Celebrating the Greatest Decision

The Solemnity Our Lord Jesus Christ, King of the Universe

Daniel 7:13 - 14

As the visions during the night continued, I saw one like a Son of man coming, on the clouds of heaven; when he reached the Ancient One and was presented before him, the one like a Son of man received dominion, glory, and kingship; all peoples, nations, and languages serve him. His dominion is an everlasting dominion that shall not be taken away, his kingship shall not be destroyed.

Revelation 1:5 - 8

Jesus Christ is the faithful witness, the firstborn of the dead and ruler of the kings of the earth. To him who loves us and has freed us from our sins by his blood, who has made us into a kingdom, priests for his God and Father, to him be glory and power forever and ever. Amen. Behold, he is coming amid the clouds, and every eye will see him, even those who pierced him. All the peoples of the earth will lament him. Yes. Amen. "I am the Alpha and the Omega, " says the Lord God, "the one who is and who was and who is to come, the almighty."

John 18:33B - 37

Pilate said to Jesus, "Are you the King of the Jews?" Jesus answered, "Do you say this on your own or have others told you about me?" Pilate answered, "I am not a Jew, am I? Your own nation and the chief priests handed you over to me. What have you done?" Jesus answered, "My kingdom does not belong to this world. If my kingdom did belong to this world, my attendants would be fighting to keep me from being handed over to the Jews. But as it is, my kingdom is not here." So Pilate said to him, "Then you are a king?" Jesus answered, "You say I am a king. For this I was born and for this I came into the world, to testify to the truth. Everyone who belongs to the truth listens to my voice."

Today’s homily is about three great reversals, where Jesus flips our expectations.  Let’s start with a video of today’s Gospel, and see if you can spot these reversals.  

1) Who was actually on trial in that scene?  Jesus is being interrogated, but many scholars have argued that Pontius Pilate is the one on trial.  In St. John’s Gospel, there’s a phrase where it’s not clear who sits on the judge’s bench: Jesus or Pilate (Jn 19:13; Raymond Brown, The Gospel According to John XIII-XXI in The Anchor Bible, 880).  And theologically, we know that Jesus is the judge of the world, not Pilate.  Jesus judges all people according to love.  He loves us.  But do we love Him?

A year ago, we talked about seeing life as a test.  God “constantly watches your response to people, problems, success, conflict, illness, disappointment, and even the weather!  He even watches the simplest actions such as when you open a door for others, when you pick up a piece of trash, or when you’re polite toward a clerk or waitress” (Rick Warren, The Purpose Driven Life, 42-43).

So, we can’t escape this test in life.  Later on, when I ask, “Please raise your hand if you’ve made Jesus the centre of your life,” some of us might be uncomfortable with this.  But answering this question is just part of the trial of life.  Whether we realize it or not, Jesus is always asking us this question.

“Pilate asked Jesus, ‘Are you the King of the Jews?’  Jesus answered, ‘Do you ask this on your own, or did others tell you about me?’” (Jn 18:33-34).  Jesus is “asking Pilate to decide between a faith that is based on hearsay… and a faith that is based on personal encounter” (Daniel Mueggenborg, Come Follow Me, Year B, 331).

All of us first heard about Jesus through other people.  But there comes a time when we have to meet Jesus personally, when we see how much He suffered for our sake.  And that’s when we need to decide whether we love Him with all our heart.

2) There’s a reversal from cowardice to courage.  If we love Jesus, it’s still human nature to be afraid to witness to Him.  Remember how I told you that I was afraid of doing this Christ the King Challenge?  What if no one puts up their hand?

But Jesus gives us the model of courage.  In the video, did you see His confidence, peace, and strength?  He explains the source of His strength when He says, “My kingdom is not from this world.  If my kingdom were from this world, my followers would be fighting to keep me from being handed over to the Jews.  But as it is, my kingdom is not from here” (18:36).

This is our source of strength as well: We follow a king that wears not a crown of gold, but a crown of thorns; His throne is a cross; His weapon is love.  That’s why He defeats Pilate.

When I look at reality from this point of view, then my fear diminishes.  I’m no longer afraid of what will happen today, because the kingdom to which I belong is not of this world.

