“Do whatever he tells you.” (John 2:5)

Second Sunday in Ordinary Time

Isaiah 62:1-5

For Zion’s sake I will not be silent, for Jerusalem’s sake I will not be quiet, until her vindication shines forth like the dawn and her victory like a burning torch. Nations shall behold your vindication, and all the kings your glory; you shall be called by a new name pronounced by the mouth of the LORD. You shall be a glorious crown in the hand of the LORD, a royal diadem held by your God. No more shall people call you “Forsaken, “ or your land “Desolate, “ but you shall be called “My Delight, “ and your land “Espoused.” For the LORD delights in you and makes your land his spouse. As a young man marries a virgin, your Builder shall marry you; and as a bridegroom rejoices in his bride so shall your God rejoice in you.

1 Corinthians 12:4-11

Brothers and sisters: There are different kinds of spiritual gifts but the same Spirit; there are different forms of service but the same Lord; there are different workings but the same God who produces all of them in everyone. To each individual the manifestation of the Spirit is given for some benefit. To one is given through the Spirit the expression of wisdom; to another, the expression of knowledge according to the same Spirit; to another, faith by the same Spirit; to another, gifts of healing by the one Spirit; to another, mighty deeds; to another, prophecy; to another, discernment of spirits; to another, varieties of tongues; to another, interpretation of tongues. But one and the same Spirit produces all of these, distributing them individually to each person as he wishes.

John 2:1-11

There was a wedding at Cana in Galilee, and the mother of Jesus was there. Jesus and his disciples were also invited to the wedding. When the wine ran short, the mother of Jesus said to him, “They have no wine.” And Jesus said to her, “Woman, how does your concern affect me? My hour has not yet come.” His mother said to the servers, “Do whatever he tells you.” Now there were six stone water jars there for Jewish ceremonial washings, each holding twenty to thirty gallons. Jesus told them, “Fill the jars with water.” So they filled them to the brim. Then he told them, “Draw some out now and take it to the headwaiter.” So they took it. And when the headwaiter tasted the water that had become wine, without knowing where it came from — although the servers who had drawn the water knew —, the headwaiter called the bridegroom and said to him, “Everyone serves good wine first, and then when people have drunk freely, an inferior one; but you have kept the good wine until now.” Jesus did this as the beginning of his signs at Cana in Galilee and so revealed his glory, and his disciples began to believe in him.

This Sunday’s Gospel reading tells us about Jesus’ first miracle of turning water into wine in Cana of Galilee. When we pray the Second Illuminous Mystery of the Rosary, we also reflect on this miracle that happened at a wedding feast that Jesus and his mother attended. This miracle relates us to our heavenly mother Mary’s sensitivity not only to our spiritual wellbeing but also to our earthly needs. She interceded for us before our asking.

This first miracle of Jesus also tells us that while his ministry on earth was to preach the kingdom of God, when he lived amongst the people of his times, he took it upon himself to care for them and to love them. He was mindful of their earthly wellbeing. He turned the water into wine, saving the bridegroom from the embarrassment of running out of wine in his wedding banquet.

When I read this familiar story once again, I was struck by what Mary said to the servants, “Do whatever he tells you.” (John 2:5) It was as if she is telling us too, “Do whatever he tells you.” The servants did exactly as they were told by Jesus. They did not question his instructions of filling the jars with water and the servant’s complete obedience facilitated the making of a miracle that revealed Jesus’ glory and “his disciples believed in him.” (John 2:11)

The miracle teaches us to have complete faith in God at all times and in everything, do whatever He tells us to. If God so desires, we who are “given the manifestation of the Holy Spirit” (1 Corinthians 12:7) may become small bolts and screws that fit into His divine plan.

In this Second Sunday in Ordinary Time, which is also the World Day of Migrants and Refugees, let us be mindful to do what Jesus tells us to do to one another. Especially for those of us who were once new immigrants to this country, we know how it felt like to be an immigrant. We know how we like to be treated. So let us pray that when we encounter new immigrants or new refugees from Syria or other places, we will be sensitive to their needs, will offer them a warm welcome, an open heart and most of all, a helping hand before they ask!

Posted: January 17, 2016

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


Other Sunday Reflections

What our eyes cannot see, our heart perceives and understands
The Spirit in us; the same Spirit promised by Jesus and given to us through the sacrament of confirmation, sharpens all our senses, and most importantly our heart, to “taste… Continue Reading >
Fullness of Life in Community
I wish all of you had a group of Christian friends who could encourage, challenge and pray with you, meeting weekly online or in a park. I wish that everyone… Continue Reading >
Jesus said, “You are witnesses of these things.” (Lk 24:48)
“That the Christ is to suffer and to rise from the dead on the third day.” (Lk 24:46) Continue Reading >

「無論祂吩咐你們什麼,你們就做什麼。」(若 2:5)

