Think of Our Sins Before the Sins of Others

Twenty-fourth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Sirach 27:30-28:7

Wrath and anger are hateful things, yet the sinner hugs them tight. The vengeful will suffer the LORD's vengeance, for he remembers their sins in detail. Forgive your neighbor's injustice; then when you pray, your own sins will be forgiven. Could anyone nourish anger against another and expect healing from the LORD? Could anyone refuse mercy to another like himself, can he seek pardon for his own sins? If one who is but flesh cherishes wrath, who will forgive his sins? Remember your last days, set enmity aside; remember death and decay, and cease from sin! Think of the commandments, hate not your neighbor; remember the Most High's covenant, and overlook faults.

Romans 14:7-9

Brothers and sisters: None of us lives for oneself, and no one dies for oneself. For if we live, we live for the Lord, and if we die, we die for the Lord; so then, whether we live or die, we are the Lord's. For this is why Christ died and came to life, that he might be Lord of both the dead and the living.

Matthew 18:21-35

Peter approached Jesus and asked him, "Lord, if my brother sins against me, how often must I forgive? As many as seven times?" Jesus answered, "I say to you, not seven times but seventy-seven times. That is why the kingdom of heaven may be likened to a king who decided to settle accounts with his servants. When he began the accounting, a debtor was brought before him who owed him a huge amount. Since he had no way of paying it back, his master ordered him to be sold, along with his wife, his children, and all his property, in payment of the debt. At that, the servant fell down, did him homage, and said, 'Be patient with me, and I will pay you back in full.' Moved with compassion the master of that servant let him go and forgave him the loan. When that servant had left, he found one of his fellow servants who owed him a much smaller amount. He seized him and started to choke him, demanding, 'Pay back what you owe.' Falling to his knees, his fellow servant begged him, 'Be patient with me, and I will pay you back.' But he refused. Instead, he had the fellow servant put in prison until he paid back the debt. Now when his fellow servants saw what had happened, they were deeply disturbed, and went to their master and reported the whole affair. His master summoned him and said to him, 'You wicked servant! I forgave you your entire debt because you begged me to. Should you not have had pity on your fellow servant, as I had pity on you?' Then in anger his master handed him over to the torturers until he should pay back the whole debt. So will my heavenly Father do to you, unless each of you forgives your brother from your heart."

You may remember these two simple ideas from a year and a half ago about forgiveness: A seminary professor once told us about a woman whose husband committed adultery. She went for counselling, shared her story and pain, but the healing only started when the doctor lovingly asked her, “Are you going to stay angry forever?”

Second, a priest once shared that every time we refuse to forgive, we’re the ones who hurt ourselves. Whatever harm people did to us is in the past, but every time we refuse to forgive, we hurt ourselves again (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2019/02/24/how-to-forgive-our-enemies/).

The First Reading from the Book of Sirach says, “Anger and wrath, these… are abominations, yet a sinner holds on to them” (27:30). That’s how many of us are: We think a lot about what others have done to us and sometimes our hurt and anger consume us. But the reading continues: “Does anyone harbor anger against another, and expect healing from the Lord?” (28:3). That’s what God the Father wants for us today: healing.

We’re going to focus on an attitude that will facilitate forgiveness and therefore healing, and it’s remembering our own sins. This is part of what the Gospel presents: Jesus gives a parable about a man who owes a king an exorbitant amount and which he could never possibly pay. The king forgives him, but then this man won’t forgive his fellow slave a lesser amount. The lesson to which Jesus draws our attention is that God forgives us our sins and so we must forgive others.

I’m a sensitive person and have a natural temperament that makes it hard for me to forgive; I remember almost all the pain that people cause me. But every time I remember my greatest sins, this gives me the proper perspective to view people’s sins against me!

I’ve divided my life into three phases of sins: I think about the stupid, sinful things I did as a teenager after my conversion because that’s when I started to know better what was clearly right and wrong; then I think about the sinful things I did when I was in the seminary; worst of all, I think about my sins during my priesthood. I wrote these sins down as a spiritual exercise, and it was extremely embarrassing.

Now, when I think of other people’s sins against me, I think of my sins and my perspective changes significantly. When I’m hurt, I always ask myself, “How could they do that? Why do they keep on doing that? They know better.” Now I realize that they’re weak, just as I am; they keep on doing the same sins, just as I did; they do it even though they know better, just as I knew better.

