The Word of God Is Love Not Violence

Third Sunday of Lent

Exodus 20:1-17

In those days, God delivered all these commandments: "I, the LORD, am your God, who brought you out of the land of Egypt, that place of slavery. You shall not have other gods besides me. You shall not carve idols for yourselves in the shape of anything in the sky above or on the earth below or in the waters beneath the earth; you shall not bow down before them or worship them. For I, the LORD, your God, am a jealous God, inflicting punishment for their fathers' wickedness on the children of those who hate me, down to the third and fourth generation; but bestowing mercy down to the thousandth generation on the children of those who love me and keep my commandments. "You shall not take the name of the LORD, your God, in vain. For the LORD will not leave unpunished the one who takes his name in vain. "Remember to keep holy the sabbath day. Six days you may labor and do all your work, but the seventh day is the sabbath of the LORD, your God. No work may be done then either by you, or your son or daughter, or your male or female slave, or your beast, or by the alien who lives with you. In six days the Lord made the heavens and the earth, the sea and all that is in them; but on the seventh day he rested. That is why the LORD has blessed the sabbath day and made it holy. "Honor your father and your mother, that you may have a long life in the land which the LORD, your God, is giving you. You shall not kill. You shall not commit adultery. You shall not steal. You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor. You shall not covet your neighbor's house. You shall not covet your neighbor's wife, nor his male or female slave, nor his ox or ass, nor anything else that belongs to him."

1 Corinthians 1:22-25

Brothers and sisters: Jews demand signs and Greeks look for wisdom, but we proclaim Christ crucified, a stumbling block to Jews and foolishness to Gentiles, but to those who are called, Jews and Greeks alike, Christ the power of God and the wisdom of God. For the foolishness of God is wiser than human wisdom, and the weakness of God is stronger than human strength.

John 2:13-25

Since the Passover of the Jews was near, Jesus went up to Jerusalem. He found in the temple area those who sold oxen, sheep, and doves, as well as the money changers seated there. He made a whip out of cords and drove them all out of the temple area, with the sheep and oxen, and spilled the coins of the money changers and overturned their tables, and to those who sold doves he said, "Take these out of here, and stop making my Father's house a marketplace." His disciples recalled the words of Scripture, Zeal for your house will consume me. At this the Jews answered and said to him, "What sign can you show us for doing this?" Jesus answered and said to them, "Destroy this temple and in three days I will raise it up." The Jews said, "This temple has been under construction for forty-six years, and you will raise it up in three days?" But he was speaking about the temple of his body. Therefore, when he was raised from the dead, his disciples remembered that he had said this, and they came to believe the Scripture and the word Jesus had spoken. While he was in Jerusalem for the feast of Passover, many began to believe in his name when they saw the signs he was doing. But Jesus would not trust himself to them because he knew them all, and did not need anyone to testify about human nature. He himself understood it well.

“Lord, you have the words of everlasting life” is the response to the Psalm reading for this Sunday. The Psalm passages are quoted from Psalm 19 – my favorite psalm.

Psalm 19 begins with a beautiful, high-spirited exaltation, paying tribute to God’s magnificent creation that speaks. Speaks? Yes, God’s creations – the sun and the moon, the sunrise and the sunset, the flowers and the trees, the mountains and the valleys – speak; using a language that “proclaims its builder’s craft”; communicating a message that imparts knowledge and wisdom; uttering a sound that cannot be heard and yet resonates loud and clear “to the ends of the world” (cf. Ps. 19:2-4)! What the psalmist is extolling is the word of God; a word that is “perfect”, “true” and “just” (Ps. 19:8-10).

Earlier in the first reading, the same word, pronounced by God in the midst of a theophany as part of His covenant with the holy people on Mount Sinai, is solemnly promulgated: delivered through Moses, the intercessor between God and His people; given to Israel, who promises with one voice to “do everything that the Lord has told us” (Ex 24:3); and decreed in the Decalogue, which means literally the “ten words” or the Ten Commandments (CCC 2059-2060). Written on two separate tablets – three on one and seven on the other – these are words of love: “the first three concern love of God, and the other seven love of neighbor” (CCC 2067).

I always remember what my professor taught me when I was taking a course on the Old Testament at the St. Augustine Seminary of Toronto. He said the Greeks lived in a world of numbers, but the Israelites lived in a world of word, dynamic and prophetic. Word to them is electricity to us – a force that makes things happen and is indispensable. At this point, every reader who is human and breathing would probably ask, having gone this far in reading the Bible, “Who is this word”?

