How “astonished”, “amazed” and “spellbound” are we?

Fourth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Deuteronomy 18:15-20

Moses spoke to all the people, saying: "A prophet like me will the LORD, your God, raise up for you from among your own kin; to him you shall listen. This is exactly what you requested of the LORD, your God, at Horeb on the day of the assembly, when you said, 'Let us not again hear the voice of the LORD, our God, nor see this great fire any more, lest we die.' And the LORD said to me, 'This was well said. I will raise up for them a prophet like you from among their kin, and will put my words into his mouth; he shall tell them all that I command him. Whoever will not listen to my words which he speaks in my name, I myself will make him answer for it. But if a prophet presumes to speak in my name an oracle that I have not commanded him to speak, or speaks in the name of other gods, he shall die.'"

1 Corinthians 7:32-35

Brothers and sisters: I should like you to be free of anxieties. An unmarried man is anxious about the things of the Lord, how he may please the Lord. But a married man is anxious about the things of the world, how he may please his wife, and he is divided. An unmarried woman or a virgin is anxious about the things of the Lord, so that she may be holy in both body and spirit. A married woman, on the other hand, is anxious about the things of the world, how she may please her husband. I am telling you this for your own benefit, not to impose a restraint upon you, but for the sake of propriety and adherence to the Lord without distraction.

Mark 1:21-28

Then they came to Capernaum, and on the sabbath Jesus entered the synagogue and taught. The people were astonished at his teaching, for he taught them as one having authority and not as the scribes. In their synagogue was a man with an unclean spirit; he cried out, "What have you to do with us, Jesus of Nazareth? Have you come to destroy us? I know who you are—the Holy One of God!" Jesus rebuked him and said, "Quiet! Come out of him!" The unclean spirit convulsed him and with a loud cry came out of him. All were amazed and asked one another, "What is this? A new teaching with authority. He commands even the unclean spirits and they obey him." His fame spread everywhere throughout the whole region of Galilee.

“Astonished”, “amazed” and “spellbound” are the reactions of the people in this Sunday’s Gospel reading, recounted by Mark about a single day’s ministry of Jesus on a Sabbath at Capernaum. We do not know what Jesus teaches in the synagogue, but we know how He teaches – “teaching with authority” (Mk 1:22, 27). Jesus may have taught differently from the scribes in matter, but it is His manner that causes the people to be awestruck. While the scribes, teachers and experts of the law speak on the authority of the law; Jesus, a carpenter’s son, speaks on His own authority (rf Mk 12:28; Mt 22:35; Lk:5:17-21). Jesus’ oft-repeated words are: “I say to you” (rf Mt 5;18, 20, 22, 26, 28, 34; Lk 6:27, 19:26).

Mark’s account of Jesus’ first teaching and first powerful act are to be seen as intimately related. Not only does Jesus speak with authority, He also acts with power. His power in driving out the unclean spirit is not only a proof of His place in the hierarchy of powers, but also a manifestation that the dominion of God is now taking over that of the devil’s.

Though the crowds are astonished, amazed and spellbound, how many of them actually turn to Jesus and believe Him? In fact, some of them later detract His works by claiming that His authority comes from the power of Beelzebul, the prince of demons (rf Mt 12:24, Lk 11:15). Some even seek to destroy Him (rf Mt 12:14, Jn 11:45-57). If Jesus’ power fails to convince people of His divinity, but instead brings about hostile reactions, how much more difficult for Jesus to convince others when He reveals Himself in a less appealing way? Will you be even more astonished when He teaches that “The Son of Man had to suffer much, be rejected by the elders, the chief priests, and the scribes, be put to death, and rise three days later” (Mk 8:31)? Will you be, nevertheless, amazed at this wonder-worker when He is led through the streets of Jerusalem on His way to Calvary? Will you be still spellbound when He hangs on the cross, abandoned by most of His followers who were astounded by His first sign of power?

How truly are we astonished by miracles? How honestly are we amazed at the created order (both cosmic and microscopic)? How sincerely are we spellbound by God’s love and mercy? Some may believe in miracles but only for a while, others may try to seek various explanations for them. Some may marvel at the laws of nature and its perfect design but others may attribute it to randomness and chance. Some are grateful for God’s gift of salvation while others simply dismiss it with indifference.

Perhaps those who want to follow Jesus, the “amazing one”, cannot be just astonished, amazed and spellbound by His teachings and works, but must also go the way He goes, that is, “deny himself, take up his cross and follow in [Jesus’] steps” (Mk 8:34).

Posted: January 31, 2021

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


Other Sunday Reflections

The Joy of Knowing How to Read the Bible
This Sunday’s readings give us a good glimpse into Typology - an amazing biblical interpretation technique that enables us to see the unity of the Old and New Testaments. Continue Reading >
This is Justice, This is Mercy
Mr. Perry, our school principal, once shared a story about when he was young, he and his family took the ferry to Salt Spring Island. He had a friend who… Continue Reading >
“You do not know what you are asking” (Mk 10:38)
By this time in his ministry, Jesus has foretold three times his own Death and Resurrection to the apostles. The last prediction is the most detailed, specifying that his death… Continue Reading >

我們有多「驚奇」、「讚嘆」和「着迷」呢?

