Change Our Words, Change Our Love

Third Sunday of Lent

Exodus 20:1-17

In those days, God delivered all these commandments: "I, the LORD, am your God, who brought you out of the land of Egypt, that place of slavery. You shall not have other gods besides me. You shall not carve idols for yourselves in the shape of anything in the sky above or on the earth below or in the waters beneath the earth; you shall not bow down before them or worship them. For I, the LORD, your God, am a jealous God, inflicting punishment for their fathers' wickedness on the children of those who hate me, down to the third and fourth generation; but bestowing mercy down to the thousandth generation on the children of those who love me and keep my commandments. "You shall not take the name of the LORD, your God, in vain. For the LORD will not leave unpunished the one who takes his name in vain. "Remember to keep holy the sabbath day. Six days you may labor and do all your work, but the seventh day is the sabbath of the LORD, your God. No work may be done then either by you, or your son or daughter, or your male or female slave, or your beast, or by the alien who lives with you. In six days the Lord made the heavens and the earth, the sea and all that is in them; but on the seventh day he rested. That is why the LORD has blessed the sabbath day and made it holy. "Honor your father and your mother, that you may have a long life in the land which the LORD, your God, is giving you. You shall not kill. You shall not commit adultery. You shall not steal. You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor. You shall not covet your neighbor's house. You shall not covet your neighbor's wife, nor his male or female slave, nor his ox or ass, nor anything else that belongs to him."

1 Corinthians 1:22-25

Brothers and sisters: Jews demand signs and Greeks look for wisdom, but we proclaim Christ crucified, a stumbling block to Jews and foolishness to Gentiles, but to those who are called, Jews and Greeks alike, Christ the power of God and the wisdom of God. For the foolishness of God is wiser than human wisdom, and the weakness of God is stronger than human strength.

John 2:13-25

Since the Passover of the Jews was near, Jesus went up to Jerusalem. He found in the temple area those who sold oxen, sheep, and doves, as well as the money changers seated there. He made a whip out of cords and drove them all out of the temple area, with the sheep and oxen, and spilled the coins of the money changers and overturned their tables, and to those who sold doves he said, "Take these out of here, and stop making my Father's house a marketplace." His disciples recalled the words of Scripture, Zeal for your house will consume me. At this the Jews answered and said to him, "What sign can you show us for doing this?" Jesus answered and said to them, "Destroy this temple and in three days I will raise it up." The Jews said, "This temple has been under construction for forty-six years, and you will raise it up in three days?" But he was speaking about the temple of his body. Therefore, when he was raised from the dead, his disciples remembered that he had said this, and they came to believe the Scripture and the word Jesus had spoken. While he was in Jerusalem for the feast of Passover, many began to believe in his name when they saw the signs he was doing. But Jesus would not trust himself to them because he knew them all, and did not need anyone to testify about human nature. He himself understood it well.

[Watch Fr. Justin’s homily delivery here.]
https://youtu.be/psRutQvS0tI

Let’s talk about the sins of cursing, profanity, and vulgarity.

Most of us (not all, but most) would agree that such language is generally wrong. None of you swears around me. How would you feel if I swore? There’s a video by Jimmy Kimmel asking if children know any naughty words, and it’s insightful regarding our society: On one hand, the crowd cheers when a boy swears; on the other, they’re shocked when another boy uses a very disparaging word (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zufXMf8upgI). So, there’s a tension: We feel vulgar language isn’t right, but it’s not that bad.

For me, the key motivation to eliminate all vulgar language from my vocabulary came when a man here asked if Jesus would use such language. Previously, I held that vulgar language would be acceptable to describe a horrendous situation. For example, there’s a tragic murder, and so expressing our shock with, let’s say, the F-bomb, would be justified. But then I realized: Jesus didn’t do this, even on the Cross.

Many of us still use poor language because: 1) We haven’t really thought about it; 2) Almost everyone does it; 3) It’s the culture of our friends or workplace; 4) It’s a habit; 5) It’s not that bad; 6) As long as young children don’t hear, it’s okay.