John began his gospel by tackling this question head on: “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God” (Jn 1:1). The Word is further identified as Christ incarnate, who “became flesh and made his dwelling among us” (Jn 1:14). But if Jesus, the Word of God, is “perfect”, “true” and “just”, as the Psalm reading tells us he is; and if the Decalogue – the 10 words of love – also finds its origin in him; how are we supposed to understand the act of violence committed by the same Word of God in this Sunday’s gospel? What Jesus did was unambiguously violent: “He made a whip out of cords and drove them all out of the temple area, with the sheep and oxen, and spilled the coins of the money changers and overturned their tables” (John 2:15).

Let’s be very clear. It will be ignorance to the extreme for anyone to suggest that the temple cleansing story is meant to justify the use of force. Let’s face it; it would take a radically different direction for Jesus, whose ministry and message throughout the gospel are all about love, peace, and humility, to suddenly promote violence. Those who read the Johannine narrative in context can’t possibly miss its culminating theme, namely, that the temple is a sign of Christ’s body, which will be destroyed and raised up in three days – an allusion to the Cross and the Resurrection (Note 1). This is how Jesus explains his action: “Destroy this temple and in three days I will raise it up” (John 2:19).

Still, why is it necessary for him to resort to a violent act to communicate his theological message? To truly understand Jesus’ action, we must keep in mind his prophetic ministry and how it works. If I were to pick 10 OT promises that any scriptural reader must remember at all times, this one, revealed by Moses, would be one of them: “A prophet like me will the LORD, your God, raise up for you from among your own kinsmen; to him you shall listen” (Dt.18:15). Turned out, the promised prophet is Jesus – the Prophet of all prophets.

The OT prophets came from, shall we say, a very special species. They were mostly shunned by the very people they were summoned to enlighten: kings, political leaders, and religious authorities. Sometimes they had to do very unusual things in order to drive home their messages. Hosea married a harlot in order to show Israel God’s displeasure with its infidelity. Ezekiel was asked to eat bread baked on cow’s dung in order to forewarn the Israelites of the abomination of having to eat unclean food while in exile (Eze 4:12-15). God’s instruction to Isaiah was even more bizarre: He was asked to walk naked and barefoot through Jerusalem for 3 years! The prophet followed God’s order to a tee, not because he enjoyed exposing himself – God forbid! – but because he needed to convince the Judeans of their futile attempt to court the Egyptians and Ethiopians. These nations were bound to be defeated by the Assyrians and taken away as captives in their nakedness (Is. 20:3-6).

Given Jesus’ prophetic ministry and the way it works, it’s fair to conclude that there’s a deeper significance to Jesus’ destructive act in the cleansing of the temple. Just as Isaiah’s nakedness doesn’t make him a flasher; Jesus’ destructive act doesn’t make him a violent person. Both acts are prophetic, meant to communicate a prophetic message. In Jesus’ case, the message is to warn the Jews of the violent destruction of the temple (which happened in 70 A.D.). The temple is his body. The destruction of a temple made by human hands is the beginning of the new Temple in heaven. It’s a sign pointing to the Cross and the Resurrection. He himself is the new Temple, the Body of Christ, the Church. Through Christ, a new way of worshipping God is about to begin, when all peoples are gathered and united in the sacrament of his body and blood, worshipping God “in spirit and truth” (Jn 4:23, note 2).

Note 1: See Ignatius Catholic Study Bible New Testament on John 2:19.

Note 2: See Jesus of Nazareth – Holy Week, pp. 21-22.

Posted: March 7, 2021

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


Other Sunday Reflections

Will We Still Eat and Drink on Resurrection?
Does this mean our risen bodies will continue to live biologically? So many unanswered questions! Continue Reading >
How Jesus Deals with Our Failures
Jesus is the Lord of life, therefore, let’s look at how He resurrects life from our failures. Everyone knows that, when we fail, God forgives us and begins again, but… Continue Reading >
Did Jesus really rise from the dead?
On the third day, He rose again from the dead . . .” Continue Reading >

【主日聖言與反省】天主聖言是愛, 不是暴力

四旬期第三主日

出谷紀 20:1-17

那時候,天主發言,說了以下這一切話:「我是上主、你的天主,是我領你離開埃及、奴隸之所。「除我之外,你不可有別的神。「你不可製造任何彷彿天上、或地上、或地下水中之物的雕像。「不可叩拜這些像,也不可敬奉,因為我,上主、你的天主,是忌邪的天主;凡惱恨我的,我要追討他們的罪,從父親直到兒子,甚至三代四代的子孫。凡愛慕我,及遵守我誡命的,我要對他們廣施仁慈,直到他們的千代子孫。「不可妄呼上主、你天主的名字;因為凡妄呼他名字的人,上主決不讓他們免受懲罰。「應記住安息日,守為聖日。六天應該勞作,做你一切的事;但第七天是為恭敬上主、你的天主,當守的安息日;你自己、連你的兒女、你的僕婢、你的牲口,以及在你中間居住的外方人,都不可做任何工作。因為上主在六天內,造了天地、海洋和其中一切,但第七天休息了,因此,上主祝福了安息日,也定為聖日。「應孝敬你的父親和你的母親,好使你在上主、你的天主,賜給你的地方,延年益壽。「不可殺人。「不可姦淫。「不可偷盜。「不可作假見證,害你的近人。「不可貪你近人的房舍。「不可貪戀你近人的妻子、僕人、婢女、牛驢,及你近人的一切。」

