How can we be perfect?

Seventh Sunday in Ordinary Time

Leviticus 19:1-2, 17-18

The LORD said to Moses, "Speak to the whole Israelite community and tell them: Be holy, for I, the LORD, your God, am holy. "You shall not bear hatred for your brother or sister in your heart. Though you may have to reprove your fellow citizen, do not incur sin because of him. Take no revenge and cherish no grudge against any of your people. You shall love your neighbor as yourself. I am the LORD."

1 Corinthians 3:16-23

Brothers and sisters: Do you not know that you are the temple of God, and that the Spirit of God dwells in you? If anyone destroys God's temple, God will destroy that person; for the temple of God, which you are, is holy. Let no one deceive himself. If any one among you considers himself wise in this age, let him become a fool, so as to become wise. For the wisdom of this world is foolishness in the eyes of God, for it is written: God catches the wise in their own ruses, and again: The Lord knows the thoughts of the wise, that they are vain. So let no one boast about human beings, for everything belongs to you, Paul or Apollos or Cephas, or the world or life or death, or the present or the future: all belong to you, and you to Christ, and Christ to God.

Matthew 5:38-48

Jesus said to his disciples: "You have heard that it was said, An eye for an eye and a tooth for a tooth. But I say to you, offer no resistance to one who is evil. When someone strikes you on your right cheek, turn the other one as well. If anyone wants to go to law with you over your tunic, hand over your cloak as well. Should anyone press you into service for one mile, go for two miles. Give to the one who asks of you, and do not turn your back on one who wants to borrow. "You have heard that it was said, You shall love your neighbor and hate your enemy. But I say to you, love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you, that you may be children of your heavenly Father, for he makes his sun rise on the bad and the good, and causes rain to fall on the just and the unjust. For if you love those who love you, what recompense will you have? Do not the tax collectors do the same? And if you greet your brothers only, what is unusual about that? Do not the pagans do the same? So be perfect, just as your heavenly Father is perfect."

Today’s Gospel reading is a continuation of last Sunday’s reading, the series which were known as antitheses of the “counsels of perfection”. The series began with contrasting declarations from Jesus who juxtaposed His own demands on the Mosaic Law. Of the six antitheses, these last two may well be considered the climaxes of perfection as they require a mode of conduct that goes beyond fundamental requirement of the moral law and normal human behaviour. But they were so well known that these sayings of Jesus——-“turn the other cheek”, “go an extra mile” and “love your enemies”——-have become idioms in our everyday lives and the yardsticks of how “nice” one truly is. Why then do such radical and harsh demands find their way into our everyday language? Could it be something that lies behind these demands that touches our human hearts, something transcendent, something that is beautiful, good and true?

We all are, more or less, governed by a set of moral law which provides a basic framework for human relationship in the society. By observing and practising what is required, we can be regarded basically as “good people” in the strict human sense. There is nothing “wrong” about such a way of living. But as Christians, moral law is only a mean not an end in our relationship with our fellowmen and with God. It is a foundation for us to develop more fully that relationship which is more than a matter of “meeting the requirement”. Here is what Jesus challenges us: a call to transform from “nice people” to “holy people”, a call to perfect from “good people” to “saintly people”, a call to share God’s likeness, to participate in His own life and love, a call to become more beautiful, better and truer, something deep inside that the human heart yearns for (rf St Augustine, Conf. 1, 1, 1:PL 32, 659-661, Ps 42:1-2; 63: 1).

But how can we be perfect as human beings who are much less than the “Father who is perfect” (Mt 5:48), the infinite and omnipotent God? Dear friends, do not be discouraged by Jesus’ call for perfection. Relying only on our own efforts, it is an impossible task but Jesus knows our weaknesses and limitations, all He wants is our unswerving trust in Him and our perseverance in trying for “with God all things are possible” (Mt 19:26) and “nothing shall be impossible with [Him]” (Lk 1:37).

“Christian perfection has but one limit, that of having none” (St Gregory of Nyssa, De vita Mos.: PG 44, 300D).

