Is “Familiarity breeds Contempt” true?

Fourteenth Sunday in Ordinary Time

EZEKIEL 2:2-5

As the LORD spoke to me, the spirit entered into me and set me on my feet, and I heard the one who was speaking say to me: Son of man, I am sending you to the Israelites, rebels who have rebelled against me; they and their ancestors have revolted against me to this very day. Hard of face and obstinate of heart are they to whom I am sending you. But you shall say to them: Thus says the Lord GOD! And whether they heed or resist—for they are a rebellious house— they shall know that a prophet has been among them.

2 CORINTHIANS 12:7-10

Brothers and sisters: That I, Paul, might not become too elated, because of the abundance of the revelations, a thorn in the flesh was given to me, an angel of Satan, to beat me, to keep me from being too elated. Three times I begged the Lord about this, that it might leave me, but he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for power is made perfect in weakness.” I will rather boast most gladly of my weaknesses, in order that the power of Christ may dwell with me. Therefore, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and constraints, for the sake of Christ; for when I am weak, then I am strong.

MARK 6:1-6

Jesus departed from there and came to his native place, accompanied by his disciples. When the sabbath came he began to teach in the synagogue, and many who heard him were astonished. They said, “Where did this man get all this? What kind of wisdom has been given him? What mighty deeds are wrought by his hands! Is he not the carpenter, the son of Mary, and the brother of James and Joses and Judas and Simon? And are not his sisters here with us?” And they took offense at him. Jesus said to them, “A prophet is not without honor except in his native place and among his own kin and in his own house.” So he was not able to perform any mighty deed there, apart from curing a few sick people by laying his hands on them. He was amazed at their lack of faith.

All of the readings on this Sunday speak of the difficulties encountered in the work of salvation. The prophet Ezekiel was sent to the rebellious house of Israel; St Paul was responding to a crisis that threatened his ministry as an apostle and Jesus, even with His fame spreading throughout Galilee, received rejection from His hometown and His own kin (rf Ez 2:5; 2 Cor 12:11-13; Mk 1:28). It seems that the question of unbelief is not monopolized by the contemporary secular culture. Today’s Gospel illustrates, even in the very presence of God Himself, Jesus “was amazed at their unbelief” (Mk 6:6).

We have seen earlier people would come to Jesus as far as Judea, Idumea and other pagan districts. Surprisingly, the response to His homecoming is uneventfully disappointing (rf Mk 3:8). Luke also recounts Jesus’ another visit to Nazareth with a similar response (rf Lk 4:16-24). No doubt, while many were impressed by Jesus’ teachings, why then would His townspeople “take offense” against Him? (rf Mk 6:3; Lk 4:22; Mt 13:54)

First of all, Jesus is not paying a personal visit to His family in Nazareth. He comes as a rabbi, accompanied by His disciples, “And when the Sabbath had come, He began to teach in the synagogue” (Mk 6:2). This is where human psychology comes in — “familiarity breeds contempt”. As a small town, people of Nazareth knew Jesus and His family well. They knew Him as a carpenter, the son of a carpenter, the son of Mary as well as His brothers and sisters (even His own family seems not supportive) (rf Mk 3:21; 6:2-3; Mt 13:55). Familiarity makes them disrespect Jesus, a commoner who has lived among them not too long ago. Disrespect leads to contempt and contempt results in rejection even in the face of evidence (rf Mk 6:2-3).

Are we also the people from Jesus’ native town, presuming things we think we know well? Does familiarity make us stereotype those around us, especially those who are close to us? Does familiarity hinder us to see clearly because we do not want to accept the truth? Perhaps the most detrimental of letting familiarity breeds in us is to disregard those who teach the Word of God (I know him/her, not impressive), or the Word itself (I have heard it many times already, not significant).

From the Gospel, we know that Jesus never returns to Nazareth again. Because of familiarity, the townspeople deprive themselves of blessings they would otherwise receive. Because of contempt, they block the channel of grace and mercy that Jesus is bringing to them, “He could do no mighty work there” (rf Mk 6:5). Because of unbelief, they miss the opportunity of hearing the Word of God and hence their salvation (Jesus diverts His ministry to elsewhere rf Mk 6:6).

My dear friends, may we not let this similar tragedy befall us. Let any familiarity in us with others generate more appreciation and respect instead of contempt. Let our familiarity with God’s message and His messengers produce more reverence and gratitude instead of indifference. And let familiarity with Jesus’ words breeds more faith and love in us so that we can retain Him in His hometown — our hearts!

Posted: July 4, 2021

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


Other Sunday Reflections

“They had argued with one another who was the greatest (9:34).
Jesus said to the twelve, “Whoever wants to be the first must be last of all and servant of all” (9:35). Continue Reading >
Perfect Freedom is Found in Christ
In June of this year, I read an article by Sohrab Ahmari, an Iranian who converted to Catholicism in 2016, and about his anxiety as a new father. The anxiety… Continue Reading >
The Mystery of Suffering
The next time we are confounded by the human fear of suffering, will we choose to follow James’ advice to persevere for spiritual maturity? Or, will we adopt the pre-Pentecost… Continue Reading >

「熟悉滋生蔑視」是真的嗎?