The First Reading gives us the Ten Commandments. The Second reads, “You shall not make wrongful use of the name of the Lord your God, for the Lord will not acquit anyone who misuses his name” (Ex 20:7). The Catechism teaches this means respect for God’s name. To make fun of someone’s name is to make fun of them. God reveals His name in Scripture to those who believe in and love Him. Think about that: Some of our friends who believe in God don’t know His name. In Exodus, God tells us that His name is, “I AM WHO I AM” (Ex 3:14), because He is existence itself. And when He became man, He took another name, Jesus. The Catechism says, “‘The Lord’s name is holy.’ For this reason man must not abuse it. He must keep it in mind in silent, loving adoration. He will not introduce it into his own speech except to bless, praise, and glorify it” (2143).

So, saying things like, “Oh my God,” or using Jesus’ name flippantly, as we often hear in movies, is wrong, and is a venial sin. However, the reliable moral theologian, Germain Grisez, says that the casual use of God’s name is not blasphemy, but irreverence. Most people, when they misuse His name, don’t mean to insult Him, which is why it’s venial. If we were to try deliberately to insult God or speak words of hatred towards Him, that would be grave matter (Germain Grisez, Living a Christian Life, 67).

In the same way, cursing other people, as in saying, “Go to hell!” without really meaning it, is venial. And vulgar language, the words that videos often bleep out, is venial.

Now look at the Gospel, please, and consider three further points about respect for God. Jesus goes to the Temple, sees people selling cattle, sheep, and doves, and exchanging money. He makes a whip of cords, drives out the people and the animals, and flips tables. Why?

First, He says, “Take these things out of here! Stop making my Father’s house a marketplace” (Jn 2:16). The Temple was a place to worship God, and the larger Court of the Gentiles, shown here (https://holylandphotos.files.wordpress.com/2016/08/templebuildinguse.jpg), was the place where non-Jewish people could pray to the one true God—this was where people were buying and selling animals! Jesus was furious because His own people were showing no respect for the place where all the nations were invited to come and pray. He says in St. Mark’s Gospel, “Is it not written: ‘My house shall be called a house of prayer for all the nations’?” (11:17). Based on these words, Pope Benedict XVI wrote that the fundamental purpose for Jesus’ cleansing the Temple was to remove obstacles to the worship of God (Jesus of Nazareth, Part 2, 18).

So, is our language impeding others from coming to God? When we swear, we are impeding evangelization, that is, some people coming to know Jesus, because they can see our hypocrisy. If we’re rude in our texts, emails, or posts, people see that we don’t live by a higher standard. Many of us come from cultures where it’s normal to say, “Oh God!” but people will see it’s not important to us. The people on our 11:02 prayer cards need us to speak better. I’d encourage you to think about doing the 11:02 prayer again as we get ready for Alpha after Easter on April 25.

Second, right after Jesus gives this explanation, the Gospel records, “His disciples remembered that it was written, ‘Zeal for your house will consume me’” (Jn 2:17). Pope Benedict says that when we’re zealous for God, it leads to isolation (22). If we choose not to swear, we will be different. Sometimes it seems that only weak people, that is, goody two shoes don’t swear because they can’t handle anything unpleasant. But real strength comes from doing what’s right, even when everyone else does differently, and not cowering in front of other people who swear. So, be a saint, and don’t be intimidated by those who swear. If you stay strong, people will respect you for it.

Third, Pope Benedict points out that zeal means self-giving love. For me, this is the most beautiful part of today’s reflection. If we’re zealous for God, our words will change. What if we were only allowed to speak when it was good for other people, that is, words of affirmation, encouragement, or even challenge? Language and love go together. When language changes, love changes.

Here’s our simple challenge today: How should our language improve?

As we’re still in our Lenten desert experience, let’s end with quotes about three desert fathers, men in Egypt from the second to fourth centuries who completely abandoned the world to follow Christ, and went to extremes to purify their hearts, including guarding everything that came out of their mouths. 1) St. Pambo said, “By the grace of God, since I have left the world, I have not said one word of which I repented afterwards.” 2) Abba Anoub said, “Since the day when the name of Christ was invoked upon me, no lie has come out of my mouth.” 3) And it was said of Abba Or that “he never lied, nor swore, nor hurt anyone, nor spoke without necessity” (Douglas Burton-Christie, The Word in the Desert, 146). Change our words, change our love.