It’s true that some sins are objectively more damaging than others. For example, our spouse cheated on us, but we’ve never cheated on them. However, our perspective needs to be complete: We need to know how wrong their sins are, but also need to be aware of our own sinfulness, in order to forgive and be as fair as possible. Keep in mind these four truths:

1) We may not have done horrible sins like others, but we’ve still had a similar attitude towards sin as they did. Remember Christopher West’s insight two weeks ago (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2020/08/30/five-ways-god-expands-our-horizons/)? He overheard a date rape and realized that, while he had never done anything that bad, he had still used women sexually. Our sins may not have been as bad, but by remembering them, we realize that we have had the same attitude of violating our conscience and disregarding the good of other people.

2) Haven’t we all committed sins where we absolutely knew better? If we knew better, why did we still do them? These two questions will help us understand why people have done evil towards us.

3) Someone once asked St. Francis of Assisi how he could call himself the greatest sinner. He answered, “If God had bestowed on the greatest sinner the favours he has done me, he would have been more grateful than I am; and if he had left me to myself, I should have committed greater wickedness than all other sinners” (https://www.bartleby.com/210/10/041.html). Think about all the graces you’ve been given and how many you’ve wasted. The only reason you haven’t done greater sins is because of God’s grace.

4) The point of Jesus’ parable today is that none of us can pay back God the Father for our sins, yet He still forgives us. And we’re able to release our neighbour of their debt to us. None of us deserves God’s mercy and yet He offers it. Shouldn’t we also offer mercy to others?

When we pray the Our Father, we say, “Forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us.” “Our petition for forgiveness will not be heard unless we have first met a strict requirement” (CCC 2838). Jesus draws out the lesson today that if we don’t forgive other people what they’ve done to us, God the Father will not forgive us. It’s a matter of justice.

If we’re suffering from hurt, anger, or wrath at what people have done to us, I’d like to ask you to try this exercise when you’re ready: Write down on paper or on your phone your worst sins in life, especially the ones where you knew better, which are the most embarrassing, which you’ve cried about and wouldn’t tell anyone except in Confession.

Remember, forgiveness does not mean reconciliation. Forgiveness is when we release people from their sins against us. Reconciliation is when our relationship is restored. Once we forgive, then we can pray for our relationships to be restored. All of us have loved ones who have hurt us, but, deep down, we still love them and wish that they’d love us. If we ask God for an opportunity to rebuild that relationship, He’ll give it to us. But it starts with forgiveness.

Nor does forgiving mean being a doormat to future abuse, or that we overlook justice. In the video we’re going to share, notice how the people who committed heinous sins are forgiven but still have to be punished for their crimes.

But this four-minute video is primarily about Divine Mercy, which means God’s mercy. It’s about a woman from Rwanda named Immaculée Ilibagiza. She talks about anger in our hearts, and how she found freedom when she followed Jesus’ command to have mercy on others, as He had mercy on her (https://players.brightcove.net/802593642001/BF7mrlFFAd_default/index.html?videoId=6148447259001 watch from 21:53 to 26:17).

Source: The JustMeasure: Think of Our Sins Before the Sins of Others (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2020/09/13/think-of-our-sins-before-the-sins-of-others/)

Posted: September 13, 2020

Fr. Jusin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


Other Sunday Reflections

Solemnity of All Saints
Experiencing the Mystical Body of Christ
The doors of the Church that I knocked on 43 years ago are opening up to an abyss of mysteries far deeper than any human mind can fathom! Continue Reading >
Solemnity of All Saints
Religious Life and Social Life Become One in Love
Love is what brings our religious life (love of God) and social life (love of neighbor) into unity. Continue Reading >
Solemnity of All Saints
“Give therefore to Caesar the things that are Caesar’s, and to God the things that are God’s” (Mt 22:21)
May our earthly commitments be guided by a beacon of light from the divine Continue Reading >

當想到別人所犯的罪過時,先想一下我們的罪

常年期第二十四主日

德訓篇 27:33-28:9

憤恨與惱怒,兩者都是可憎惡的,但罪人卻堅持不放。凡報仇的,必要遭到上主的報復,上主必要保留他的罪。你要寬恕你近人的過錯;這樣,當你祈求時,你的罪惡,也會得到赦免。人如果對人懷恨,怎能向上主求饒呢?對自己同類的人,沒有慈愛,又怎能為自己的罪過求寬赦呢?他既是血肉之人,竟然懷恨不休,而求天主赦罪,誰會赦免他的罪呢?你要記得最後的結局,而停止仇恨;你要記得腐爛與死亡,而遵照誡命生活。你要記得天主的誡命,不要向人發怒;你要記得至高者的盟約,寬恕別人的過錯。

