Forgive and You Shall Be Forgiven

Twenty-fourth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Sirach 27:30-28:7

Wrath and anger are hateful things, yet the sinner hugs them tight. The vengeful will suffer the LORD's vengeance, for he remembers their sins in detail. Forgive your neighbor's injustice; then when you pray, your own sins will be forgiven. Could anyone nourish anger against another and expect healing from the LORD? Could anyone refuse mercy to another like himself, can he seek pardon for his own sins? If one who is but flesh cherishes wrath, who will forgive his sins? Remember your last days, set enmity aside; remember death and decay, and cease from sin! Think of the commandments, hate not your neighbor; remember the Most High's covenant, and overlook faults.

Romans 14:7-9

Brothers and sisters: None of us lives for oneself, and no one dies for oneself. For if we live, we live for the Lord, and if we die, we die for the Lord; so then, whether we live or die, we are the Lord's. For this is why Christ died and came to life, that he might be Lord of both the dead and the living.

Matthew 18:21-35

Peter approached Jesus and asked him, "Lord, if my brother sins against me, how often must I forgive? As many as seven times?" Jesus answered, "I say to you, not seven times but seventy-seven times. That is why the kingdom of heaven may be likened to a king who decided to settle accounts with his servants. When he began the accounting, a debtor was brought before him who owed him a huge amount. Since he had no way of paying it back, his master ordered him to be sold, along with his wife, his children, and all his property, in payment of the debt. At that, the servant fell down, did him homage, and said, 'Be patient with me, and I will pay you back in full.' Moved with compassion the master of that servant let him go and forgave him the loan. When that servant had left, he found one of his fellow servants who owed him a much smaller amount. He seized him and started to choke him, demanding, 'Pay back what you owe.' Falling to his knees, his fellow servant begged him, 'Be patient with me, and I will pay you back.' But he refused. Instead, he had the fellow servant put in prison until he paid back the debt. Now when his fellow servants saw what had happened, they were deeply disturbed, and went to their master and reported the whole affair. His master summoned him and said to him, 'You wicked servant! I forgave you your entire debt because you begged me to. Should you not have had pity on your fellow servant, as I had pity on you?' Then in anger his master handed him over to the torturers until he should pay back the whole debt. So will my heavenly Father do to you, unless each of you forgives your brother from your heart."

Imagine bringing with you an order of steaks from the Keg and a Swiss Chalet Rotisserie chicken to visit a friend who is known to be a life-long vegetarian. Do you think your vegetarian friend would happily receive you and your meaty meals? Probably not. In fact, you can’t blame him if he takes offence at what you do. The problem with the behavior in this imaginary case is that it is both inconsiderate and disrespectful. It’s a complete disregard for your vegetarian friend’s needs and lifestyle – almost a slap in the face.

The irony is that the same offence that we will take every precaution not to commit against anyone out of respect for people is somehow being committed by us against God again and again!

We know very well Jesus’ teaching is for us to forgive. In this Sunday’s gospel, Jesus asks Peter to forgive people “seventy-seven times”, which means limitless forgiveness and mercy (Mt. 18:21-22, see Ignatius Catholic Study Bible). Earlier in the same gospel of Matthew, he reminds us that we cannot come into God’s presence unreconciled with people, be they our friends or enemies (cf. Mt 5:23-26). And yet most of the time, unreconciled are our hearts when we come before God. We are constantly holding grudges against people whom we think have wronged us. It’s like we just can’t help ourselves. Sometimes we basically choose to conveniently forget Jesus’ teaching, and refuse to let go of the resentments in our hearts. Our offence against Jesus in this regard is very similar to the behavior in the above-mentioned imaginary case. It’s a complete disregard for his position – a defiant, in-your-face offence.

Although this goes completely against God’s teaching, we don’t seem to be bothered by our disrespectful and defiant behavior. (Talk about hardness of heart!) We continue to go about our business in God’s presence – praying, worshipping, participating in liturgies, even receiving communion – acting nonchalant and pretending our unforgiving hearts somehow don’t really matter to God.

