Experience the Power of the Word of God

Second Sunday of Lent

Genesis 12:1-4A

The LORD said to Abram: "Go forth from the land of your kinsfolk and from your father's house to a land that I will show you. "I will make of you a great nation, and I will bless you; I will make your name great, so that you will be a blessing. I will bless those who bless you and curse those who curse you. All the communities of the earth shall find blessing in you." Abram went as the LORD directed him.

2 Timothy 1:8B-10

Beloved: Bear your share of hardship for the gospel with the strength that comes from God. He saved us and called us to a holy life, not according to our works but according to his own design and the grace bestowed on us in Christ Jesus before time began, but now made manifest through the appearance of our savior Christ Jesus, who destroyed death and brought life and immortality to light through the gospel.

Matthew 17:1-9

Jesus took Peter, James, and John his brother, and led them up a high mountain by themselves. And he was transfigured before them; his face shone like the sun and his clothes became white as light. And behold, Moses and Elijah appeared to them, conversing with him. Then Peter said to Jesus in reply, "Lord, it is good that we are here. If you wish, I will make three tents here, one for you, one for Moses, and one for Elijah." While he was still speaking, behold, a bright cloud cast a shadow over them, then from the cloud came a voice that said, "This is my beloved Son, with whom I am well pleased; listen to him." When the disciples heard this, they fell prostrate and were very much afraid. But Jesus came and touched them, saying, "Rise, and do not be afraid." And when the disciples raised their eyes, they saw no one else but Jesus alone. As they were coming down from the mountain, Jesus charged them, "Do not tell the vision to anyone until the Son of Man has been raised from the dead."

Experience the power of the word of God. No, we don’t need miracles like what happened to St. Augustine: while deep in the darkness of sin and chained by fleshly desires, he was miraculously directed to read Paul’s stern reproach against orgies and drunkenness, promiscuity and licentiousness in Romans 13, causing him to convert to Christ. Nor do we need a vision from God to help us understand His message – the way Peter was made to understand the universality of the mission of the Church (cf. Acts 10:9-35). What we need is our willingness to open our hearts to let the Holy Spirit come in when we listen to the Sunday Mass readings. That’s all we need to do, and the Holy Spirit will take care of the rest. Ready? Together let’s plead prayerfully:

Holy Spirit, the Advocate and Guardian of truth, fill our hearts and open our ears. Enable us to feel the power of your word – a word that is incarnate and living; a word that must be proclaimed, received and experienced; a word that commands our worship and veneration (cf. Verbum Domini, n.7).

Already we can sense clearly how the word of God has come alive right before our eyes in the 1st reading where we read: “All the communities of the earth shall find blessing in you” (Genesis 12:3). The blessing promised to Abraham is no ordinary blessing. What this Messianic passage refers to is universal salvation through Christ, whose genealogy traces back to Abraham. The process God took to prepare and fulfill this promise spanned thousands of years in human history, going back not only to Abraham but also to our first parents whose original sin made the blessing necessary. The gospel in a nutshell is a narrative on how this promise to Abraham was brought to fulfillment through his descendent, Jesus Christ. The word of God is truly alive. It lives in the form of a real and developing history – the history of Israel and of the Church; it speaks to our hearts and interacts with the world in the form of a human person, Christ incarnate, and the Church he instituted.

In the 2nd reading, Paul’s exhortation is for his beloved disciple, Timothy, to “bear your share of hardship for the gospel” (2 Tim 1:8). Just the same-old-same-old, you say? Think twice. Or, pray harder to ask the Holy Spirit to help you experience the full force of His word. But for now, let’s just put aside all the goodies in this very condensed passage and remember just one verse which serves as an important link to this Sunday’s gospel: “[Jesus] destroyed death and brought life and immortality” (2 Tim 1:10). Later in this reflection, we shall examine this verse again to understand its connection to the theme of this Sunday’s gospel. Suffice to say in here that this is a powerful verse that had once hit me like a truck in our first encounter

The electrifying power of the word of God is in full display in the gospel reading where Peter, James and John witnessed first-hand the Transfiguration of our Lord. According to Matthew, Jesus “was transfigured before them; his face shone like the sun and his clothes became white as light” (Mt 17:2).