常年期第二主日

依撒意亞先知書 62:1-5

為了熙雍,我決不緘默,為了耶路撒冷,我決不休息,直到她的正義顯現,有如光明,她的救恩燃亮,有如火炬。萬民都要見到你的正義;眾王都要看見你的榮耀。人要給你起一個新的名號,是上主親口所指定的。你將是上主手中的榮冠,是你天主掌中的冠冕。你不再稱為「被遺棄的」,你的地域也不再被稱為「荒涼的」;因為你要被稱為「我親愛的」,你的地域要被稱為「已婚的」,因為上主喜愛你,你的地域將要婚嫁。就如青年怎樣迎娶處女,你的建造者也要怎樣迎娶你;新郎怎樣喜愛新娘,你的天主也要怎樣喜愛你。——上主的話。

格林多前書 12:4-11

弟兄姊妹們:神恩雖有區別,卻是同一的聖神所賜;職分雖有區別,卻是同一的主所賜;功效雖有區別,卻是同一的天主,在一切人身上,行一切事。聖神顯示在每人身上,雖有不同,但全是為人的好處。這人從聖神蒙受了智慧的言語,另一人卻由同一聖神,蒙受了知識的言語;有人在同一聖神內,蒙受了信心,另有人在同一聖神內,卻蒙受了治病的奇恩;有的能行奇蹟,有的能說先知話,有的能辨別神恩,有的能說各種語言,有的能解釋語言。可是,這一切都是這唯一而同一的聖神所行的,隨他的心願,個別分配給人。——上主的話。

若望福音 2:1-12

第三天,在加里肋亞加納有婚宴,耶穌的母親也在那裡;耶穌和他的門徒也被請去赴婚宴。酒不夠了,耶穌的母親向耶穌說:「他們沒有酒了。」耶穌回答說:「女人,這於我和你有什麼關係?我的時刻尚未來到。」他的母親給僕役說:「他無論吩咐你們什麼,你們就做什麼。」在那裡放著六口石缸,是為猶太人取潔禮用的;每口可容納兩三桶水。耶穌向僕役說:「你們把缸灌滿水吧!」他們就灌滿了,直到缸口。然後,耶穌給他們說:「現在你們舀出來,送給司席!」他們便送去了。司席一嘗已變成酒的水,他並不知道是從那裡來的;舀水的僕役卻知道。司席便叫新郎來,向他說:「人人都先擺上好酒,當客人都喝夠了,才擺上次等的;你卻把好酒保留到現在。」這是耶穌所行的第一個神蹟,是在加里肋亞加納行的;他顯示了自己的光榮,他的門徒就信從了他。此後,他和他的母親、弟兄及門徒,下到葛法翁,在那裡住了幾天。

這個主日的福音讀經談及耶穌行的第一個奇蹟,祂在加里肋亞的加納把水變為酒 。當我們頌唸玫瑰經光明二端時,我們默想耶穌和祂的母親聖母瑪利亞參加婚宴時所行的這個奇蹟。這奇蹟將我們和聖母聯繫起來。我們天上的母親不但照顧我們靈魂的需要,她同樣關心我們在世的需要。在我們請求之前,聖母已為我們轉禱。

從耶穌這第一個奇蹟,我們見到雖然耶穌在世的使命是為傳揚天國的福音,當祂住在人間時,祂亦關心愛護世人,照顧他們的福祉。耶穌把水變為酒,讓新郎不致因為婚宴上缺酒而尷尬。

再讀這熟悉的故事,我被聖母對僕人所說的話觸動:「無論祂吩咐你們什麼,你們就做什麼。」(若 2:5) 好像她也在叮囑我們:「無論祂吩咐你們什麼,你們就做什麼。」僕人聽耶穌的話做了。他們聽從耶穌的指示,把缸裝滿水。僕人對耶穌的完全聽命讓耶穌行了祂的第一個奇蹟,顯示了祂的光榮:「祂的門徒就信了祂。」(若 2:11)

這奇蹟教導我們在任何時間,在任何事情上,我們對天主要有完全的信心,無論祂吩咐我們什麼,我們就該做什麼。如果是天主的意思,祂可能會通過「聖神在各人身上的顯示」,(格前12:7) 讓我們成為祂神聖計劃內的一顆小螺絲。

在這常年期的第二主日,亦是世界移民難民日,讓我們謹記耶穌教導我們如何相處。如果曾經是本國的新移民,我們很明白作為新移民的感受,希望他人如何對待我們。在我們遇到新移民或從敘利亞或其他地方來的新難民的時候,我們祈求天主打開我們心扉,歡迎他們,而最重要的是,我們祈求天主使我們明白他們的需要,讓他們不用要求,我們已經幫助了他們!

Posted: January 17, 2016

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


其他主日反省

丙年常年期第二主日:女性優美的特質 吳智勳神父

今日的福音記載耶穌變水為酒的奇蹟,作者帶出耶穌基督能把一切不圓滿的成為圓滿;只要有祂的臨在,任何不完美的東西都可以變得完美。「七」為猶太人是一個圓滿的數字,「六」是未圓滿的;六口石缸及缸裡的水,都暗示欠缺,耶穌卻使它圓滿,水也變成酒,而酒便有恩寵的意義,耶穌基督就是這樣豐富地賜給我們恩寵。

繼續閱讀 >