3) There is a reversal in what we celebrate.  Jesus’ sacrifice for us is His glorification (Jn 12:23-24; 13:31)!  We celebrate Jesus on trial for us, because He shows us the greatest love.  And so, our celebration today is a reversal.  In the past, we Catholics celebrated mainly the externals, but they’re now often empty celebrations.  Not all, but most.  For example, we celebrate Baptisms, some people come for Faith Studies, go through the motions, but there’s not a commitment to Sunday Mass.  Weddings are focused on the couple and Jesus is just an add-on; so, it feels like a show.  Then, for Confirmations, children and families dress up, make a profession of faith, take pictures, and never come back.

Did you ever hear the joke about the priest who had a rat infestation?  They found all these rats in the basement of the church, and so they called the exterminators, but nothing worked.  So the priest decided to give the rats Confirmation and the rats never came back.

We will always continue to celebrate the sacraments because they communicate life, and I’m happy to say that there’s more sincerity about receiving the sacraments in our parish family, and we are even going to increase the level of expectations for them, but, we also need to start celebrating other great realities!  Let’s celebrate that people have come back to Confession, that people come to the chapel!  I celebrate when our children speak about Jesus, when they’re proud of being Catholic, when a Gr. 5 student understands that we must love God more than family, when people invite  friends to come to Alpha, etc.

Today, let’s celebrate that some people have made the most important decision!  Jesus loves us so much that He suffered and died for us, and put us at the centre of His life.  To make Jesus the centre of our lives doesn’t mean we’re perfect or even love Him perfectly.  All it means is that we’ve made a choice to have Him be the centre rather than anything else.  We want to consider Him first in all our decisions; we are intentionally trying to live like Him and follow His commands.  So, please raise your hand if you’ve made Jesus the centre of your life…  Praise God!

Keep your hands up, please.  Someone suggested that I also ask: Is there anyone who’s close to making Jesus the centre, and desires it?  If so, we want to affirm you, too!

Years ago, I told you about Bl. Miguel Agustin Pro, a Mexican priest who was falsely accused by the government of taking part in an assassination attempt.  What he actually did was secretly hold Masses and Confessions, and ministered to the sick in his various disguises!

On November 23, 1927, the government photographed his execution to discourage resistance.  Before he was killed by firing squad, he put his arms out in the form of a cross and shouted, “Viva Cristo Rey,” “Long live Christ the King!”

Bl. Miguel Agustin Pro: “Viva Cristo Rey!”

Apparently, when one of his sisters was crying, their father said to her, “Is this how you behave in the presence of a saint?  There is nothing to weep over” (Ann Ball, Modern Saints, Vol. 1, 303,311).  He blessed God for giving him a son who was a martyr, someone who loves God to the point of death—that’s the greatest thing to celebrate, and that’s a great reversal.  Bl. Miguel was on trial his whole life, and he declared that Jesus was the centre.

Posted: November 21, 2021

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


Other Sunday Reflections

A New Fixed Star Is coming – An Apocalypse message from Jesus
Happy New Year! Today, the first Sunday of Advent, is the beginning of a new liturgical year. What an extraordinary commencement we have with the readings for today. We are… Continue Reading >
Celebrating the Greatest Decision
Today’s homily is about three great reversals, where Jesus flips our expectations. Let’s start with a video of today’s Gospel, and see if you can spot these reversals. Continue Reading >
Jesus — “The King of Kings and Lord of Lords” (Revelation 19:16)
This year, the celebration of the solemnity of our Lord Jesus Christ, King of the Universe is highlighted by a reading from Daniel 7, a chapter that contains arguably some… Continue Reading >

最值得慶祝的事情

我們的主、耶穌基督、普世君王

達尼爾先知書 7:13-14

我在夜間的神視中觀望:看見一位相似人子者,乘著天上的雲彩而來,走向萬古常存者,便立即被引到萬古常存者面前。萬古常存者便賜給那相似人子者,統治權、尊榮和國度。各民族、各邦國及各種語言的人民,都要事奉那相似人子者;他的王權是永遠的王權,永存不替;他的國度永不滅亡。