What is depicted in this amazing scene, which has all the dramas of a Hollywood extraterrestrial movie, is more than just a miracle. It is a foretaste, or a preview, if you will, of Jesus’ glorious coming in his resurrected body (cf. CCC 556). As alluded to earlier in the 2nd reading, not only did Jesus destroy death through his death and resurrection, he also “brought life and immortality” (2 Tim 1:10). What life? True and everlasting life; life that Jesus promises we can have “abundantly” (John 10:10); life that only Jesus, who is “the way and the truth and the life”, can bring (John 14:6). What immortality? As mere mortals, our human body is subject to corruption after death. It is a body of flesh and blood, a body that often strongarms our spirit into submission to its fleshly demands (cf. Romans 7:18-19). The good news here is that although this body of ours “is sown a natural body, it is raised a spiritual body” in resurrection (1 Cor 15:44). “[I]n an instant, in the blink of an eye, at the last trumpet”, we the mere mortals with bodies of flesh and blood will be transformed to become immortals with spiritual bodies in a new world order (1 Cor 15:52)! In our resurrected selves, we will no longer experience non-stop contentions between body and spirit. The two dimensions of being will co-exist nicely in peace and harmony because they share the same spiritual attributes by virtue of Jesus’ resurrection. It is then, and only then, that we are ready for the kingdom of God. For “flesh and blood cannot inherit the kingdom of God, nor does corruption inherit incorruption” (1 Cor 15:50).

The proclamation of Jesus’ resurrection is the proclamation of a new world order, of which we in our resurrected selves will be worthy of partaking; thanks to the blessing promised to Abraham. Now we can truly understand the significance of “life and immortality” alluded to earlier in the 2nd reading and why the word of God is truly more powerful than getting overrun by a truck!

Posted: March 8, 2020

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


Other Sunday Reflections

Remember!
Turn our gaze and see with eyes of an enlightened heart Continue Reading >
Life is a Test and Temporary Assignment
"The way you see your life shapes your life" (Rick Warren, The Purpose Driven Life, 41). Some people may see life as a journey, or a roller coaster (up and… Continue Reading >
"The holy Spirit … will teach you everything and remind you of all that [I] told you” (Jn 14:26)
The voice of the Holy Spirit may become clearer if we listen and pray with a faithful heart. Continue Reading >

體驗天主聖言的力量

四旬期第二主日

創世紀 12:1-4

那時候,上主對亞巴郎說:「離開你的故鄉、你的家族和父家,到我指給你的地方去。我要使你成為一個大民族;我必降福你,使你成名,成為一個福源。我要降福那祝福你的人,咒罵那咒罵你的人;地上萬民都要因你而獲得祝福。」亞巴郎於是照上主的吩咐,動身出發。

弟茂德後書 1:8-10

親愛的:你要依賴天主的大能,為福音同我共受勞苦。天主拯救了我們,以聖召召叫了我們,並不是按照我們的行為,而是按照他的決意和恩寵:這恩寵是萬世以前,在基督耶穌內,賜予我們的,現在,藉著我們救主基督耶穌的出現,顯示了出來;基督毀滅了死亡,藉著福音,彰顯了不朽的生命。

瑪竇福音 17:1-9

那時候,耶穌帶著伯多祿、雅各伯和他的兄弟若望,單獨帶領他們上了一座高山,在他們面前變了容貌:耶穌的面貌發光,有如太陽,他的衣服潔白如光。忽然,梅瑟和厄里亞,也顯現給他們,正在同耶穌談論。伯多祿就開口對耶穌說:「主啊,我們在這裡真好!如果你願意,我就在這裡,搭三個帳棚:一個為你,一個為梅瑟,一個為厄里亞。」伯多祿還在說話的時候,忽然有一片光耀的雲彩,遮蔽了他們,並且從雲中有聲音說:「這是我的愛子,我所喜悅的,你們要聽從他!」門徒聽了,就俯伏在地,非常害怕。於是,耶穌前來,撫摩他們,說:「起來,不要害怕!」他們舉目一看,見不到任何人,只有耶穌獨自一人。他們從山上下來的時候,耶穌囑咐他們說:「非等人子從死者中復活,你們不要將所見的,告訴任何人。」

體驗一下天主聖言的力量。我們不需要像發生在聖奧斯定身上的奇蹟:他在罪惡的黑暗,肉慾的枷鎖下,奇蹟地被引領去閱讀《羅馬書》13 章,他讀到聖保祿對狂宴豪飲、淫亂放蕩和爭鬥嫉妒的嚴厲斥責,使他皈依基督。我們也不需要來自天主的神視 — 像使聖伯多祿明白教會的使命是至公的 — 來幫助我們明白天主的訊息(參 宗10:9-35)。我們需要的是在聆聽主日彌撒讀經的時候,願意打開自己的心,讓天主聖神進來。這就是我們需要做的,其他的,天主聖神自會照料。準備好沒有?讓我們一起祈禱伏求天主聖神:

