Christ The King – Is it a Divine Joke?

The Solemnity of Our Lord Jesus Christ, King of the Universe

2 Samuel 5:1-3

In those days, all the tribes of Israel came to David in Hebron and said: "Here we are, your bone and your flesh. In days past, when Saul was our king, it was you who led the Israelites out and brought them back. And the LORD said to you, ‘You shall shepherd my people Israel and shall be commander of Israel.’" When all the elders of Israel came to David in Hebron, King David made an agreement with them there before the LORD, and they anointed him king of Israel.

Colossians 1:12-20

Brothers and sisters: Let us give thanks to the Father, who has made you fit to share in the inheritance of the holy ones in light. He delivered us from the power of darkness and transferred us to the kingdom of his beloved Son, in whom we have redemption, the forgiveness of sins. He is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn of all creation. For in him were created all things in heaven and on earth, the visible and the invisible, whether thrones or dominions or principalities or powers; all things were created through him and for him. He is before all things, and in him all things hold together. He is the head of the body, the church. He is the beginning, the firstborn from the dead, that in all things he himself might be preeminent. For in him all the fullness was pleased to dwell, and through him to reconcile all things for him, making peace by the blood of his cross through him, whether those on earth or those in heaven.

Luke 23:35-43

The rulers sneered at Jesus and said, "He saved others, let him save himself if he is the chosen one, the Christ of God." Even the soldiers jeered at him. As they approached to offer him wine they called out, "If you are King of the Jews, save yourself." Above him there was an inscription that read, "This is the King of the Jews." Now one of the criminals hanging there reviled Jesus, saying, "Are you not the Christ? Save yourself and us." The other, however, rebuking him, said in reply, "Have you no fear of God, for you are subject to the same condemnation? And indeed, we have been condemned justly, for the sentence we received corresponds to our crimes, but this man has done nothing criminal." Then he said, "Jesus, remember me when you come into your kingdom." He replied to him, "Amen, I say to you, today you will be with me in Paradise."

This week we are celebrating the very last Sunday of the liturgical year, the Feast of Christ the King. What I would like to share is a divine joke. The essence of a joke is the coming together of opposites, the juxtaposition of incongruous things. So we laugh when an adult speaks like a child, or when a simple man finds himself lost amid the complexities of a sophisticated society. In the same way, the sacred joke begins with the central claim of Christianity, in which God became human! The Creator of the cosmos, who transcends any definition or concept, took to himself a nature like ours, and becoming one of us.

Yes, He is “the King of kings and Lord of lords” (1Tim 6:15). He is God from God, Light from Light, true God from true God, and through Him all things were made (The Nicene Creed). “He is the icon of the invisible God” (Col 1:15). Nevertheless, how strange and what a surprising king He is! What we perceive to have power, majesty, and lord-ship has very little to do with the “Truth”. Let us go back to the Gospel this week, “The rulers sneered at him and said, “He saved others, let him save himself if he is the chosen one, the Messiah of God.” Even the soldiers jeered at him. They called out, “If you are King of the Jews, save yourself.” … Now one of the criminals hanging there reviled Jesus, saying, “Are you not the Messiah? Save yourself and us”” (Lk 23:35-39). This is the key and the clue of this juxtaposition.

What do we think kingship means? Is it power, authority, or domination? For our worldly definition, it means the capacity to save ourselves. Being king means to be able to protect ourselves. The irony is that the true king, Christ the King, is not the one who saves Himself, aggrandizes His ego, and fills Himself up. Rather, He is the one who forgets Himself out of love, who gives it away, and who empty Himself. Do we want to know what the power that makes the universe is like? Do we want to understand “the Alpha and the Omega”, and the power which holds all things together? It is the power of self-emptying love. That is not what the world tells us, but rather it is an irony, an icon of our invisible God!

Therefore, do we want power in our life? Then stop trying to save ourselves, rather to save somebody else. Please stop trying to fill up our life in a self-protective way, but to reach out with love, to protects somebody else, and to perform simple acts of love. This way, we become a loyal subject of Christ the King, and then we will discover the secret of this power. Ultimately, we will get this sublime and sacred joke right – which is the drama, the beauty, and the wonder of this feast, the Feast of Christ The King.

Acknowledgement
This is an excerpt from Bishop Robert Barron’s homilies, including “Christ the Crucified King”, “Christ the King”, and “Three Aspects of Christ’s Kingship”. For more information, please visit WordOnFire.org.

Posted: November 24, 2019

Ben Cheng

 


Other Sunday Reflections

God’s Epiphanies in our life
Today’s readings are about God’s epiphanies in our life, but we need patience, focused listening, and faith before we can hear or see them. Continue Reading >
Eighteenth Sunday In Ordinary Time
How to turn our littleness into greatness?
"Incline your ear, and come to me; listen, so that you may live"(Is 55:3) Continue Reading >
Eighteenth Sunday In Ordinary Time
Would You Bring Only the Old or the New?
What does Jesus teach about the Kingdom of God? What is the significance of rejecting the ideologies of both left and right, the idolatry of both the new and the… Continue Reading >

基督君王 – 是一個來自天主的笑話嗎?