Source: The JustMeasure – Change Our Words, Change Our Love (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2021/03/07/change-our-words-change-our-love/)

Posted: March 7, 2021

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


Other Sunday Reflections

“You do not know what you are asking” (Mk 10:38)
By this time in his ministry, Jesus has foretold three times his own Death and Resurrection to the apostles. The last prediction is the most detailed, specifying that his death… Continue Reading >
Too hard a demand from Jesus?
This Sunday's Gospel reading is one of the many hard sayings of Jesus. It is about renunciation - first, of material possessions and second, of relations (rf Mk 10:23, 29).… Continue Reading >
Our Bodies Are Good
A few weeks ago, some students in our school asked me if Catholics should support the LGBTQ movement—it’s wonderful that they spoke about what was really on their minds. I… Continue Reading >

改變我們的言辭,改變我們的愛

四旬期第三主日

出谷紀 20:1-17

那時候,天主發言,說了以下這一切話:「我是上主、你的天主,是我領你離開埃及、奴隸之所。「除我之外,你不可有別的神。「你不可製造任何彷彿天上、或地上、或地下水中之物的雕像。「不可叩拜這些像,也不可敬奉,因為我,上主、你的天主,是忌邪的天主;凡惱恨我的,我要追討他們的罪,從父親直到兒子,甚至三代四代的子孫。凡愛慕我,及遵守我誡命的,我要對他們廣施仁慈,直到他們的千代子孫。「不可妄呼上主、你天主的名字;因為凡妄呼他名字的人,上主決不讓他們免受懲罰。「應記住安息日,守為聖日。六天應該勞作,做你一切的事;但第七天是為恭敬上主、你的天主,當守的安息日;你自己、連你的兒女、你的僕婢、你的牲口,以及在你中間居住的外方人,都不可做任何工作。因為上主在六天內,造了天地、海洋和其中一切,但第七天休息了,因此,上主祝福了安息日,也定為聖日。「應孝敬你的父親和你的母親,好使你在上主、你的天主,賜給你的地方,延年益壽。「不可殺人。「不可姦淫。「不可偷盜。「不可作假見證,害你的近人。「不可貪你近人的房舍。「不可貪戀你近人的妻子、僕人、婢女、牛驢,及你近人的一切。」

格林多前書 1:22-25

弟兄姊妹們:的確,猶太人要求的,是神蹟;希臘人尋求的,是智慧;而我們所宣講的,卻是被釘在十字架上的基督。這為猶太人,固然是絆腳石;為外邦人,是愚妄;但為那些蒙召的,不拘是猶太人或希臘人,基督卻是天主的德能和天主的智慧;因為天主的愚妄總比人明智,天主的懦弱也總比人堅強。

若望福音 2:13-25

猶太人的逾越節近了,耶穌便上耶路撒冷。在殿院裡,耶穌看見賣牛、羊、鴿子的,及坐在錢莊上,兌換銀錢的人。耶穌於是用繩索做了一條鞭子,把眾人連羊帶牛,都從殿院趕出去,又傾倒了換錢者的銀錢,推翻了他們的桌子。耶穌對賣鴿子的人說:「把這些東西從這裡拿出去,不要使我父的殿宇成為商場。」耶穌的門徒就想起了經上記載的話:「我對你殿宇所懷的熱忱,把我耗盡。」猶太人便問耶穌說:「你顯什麼神蹟給我們看,證明你有權做這些事?」耶穌回答他們說:「你們拆毀這座聖殿,三天之內,我要把它重建起來。」猶太人就說:「這座聖殿建築了四十六年,你在三天之內,就能把它重建起來嗎?」但耶穌所說的聖所,是指他自己的身體。所以,當耶穌從死者中復活以後,耶穌的門徒就想起了耶穌曾說過這話,便相信了聖經,及耶穌說過的話。當耶穌在耶路撒冷過逾越節時,有許多人看見他所行的神蹟,便信從了他;耶穌卻不信任他們,因為他認識所有的人;他並不需要誰告訴他,人是怎樣的,因為他洞悉人的內心。

