Posted January 1, 2022 by Fr. Justin Huang in
 
 

Four Distractions from Intimacy

Happy New Year, everyone!

One spiritual truth that we need to keep in mind is that it’s the good things that distract us from Jesus.  For many people, the devil doesn’t tempt us with sinful things because it doesn’t work.  So, he tempts priests to think more about his people than Jesus—that’s my problem.  He tempts parents to think more about their children than Jesus.  He tempts us to think more about COVID than Jesus.  What have we been discussing during Christmas get-togethers?  Did we talk about important things, such as how we’re doing spiritually, our deep hopes for the next year, where we want to grow, and the best graces of 2021?  Or did we talk about COVID, and problems in the world?  Did that help?  We seem to talk about everything except Jesus, the Person Who loves us.

Today’s Second Reading is about the intimacy for which the human heart is made, that is the intimacy with the Father and with Jesus—this is what the devil attacks.  Being aware of this is where we want to grow this upcoming year.  The Reading says, “But when the fullness of time had come, God sent his Son, born of a woman, born under the law, in order to redeem those who were under the law, so that we might receive adoption as children.  And because you are children, God has sent the Spirit of his Son into our hearts, crying, ‘Abba!  Father!’  So you are no longer a slave but a child, and if a child then also an heir, through God” (Gal 4:4-7).

When St. Paul writes, ‘so that we might receive adoption as children,’ this raises the question: Is everyone a child of God?  Even atheists?  If everyone’s already a child of God, then about what adoption is St. Paul speaking?  This is a nuanced issue in the Bible (Cardinal Albert Vanhoye & Peter Williamson, Galatians in Catholic Commentary on Sacred Scripture, 142-143).  1) God has only one natural son, Jesus; He’s the only child Who shares the Father’s nature.  Every other child of God is adopted.  2) God loves everyone, and, in the Bible, certain texts allow us to say that every person is a child of God.  3) Texts like the Prodigal Son show us that mankind has run away from home, and, in a certain sense, thrown away its birthright.  4) ‘God sent his Son… so that we might receive adoption as children.’  Obviously, you can’t receive adoption if you’re already a child of that parent!  So there’s a new and real gift when Jesus makes us sons and daughters of the Father.  And part of that gift is intimacy with Him!

Think about it this way: Many people talk about God in the abstract, but few talk about the Father.  If I were to ask you about your relationship with the Father, what would you say?  Because most of us don’t know Him personally.  We know God abstractly.

This is what St. Paul is getting at: ‘Because you are children, God has sent the Spirit of his Son into our hearts, crying, “Dad!  Father!”’  ‘Dad’ is what ‘Abba’ means.  You know, sometimes when I lead prayer with some of you privately, I want to start by saying, ‘Dad, we love You…’ but I don’t, because I think none of you are ready to hear that kind of intimacy.

Could I ask: How many of you talk to the Father by calling Him, ‘Dad’?  Or do you use another affectionate word?  Here’s another question: How would you feel if you called your own father, “Mr…”?

I understand that some cultures are different, but St. Paul is trying to let us know that we can call God, ‘Dad!’ or another affectionate word in our own language, that we can talk to Jesus and not just God in the abstract.

Today is the solemnity of Mary, the Mother of God.  We’re celebrating her maternity.  We know that when Jesus was on the Cross, He made her the mother of all of us.  She’s our Mother.  That’s why it’s beautiful and appropriate when Filipinos call her ‘Mama Mary.’

The devil doesn’t want you to do this; he wants you to keep away from intimacy.  So, I see four levels of distractions: 1) Sin: All sin takes us away from the Father.  2) Good things: E.g. Discussion about COVID, how to fight COVID, how to fight for civil liberties, how to help other people, education, career, health.  These are good things, and we should give them our attention, but not at the expense of intimacy with Jesus.  3) The things of God: Do you know how many Catholics talk about the liturgy rather than Jesus?  They talk about the problems of the Church, but if you ask them about Jesus, they have nothing to say.  So many devout and conservative Catholics, including many priests, do this.  And it’s because their prayer life is hollow.  4) God in the abstract: This is very subtle.  When we talk about ‘God,’ is it intimate or abstract?  Sometimes people will ask God for help, but not the Father; they’ll ask why God allows bad things to happen, but not why the Father allows them.  If you’ve talked to Ricky, our Director of Community, he always talks about ‘the Lord,’ because God is the lord of his life, and it’s a Biblical expression of familiarity.