羅馬書 14:7-9

弟兄姊妹們: 我們中沒有一人,是為自己而生的,也沒有一人,是為自己而死的;因為我們或者生,是為主而生,或者死,是為主而死;所以我們或生或死,都是屬於主。因為基督死而復生了,正是為作生者和死者的主。

瑪竇福音 18:21-35

那時候,伯多祿前來,對耶穌說:「主啊!如果我的弟兄得罪了我,我該寬恕他多少次?直到七次嗎?」耶穌對他說:「我不是對你說:直到七次,而是到七十個七次。「為此,天國好比一個君王,要同他的僕人算賬。他開始算賬的時候,有人帶來了一個欠他一萬『塔冷通』的僕人,因那僕人沒有錢可償還,主人就下令,要他把自己和妻子兒女,以及他所有的一切,都變賣來還債。那僕人就俯伏在地,叩拜他主人,說:主啊!寬容我吧!一切我都要還給你。那僕人的主人,就動心,把他釋放了,並且也寬免了他的債。「但那僕人正出去時,遇見了一個欠他一百『德納』的同伴,那僕人就抓住他,扼住他的喉嚨,說:還清你所欠的債!他的同伴就俯伏在地,哀求他說:寬容我吧!我必還給你。可是那僕人不願意,且把他的同伴關在監裡,直到他還清了所欠的債。「那僕人的其他同伴,見到所發生的事,非常悲憤,就去把所發生的一切,告訴了主人。於是,主人把那僕人叫來,對他說:惡僕!因為你哀求了我,我就寬免了你的一切債項;難道你不該憐憫你的同伴,如同我憐憫了你一樣嗎?「於是,主人大怒,把他交給刑役,直到他還清所欠的一切。「如果你們各人,不從心裡寬恕自己的弟兄,我的天父,也要這樣對待你們。」

(本篇譯稿為黃謙善神父主日講道,若內容有不一致的情況,一概以英文原稿(http://thejustmeasure.ca/2020/09/13/think-of-our-sins-before-the-sins-of-others/)為準。)

你可能還記得一年半前關於寬恕的這兩個簡單的想法:一位神學院教授曾經告訴我們一個女人的丈夫犯下了通姦的罪行。她去尋求心理輔導,分享了她的故事和痛苦,但直到醫生親切地問她,「你要永遠保持憤怒嗎?」治療才開始。

第二,一位神父曾經分享過,每次我們拒絕原諒,傷害自己的人就是我們。無論別人對我們做了什麼,都已經過去了,但是每次我們拒絕原諒,我們又重新傷害了自己。 (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2019/02/24/how-to-forgive-our-enemies/)。

第一篇讀經德訓篇 Book of Sira,「忿恨與生氣,二者都是可憎惡的,但罪人卻堅持不放。」(27:33)。許多人就是這麼樣:我們會想很多別人對我們所做的事,有時我們的傷害和憤怒會吞噬我們。但經文還在繼續:「人若對人懷怒,怎能向上主求饒?」(28:3)。這就是天父今天要我們做的事:醫治。

我們將專注於一種態度,這種態度將促進寬恕,從而促進治愈,這就是記住我們自己的罪過。這是福音所的一部分:耶穌講了了一個寓言,有一個人欠國王一筆巨款,而他永遠不可能償還。國王寬恕了他,但是這個人卻不寬恕他的奴隸同伴。耶穌提醒我們天主寬恕了我們的罪,所以我們必須寬恕別人。

我是一個敏感的人,天生的性格讓我很難原諒他人;我幾乎能記得所有人們給我帶來的痛苦。但是每次我想起我最大的罪孽,這給了我一個正確的視角來看待人們對我的罪過!

我把自己的生命分成了三個犯罪階段:我會想起十幾歲時皈依信仰後所做的愚蠢、罪惡的事情,因為那時我開始更清楚地知道什麼是對的,什麼是錯的;然後我會想起我在神學院時所犯的罪過;最糟糕的是,:我會想起我當神職人員時的罪過。我把這些令我非常尷尬的罪過寫下來作為一種神修操練。

現在,當我想到別人對我所犯的罪過時,我就會想到我自己的罪過,我的觀點也就發生了很大的變化。當我受傷的時候,我總是問自己,「他們怎麼伝這麼對我?他們為什麼一直這麼做?他們知道得更清楚。」現在我意識到他們很軟弱,就像我一樣;他們繼續犯同樣的罪,就像我一樣;他們即使知道得更清楚,也會這樣做,就像我知道得更清楚還是會犯錯一樣。

