We Get to Choose Our Anxieties

Fourth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Deuteronomy 18:15-20

Moses spoke to all the people, saying: "A prophet like me will the LORD, your God, raise up for you from among your own kin; to him you shall listen. This is exactly what you requested of the LORD, your God, at Horeb on the day of the assembly, when you said, 'Let us not again hear the voice of the LORD, our God, nor see this great fire any more, lest we die.' And the LORD said to me, 'This was well said. I will raise up for them a prophet like you from among their kin, and will put my words into his mouth; he shall tell them all that I command him. Whoever will not listen to my words which he speaks in my name, I myself will make him answer for it. But if a prophet presumes to speak in my name an oracle that I have not commanded him to speak, or speaks in the name of other gods, he shall die.'"

1 Corinthians 7:32-35

Brothers and sisters: I should like you to be free of anxieties. An unmarried man is anxious about the things of the Lord, how he may please the Lord. But a married man is anxious about the things of the world, how he may please his wife, and he is divided. An unmarried woman or a virgin is anxious about the things of the Lord, so that she may be holy in both body and spirit. A married woman, on the other hand, is anxious about the things of the world, how she may please her husband. I am telling you this for your own benefit, not to impose a restraint upon you, but for the sake of propriety and adherence to the Lord without distraction.

Mark 1:21-28

Then they came to Capernaum, and on the sabbath Jesus entered the synagogue and taught. The people were astonished at his teaching, for he taught them as one having authority and not as the scribes. In their synagogue was a man with an unclean spirit; he cried out, "What have you to do with us, Jesus of Nazareth? Have you come to destroy us? I know who you are—the Holy One of God!" Jesus rebuked him and said, "Quiet! Come out of him!" The unclean spirit convulsed him and with a loud cry came out of him. All were amazed and asked one another, "What is this? A new teaching with authority. He commands even the unclean spirits and they obey him." His fame spread everywhere throughout the whole region of Galilee.

Believe it or not, we choose some of our anxieties. That’s because some are based on our world view. When we’re in high school and university, for example, we experience great anxiety to get good grades, but this is based on the world view that our identity is based on our performance. We should aim for excellence and do our best, but God doesn’t demand only A’s. If we believed and lived this truth, we’d have less anxiety.

Remember the four levels of happiness? 70% of people default to levels one and two as their dominant levels of happiness. Level one is about immediate gratification. When we’re young, we focus on games and fun, and when they’re taken away, we experience boredom. This isn’t anxiety, but it’s a suffering some young adults experience for a longer time because they haven’t chosen a more mature worldview.

Many of us subconsciously focus on level two happiness: achievement and success. That means we unconsciously play the comparison game: Who’s better, has a bigger house, better car, who makes more money? When we lose or fail, there’s massive anxiety. The point is that we’re choosing this.

For years, I chose much of my anxiety. I would take responsibility for those of you who are struggling, so, if you weren’t doing well spiritually, I’d be overwhelmed.

God offers us the freedom to choose our world view, and therefore some of our anxieties. St. Paul writes about different kinds of freedom and anxieties for married and unmarried people. He begins, “Brothers and sisters, I want you to be free from anxieties. The unmarried man is anxious about the affairs of the Lord, how to please the Lord; but the married man is anxious about the affairs of the world, how to please his wife, and his interests are divided” (1 Cor 7:32-34).

‘Free from anxieties’ means free from unnecessary anxieties and anxieties of the world. Some anxieties are natural, as when Jesus, in His human nature, feared death—we can’t ever be completely free of these. But, if a father loses his job, it’s right to be concerned for his family—anxiety here comes from responsibility. However, the devil will add an unnecessary worldly anxiety that says, “I’m helpless. What do I do? People look down on me.” Do you see how in this anxiety there’s no reference to God here? St. Paul wants us to be free of this.

Another example: Should parents be anxious about the faith of their children? They should be concerned, but not anxious. In other words, they should care, but without stress. This is possible, though hard!

St. Paul says that some people, when they choose not to get married in order to dedicate themselves to God, have fewer worldly anxieties but are anxious about pleasing God. ‘Anxious about the affairs of the Lord’ means focus, not nervousness and fear.

He compares this to a ‘married man’ who ‘is anxious about the affairs of the world, how to please his wife.’ All of us here know that marriage is a path to holiness, and we’ll get to this in a minute! But, in practice, it’s often harder for married couples to become saints because they haven’t had good role models of holy couples, they’re not surrounded by other couples trying to be saints, and sometimes, husband and wife themselves disagree about focusing on God. So, St. Paul is saying that people who choose not to get married for the sake of God are freer to focus on Him. Now what about the bachelor who chooses not to get married because he can’t settle down? He’s chosen to be free to focus on himself. Everyone has a chance to become a saint, but some people choose to put themselves in objectively better situations by, for example, surrounding themselves with dedicated people.