This is actually quite absurd to think about it. But it’s also very real. I remember witnessing in church a person who turned around to swear at the little boy behind her for pushing her while waiting in line for communion. The poor little child could only recoil in fear and sought protection from his mom. Satisfied that she had taught the unruly little boy a lesson, the irate woman then turned around toward the eucharistic minister, crossed herself and “peacefully” entered into communion with Christ and the Church. How ironic or, shall we say, comical! She might not realize the little boy, whom she scolded mercilessly, and his mom were just as much a part of the Church communion that she had just entered into through the Eucharist as she was.

In recalling this unpleasant incident, I realize how incredibly forgiving God is – just like the master in Jesus’ parable. As mentioned in the responsorial Psalm, “The Lord is kind and merciful, slow to anger, and rich in compassion” (Ps 103:8). It also helps me to truly understand how incredibly unforgiving we are – just like the servant in Jesus’ parable. Whatever it was that this angry woman could not forgive – perhaps the child’s crankiness, perhaps her dress was made dirty when the child pushed her – it couldn’t have been more serious than her own sins which Jesus had already forgiven generously. No wonder Jesus warns us not to see the splinter in a person’s eye and, at the same time, fail to notice the wooden beam in our own eye (cf. Mt 7:3)!

Posted: September 13, 2020

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


Other Sunday Reflections

Where do I stand in response to God’s invitation
This Sunday Gospel reading shows that one can and should stand before God, individually, and assume spiritual responsibility. It confronts each of us with a big question, “Where do I… Continue Reading >
“[A]re you envious because I am generous?” (Mt 20:15)
Let us free ourselves from our presumptions, so that God’s big picture, beyond the limited reality we can perceive with our eyes, can be made visible to our heart. Continue Reading >
Envy
Some of you might have enjoyed the movie Parasite, a Korean film that won last year’s Academy award for best picture. The film is very well acted and well made,… Continue Reading >

寬恕別人,你也會得到寬恕

常年期第二十四主日

德訓篇 27:33-28:9

憤恨與惱怒,兩者都是可憎惡的,但罪人卻堅持不放。凡報仇的,必要遭到上主的報復,上主必要保留他的罪。你要寬恕你近人的過錯;這樣,當你祈求時,你的罪惡,也會得到赦免。人如果對人懷恨,怎能向上主求饒呢?對自己同類的人,沒有慈愛,又怎能為自己的罪過求寬赦呢?他既是血肉之人,竟然懷恨不休,而求天主赦罪,誰會赦免他的罪呢?你要記得最後的結局,而停止仇恨;你要記得腐爛與死亡,而遵照誡命生活。你要記得天主的誡命,不要向人發怒;你要記得至高者的盟約,寬恕別人的過錯。

羅馬書 14:7-9

弟兄姊妹們: 我們中沒有一人,是為自己而生的,也沒有一人,是為自己而死的;因為我們或者生,是為主而生,或者死,是為主而死;所以我們或生或死,都是屬於主。因為基督死而復生了,正是為作生者和死者的主。

瑪竇福音 18:21-35

那時候,伯多祿前來,對耶穌說:「主啊!如果我的弟兄得罪了我,我該寬恕他多少次?直到七次嗎?」耶穌對他說:「我不是對你說:直到七次,而是到七十個七次。「為此,天國好比一個君王,要同他的僕人算賬。他開始算賬的時候,有人帶來了一個欠他一萬『塔冷通』的僕人,因那僕人沒有錢可償還,主人就下令,要他把自己和妻子兒女,以及他所有的一切,都變賣來還債。那僕人就俯伏在地,叩拜他主人,說:主啊!寬容我吧!一切我都要還給你。那僕人的主人,就動心,把他釋放了,並且也寬免了他的債。「但那僕人正出去時,遇見了一個欠他一百『德納』的同伴,那僕人就抓住他,扼住他的喉嚨,說:還清你所欠的債!他的同伴就俯伏在地,哀求他說:寬容我吧!我必還給你。可是那僕人不願意,且把他的同伴關在監裡,直到他還清了所欠的債。「那僕人的其他同伴,見到所發生的事,非常悲憤,就去把所發生的一切,告訴了主人。於是,主人把那僕人叫來,對他說:惡僕!因為你哀求了我,我就寬免了你的一切債項;難道你不該憐憫你的同伴,如同我憐憫了你一樣嗎?「於是,主人大怒,把他交給刑役,直到他還清所欠的一切。「如果你們各人,不從心裡寬恕自己的弟兄,我的天父,也要這樣對待你們。」