常年期第四主日

申命紀 18:15-20

梅瑟向人民說:「上主你的天主,要由你中間,由你兄弟中,為你興起一位像我一樣的先知;你們應聽從他。正如你在曷勒布集會之日,求上主你的天主,說:『惟願我再聽不到上主、我天主的聲音,再看不見這烈火,免得我死亡。』「上主於是對我說:『他們說得有理;我要由他們的兄弟中,給他們興起一位像你一樣的先知。我要將我的話,放在他口中;他要向他們講述我所吩咐他的一切。「如果有人不聽信他因我的名所說的話,我要親自同他算賬。但是,若一位先知敢擅自因我的名說我沒有吩咐他說的話,或因其他神的名說話,這位先知應該處死。』」

格林多前書 7:32-35

弟兄姊妹們:我願你們無所掛慮。沒有妻子的,所掛慮的,是主的事,想怎樣悅樂主;娶了妻子的,所掛慮的,是世俗的事,想怎樣悅樂妻子:這樣,他的心,就分散了。沒有丈夫的婦女和童女,所掛慮的,是主的事,一心使身心聖潔;至於已出嫁的,所掛慮的,是世俗的事,想怎樣悅樂丈夫。我說這話,是為了你們的益處,並不是要設下圈套,陷害你們,而是要你們更成全,好能專心事主。

馬爾谷福音 1:21-28

耶穌和門徒進了葛法翁;一到安息日,耶穌就進入會堂教訓人。人人都驚奇他的教訓,因為他教訓他們,正像有權威的,不像經師們一樣。當時,在他們的會堂裡,正有一個附邪魔的人,他喊叫,說:「納匝肋人耶穌!我們與你有什麼相干?你竟來毀滅我們!我知道你是誰,你是天主的聖者。」耶穌叱責他,說:「不准說話!從他身上出去吧!」邪魔使那人痙攣了一陣,大喊一聲,就從他身上出去了。眾人都十分驚訝,以致彼此詢問說:「這是怎麼一回事?這是新的教訓,並具有權威;他命令邪魔,連邪魔也聽從他。」耶穌的聲譽立即傳遍了加里肋亞附近各處。

本主日的福音讀經,馬爾谷叙述了於安息日耶穌在葛法翁傳教一天的情況,群眾的反應是「驚奇」、「讚嘆」和「着迷」。我們不知道耶穌在會堂裏教導了什麼,但知道祂怎樣教導人 –
「正像有權威似的」(谷 1:22, 27)。可能在內容上,耶穌的教訓與經師的教導有不同之處,但使群眾充滿敬畏心的是祂的態度。經師、老師和法律專家說的是建於法律上的權力;但耶穌,一個木匠之子,說的是基於祂自己的權力 (參 谷 12:28;瑪 22:35;路 5:17-21)。耶穌經常重複的句子是「我實在告訴你們」(參 瑪 5:18, 20, 22, 26, 28, 34; 路 6:27, 19:26)。

馬爾谷叙述耶穌的第一次教導和第一個強而有力的行實,讓我們看到教導和行動的緊密聯繫。耶穌不但說話具有權威,祂的行動也具有威能。祂的權柄可把附在人身上的邪魔趕出來,這不單是證明了祂在權力架構中的地位,也顯示出天主的主權現已接管了魔鬼的勢力。

雖說民衆都為耶穌驚奇、讚嘆並着迷 ,但他們之中又有多少人真的皈依耶穌並且相信了祂?事實上,有些人後來貶低祂的工作,聲稱祂的權力是來自魔王貝耳則步的 (瑪 12:24, 路11:15) 。有些人甚至想辦法毁滅祂 ( 瑪 12:14, 若 11:45-57)。如果耶穌的威能不能說服衆人相信祂的天主性,反而帶來人們敵意的反應,那麼若祂以一個平凡無吸引力的方式去顯示自己的話,便更難說服人了!當耶穌教導說「人子必須受很多苦,被長老、司祭和經師棄絕,且要被殺害;但三天以後必要復活 」之時、你是否會更為驚奇 (谷 8:31)? 當耶穌被帶著走在耶路撒冷的街頭往髑髏去的時候,你是否仍然會為這位行奇蹟者而讚嘆?當耶穌被釘在十字架上,而大多數在祂初展奇能時大吃一驚的追隨者,都棄祂而去之時,你仍然會為祂着迷?

我們對神蹟的驚奇有多忠誠呢?對井然有序的創功 (宇宙和微觀的) 的讚嘆有多真切呢?我們對天主的愛和慈悲的着迷有多誠懇呢?有些人只在一時之間相信奇蹟,而另一些人卻用各種不同的方法去解釋奇蹟。有人讚嘆自然規律及其完美的設計,亦有人認為是機緣巧合。有些人對天主的救贖恩典心存感激,另一些人則冷漠地不屑一顧。

或許,那些想追隨那令人「讚嘆的那一位」耶穌,絕不能只為祂的教導和神蹟而驚奇,讚嘆和著迷; 而是應該走祂走的路:即是「棄絕自己,背上自己的十字架,跟隨【耶穌】」(谷 8:34)。

Posted: January 31, 2021

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


其他主日反省

乙年(馬爾谷) 常年期第四主日:聖言的權威 吳智勳神父

今日的福音所記載的是耶穌傳道生活的開始,也是馬爾谷福音記載的第一個奇跡。一般人的注意力可能集中在耶穌驅魔這事件身上,而錯過了這段福音最主要的訊息:耶穌說話的權威,即天主聖言的權威。

繼續閱讀 >
【黃謙善神父主日講道】我們可以選擇我們的焦慮 Fr. Justin Huang

信不信由你,我們選擇我們的一部分焦慮。這是因為有一些焦慮是基於我們的世界觀。例如,當我們上高中和大學時,我們所感受到的巨大焦慮來自於能否獲得好成績,其實是由於我們的身份是基於個人表現這樣一種世界觀。我們應該追求卓越,全力以赴,但天主並不只是要求我們全得A。如果我們相信並實踐這個真相,我們就不會那麼焦慮了。

繼續閱讀 >