默示錄 1:5-8

耶穌基督,是忠實的見證、死者中的首生者,和地上萬王的元首。他愛了我們,並以自己的血,解救我們脫離我們的罪過,使我們成為國度,成為司祭,以事奉他的天主和父;願光榮與權能歸於他,直到萬世萬代。阿們。看,他乘著雲彩降來;眾目都要瞻望他,連那些刺透了他的人,也要瞻望他;地上的各種族,都要哀悼他。的確這樣。阿們。我是「阿耳法」和「敖默加」,那今在、昔在,及將來永在的,全能者上主天主,這樣說。

若望福音 18:33-37

那時候,比拉多對耶穌說:「你是猶太人的君王嗎?」耶穌回答說:「這話是你自己說的,或是別人論及我,而對你說的?」比拉多答說:「莫非我是猶太人?你的民族和司祭長,把你交給我,你做了什麼?」耶穌回答說:「我的國不屬於這世界;如果我的國屬於這世界,我的臣民早已反抗了,使我不至於被交給猶太人;但是,我的國不是這世界的。」於是,比拉多對耶穌說:「那麼,你就是君王了?」耶穌回答說:「你說的是,我是君王。我為此而生,我也為此而來到世界上,為給真理作證;凡屬於真理的,必聽從我的聲音。」

(本篇譯稿為黃謙善神父主日講道,若內容有不一致的情況,一概以英文原稿為準。)
今天的講道是關於三個大的逆轉,我們的期望被耶穌反轉了的地方。讓我們從今天福音的視頻開始,看看你是否能發現這些逆轉。