(本篇譯稿為黃謙善神父主日講道,若內容有不一致的情況,一概以英文原稿, http://thejustmeasure.ca/2021/03/07/change-our-words-change-our-love/, 為準。)

[黃神父主日講道視頻 (英語)]
https://youtu.be/psRutQvS0tI

我們來談談咒罵、褻瀆和粗俗的罪過吧。

我們大多數人(不是所有人,但大多數人)都會同意這樣的語言大體上是錯誤的。你們誰也不在我身邊罵人。如果我說髒話你會有什麼感覺?吉米•坎摩爾(Jimmy Kimmel)播放了一段視頻,詢問孩子們是否知道任何令人不快的單詞,這對於我們的社會很有洞察力:一方面,當一個男孩咒罵時,人群會爆笑;另一方面,當另一個男孩使用非常貶損的單詞時(https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zufXMf8upgI).,他們會感到震驚。所以,有一種衝突:我們覺得粗俗的語言是不對的,但也沒那麼糟糕。

對我來說,從我的詞彙表中消除所有粗俗語言的關鍵動力是,這裡的一個人問耶穌是否會使用這樣的語言。以前,我曾認為用粗俗的語言來描述可怕的情況是可以接受的。例如,有一起悲慘的謀殺案,所以用,比如「F-字」來表達我們的震驚, 還算是是合理的。但後來我意識到:耶穌沒有這樣做,甚至在十字架上也沒有。

我們中的許多人仍然使用糟糕的語言,因為:1)我們沒有真正考慮過;2)幾乎每個人都這麼做;3)這是我們朋友或工作場所的文化;4)這是一種習慣; 5)沒有那麼糟糕;6)只要小孩子聽不到,沒關係。

第一篇讀經給了我們十誡。第二誡寫道:「不可妄呼上主你天主的名;因為凡妄呼他名的人,上主決不讓他們免受懲罰。」 (出20:7) 天主教教理教導這意味著尊重上主的名。取笑某人的名字就是取笑他本人。天主在聖經中將祂的名啟示給那些相信和愛祂的人。想想看:我們有些相信上主的朋友不知道他祂的名字。在「出谷記」中,上主告訴我們祂的名字是「自有者」(出3:14),因為祂就是「存在」本身。當祂降生成人的時候,取了另一個名字—-耶穌。教理說:「上主的名是聖的」。因此,人不能濫用上主的名。人應以敬愛朝拜的靜默,把上主的名保守在心中。不應該在自己說話時輕易提起上主的名,除非為了祝福、讚美、光榮祂。 」(2143)。

因此,像我們在電影中經常聽到的那樣,說“Oh my God”或輕率地使用耶穌的名字是錯誤的,是小罪。然而,可靠的道德神學家Germain Grisez說,隨意使用上主的名字不是褻瀆,而是不敬。大多數人,當他們誤用祂的名字時,並不是有意侮辱祂,這就是為什麼這是小罪。如果我們故意侮辱上主或對祂說仇恨的話,那將是一件嚴重的事情(Germain Grisez, Living a Christian Life, 67).

同樣的,咒罵別人,比如說,「Go to hell! (見鬼去吧!)」沒有真正的意思,是小罪。而粗俗的語言,也就是視頻中經常用的字眼,是小罪。

現在請看福音,進一步考慮尊重上主的三點。耶穌來到聖殿,看到人們在賣牛、羊和鴿子,還在兌換貨幣。他用繩子打鞭子,把人和動物趕走,還翻轉桌子。為什麼?