我們的主、耶穌基督、普世君王(節日)

撒慕爾紀下 5:1-3

以色列各支派,聚集到赫貝龍,來見達味,說:「看,我們都是你的骨肉。以前,連撒烏耳作我們君王時,也是你率領以色列出入戰場。上主曾對你說過:你應牧養我的百姓以色列,作以色列的領袖。」隨後,以色列所有長老,都到赫貝龍,來見君王。達味君王就在赫貝龍,當上主的面,同他們立了盟約;他們便給達味傅油,立他為以色列王。

哥羅森書 1:12-20

弟兄姊妹們:感謝天父,使我們有資格,在光明中,分享聖徒的福分,因為是他由黑暗的權勢下,救出了我們,並將我們移置在他愛子的國裡;我們且在他愛子內,得到了救贖,獲得了罪赦。耶穌基督是不可見的天主的肖像,是一切受造物的首生者,因為在天上和地上的一切,可見的與不可見的,或是上座者,或是宰制者,或是率領者,或是掌權者,都是在他內受造的;一切都是藉著他,並且是為了他,而受造的。他在萬有之先就有,萬有都賴他而存在。耶穌基督又是身體——教會的頭:他是元始,是死者中的首生者,為使他在萬有之上,獨佔首位,因為,天主樂意叫整個的圓滿,居住在他內,並藉著他,使萬有,無論是地上的,是天上的,都與自己重歸於好,因著他十字架的血,立定了和平。

路加福音 23:35-43

耶穌被釘在十字架上時,民眾站著觀望;首領們嗤笑耶穌,說:「別人,他救了;如果這人是天主的受傅者、被選者,就救他自己吧!」兵士也戲弄耶穌,前來把醋遞給他,說:「如果你是猶太人的君王,就救你自己吧!」在他頭上,還有一塊用希臘文、拉丁文及希伯來文,寫的罪狀牌:「這是猶太人的君王。」懸掛著的凶犯中,有一個侮辱耶穌說:「你不是默西亞嗎?救救你自己和我們吧!」另一個凶犯,應聲責斥他說:「你既然受著同樣的刑罰,連天主你都不怕嗎?這刑罰對我們是理所當然的,因為我們所受的,是罪有應得;但是,這個人,從未做過什麼不正當的事。」隨後說:「耶穌,當你來為王時,請你紀念我!」耶穌給他說:「我實在告訴你:今天,你就要與我一同在樂園裡。」

這個星期我們慶祝教會禮儀年最後一個主日 – 基督君王節。我想與你們分享一個從天主而來的笑話。笑話之所以為笑話,是在於把相反的、互不協調的事,並列在一起。所以我們會笑一個語調像小孩子的成年人, 或一個單純的人在複雜的社會環境中,不知所措的表現。同樣, 這個神聖笑話始於天主竟降生成人,這是基督宗教的中心思想!那超越任何定義或概念的創造宇宙萬物的造物主, 取了與我們一樣的人性, 成了我們中間的一個。

對,祂是「萬王之王,萬主之主」(弟上 6:15)。祂是出自天主的天主,出自光明的光明,出自真天主的真天主,萬物是藉著祂而造成的 (尼西亞信經)。「他是不可見的天主的肖像」(哥 1:15)。然而,祂是一個多麼奇特及令人驚訝的君王!祂的「真理」卻與我們俗世所認為是君王的權柄、威儀或統治,大不相同。回顧本主日的福音,「首領們嗤笑說,『別人,他救了;如果這人是天主的受傅者,被選者,就救他自己罷!』兵士也戲弄他 ⋯ 說:『如你是猶太人的君王,就救你自己罷!』⋯ 懸掛著的凶犯中,有一個侮辱耶穌說:『你不是默西亞嗎?救救你自己和我們罷』」(路 23:35-39)。不協調的重點和線索就在於此。

我們認為王權是什麼意思?是否權柄、公權力或統治?根據世俗的了解,王權表示有自救的能力,和意味著能夠保護自己。但諷刺的是我們的真國王 –基督君王 – 並不是一個以自救、誇大自我來滿全自己的君王。相反地,祂忘我地去愛人,無條件地付出,「使自己空虛,取了奴僕的形體,與人相似,形狀也一見如人;他貶抑自己,聽命至死,且死在十字架上」(斐 2:7-8)。我們是否想知道創造宇宙的力量是什樣的?我們是否想了解「阿耳法與敖默加」,以及將萬物凝聚的力量?這就是自我空虛的愛的力量。但世界並不如此告訴我們,箇中的諷刺,是那我們看不到的天主的肖像!

所以,我們在人生中想擁有權力嗎?那麼別再試圖救自己,而是去救別人。請不再以自我保護的途徑來充實自己的生活,但要張開雙手去愛人,保護別人,行愛德的善工。這樣,我們便成為基督君王的忠實子民,然後我們便會發現這權力的秘密。而我們最終會明白這崇高及神聖笑話的真諦 – 就是這劇力萬鈞、美麗及令人讚嘆之節日 – 基督普世君王節。

嗚謝
摘錄自 Bishop Barren 的講道,“Christ the Crucified King”, “Christ the King”, 及 “Three Aspects of Christ’s Kingship”。詳情請參考網站 WordOnFire.org

Posted: November 24, 2019

Ben Cheng

 


其他主日反省

基督宗教的本質 Fr. Jusin Huang

天主今天呼召我們明白信仰的大故事。換句話說,基督信仰的本質是什麼?我們將用一個非常實際的場景來回答這個問題,這個場景建立在多年關於我們與天主關係的討論, 以及自由意志和後果的現實的基礎之上。

繼續閱讀 >
丙年 基督君王節:慈悲的判決 吳智勳神父

今天基督君王節的讀經告訴我們耶穌是一位慈悲的君王,祂的王國是一個慈悲的王國,可惜今天所選讀的只是路加所載耶穌臨終前的片段,但我會以路加對整件事的報導跟大家分享。耶穌在十字架上的情景直像一齣獨幕劇。

繼續閱讀 >