天主聖神,護慰者和守護真理者,充滿我們的心,打開我們的耳朵。讓我們感受到祢聖言的力量 – 那降生成人的和生活的聖言;那必須被宣講、接受和體驗的聖言;那贏得我們欽崇和熱心恭敬的聖言 (參《上主的話》宗座勸諭, n.7)。

在讀經一,讀到「地上萬民都要因你獲得祝福」時,我們已經可以清楚地感覺到,天主聖言如何在我們眼前活現出來(創 12:3)。應許亞巴郎的,並不是一個普通的祝福。這篇有關默西亞的章節指出,藉著基督的救贖是為天下萬民的,而基督的族譜,可追溯至亞巴郎。天主為準備和圓滿這應許,跨越了人類數千年歷史,追溯至不僅亞巴郞,也追溯至我們的原祖父母,是他們的原罪使我們需要這祝福。簡單來說,福音所敘述的就是這賜給亞巴郎的應許,如何經過他的後裔,耶穌基督,得以滿全。天主聖言是生活的聖言。聖言活於真實和發展中的歷史 — 以色列和教會的歷史;藉着一個人,降生成人的耶穌和祂建立的教會,聖言與我們的心靈說話,與世界接觸和溝通。

在讀經二,聖保祿的宣講「為福音同我共受勞苦」是為他的愛徒弟茂德 (弟後 1:8)。你認為是老生常談嗎?要三思。或者,加倍努力祈求天主聖神幫助你體驗聖言的力量。暫時,讓我們將這篇精簡讀經裏面的好處,放在一旁,只記着其中一句話,「【耶穌】毀滅了死亡 ⋯ 彰顯了不朽的生命」,這句話是與本主日福音讀經的重要連繫(弟後 1:10)。在這反思在的下半部,我們會再研究,這一句話如何與主日福音讀經的中心思想有關。在此刻,只需要知道,在第一次遇到這強而有力的一節時,我的震撼猶如被貨車撞到一樣,已經足夠。

天主聖言觸電一般的力量在福音讀經裏表現無遺,伯多祿、雅各伯和若望親身見證耶穌顯聖容。根據《瑪竇福音》所載,耶穌「在他們面前變了容貌:耶穌的面貌發光,有如太陽,他的衣服潔白如光」(瑪 17:2)。

這幕有著荷里活星際電影所有戲劇元素的奇妙情景,不只是一個奇蹟,而是耶穌以祂復活了的身體,光榮地來臨的預嘗或預示(參 天主教教理 556 )。像之前讀經二的暗示,耶穌藉着他的死亡和復活,不但摧毁了死亡,他也「彰顯了不朽的生命」(弟後 1:10)。什麼生命?真正的生命和永生;耶穌應許我們可以獲得的「更豐富的生命」(若 10:10);這生命是作為「道路、真理、生命」的耶穌才能帶給我們的 (若 14:6)。什麼不朽的生命?作為塵世上的人,人類的身體死後會腐朽。這血肉之軀,經常強迫我的靈魂就範,叫我隸屬於那肉身的慾望 (參 羅 7:18-19)。好消息就是,雖然我們「播種的是屬生靈的身體,復活起來的是屬神的身體」(格前 15:44)。「在頃刻眨眼之間,在末次吹號筒」時,我們這些可朽壞的世人的血肉之軀,在新的世界秩序裏,會被轉化為不可朽壞的屬神的身體 (格前 15:52)。復活後的我們,不會再經歷身體和靈魂的不斷鬥爭。身體和靈魂會和平融洽地共存,因為藉着耶穌基督的復活,身體和靈魂都有同樣屬靈的質素。那一刻,而且只在那一刻,我們才真正為天國做好了準備。因為「肉和血不能承受天主的國,可朽壞的也不能承受不可朽壞的」(格前 15:50)。

宣佈耶穌復活是宣佈一個新的世界秩序,復活了的我們才可以參與這個世界秩序;感謝應許給亞巴郎的祝福。現在我們能夠真正明白讀經二所暗示的「生命和不朽」,以及為什麼天主聖言的力量,與被貨車撞倒相比,更為強而有力!

Posted: March 8, 2020

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


其他主日反省

甲年(瑪竇) 四旬期第二主日:耶穌慈愛的臉戰勝一切 吳智勳神父

在往耶路撒冷路上,耶穌顯現自己的聖容。為耶穌來說,這事跡肯定了祂受洗時所選擇的受苦僕人的道路。梅瑟和厄里亞出現,代表了舊約的法律和先知,他們同樣是在苦難中完成使命。

繼續閱讀 >