格林多前書 1:22-25

弟兄姊妹們:的確,猶太人要求的,是神蹟;希臘人尋求的,是智慧;而我們所宣講的,卻是被釘在十字架上的基督。這為猶太人,固然是絆腳石;為外邦人,是愚妄;但為那些蒙召的,不拘是猶太人或希臘人,基督卻是天主的德能和天主的智慧;因為天主的愚妄總比人明智,天主的懦弱也總比人堅強。

若望福音 2:13-25

猶太人的逾越節近了,耶穌便上耶路撒冷。在殿院裡,耶穌看見賣牛、羊、鴿子的,及坐在錢莊上,兌換銀錢的人。耶穌於是用繩索做了一條鞭子,把眾人連羊帶牛,都從殿院趕出去,又傾倒了換錢者的銀錢,推翻了他們的桌子。耶穌對賣鴿子的人說:「把這些東西從這裡拿出去,不要使我父的殿宇成為商場。」耶穌的門徒就想起了經上記載的話:「我對你殿宇所懷的熱忱,把我耗盡。」猶太人便問耶穌說:「你顯什麼神蹟給我們看,證明你有權做這些事?」耶穌回答他們說:「你們拆毀這座聖殿,三天之內,我要把它重建起來。」猶太人就說:「這座聖殿建築了四十六年,你在三天之內,就能把它重建起來嗎?」但耶穌所說的聖所,是指他自己的身體。所以,當耶穌從死者中復活以後,耶穌的門徒就想起了耶穌曾說過這話,便相信了聖經,及耶穌說過的話。當耶穌在耶路撒冷過逾越節時,有許多人看見他所行的神蹟,便信從了他;耶穌卻不信任他們,因為他認識所有的人;他並不需要誰告訴他,人是怎樣的,因為他洞悉人的內心。

「主, 唯祢有永生的話」是本主日《聖詠》讀經的答句。聖詠經文取自我最喜愛的《聖詠》十九篇。

《聖詠》十九篇以一個美麗、意氣高昂的讚美開始,向天主偉大且會說話的受造物致意。會說話?對,天主的創造 — 太陽和月亮、日出和日落、花朵和樹木、山嶽和山谷 — 都會說話;用特別的言語來「宣揚他手的化工」;傳達知識和智慧的訊息;發出的聲音雖聽不到,但清晰響亮的共鳴卻「傳遍普世」(參照 詠 19:2-4)!《聖詠》作者頌揚的是天主的聖言;是「完善」、「忠誠」、「正直」的話語 (詠 19:8-10)。

之前在讀經一,天主和祂的神聖子民在西乃山上訂立盟約時,同一聖言在天主顯現中被隆重地頒布:由梅瑟—天主和祂子民的轉求者—傳遞;由以色列人領受,他們同聲承諾「凡上主所吩咐的話, 我們全要奉行」(出 24:3);被諭令為十誡 (Decalogue),文字表面上的意思是「十句話」, 或十條誡命 (天主教教理 2059-2060)。這愛的話語寫在兩塊石板上 :三句話在一塊,七句話在另一塊;「首三條針對愛天主,後七條針對愛近人」(天主教教理 2067)。

我經常想起我在多倫多「聖奧思定神學院」修讀一個舊約課程時,教授給我的教導。他說,希臘人在數字的世界中生活,但以色列人郤生活在話語中,是充滿動力和先知性的話語。話語對他們來說,等同我們的電力 ,能促使事情發生,而且不可或缺。在此刻,在閱讀了這麽多聖經之後,每一個有點氣息的讀者都可能會問,「究竟誰是這話語」?