So, if a couple decides, “I think we should focus on the affairs of God, and stop trying to compete with the Jones,” they become freer. If they live out this world view, they’ll have more calm, gratitude and fewer arguments.

This is Dr. Jérôme Lejeune, who died in 1994. He was married with five children. He’s famous for discovering the genetic cause of Down’s Syndrome. Yet, once his work allowed for pre-natal diagnosis of Down’s Syndrome, he objected to its use for abortion. “After receiving the Allan prize [for genetics], Lejeune gave a talk to his colleagues which concluded by explicitly questioning the morality of abortion, an unpopular viewpoint in the profession. In a letter to his wife, Lejeune wrote, ‘Today, I lost my Nobel prize in Medicine’” (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jérôme_Lejeune). In the U.S. 90% of babies with Down’s Syndrome are aborted, while in France it’s 96%, and Iceland it’s 99%. Lejeune opposed this, saying, “I am not fighting people. I am fighting false ideas” (https://catholicinsight.com/without-fear-the-pro-life-witness-of-dr-jerome-lejeune/). Two Thursdays ago, he was recognized by the Church as being heroic in virtue, is now Venerable, and God willing, will become a saint. Pray to him!

Lejeune used his profession and influence to save lives! You have the choice to do the same!

St. Paul then repeats the point about who’s free: “And the unmarried woman and the virgin are anxious about the affairs of the Lord, so that they may be holy in body and spirit” (7:34).

Virgins are freer to focus on God. Philosophically speaking, what does it mean to be free? Am I freer than my married friends (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2019/06/30/commitment-gives-freedom/)? The answer is: Free to do what? I gave up freedom to get married so that I could be free to spend more time with God, to love all of you!

Do you remember The Sound of Music? Remember when Maria is about to get married, and all the nuns are stuck behind the grill? But they’re not trapped. The reason convents have grills is not to keep nuns inside, but to keep the world out! They chose that life and are trying to protect something good.

Young adults are freer than previous generations: They don’t have the same moral restrictions, they’re free to choose any career they like. But they’re also the most anxious generation. They’re so free they’re lost. Without moral guidelines and purpose, they’re not free to choose the best things. Freedom does not mean the ability to do anything you want! It’s the ability to choose a better life. And to have a better life, you need to make commitments. By committing to God, to serving others, to good friendships, to settling down, you’re free to have that better life!

Does having kids give freedom? I’ve met a few women who, while they love their children, have a little resentment towards them, because their children took away their freedom to live life the way they wanted to. But they’re not seeing the freedom God is offering. Remember the story of Jennifer and her call to have a big family (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2021/01/01/begin-again-by-going-to-the-heart/)? She found peace when she gained the freedom to see 25 years into the future when her children would visit home for Thanksgiving; to see 50 years into the future when they would visit her in the hospital.

When St. Paul says that virgins may be ‘holy in body and spirit,’ he’s not saying that married couples cannot be, because he already taught that all of our bodies are temples of the Lord (1 Cor 6:19). Married couples here are also free!

St. Paul says finally, “I say this for your own benefit, not to put any restraint upon you, but to promote good order and unhindered devotion to the Lord” (1 Cor 7:35). What do we want to be free to do? We should try to eliminate negative freedoms and strengthen positive ones.

I once saw Dr. Phil explain that, after seeing his alcoholic father, he made a choice to never drink, and that gave him freedom never to be drunk (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YxeEsC0TRW4 Start at 30:44). The only true way to take away anxieties about grades, success, and comparison is to make God the centre of your life. It starts with a decision, but then is lived out, and slowly we experience more peace.

If you’re not yet married, think about whether God’s calling you to serve Him alone as a priest or sister. There is much freedom here!

And, in three weeks, we have 40 Days for Life, which gives us the freedom to live out our love for God, to protect preborn babies, and to live with courage.

One of our sisters, Kim Lobo, was once struck with fear about doing 40 Days for Life outside of B.C. Women’s Hospital, because she’s a nurse at Children’s Hospital. Two years ago, during Mass, when we were inviting people to come, she was convicted and terrified. “I remember thinking and praying about it and telling my husband: ‘We should really do this.’ The more I prayed about it, the more I came to a conclusion that if I am scared, that is not the right reason to not do it. Actually, that is more of a reason to do it.” So she and Julio signed up. And after participating, she said, “What I love about [40 Days for Life] is it’s not intrusive, it’s not aggressive. It’s quite peaceful. Oftentimes the fear holds us back. We’re scared of the judgment. But for myself, when I feel that fear, I’m doubting the Holy Spirit. I’m doubting that he can come and deliver. That is the crux of it all. I am not allowing him to take my hand and say: ‘I will protect you. I will hold you through this’” (https://bccatholic.ca/news/catholic-van/pro-life-nurse-witnesses-outside-her-own-hospital). This is a change in her world view: The Holy Spirit really comes and protects us. So she has less anxieties of the world, and is more free to love God and others.