常年期第十四主日

厄則克耳先知書 2:2-5

當上主向我講話時,有一種神力,進入我內,使我站起來;我聽見上主同我講話。他向我說:「人子,我派遣你到以色列子民,到反抗我的叛逆之民那裡去;他們和他們的祖先,直到今天,還違背我。雖然那些子民厚顏無恥,心腸頑硬,我仍派遣你到他們那裡,向他們說:『我主上主這樣說』。「他們原是叛逆的家族;無論他們聽,或是不聽,終究都要承認:在他們中有一位先知。」

格林多後書 12:7-10

弟兄姊妹們:為了使我不會因那高超的啟示,而過於高舉自己,故此,有一根刺,加在我身上,就是撒旦的使者來拳擊我,免得我過於高舉自己。關於這事,我曾三次,求主使它脫離我;但主對我說:「有我的恩寵,為你夠了,因為我的德能,在軟弱中,才全顯出來。」所以,我甘心情願,誇耀我的軟弱,好叫基督的德能,常在我身上。為此,我為基督的原故,喜歡在軟弱中,在凌辱中,在艱難中,在迫害中,在困苦中,因為我幾時軟弱,正是我有能力的時候。

馬爾谷福音 6:1-6

那時候,耶穌來到自己的家鄉,門徒也跟隨著他。到了安息日,耶穌便開始在會堂教訓人。眾人聽了,就驚訝說:「他這一切,是從那裡來的呢?所賜給他的,是何等的智慧?怎麼藉他的手,行出這樣的奇能?這人不就是那個木匠嗎?他不是瑪利亞的兒子;雅各伯、若瑟、猶達、西滿的兄弟嗎?他的姊妹,不是也都在我們這裡嗎?」他們便對耶穌起了反感。耶穌對他們說:「先知除了在自己的本鄉、本族、和本家之外,是沒有不受尊敬的。」耶穌在那裡,不能行什麼奇能,只給少數的幾個病人覆手,治好了他們。耶穌因他們的無信心,而感到詫異。

這個主日的所有讀經都圍繞着救贖工程所遇到的困難。先知厄則克耳被派往叛逆的家族以色列; 聖保祿則要應對一個威脅到他的使徒事工的危機,而耶穌,在加里肋亞聲名遠播,卻遭到了自己家鄉和親屬的抗拒(參 厄 2:5; 格後 12:11-13;谷 1:28)。似乎無信心這個問題,不單是現今世俗文化所獨有。從今天的福音中看到,即使是天主親自臨在,耶穌也為「他們的無信心,而感到詑異」(谷 6:6)。

之前,我們看到各地的人蜂擁到來耶穌面前,包括遠至猶太、依杜默雅和其他異教徒地區。但令人驚訝的是,衪回到家鄕時,得到的反應卻平淡得令人失望(參 谷 3:8)。路加亦敘述了耶穌另一次到納匝肋時,得到了同樣的反應(參 路 4:16-24)。毫無疑問,雖然許多人對耶穌的教導感受深刻,但為什麼衪本鄉的人會對祂「反感」呢?(參 谷 6:3;路 4:22;瑪 13:54)

首先,耶穌並不是以個人身份探訪衪在納匝肋的家人。衪由門徒陪同,以「辣彼」,師傅的身份來到,「到了安息日,祂便開始在會堂裏教訓人」(谷 6:2)。 這就是人類心理學中的「熟悉滋生蔑視」。生活在一個小鎮,納匝肋人很熟悉耶穌和衪的家人。他們知道衪是個木匠,是一個木匠和瑪利亞的兒子,亦認識衪的兄弟姐妹(甚至衪本家的人似乎也不大支持祂)(參 谷 3:21; 6:2-3; 瑪 13:55 )。由於熟悉,所以他們不尊重耶穌,畢竟不久之前,衪還只是一個生活在他們中間的普通人。不尊重會導致蔑視,而蔑視的結果是抗拒, 即使證據已擺在面前(參 谷6:2-3)。

我們是耶穌本鄉的人嗎?對自以為非常熟悉的事情下臆斷嗎?熟悉會否使我們為周圍的人定下了固定的印象,尤其是與自己親近的人?熟悉是否會阻礙我們,使我們看不清楚,因為我們不要接受真相?或許最大的傷害是讓熟悉滋生而導致我們漠視那些教導天主聖言的人(我認識他/她,沒有甚麼大不了)或聖言本身(我已聽了很多次,並不重要)。

從福音中,我們知道耶穌再沒有回納匝肋。由於自以為熟悉祂,鎮上的人失去了他們本來可以得到的祝福。他們的蔑視,阻塞了耶穌帶給他們恩典和憐憫的通道,「耶穌在那裏不能行什麼奇能」(參 谷 6:5)。由於不相信,他們錯過了聆聽天主聖言的機會,從而錯過了救恩(耶穌將衪的事工轉移到其他地方,參 谷 6:6)。

Posted: July 4, 2021

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


其他主日反省

誇耀我們的軟弱 Fr. Justin Huang

我們又開始聖安東尼教堂一年一度的夏季安息日(Sabbath Summer),這裡有六個建議,讓我們度過一個寧靜、恢復活力和重新創造的夏天:1)讀好的文學作品,因為好書是更新整個人、身體、心靈和靈魂的最簡單方式;2)去度假,因為你太累了;3)花時間和朋友在一起,享受他們的陪伴,而不是企圖完成任何事情;4)去做避靜,

繼續閱讀 >
乙年(馬爾谷) 常年期第十四主日:做個逆境中的基督徒 吳智勳神父

本週福音所載是耶穌公開傳道之初,連續顯了幾個奇蹟,名聲大噪。今日返回納匝肋,本應是衣錦榮歸,但卻不受歡迎。作者安排在這故事後,耶穌立刻派遣十二門徒出外傳教。作者刻意帶出一個訊息:耶穌讓門徒感受不愉快的經驗,好使他們有心理準備,會像師傅一樣不受歡迎;他們的敵人,可能是自己的親人。

繼續閱讀 >
主日教理 天主教香港教區
教理中心及教理委員會
教理主題:預言
繼續閱讀 >