Christ is our peace (ref Ephesians 2:14)

Sixteenth Sunday in Ordinary Time

JEREMIAH 23:1-6

Woe to the shepherds who mislead and scatter the flock of my pasture, says the LORD. Therefore, thus says the LORD, the God of Israel, against the shepherds who shepherd my people: You have scattered my sheep and driven them away. You have not cared for them, but I will take care to punish your evil deeds. I myself will gather the remnant of my flock from all the lands to which I have driven them and bring them back to their meadow; there they shall increase and multiply. I will appoint shepherds for them who will shepherd them so that they need no longer fear and tremble; and none shall be missing, says the LORD. Behold, the days are coming, says the LORD, when I will raise up a righteous shoot to David; as king he shall reign and govern wisely, he shall do what is just and right in the land. In his days Judah shall be saved, Israel shall dwell in security. This is the name they give him: “The LORD our justice.”

EPHESIANS 2:13-18

Brothers and sisters: In Christ Jesus you who once were far off have become near by the blood of Christ. For he is our peace, he who made both one and broke down the dividing wall of enmity, through his flesh, abolishing the law with its commandments and legal claims, that he might create in himself one new person in place of the two, thus establishing peace, and might reconcile both with God, in one body, through the cross, putting that enmity to death by it. He came and preached peace to you who were far off and peace to those who were near, for through him we both have access in one Spirit to the Father.

MARK 6:30-34

The apostles gathered together with Jesus and reported all they had done and taught. He said to them, “Come away by yourselves to a deserted place and rest a while.” People were coming and going in great numbers, and they had no opportunity even to eat. So they went off in the boat by themselves to a deserted place. People saw them leaving and many came to know about it. They hastened there on foot from all the towns and arrived at the place before them. When he disembarked and saw the vast crowd, his heart was moved with pity for them, for they were like sheep without a shepherd; and he began to teach them many things.

As we ease into a beautiful Canadian summer and enjoy nature among the woods, lush green bushes and pastel blue lakes in the longer days, sometimes I cannot help to praise God with this Sunday’s Responsorial Psalm, “The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want” in a very earthly way (Ps 23:1).

Maybe not all shepherds are good. In the First Reading, the Lord expresses discontent over the shepherds who “shepherd [His] people”. They “have scattered [His] flock”, “driven them away”, and “have not attended to them” (Jeremiah 23:2). The Lord said that the days are coming for Him to raise up “a righteous branch”, a messianic King from the line of David, who will rule over Judah and Israel and “execute justice and righteousness in the land” (Jeremiah 23:5). Through the Messiah, God Himself promises a shepherd for His sheep – spiritual leadership for His people.

Then the tranquil scene of happy sheep attended by a good shepherd is vividly depicted in the Responsorial Psalm (Ps 23). The shepherd “makes [the sheep] lie down in green pastures; he leads [them] beside still waters; he restores [their] soul. He leads them in right paths … even though they walk through the darkest valley, they fear no evil for the shepherd is with them; his rod and his staff … comfort them” and “Surely goodness and mercy shall follow [them] all the days of [their lives] ” (Ps 23 2-4, 6).

In the Gospel reading, we see Jesus, our good shepherd in action. The Apostles have just returned from the mission that Jesus sent them out two by two and are reporting to Him what they have done. It is a busy day and they have “no leisure even to eat” (Mk 6:31). So Jesus takes them to a deserted place all by themselves to “rest a while”, like the Lord in Psalm 23 who shepherds His faithful to green pastures and still waters to ”restore their soul” (Mk 6:32, Ps 23:3). When Jesus and His disciples reach where they are going, a great crowd awaits them. Jesus must be tired and needs a rest, too, yet he begins to teach them because he has compassion for them, they are like “sheep without a shepherd” (Mk 6:34).