Source: The JustMeasure – We Get to Choose Our Anxieties (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2021/01/31/we-get-to-choose-our-anxieties/)

Posted: January 31, 2021

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


Other Sunday Reflections

This is Justice, This is Mercy
Mr. Perry, our school principal, once shared a story about when he was young, he and his family took the ferry to Salt Spring Island. He had a friend who… Continue Reading >
“You do not know what you are asking” (Mk 10:38)
By this time in his ministry, Jesus has foretold three times his own Death and Resurrection to the apostles. The last prediction is the most detailed, specifying that his death… Continue Reading >
Too hard a demand from Jesus?
This Sunday's Gospel reading is one of the many hard sayings of Jesus. It is about renunciation - first, of material possessions and second, of relations (rf Mk 10:23, 29).… Continue Reading >

【黃謙善神父主日講道】我們可以選擇我們的焦慮

常年期第四主日

申命紀 18:15-20

梅瑟向人民說:「上主你的天主,要由你中間,由你兄弟中,為你興起一位像我一樣的先知;你們應聽從他。正如你在曷勒布集會之日,求上主你的天主,說:『惟願我再聽不到上主、我天主的聲音,再看不見這烈火,免得我死亡。』「上主於是對我說:『他們說得有理;我要由他們的兄弟中,給他們興起一位像你一樣的先知。我要將我的話,放在他口中;他要向他們講述我所吩咐他的一切。「如果有人不聽信他因我的名所說的話,我要親自同他算賬。但是,若一位先知敢擅自因我的名說我沒有吩咐他說的話,或因其他神的名說話,這位先知應該處死。』」

格林多前書 7:32-35

弟兄姊妹們:我願你們無所掛慮。沒有妻子的,所掛慮的,是主的事,想怎樣悅樂主;娶了妻子的,所掛慮的,是世俗的事,想怎樣悅樂妻子:這樣,他的心,就分散了。沒有丈夫的婦女和童女,所掛慮的,是主的事,一心使身心聖潔;至於已出嫁的,所掛慮的,是世俗的事,想怎樣悅樂丈夫。我說這話,是為了你們的益處,並不是要設下圈套,陷害你們,而是要你們更成全,好能專心事主。

馬爾谷福音 1:21-28

耶穌和門徒進了葛法翁;一到安息日,耶穌就進入會堂教訓人。人人都驚奇他的教訓,因為他教訓他們,正像有權威的,不像經師們一樣。當時,在他們的會堂裡,正有一個附邪魔的人,他喊叫,說:「納匝肋人耶穌!我們與你有什麼相干?你竟來毀滅我們!我知道你是誰,你是天主的聖者。」耶穌叱責他,說:「不准說話!從他身上出去吧!」邪魔使那人痙攣了一陣,大喊一聲,就從他身上出去了。眾人都十分驚訝,以致彼此詢問說:「這是怎麼一回事?這是新的教訓,並具有權威;他命令邪魔,連邪魔也聽從他。」耶穌的聲譽立即傳遍了加里肋亞附近各處。

(本篇譯稿為黃謙善神父主日講道,若內容有不一致的情況,一概以英文原稿, http://thejustmeasure.ca/2021/01/31/we-get-to-choose-our-anxieties/, 為準。)

信不信由你,我們選擇我們的一部分焦慮。這是因為有一些焦慮是基於我們的世界觀。例如,當我們上高中和大學時,我們所感受到的巨大焦慮來自於能否獲得好成績,其實是由於我們的身份是基於個人表現這樣一種世界觀。我們應該追求卓越,全力以赴,但天主並不只是要求我們全得A。如果我們相信並實踐這個真相,我們就不會那麼焦慮了。

還記得幸福的四個級別嗎? 70%的人默認第一級和第二級是支配他們幸福的主要原因。第一級是關於即刻的滿足感。當我們年輕的時候,我們專注於遊戲和娛樂,當它們被剝奪時,我們就會感到無聊。這不是焦慮,而是一些年輕人長時間經歷的痛苦,因為他們沒有選擇更成熟的世界觀。