的確,有些罪在客觀上比其他罪更具破壞性。例如,我們的配偶欺騙了我們,但我們從來沒有欺騙過他們。然而,我們的觀點需要完整:我們需要知道他們的罪過是多麼的錯誤,但也需要意識到我們自己的罪過,以便寬恕並儘可能公平地對待他們。請記住以下四個事實:

1)我們可能沒有像其他人那樣犯過可怕的罪,但我們對待罪的態度仍然與他們相似。還記得克里斯托弗•韋斯特Christopher West兩週前的見解嗎? (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2020/08/30/five-ways-god-expands-our-horizo​​ns/)?他無意中聽到了一起約會強姦事件,並意識到,雖然他從未做過那麼糟糕的事情,但他還是有性方面利用過女性。我們的罪過可能沒有那麼嚴重,但是通過記住它們,我們意識到我們有著同樣的態度,違背了我們的良知,無視他人的好處。

2)我們不是都犯了我們絕對清楚知道的罪嗎?如果我們知道得更清楚,為什麼我們還要這麼做呢?這兩個問題將幫助我們理解人們為什麼要對我們做壞事。

3)有人曾經問過聖方濟各阿西西St. Francis of Assisi,他怎麼能稱自己為最大的罪人呢?他回答說:「如果天主把祂給我的恩惠同樣地給了最大的罪人,會比我更感激;但如果祂讓我自生自滅,我會比所有其他罪人犯下更大的罪惡」( https://www.bartleby.com/210/10/041.html)。想想你得到的所有恩惠,而你又浪費了多少。你沒有犯更大的罪的唯一原因是因為有天主的恩典。

4)耶穌今天的比喻的要點是: 我們沒有一個人能償還我們冒犯聖父的罪過,但祂仍然寬恕我們,因此我們也就可以免除他人欠我們的債了。我們誰也不配得到天主的憐憫,但祂卻憐憫了我們予。難道我們不應該也憐憫別人嗎?

當我們向天父禱告時,我們說:「求祢寛恕我們的罪過,正如我們寬恕那些得罪我們的人一樣。」 我們的祈求之獲得垂允,要以實現(如同我們寛恕)這條件」 (CCC2838)。耶穌今天的教訓是,如果我們不原諒別人對我們的所作所為,天父就不會原諒我們。這是一個正義的問題。

如果我們因人們對我們所做的事情而受到傷害、憤怒,我想請你在準備好的時候嘗試這個練習:在紙上或手機上寫下你生活中最嚴重的罪行,特別是那些你心知肚明的罪行,這些是最令人尷尬的,你為此而哭了,除非是辦告解聖事,否則不會告訴任何人。

記住,寬恕並不意味著和解。寬恕是當我們讓人們從對我們的罪惡中解脫出來的時候。和解是我們關係恢復的時候。一旦我們原諒了,我們就可以祈禱我們的關係能夠恢復。我們所有人都遭受過我們愛的人的傷害,但在內心深處,我們仍然愛著他們,並希望他們會愛我們。如果我們向天主祈求賜予我們重建這種關係的機會,祂會給我們的。

寬恕也不意味著成為接受未將來虐待的受氣包,也不意味著我們忽視了正義。在我們將要分享的視頻中,請注意那些犯下令人髮指的罪行的人是如何被寬恕的,但仍然必須為他們的罪行受到懲罰。

這個四分鐘的視頻主要是關於「主的慈悲」,意思是天主的仁慈。這是關於一位來自盧旺達的婦女,名叫Immaculée Ilibagiza。她談到我們心中的憤怒,以及當她聽從耶穌的命令憐憫他人時,她是如何找到釋放的,就像耶穌憐憫她一樣(https://players.brightcove.net/802593642001/BF7mrlFFAd_default/index.html ?videoId=6148447259001 21:53 to 26:17)。

Posted: September 13, 2020

Fr. Jusin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


其他主日反省

寬恕別人,你也會得到寬恕 Edmond Lo

我們安然自若地於天主的臨在中生活,假裝天主不會介意自己那不饒恕別人的心。

繼續閱讀 >
甲年(瑪竇) 常年期第廿四主日:不寬恕的荒謬 吳智勳神父

這星期福音讀經的主題是寬恕。故事甚簡單,由伯多祿的問題引起——問耶穌該寬恕兄弟多少次。耶穌以比喻作答,要求我們寬恕弟兄如同天父寬恕我們一樣。這個看來簡單的比喻,除非細加反省,否則難以入心。

繼續閱讀 >