道:「驕傲的本質就是…就是對天主的蔑視」。你能想像這是什麼樣子嗎?當我們不謙卑不尋求幫助時,我們便無意中表現出對天主的蔑視。
驕傲永遠是一種錯覺。我們不去辦修和聖事,因為我們認為我們已經是了不起的人了,但事實上,根據聖德蘭(St. Teresa of Avila) 的「七寶樓台」的說法,我們中的大多數人要么在第一座或第二座樓台(seven mansions of the interior life)裡,要么甚至還不在樓台裡。
我們大多數人需要更多的休息,但我們文化中的自豪感告訴我們,我們需要完成更多工作、買更多東西,做更多事。當我們去度假的時候,我們不得不去盡所有的地方,去看所有的東西,卻忘記了我們需要休息,因為我們是受造物。驕傲使我們看不到人類對友誼的需求,所以我們在電子工具上花費瞭如此多的時間,因而成為受苦的人。
「關於這事,我曾三次使它脫離我,但主對我說:有我的恩寵為你夠了,因為我的德能在軟弱中才全顯出來。」(格後12:8- 9)。這很有趣:天主沒有帶走痛苦,卻給了聖保祿足夠的恩典來忍受它。現在,有時天主會帶走我們的疾病和問題,但有時祂不會,是為了讓我們對現實覺悟。
例如,許多人需要每個月來辦告解一次,只是為了保持對事情的掌控。因為他們知道慾望、貪婪和憤怒的誘惑將永遠伴隨著他們。我們可能認為,一旦辦了一次修和聖事,暫時停止犯這些罪,就不用再回去辦告解了。但事實並非如此。他們總是有這些弱點,天主說:「我在修和聖事給予的恩典對你來說就足夠了。」 因此,為了避免後退,他們將不得不在餘生每個月都去辦告解。
當聖保祿意識到天主的計劃是把這個軟弱留給他,他就改變了他的回應:「所以我甘心情願誇耀我的軟弱,好叫基督的德能常在我身上。為此我為基督的緣故,喜歡在軟弱中,在凌辱中,在艱難中,在迫害中,在困苦中,因為我幾時軟弱,正是我有能力的時候。」他不是隱瞞自己的弱點,而是誇耀自己的弱點,原因有兩個:1)他想讓收信人知道,是耶穌在通過他工作,所有的一切都是從祂身上來的;2)他越意識到自己的弱點,他就越會尋求幫助,也會得到更多的幫助(Stegman, 272)。
我是如此的驕傲,天主出於愛,讓我變得謙卑。通過主教的要求,天主對我說:「你的問題太嚴重了,你需要專業的幫助。多年來,你一直在過度和疲憊中爭扎。這是治癒的方法。我不僅會治愈你的疲憊,也會治愈你的驕傲。」
所以,在我的休假期間,除了30天的靜修外,我還做了11次在線的輔導。從南達科他州回來後,我開始每週做三次,在一次治療後收穫豐碩。從那以後,我每隔三週就去做輔導一次,這真是太好了,我不打算停下來。我需要有人幫我過上充實的生活。
我現在明白聖保祿誇耀自己的弱點是什麼意思了。正如聖保祿誇耀他的軟弱一樣,讓我「誇耀」我的軟弱。我需要一位輔導員,這樣才能在我的情感和人性上成長。我需要一位神修導師,特別在道德上幫助我。我打電話給特魯迪(Trudy)和她談我的祈禱生活。我有一位教區更新指導,還有一位堂區領導小組健康的教練。我生活中需要五位教練,因為我很軟弱,但正是因為天主的恩典,通過他們,我才變得堅強。
再看看我的六點建議:
1)閱讀好的文學作品。從維克多·弗蘭克爾(Viktor Frankl)的這本書開始:人類對意義的探索。如果你想知道你的人生該做些什麼,那就讀一讀生命的意義吧。這本很短的書講述了一位心理學家在奧斯威辛集中營的旅程,以及當他生命中的一切都被奪走時,他找到了意義。
當然,每天要讀的最重要的書是天主的書–《聖經》。之後,閱讀聖人的書籍,以及其他偉大的經典作品。在我的博客上,我會列出兩本好書。 (https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLIBtb_NuIJ1xGfFsghMoiAL3LhZmrMB2o)( https://brandonvogt.com/best-catholic-books-of-all-time/)
2)去度假。天主命令我們休息。你有沒有意識到,奴隸才不休息?他們必須工作。只有奴隸才不停工作。
我們的確被召喚為彼此獻出生命,但不是通過間斷的工作。我們通過遵行天主的旨意來獻出自己的生命,然後通過願意他人好的善行來獻出自己的生命。天主要求我們像愛自己一樣去愛我們的鄰人,這包括教別人如何休息。
3)花時間和朋友在一起。沒有朋友,我們可以生存,但無法茁壯成長。天主希望我們茁壯成長。採取主動,敢於冒險,謙卑自己,問問那些你想與之共度時光的人是否有空。有些人會拒絕你,但有些人會接受,你會因此而變得更好。生活中一些最美好的時光就是我們不看時鐘,找出某些晚上或白天的空檔,不必匆忙去做其他事情了。這些時刻之所以特別,是因為它們嚐到了永恆的滋味。
(4)避靜。我們中的大多數人都遭受著精神滑坡的痛苦,有些人懶惰。避靜是重振旗鼓的時刻。一年做一次。我們將在兩週內詳細討論這個問題。
5)去修和聖事。聖人是一年一次還是一周一次去辦告解的?他們去得更頻繁。難道是因為他們的罪過更大嗎?這是因為他們想剷除哪怕是卑微的罪。愛耶穌的人會更頻繁的去辦修和聖事。
6)去做心理輔導。許多天主教徒在告解時談論一些應該在輔導中提到的事情。如果我們已經有很多年沒有辦告解了,這是可以理解的。但是,如果我們每個月去一次或更多,告解的重點是專注於道德和靈性上的成長、洞察力和行動。輔導是我們談論過去的問題、情緒和個人掙扎的地方。由於男人尤其為驕傲而苦苦掙扎,因此最驕傲的男人也會像我一樣逃避輔導。我希望天主會敦促你,就像他敦促我一樣,你也會謙卑下來。
以下是我們教區審查過的天主教和基督教輔導員的屏幕截圖(https://rcav.org/personal-counselling/)。
天主想讓我們堅強,但這只能通過承認真理和依靠祂來實現。唯一的出路就是謙虛。 「幾時軟弱,正是我有能力的時候。」
資料來源: Boasting of Our Weaknesses

Posted: July 4, 2021

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


其他主日反省

乙年(馬爾谷) 常年期第十四主日:做個逆境中的基督徒 吳智勳神父

本週福音所載是耶穌公開傳道之初,連續顯了幾個奇蹟,名聲大噪。今日返回納匝肋,本應是衣錦榮歸,但卻不受歡迎。作者安排在這故事後,耶穌立刻派遣十二門徒出外傳教。作者刻意帶出一個訊息:耶穌讓門徒感受不愉快的經驗,好使他們有心理準備,會像師傅一樣不受歡迎;他們的敵人,可能是自己的親人。

繼續閱讀 >
「熟悉滋生蔑視」是真的嗎? May Tam

我們可以把耶穌留在祂的本鄕嗎?

繼續閱讀 >
主日教理 天主教香港教區
教理中心及教理委員會
教理主題:預言
繼續閱讀 >