1)在那一幕中,究竟是誰在受審?耶穌正在接受審訊,但許多學者認為比拉多才是被審的人。在聖若望福音這一句中沒說清楚誰坐在法官席上:耶穌還是比拉多?(Jn 19:13; Raymond Brown, The Gospel According to John XIII-XXI in The Anchor Bible, 880)。從神學上講,我們知道耶穌是世界的審判者,而不是比拉多。耶穌依據愛來審判所有的人。祂愛我們。但我們愛祂嗎?
一年前,我們談到將生活視為一場考驗。天主「不斷地觀察你對人、問題、成功、衝突、疾病、失望,甚至天氣的反應!祂甚至觀察最簡單的行為,比如當你為別人開門時,當你撿起垃圾時,或者當你禮貌地對待店員或女服務員時」。 (Rick Warren, The Purpose Driven Life, 42-43)
所以我們無法逃脫生活中的這些考驗。稍後,當我問:「如果你把耶穌作為你生活的中心,請舉手。」我們中的一些人可能會對此感到不舒服。但回答這個問題只是人生考驗的一部分。不管我們是否意識到,耶穌總是問我們這個問題。
比拉多問耶穌說: 「『你是猶太人的王嗎?」』 耶穌回答說:『這是你自己問的嗎?還是別人告訴你我的事呢? 』」(若18:33-34)。耶穌要求比拉多在「基於傳聞的信仰和一種基於個人遭遇的信仰之間做出選擇」(Daniel Mueggenborg, Come Follow Me, Year B, 331)。
我們所有人第一次聽說耶穌都是從別人那裡。但總有一天,我們必須親自去見耶穌,總有一天,我們會看到祂為我們遭受多少的苦難。那就是我們需要決定是否全心全意愛祂的時候。
2)這裡有一個從懦弱到勇敢的反轉。即使我們愛耶穌,我們仍然害怕為祂作證, 這是人類的本性。還記得我告訴過你們的我害怕做這個「基督君王挑戰」 嗎? (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2021/08/22/whom-will-you-serve/) 如果沒人舉手怎麼辦?
但耶穌給了我們勇氣的榜樣。在視頻中,你看到祂的自信、平靜和力量了嗎?祂解釋了祂的力量的來源,祂說:「我的國不屬於這個世界;假使我的國屬於這個世界,我的臣民早已反抗了,使我不至於被交給猶太人。但是,我的國不是這世界的。」(18:36)
這也是我們力量的源泉:我們追隨的國王不是戴著黃金皇冠,而是戴著荊棘皇冠;祂的王座是十字架;祂的武器是愛。這就是他擊敗比拉多的原因。
當我從這個角度看待現實時,我的恐懼減少了。我不再害怕今天會發生什麼,因為我所屬的王國不屬於這個世界。
3) 還有一個反轉是我們所慶祝的事情。耶穌為我們犧牲就是祂的光榮(若12:23-24;13:31)!我們因為耶穌為我們受審而歡呼,因為祂向我們展示了最偉大的愛。因此,我們今天的慶祝活動是一個逆轉。過去,我們天主教徒主要都只會慶祝外在的,往往是空洞的活動;當然不是全部,但大部分都是。例如,我們慶祝洗禮,他們來參加「信仰研究( Faith Studies)),走個過場,但不踐行參加主日彌撒的承諾。婚禮的焦點是這對夫婦,而耶穌只是一個配角;所以,感覺就像一場秀。還有,為了領堅振聖事,孩子們和家人會打扮起來,宣稱信仰、拍照,然後再也沒有來聖堂。
你有沒有聽過一個笑話,講的是一位神父家裡遭遇了鼠患?他們在教堂的地下室裡發現了這些老鼠,叫來了滅鼠專家,但都沒有奏效。所以神父決定讓老鼠領堅振,老鼠再也沒有回來了。
我們將繼續慶祝聖事,因為它們傳達了生命,我很高興地說,我們堂區家庭對接受聖事有了更多的誠意,我們會提高對他們的期望,但我們也需要開始慶祝其他偉大的現實!讓我們慶祝人們回來辦告解,人們來朝拜聖體!當我們的孩子談論耶穌時,他們為身為天主教徒而自豪。當一位五年級學生明白,我們必須愛天主勝過愛家人時 當人們邀請朋友來參加「啟發課程ALPHA」時……等等。
今天,讓我們慶祝一些人做出了最重要的決定!耶穌是如此的愛我們,以至於為我們受苦和死亡,並把我們放在祂生命的中心。讓耶穌成為我們生命的中心並不意味著我們是完美的,或者完美地愛祂。這意味著我們已經做出了選擇,讓祂成為生命的中心,而不是任何其他的東西。在我們所有的決定中,我們都想首先考慮祂;我們執意地試著像祂一樣生活,聽從祂的命令。所以,如果你把耶穌作為你生命的中心,請舉手…。讚美天主!
請別把手放下來。有人建議我也問:有沒有人接近並渴望以耶穌為中心?如果是這樣的話,我們也想肯定你們!
幾年前,我告訴過你們墨西哥籍真福米格爾·奧古斯丁·普羅神父(Bl. Miguel Agustin Pro)的事。他被政府錯誤地指控參與了一次企圖暗殺事件。他實際上所做的是喬裝、秘密地舉行彌撒和聽告解,並為病人服務(http://thejustmeasure.ca/2017/09/24/death-is-our-gateway-to-christ/)。 1927年11月23日,政府拍攝了處決他的照片,以阻止抵抗。在被行刑隊擊斃之前,他伸出雙臂,擺出十字架的姿勢,高喊:「基督君王萬歲!」
當他的一個姐妹哭泣時,他們的父親對她說,「你在聖人面前就是這樣的表現嗎?沒什麼好哭的。」(Ann Ball, Modern Saints, Vol. 1, 303,311)。他讚美天主給了他一個殉道者的兒子,一個愛天主至死不渝的人—這是最值得慶祝的事情,這是一個巨大的逆轉。
真福米格爾Bl. Miguel Agustin Pro一生都在受考驗,他宣稱了以耶穌為他生命的中心。

資料來源:Celebrating the Greatest Decision

Posted: November 21, 2021

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


其他主日反省

乙年(馬爾谷) 常年期三十四主日:耶穌君王節:真理的要求 吳智勳神父

耶穌對這位管治耶路撒冷的羅馬總督比拉多說:「我的國不屬於這個世界。」當比拉多問耶穌是否君王時,耶穌確切地回答是,並說祂為此而生,也為此而來到世界上,為給真理作證,凡屬於真理的人必聽從祂的聲音。耶穌這樣的答覆,比拉多一時不知所措,便問道:「甚麼是真理?」今天讓我們從「真理」作反省。

繼續閱讀 >
耶穌 — 「萬王之王,萬主之主」(默 19:16) Edmond Lo

在耶穌內,我們有一位獨一無二的君王。祂真是猶太人的君王 — 是我們這些屬於新以色列王國的人的君王。

繼續閱讀 >