若望在他撰寫的福音開章明義,直接了當地處理了這問題:「在起初已有聖言,聖言與天主同在,聖言就是天主」(若 1:1)。他更進一步確定,聖言就是降生成人的基督,祂「成了血肉,寄居在我們中間」(若 1:14)。但如果耶穌,天主的聖言,如《聖詠》讀經中所說,是「完善」、「忠誠」和「正直」;又如果十誡 – 「那十句愛的話語」– 也是源自祂;我們應怎樣理解這同一的天主聖言,在本主日福音中的暴力行為?耶穌所行的,無疑是暴力:「祂就用繩索做了一條鞭子,把眾人連羊帶牛,從殿院都趕出去,傾倒了換錢者的銀錢,推翻了他們的桌子」(若 2:15)。

我們得弄清楚。任何人若認為潔淨聖殿的故事的用意是把暴力合理化的話,是極度無知的。我們得面對這事實;福音中,耶穌的事工及訊息,全是關於仁愛、和平和謙遜的,若耶穌突然提倡暴力,會是一個激進的轉向。若讀者細讀《若望福音》這段記載的前文後理,不會看不到其最終的主題;就是說,聖殿是基督身體的標記,身體將被摧毀,而三天後會重建 – 意味著十字架及復活 (註一)。耶穌這樣為自己的行動解釋:「你們拆毀這座聖殿,三天之內,我要把它重建起來」(若 2:19)。

話雖如此,祂為何要以暴力來表達這神學的訊息?要真正了解耶穌的行為,我們應記著祂的先知使命和這使命的運作方式。如果我要挑選十個任何聖經讀者都要謹記的舊約允許,這個由梅瑟啓示的,會是其中一個:「上主你的天主,要由你中間,由你兄弟中,為你興起一位像我一樣的先知,你們應聽信他」(申 18:15)。原來,耶穌就是允許中的先知 – 先知中的先知。

我們可以說,舊約先知是很特別的一類人。他們被召叫去啟迪的,正好是那些不喜歡見到先知的人,如君王、政治領袖和宗教權威們。有時,為了要讓他們接收到準確的訊息,先知不惜去做異乎尋常的事。為向以色列人表示天主不滿他們的不忠信,歐瑟亞和一個娼婦結婚。為警告以色列人在流亡時會吃不潔的食物,天主要厄則克耳吃牛糞上烤的麵包 (厄 4:12-15)。天主給依撒意亞的指示更不可思議:他要裸體赤足而行,走遍耶路撒冷三年!這位先知按天主的命令而為,不是因為他喜歡暴露自己 – 絕對不是!– 而是他必須說服猶太人,企圖從埃及人和雇士人中尋求庇護是徒勞的。這些國家注定要被亞述人擊敗, 會赤身露體地被俘虜 (依 20:3-6)。

鑑於耶穌的先知使命及其運作的方式,我們可以作出一個持平的結論:耶穌在潔淨聖殿時的破壞性行為,具有更深層的意義。就如依撒意亞不因其赤身露體的行為而被視為露體狂,耶穌也不因其破壞性的行為而被視為一個暴力的人。兩個行為都是先知性的,為傳遞一個先知性的預言。耶穌是要警告猶太人聖殿將被摧毀 (發生在公元七十年)。聖殿是祂的身體。人手建造的聖殿被摧毀是天上新聖殿的開始,是指向十字架和復活的一個記號。祂自己就是那新的聖殿、基督的身體、教會。藉着基督,一個欽崇天主的新方式將要展開,全民將聚集和共融於祂的聖體聖血的聖事內,以「心神真理」來欽崇天主 (若 4:23, 註二)。

註一:參照《聖依納爵研習聖經》 若望福音 2:19。

註二: 參照 《納匝肋人耶穌》– 聖週, 21-22頁。

Posted: March 7, 2021

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


其他主日反省

乙年(馬爾谷) 四旬期第三主日:天主的誡命 吳智勳神父

我們今天所理解的十誡是基於出谷紀中的記載重新排列而成的,前三條是對天主,後七條是對人,但原文則是前四後六;原文中第十誡不准貪戀他人妻子和財物,亦被分析成今日的第九和第十誡。這些都是文字上的改動,無損原文的精神。以下讓我挑出幾項要點和大家談談。

繼續閱讀 >
改變我們的言辭,改變我們的愛 Fr. Justin Huang

我們來談談咒罵、褻瀆和粗俗的罪過吧。我們大多數人(不是所有人,但大多數人)都會同意這樣的語言大體上是錯誤的。你們誰也不在我身邊罵人。如果我說髒話你會有什麼感覺?吉米•坎摩爾(Jimmy Kimmel)播放了一段視頻,詢問孩子們是否知道任何令人不快的單詞,這對於我們的社會很有洞察力:一方面,當一個男孩咒罵時,人群會爆笑;另一方面,當另一個男孩使用非常貶損的單詞時,他們會感到震驚。所以,有一種衝突:我們覺得粗俗的語言是不對的,但也沒那麼糟糕。

繼續閱讀 >