首先,祂說: 「給賣鴿子的人說:『把這些東西從這裡拿出去,不要使我父的殿宇成為商場。』」 (若2:16)。聖殿是一個崇拜上主的地方,外邦人的大廷院,是非猶太人可以向唯一的真天主祈禱的地方(https://holylandphotos.files.wordpress.com/2016/08/templebuildinguse.jpg), —-前面卻是人們買賣牲畜的場所!耶穌大發雷霆,因為這是所有民族都被邀請前來祈禱的地方,祂自己的子民卻沒有表現出對這個地方的尊重。他在聖馬爾谷福音中說:「經上不是記載:『我的殿宇將稱為萬民的祈禱之所』麼?」 (11:17) 根據這些話,教宗本篤十六世寫道,耶穌清洗聖殿的根本目的是消除崇拜上主的障礙。 (Jesus of Nazareth, Part 2, 18)

那麼,我們的言語是不是阻礙了別人來見上主呢?當我們說髒話的時候,我們是在阻礙傳福音,也就是阻礙有些人認識耶穌,因為他們能看到我們的虛偽。如果我們在短信、電子郵件或帖子中粗魯無禮,人們會發現我們沒有按照更高的標準生活。我們中的許多人都來自這樣一種文化,在那裡說「Oh God! (天哪!)」是很正常的。但人們會發現這對我們並不重要。我們「11:02」祈禱卡上的人需要我們說得更好。我鼓勵你在4月25日復活節後為「啟發Alpha」做準備的時候,考慮一下再做「11:02」的祈禱吧。

第二,在耶穌給出這個解釋之後,福音記錄說:「祂的門徒就想起了經上記載的:『我對你殿宇所懷的熱忱,把我耗盡』的話。」(若2: 17)。教宗本篤十六世說,當我們熱心於上主時,就會導致孤立(22)。如果我們選擇不咒罵人,我們就會表現出不同。有時候,似乎只有弱者,也就是善良的「好好先生」才不罵人,因為他們無能處理任何不愉快的事情。但真正的力量來自於做正確的事情,即使與其他人做的有所不同,而不是在其他咒罵人的人面前畏縮。所以,做一個聖人,不要與罵人的人同流合污。如果你保持堅強,人們會因此而尊敬你。

第三,教宗本篤十六世(Pope Benedict)指出,熱情(Zeal)意味著無私奉獻的愛。對我來說,這是今天反思中最美的部分。如果我們熱心於上主,我們的話就會改變。如果我們只能在對他人有利的情況下發言,說那些肯定的、鼓勵性的、甚至挑戰的話,那會怎麼樣?言語和愛是相伴而生的。言語變了,愛也變了。

這是我們今天的簡單挑戰:應該如何提高我們的言語?

因為我們還在四旬期的沙曠野經歷中,讓我們引用三位早期曠野教父的話來結束我們的講道,他們是公元2世紀到4世紀的埃及人,他們完全拋棄了世俗,跟隨基督,達到極致來淨化他們的心靈,包括守護他們嘴裡說出的一切。 1)聖潘博St. Pambo說:「賴上主的恩典,自我離開這個俗世以來,我沒有說過一句事後我後悔的話。」阿巴阿努布Abba Anoub說:「自從基督的名被用於我身上的那一天起,再也沒有謊言從我的嘴裡說出。」3)關於阿巴Abba Or,有人說:「他從來沒有撒謊,也沒有詛咒,也沒有傷害過任何人,也沒有說過沒有必要的話。」(Douglas Burton-Christie, The Word in the Desert, 146) 。

改變我們的言辭,改變我們的愛。

Posted: March 7, 2021

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


其他主日反省

【主日聖言與反省】天主聖言是愛, 不是暴力 Edmond Lo

就如依撒意亞不因其赤身露體的行為而被視為露體狂,耶穌也不因其破壞性的行為而被視為一個暴力的人。

繼續閱讀 >
乙年(馬爾谷) 四旬期第三主日:天主的誡命 吳智勳神父

我們今天所理解的十誡是基於出谷紀中的記載重新排列而成的,前三條是對天主,後七條是對人,但原文則是前四後六;原文中第十誡不准貪戀他人妻子和財物,亦被分析成今日的第九和第十誡。這些都是文字上的改動,無損原文的精神。以下讓我挑出幾項要點和大家談談。

繼續閱讀 >