我們中的許多人下意識地把重點放在第二層幸福上:成就和成功。這意味著我們無意識地地在互相攀比的遊戲:誰更好,誰有更大的房子,更好的車,誰賺更多的錢?當我們輸掉或失敗時,會有嚴重的焦慮。關鍵在於我們是這樣選擇的。

多年來,我在很大程度上選擇了焦慮。我會為你們中許多人的掙扎而負責,所以,如果你們之前在神修上做得不夠好,我會有被淹沒之感。

天主給了我們選擇我們的世俗焦點的自由,和由此引發的焦慮。聖保祿為已婚和未婚的人們寫下了不同種類的自由和焦慮。他開始說,「弟兄姊妹們,我願你們無所掛慮:沒有妻子的,所掛慮的是主的事,想怎樣悅樂主;娶了妻子的,所掛慮的是世俗的事,想怎樣悅樂妻子:這樣他的心就分散了。」(格前7:32-34)

「無所掛慮」意味著免於不必要的世俗焦慮。有些焦慮是自然的,就像耶穌在他的人性中害怕死去一樣–我們永遠不可能完全擺脫這些焦慮。如果一位父親失業了,擔心他的家庭是理所當然的–焦慮來自於責任。然而,魔鬼會增加一種不必要的世俗焦慮,說:「我無能為力。我做什麼才好?人們看不起我。」你看到了嗎在他的焦慮中,沒有提到天主,聖保祿希望我們擺脫這種焦慮。

再舉一個例子:父母是否應該對孩子的信仰感到焦慮?他們應該關注,但不是焦慮。換句話說,他們應該關心,但不會有壓力。這是可能的,儘管這很難!

聖保祿說,有些人為了獻身於天主而選擇不結婚,他們的世俗焦慮較少,但卻渴望取悅天主。 「所掛慮的是主的事」意味著專注,而不是緊張和恐懼。

他把這比作一個已婚男人,他「所掛慮的是世俗的事,想怎樣悅樂妻子。」我們在座的所有人都知道,婚姻是一條通往聖潔的道路,我們馬上就談到這一點!但是,在實踐中,已婚夫婦通常更難成為聖人,因為他們沒有一個好的聖潔夫婦的榜樣,他們周圍沒有其他試圖成為聖人的夫婦,有時,夫妻自己也不同意專注於天主。因此,聖保祿的意思是,那些為了天主而選擇不結婚的人可以更自由地專注於祂。那麼,因為不能安定下來而選擇不結婚的單身漢又怎麼樣呢?他選擇自由地關注於自己。每個人都有機會成為聖人,但是有些人通過接觸周圍專注的人群,使自己處於更好的環境中 ,

於是,如果一對夫婦決定,「我認為我們應該專注於天主的事務,不再試圖與其他人攀比,他們就會變得更加自由。如果他們實踐這種世界觀,他們將擁有更多的平靜、感恩和更少的爭吵。

這位是1994年去世的杰羅姆•勒瓊博士(Dr Jérôme Lejeune)。已婚,育有五個孩子。他以發現唐氏綜合症(Down’s Syndrome)的基因原因而聞名。但是,在他的研究允許對唐氏綜合症進行產前診斷後,他反對以唐氏綜合症作為墮胎上的理由。 「在獲得[遺傳學]艾倫獎後,勒瓊給他的同事們做了一次演講,演講結束時明確質疑墮胎的道德性,這在業內是不受歡迎的觀點。在給妻子的一封信中,勒瓊寫道,『今天,我失去了諾貝爾醫學獎』(https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jérôme_Lejeune).。很不幸, 在美國90% 的嬰兒因為唐氏綜合症而被流產,法國有96%,冰島99%。勒瓊反對這個做法, 他說:「我不是跟大眾鬥爭,我是與虛假的思想戰鬥。」” (https://catholicinsight.com/without- fear-the-pro-life-witness-of-dr-jerome-lejeune/) 上兩個週四,他被公認為教會在美德上的英雄,現在備受尊敬,如果天主允許的話,他將成為聖人。為他祈禱!

奧勒瓊用他的專業和影響力來拯救生命!你也有同樣的選擇!

聖保祿重複了關於誰是自由的這一點:「沒有丈夫的婦女和童女,所掛慮的是主的事,一心使身心聖潔;」 (7:34)。

處男處女更自由地專注於天主。從哲學上講,自由意味著什麼?我比我已婚的朋友更自由嗎?答案是:自由做什麼事呢?我放棄了結婚的自由,這樣我就可以有更多的時間與天主在一起,去愛你們所有人!