Here’s one game changer for 2022: Start praying to Jesus and talking about Him with others, and do the same for the Father, and for the Holy Spirit, and for our Mother, Mary.  And, whenever you talk to some staff members here or parish leaders, see if you can talk about the Father, Jesus, the Spirit, or our Mother!

The First Reading says: “The Lord make his face to shine upon you, and be gracious to you” (Num 6:25).  This is a sign of intimacy, that God wants to smile upon us.

Many believe this is the actual burial cloth of Jesus, now referred to as the Shroud of Turin, because that’s where it’s presently located:

You can see very faint features of a face.  However, when the image is photographed, the negative reveals very clearly a face.

The evidence that this is Jesus’ face is very strong, and, if that’s correct, then this is the face that shines upon us, one that is peaceful, that died for us.  Artists have done their best to extrapolate from this what Jesus might have looked like.

And a Canadian artist took the dimensions of Jesus’ face, made them feminine, and produced what he thought our Mother’s face would look like.

Focus on these faces, and on their names.  One thing about which I’m so happy, is that many people who are new to our parish family or have returned to the faith talk about ‘Jesus’!  They are going to do very well spiritually, because their foundation is so strong!  We all need to strengthen our foundation this year.  Focus on these faces, and on the names of Father, Jesus, Holy Spirit, and Mother.


Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.

Posted 1 月 1, 2022 by Fr. Justin Huang in
 
 