Christ the good shepherd offers His sheep peace. St. Paul proclaims in the second reading that “[Christ] is our peace”, a spiritual peace that is rooted in our reconciliation with God our Father. By the blood of His Cross, Christ reconciled men with God and made his Church the sacrament of the unity of the human race and of its union with God. When we are in the peace of Christ, the inward peace can overflow to establish peace with our neighbours – between friends, families, and even countries, and in workplaces and communities. We are called to spread the peace of Christ by living at peace and sharing the Gospel with others so that they, too, can be reconciled with God and live in the peace of Christ. Such earthly peace, being the image and fruit of the peace of Christ, will no longer be shallow and short lived. It is one of the great blessings that Christ has bestowed the world. (Ref. Ignatius Catholic Study Bible New Testament P15, P347, P369; CCC 2305).

Christ the good shepherd is faithfully guiding us to this day. Do I wish to respond to the Shepherd’s call by practising His teaching of living in peace and sharing the gospel with others so that “goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life” (Ps 23:6)? Living in peace is possible. The choice is up to us.

Posted: July 18, 2021

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


Other Sunday Reflections

You’re Free to Choose
Today’s homily is about freedom, because some people have been wondering if anyone will feel pressure in our upcoming Christ the King Challenge. ‘What will my wife think if I… Continue Reading >
The Joy of Knowing How to Read the Bible
This Sunday’s readings give us a good glimpse into Typology - an amazing biblical interpretation technique that enables us to see the unity of the Old and New Testaments. Continue Reading >
This is Justice, This is Mercy
Mr. Perry, our school principal, once shared a story about when he was young, he and his family took the ferry to Salt Spring Island. He had a friend who… Continue Reading >

基督是我們的和平 (參 弗 2:14)

常年期第十六主日

耶肋米亞先知書 23:1-6

上主說:禍哉,那摧殘我牧場上的羊群,並把羊群趕散的牧人——上主的斷語。為此,上主,以色列的天主,對牧放我民的牧人這樣說:「你們驅散趕走了我的羊群,不加照顧;現在,看,我必依照你們的惡行,來懲罰你們——上主的斷語。「我要集合我尚存的羊,從牠們被驅散的各地,引導牠們,再回到自己的羊棧,叫牠們滋生繁殖。我要興起牧者,來牧放牠們,使牠們無恐無懼,再也不會失掉一個——上主的斷語。「看,時日將到——上主的斷語——我必給達味,興起一支正義的苗芽,叫他執政為王,斷事明智,在地上執行公道正義。在他的日子裡,猶大必要獲救,以色列必安居樂業;人將稱他為『上主是我們的正義。』」

厄弗所書 2:13-18

弟兄姊妹們:現今,在基督耶穌內,你們從前遠離天主的人,藉著基督的血,成為親近的了。因為基督是我們的和平,他使雙方合而為一。他以自己的肉身,拆毀了中間阻隔的牆壁,就是雙方的仇恨,並廢除了由規條命令,所組成的法律,為把雙方在自己身上,造成一個新人,而成就和平。他以十字架,誅滅了仇恨,也以十字架,使雙方合成一體,與天主和好。所以他來,向你們遠離的人,傳布了和平的福音,也向那親近的人,傳布了和平,因為藉著他,我們雙方,在一個聖神內,才得以到達父面前。

馬爾谷福音 6:30-34

那時候,宗徒都回到耶穌面前,將他們所行所教的一切,報告給耶穌。耶穌向他們說:「你們來,私下到荒野裡,去休息一會兒!」因為來往的人很多,以致他們連吃飯的工夫也沒有。他們便乘船,私下往荒野去。人看見他們走了。許多人也知道他們要去的地方,便從各城,徒步前往那裡,且在他們之前,先到達了。耶穌一下船,看見一大夥群眾,就對他們,動了憐憫的心,因為他們好像沒有牧人的羊;於是,耶穌便開口教訓他們許多事。

當我們輕鬆地進入加拿大美麗的夏季,在長長的夏日,鬱鬱葱葱的林木和淡藍的湖泊中享受大自然,有時我禁不住會從麈世的角度,以本主日的《答唱詠》來讚美天主: 「上主是我的牧者,我實在一無所缺」 (詠 23:1)。