你還記得電影「仙樂飄飄處處聞聯(真善美) The Sound of Music」嗎?還記得瑪麗亞要結婚的時候,所有的修女都被困在鉄柵後面嗎?但他們沒有被困住。修院有鉄柵的原因不是把修女關在裡面,而是把世界擋在外面!他們自由地選擇了那種生活,並試圖維護它的美好。

年輕人比前幾代人更自由:他們沒有同樣的道德限制,他們可以自由選擇自己喜歡的任何職業。但他們也是最焦慮的一代。他們太自由,以至迷失了。沒有道德準則和目標,他們就不能自由選擇最好的東西。自由並不意味著你可以做任何你想做的事!真正的自由意味著有能力選擇更好的生活。為了過上更好的生活,你需要做出承諾。通過信奉天主,服務他人,建立良好的友誼,努力安定下來,你就可以自由地過上更好的生活!

有了孩子能帶來自由嗎?我遇到過一些婦女,她們雖然愛自己的孩子,但對她們有一點憤慨,因為她們的孩子剝奪了她們過自己想要的生活的自由。但他們看不到天主提供的自由。還記得詹妮弗Jennifer的故事嗎?她被召喚組建一個大家庭(http://thejustmeasure.ca/2021/01/01/begin-again-by-going-to-the-heart/)?她找到了平靜,當她可以自由地展望未來,得以看到25年後的未來,她的孩子們會回家過感恩節;看到50年後的未來,他們會去醫院看望她。

當聖保祿說處男處女在身體和神修上可能是「聖潔的」時,他並不是說已婚夫婦不能聖潔,因為祂已經教導我們,我們的身體都是主的殿宇(格前6 :19)。這裡的已婚夫婦都是自由的!

聖保祿最後說:「我說這話,是為你們的益處,並不是要設下圈套陷害你們, 而只是為叫你們更齊全, 得以不斷地專心事主。」(格前7:35)。但是我們想要自由做什麼呢?我們應該努力消除消極的自由,增強積極的自由。

我曾經看到菲爾博士Dr. Phil解釋說,在看到他酗酒的父親後,他做出了不喝酒的選擇,這給了他永遠不喝醉的自由(https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YxeEsC0TRW4開始時間是30:44)。消除對成績、成功和攀比的焦慮的唯一真正方法是讓天主成為你生活的中心。首先做出決定,然後身體力行,平安便會逐漸隨之而來。 。

如果你還沒有結婚,想想天主是不是在呼召你獨自服侍他祂,成為一名神父或修女。這會帶來更多的自由!

三週後,我們將舉行「生命40天」的運動,這給了我們活出愛天主和保護胎兒,勇敢地生活的自由。

我們的一位姐妹Kim Lobo,曾經害怕參加在BC婦女醫院外的「生命40天」活動,因為她是兒童醫院的一名護士。 。兩年前,在彌撒中,我們邀請大家參加,她深信 這麼做事對的但卻很害怕。她說:「我記得我一直想一直祈禱,不停地跟我先生說,我們真應該這麼做。我祈禱的越多,我就越能得出一個結論,那就是:如果只是因為害怕,不能成為我不去做的理由。其實有更多應該這麼做的理由。」於是她和先生Julio報名參加了。參加完之後,她說,「生命40天」是因為它不強之與人,毫無侵略性,很是平和。人們往往因害怕而裹足不前。我們很怕別人批判。但對於我自己,當我感受到恐懼,我是在懷疑聖神的臨在和祂的解救力量。總之真正的癥結是:我沒有讓祂牽著我的手對我說,我會保護你,我會帶你走過這些困難。 」這是她的世界觀的變化,天主聖神真的臨在並保護我們;於是她的世俗的焦慮開始減少了,能更自由地愛天主和愛人了。

Posted: January 31, 2021

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


其他主日反省

我們有多「驚奇」、「讚嘆」和「着迷」呢? May Tam

追隨耶穌,我們不只是為祂的教導和神蹟而驚奇、讚嘆和著迷,而是要走祂走的路

繼續閱讀 >
乙年(馬爾谷) 常年期第四主日:聖言的權威 吳智勳神父

今日的福音所記載的是耶穌傳道生活的開始,也是馬爾谷福音記載的第一個奇跡。一般人的注意力可能集中在耶穌驅魔這事件身上,而錯過了這段福音最主要的訊息:耶穌說話的權威,即天主聖言的權威。

繼續閱讀 >
【神修話語】常年期第四主日 – 何庭耀神父

這個周末,教會慶祝常年期第四主日,福音來自馬爾谷福音一章二十一至二十八節。耶穌幫人驅魔,與那些因妒忌故誘惑我們 […]

在線聆聽 >