與祂的父的親密關係


(本篇譯稿為黃謙善神父主日講道,若內容有不一致的情況,一概以英文原稿為準。)
大家新年快樂!
我們需要記住的一個神修的真理,是美好的事物讓我們從耶穌身上分心。對許多人來說,魔鬼不會用罪惡的東西來誘惑我們,因為它不起作用。所以,它誘使神父們更多地考慮他的教友,而不是耶穌–這也是我的問題。他鼓勵父母多為自己的孩子著想,而不是為耶穌著想。它誘使我們多考慮CoVID而不是耶穌。我們在聖誕聯歡會上談了些什麼?我們有沒有談到重要的事情,比如我們在神修上做得如何,我們對來年的深切希望,我們想要在哪方面成長,以及2021年最大的恩寵是什麼?或者我們談到了COVID,以及世界上的問題?這有幫助嗎?我們似乎什麼都談論,除了愛我們的耶穌。
今天的第二讀經是關於人類心靈的親密感,這就是與天父和耶穌的親密感-這就是魔鬼要攻擊的,也正是我們想要在即將到來的一年裡得到成長的。經文上說:「時期一滿,天主就派遣了自己的兒子來,生於女人,生於法律之下,為把在法律之下的人贖出來,使我們獲得義子的地位。為證實你們確實是天主的子女,天主派遣了自己的兒子的聖神,到我們心內喊說:,阿爸!父啊!‘。所以你已不再是奴隸,而是兒子了,如果是兒子,賴天主的恩寵,也成了繼承人」(迦4:4-7)。
當聖保祿寫道:「為了讓我們在孩童時被領養」,這就提出了一個問題:每個人都是天主的孩子嗎?無神論者又如何?如果每個人都已經是天主的孩子,那麼聖保祿所說的領養是什麼呢?這是聖經中一個微妙的問題。 (https://www.catholic.com/qa/who-is-a-child-of-god) (Cardinal Albert Vanhoye & Peter Williamson, Galatians in Catholic Commentary on Sacred Scripture, 142-143)1)
天主只有一個親生兒子,就是耶穌;祂是唯一與天父的本性相同的孩子。天主其他的的每一個孩子都是被領養的。 2)天主愛每一個人,在聖經中,某些經文允許我們說,每個人都是天主的孩子。 3)像《浪子》這樣一文告訴我們,人類已經離家出走,在某種意義上,放棄了與生俱來的權利。 4)『天主派祂的兒子…。 』這樣我們就可以在孩提時代被領養。顯然,如果你已經是父母的孩子,你就不是領養的了!因此,當耶穌讓我們成為父的兒女時,就有了一份新的、真正的禮物。而這份禮物的一部分就是與祂的父的親密關係!
想想有很多人抽像地談論天主,但很少有人談論天父。如果我問你關於你與天父的關係,你會說什麼?因為我們大多數人都不認識祂本人。我們抽像地認識天主。
這就是聖保祿的意思:「為證實你們確實是天主的子女,天主派遣了自己的兒子的聖神,到我們心內喊說:『阿爸!父啊!』。」因為你們是孩子。 「阿爸」就是「爸爸」的意思。你知道,有時候當我和你們中的一些人私下祈禱時,我首先想說,「爸爸,我們愛你,…」。但我沒有這麼做,因為我覺得你們都還沒準備好聽這種親密的稱呼。
我能問一下:你們中有多少人藉著稱呼天父「爸爸」來與天父交談?或者你會用其他的深情的詞嗎?還有一個問題:如果你稱自己的父親為「…先生」,你會作何感想?
我知道有些文化是不同的,但聖保祿試圖讓我們知道,我們可以呼喚天主為「爸爸!」或者用我們自己的語言,用另一個深情的詞,那就是我們可以直接和耶穌交談,而不僅僅是抽象的天主。
今天是天主之母瑪利亞的瞻禮日。我們在慶祝她的母性。我們知道,當耶穌被釘在十字架上時,祂讓她成為我們所有人的母親。她是我們的母親。這就是為什麼菲律賓朋友叫她「聖母媽媽Mama Mary」是美麗和恰當的稱呼。
魔鬼不想讓你這麼做,它想讓你遠離親密。所以,我看到了四個層面的干擾:1)罪。所有的罪都會把我們從天父身邊帶走。 2)好事:例如,關於COVID的討論,如何對抗COVID,如何爭取公民自由,如何幫助他人,教育,職業,健康。這些都是好事,我們應該關注它們,但不能以犧牲與耶穌的親密關係為代價。 3)天主的事:你知道有多少天主教徒談論寧可談論禮儀形式也不談論耶穌嗎?他們談論教會中存在的的問題,但如果你問他們關於耶穌的事,他們無話可說。許多虔誠和保守的天主教徒,包括許多神父,都是這樣的。這是因為他們的祈禱生活是空洞的。 4)抽像中的天主:這是非常微妙的。當我們談論「天主」時,它是親密的還是抽象的?有時人們會請求天主幫助,但不是「天父」;他們會問為什麼天主允許不好的事情發生,而不是允許這些事情發生。如果你和我們的堂區主任里奇Ricky談過話,他總是談到「上主」 (The Lord),因為天主是他生命中的天主,這是聖經中對熟悉的一種表達。
2022年有一個遊戲規則的改變:開始向耶穌祈禱,與其他人談論祂,並為父親、聖神和我們的母親瑪利亞做同樣的事情。
而且,每當你與這裡的一些工作人員或堂區領袖交談時,看看你能不能談到父親、耶穌、聖神或我們的母親!
第一篇讀經說:「願上主的慈顏光照你,仁慈待你 願上主轉面垂顧你,賜你平安。」 (Num 6:25)。這是親密的標誌,天主想要對我們微笑。
許多人相信這是耶穌的實際殮布,現在被稱為都靈裹屍布(Shroud of Turin )因為它現在就在那裡。 (注:(https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/2/23/Turin_shroud_positive_and_negative_displaying_original_color_information_708_x_465_pixels_94_KB.jpg。)你可以看到一張非常模糊的臉。但是當拍攝圖像時,底片卻非常清楚地顯示出一張臉(https://ichef.bbci.co.uk/news/976/cpsprodpb/8B93/production/_83713753_secondopia_alamy.jpg)。這是耶穌的臉的鐵證,非常有力,如果這是正確的,那麼這張臉就是那張照耀我們的臉,為我們而死的一張平和的臉,藝術家們已經盡了最大努力從這個推斷出耶穌可能的長相。(https://i2.wp.com/pilgrimcenterofhope.org/wp-content/uploads/2015/03/Jesus-Shroud1.jpg?fit=575%2C266&ssl=1).。一位加拿大藝術家依照耶穌的臉的大小,把祂做得很女性化,做出了他認為我們的聖母的臉(https://shroudofturin.files.wordpress.com/2013/10/mary-of-the-shroud.jpg)。
把注意力集中在這些面孔上,以及他們的名字上。有一件事讓我很高興,那就是很多剛加入我們堂區家庭或已經皈依信仰的人都在談論「耶穌」!他們在神修上會做得很好,因為他們的基礎很牢固!今年我們都需要鞏固我們的基礎。專注於這些面孔,以及天父、耶穌、聖神和聖母的名字。

資料來源:Four Distractions from Intimacy


Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.