也許,並非所有的牧者都是善牧。本週《讀經一》中,上主對「看守祂羊群」的牧人表示不滿。他們「驅散趕走了我的羊群」又 「不加照顧」 (耶 23:2)。上主說,這一天即將來臨,祂要興起一支「正義的苖芽」, 立一個出自達味家族的默西亞為王。祂將統治猶太和以色列,祂「 斷事明智,在地上執行公道正義」 (耶 23:5)。藉著默西亞,上主親自承諾為祂的羊群派遣牧者 — 上主子民的精神領袖。

接下來的《答唱詠》,生動地描繪了善牧看顧幸福羊群的一幅寧静和諧的畫面 (詠 23)。牧者「使 (羊群) 臥在青綠的草場,又領 (他們) 走近幽静的水旁。還使 (他們) 的心靈得到舒暢 ⋯ 祂領導他們踏上了正義的坦途。縱使他們走過陰森的幽谷,也不怕凶險,因牧者與他們同在。祂的牧杖和短棒是(他們)的安慰」,並且,「在 (他們) 的一生歲月裹,幸福與慈愛常隨不離」(詠23:2-4, 6)。

在福音讀經,我們看到耶穌,我們的善牧正在忙著。宗徒們剛從耶穌派遣他們兩個兩個外出傳教回來,在向耶穌滙報工作。很忙碌的一天,他們「連吃飯的工夫也沒有」(谷 6:31)。所以,耶穌便帶他們私下到荒野去,「休息一會兒」。就像聖詠第23篇,上主把祂的信衆帶到青草地和幽靜的水旁,好讓「他們的心靈得到舒暢」 (谷 6:32, 詠 23:3)。當耶穌和門徒們到達他們想去的地方,群眾已在等待他們。耶穌一定非常疲倦,也需要休息,但祂還是開始教導他們,祂憐憫他們,「他們好像沒有牧人的羊」。

基督是善牧,祂給祂的羊帶來和平。聖保祿在《讀經二》宣講「基督是我們的和平」,一份靈性上的和平,植根於我們和天主聖父的修和。基督以祂十字架上的寶血,使人類和天主修和,祂以自己成立的教會,成為聖事,讓團結起來的人類與天主共融。當我們在基督的和平內,這內在的和平會充盈洋溢至我們與鄰人之間 — 在朋友、家庭、甚至國家之間和在工作地方和團體之間 — 建立和平。我們被召喚傳揚基督的和平,就是要生活於和平中,並與他人分享福音,好讓他們也可以和天主修和,也可以活在基督的和平內。這地上的和平,是基督和平的肖像和果實,不只是表面的,也不會短暫。這是基督賜給世人其中一個豐厚的恩典 (參考 Ignatius Catholic Study Bible New Testament P15, P347, P369; 天主教教理 2305)。

基督善牧一直信實地帶領我們至今天。我是否願意回應祂的召叫,力行祂的教導 — 生活在和平中並與別人分享福音 — 好讓我可以在「一生歲月裹,幸福與慈愛常隨不離」(詠23:6)?生活在和平中,是可能的。只是我們要作出選擇。

Posted: July 18, 2021

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


其他主日反省

憐憫自己和他人 Fr. Justin Huang

當我25歲那年,在紐約聖約瑟醫療中心做義工時,我總是筋疲力盡地結束我的每一天。當我和吉列爾莫(Guilermo)開車回神學院時,他總是因為他的探訪而精力充沛,而我則靠在座位上累倒了。他的病人能與人交談,而我被分配去探訪不能說話的病人!我整天都在試圖與幾乎不能回應的人交流,這讓我精疲力竭。

繼續閱讀 >
乙年(馬爾谷) 常年期第十六主日:接觸天主,吸取靈氣 吳智勳神父

上星期的福音提到耶穌經過一番培育後,派遣門徒出去。今日的福音敘述門徒回來向耶穌報告發生的事,大概他們為自己所做的一切而自豪。報告了甚麼,馬爾谷沒有記下來,因為覺得並不重要,反而耶穌所說的才是重要的:「你們靜靜地到偏僻的地方去休息一下」。

繼續閱讀 >
主日教理 天主教香港教區
教理中心及教理委員會
教理主題:教會的牧民職務
繼續閱讀 >