試想像一下,你去一個大家都知道是一輩子吃素的朋友家作客,帶著一份 The Keg 的牛排和 Swiss Chalet 的燒雞。你的朋友會很開心地接待你和接收你帶來的葷菜嗎?大概不會吧。實際上,就算你朋友覺得被你的做法冒犯,你也不能怪他。這虛構個案中的行為,既不體諒又不尊重別人。完全不顧你那素食朋友的生活方式和需要 — 幾乎是給了人家一個耳光。

諷刺的是,我們平時出於對人的尊重,小心翼翼不犯,以免得罪人的過錯,在天主面前,我們卻一次又一次地犯,去得罪祂!

耶穌教導我們要寬恕,我們都很清楚。在今個主日的福音,耶穌要求伯多祿寬恕人「七十個七次」,意思是無窮的寬恕及慈悲 (瑪 18:21-22, 另參 Ignatius Catholic Study Bible)。《瑪竇福音》在此之前的章節,耶穌提醒我們,我們若沒有同人修好,無論是朋友或敵人,我們不能進入天主的臨在 (參 瑪 5:23-26)。然而,很多時候,來到天主面前,我們的心並未與人修和。對於那些我們認為是對自己不起的人,我們不斷心懷怨恨。好像身不由己一樣。有時,我們基本上選擇忘記耶穌的教誨,拒絕拋開心中怨憤。這樣得罪耶穌,與上述想像個案中的行為非常相似。完全無視祂的立場,而且是毫不顧忌,當面的藐視。

儘管這完全違背了天主的教導,但似乎我們並沒有為自己不敬和違抗的行為感到困擾。(心硬就是如此!)上,我們繼續若無其事地在天主的臨在中生活 — 禱告、敬拜、參加聖祭禮儀,甚至領聖體 — 安然自若,假裝天主不會介意自己那顆不寬恕別人的心。

試仔細想想,這其實是頗為荒謬的,但同時也很真實。有一次在聖堂排隊領聖體時,我看見一位教友,轉身痛駡她後面的小男孩,說小孩在後面推她。可憐的小孩只能害怕地躲起來,尋求媽媽的庇護。覺得教訓了這不守規矩的小孩以後,這怒氣沖沖的女士轉身面向送聖體員,劃十字聖號後,「平安地」領受聖體,進入基督及教會的共融中。這是如此諷刺,或者應該說,漫畫化的一幕!她可能沒想到,其實這被她痛駡的小孩和他的母親,就如她自己一般,都是她剛才藉聖體聖事而進入的共融的一部份。

在回想這不愉快的事件時,我意識到天主的寬仁確是不能置信的 — 就像在耶穌比喻中的主人一樣。猶如《答唱詠》中提到:「上主富於仁慈寬恕,極其慈悲,遲於發怒。」(詠 103:8)。這也有助於我真正明白,我們的不寬仁,又是如何地不能置信— 就像耶穌比喻中的僕人一樣。無論那位憤怒的女士不能原諒的是什麼 — 或許是小孩任性、或是小孩推她的時候弄髒了她的衣服 — 小孩所犯的,一定比不上她自己曾犯而被耶穌寬恕了的罪。怪不得耶穌警告我們,不要只留意別人眼中的木屑,而同時忽視自己眼中的大樑 (參 瑪 7:3) !

Posted: September 13, 2020

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


其他主日反省

甲年(瑪竇) 常年期第廿四主日:不寬恕的荒謬 吳智勳神父

這星期福音讀經的主題是寬恕。故事甚簡單,由伯多祿的問題引起——問耶穌該寬恕兄弟多少次。耶穌以比喻作答,要求我們寬恕弟兄如同天父寬恕我們一樣。這個看來簡單的比喻,除非細加反省,否則難以入心。

繼續閱讀 >
當想到別人所犯的罪過時,先想一下我們的罪 Fr. Jusin Huang

你可能還記得一年半前關於寬恕的這兩個簡單的想法:一位神學院教授曾經告訴我們一個女人的丈夫犯下了通姦的罪行。她去尋求心理輔導,分享了她的故事和痛苦,但直到醫生親切地問她,「你要永遠保持憤怒嗎?」治療才開始。

繼續閱讀 >