Posted: February 19, 2017

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


Other Sunday Reflections

Will only a few people be saved?
Will we be the ones to stand outside knocking when the master come? Continue Reading >
Finding Peace
When we care for someone, we have to reveal to them their value and gifts. Continue Reading >
Making a decision
In Rome I once met a newly married couple who were visiting from Vancouver. They were clearly in love—it was very sweet. Over lunch I asked how they met. The… Continue Reading >

我們如何能十全十美?

常年期第七主日

肋未紀 19:1-2,17-18

上主訓示梅瑟說:「你告訴以色列子民全體會眾說:你們應該是聖的,因為我,上主,你們的天主是聖的。「不可存心懷恨你的兄弟;應坦白勸戒你的同胞,以免因為他而負上罪債。不可復仇;對你本國人,不可心懷怨恨;但應愛人如己:我是上主。」

格林多前書 3:16-23

弟兄姊妹們:你們不知道,你們是天主的宮殿,天主聖神住在你們內嗎?誰若毀壞天主的宮殿,天主必要毀壞他,因為天主的宮殿是聖的,這宮殿就是你們。誰也不要自欺:你們當中,如果有人在今世自以為是有智慧的人,他該變為一個愚拙的人,好成為一個有智慧的人,因為這世界的智慧在天主眼中原是愚拙。經上記載說:「他以智者的計謀,捕捉智者;」又說:「上主洞悉智者的思想,全是虛幻。」所以,誰也不應以人來誇口,因為一切都是你們的:無論是保祿,或是阿頗羅,或是刻法,或是世界,或是生命,或是死亡,或是現在,或是將來,一切都是你們的;你們卻是基督的,而基督是天主的。

瑪竇福音 5:38-48

那時候,耶穌對門徒說:「你們一向聽說過:『以眼還眼,以牙還牙。』我卻對你們說:不要抵抗惡人;而且,若有人掌擊你的右頰,你把另一面也轉給他。那要與你爭訟,拿你內衣的,你連外衣也讓給他。若有人強迫你走一千步,你就同他走兩千步。求你的,就給他;有人向你借貸,你不要拒絕。「你們一向聽說過:『你應愛你的近人,恨你的仇人!』我卻對你們說:你們當愛你們的仇人,當為迫害你們的人祈禱,好使你們成為你們在天之父的子女,因為他使太陽上升,光照惡人,也光照善人;降雨給義人,也給不義的人。「你們若只愛那愛你們的人,你們還有什麼賞報呢?稅吏不是也這樣做嗎?你們若只問候你們的弟兄,你們做了什麼特別的呢?外邦人不是也這樣做嗎?所以你們應當是成全的,如同你們的天父是成全的一樣。」

今天的福音讀經是上一個主日讀經的延續,這一系列的福音是「全德勸諭」的對比, 始於耶穌論述自己和梅瑟律法的不一樣的要求。在六個對比中,最後這兩個可被認為是全德的巔峰。因為其中品行的要求遠遠超越了道德律法和人類一般行為的基本要求。耶穌的這些訓喻:「把左頰也轉給他」,「同他走兩千步」和「愛你們的仇人」等等, 都已經融入我們的日常用語, 更可說是一個準則,用來衡量是否這人真是個「好人」。 為什麼這樣嚴厲和苛刻的要求竟能成為我們的日常用語呢?在這些要求的背後,是否有些什麼超越人性的真善美,能觸動我們的心靈呢?

我們生活在這個社會中,就必須和其他人建立關係, 而這種關係, 或多或少都會受到一套道德法律的規範和約束。單從人的觀點來看,我們只要服從和遵守這些規條,大致上便可以被認為是個「好人」。這種生活方式,基本上並沒有「錯」。 但作為基督徒,道德律法只是我們與其他人和天主的關係中的一個依循,而不是最終的目標。在這基礎上,我們可以和人及天主更全面地建立關係,而不僅僅是「達到基本要求」。 這就是耶穌給我們的挑戰和考驗:召叫我們從「好人」轉化為「至聖的人」,從「善人」成全為「成聖的人」,,召叫我們肖似天主,融入祂的生命與慈愛中,召叫我們成為更真,更善,更美旳人, 達到人內心深處所渴望的(參考 聖奧斯定 <懺悔錄> 1,1:PL 32,659-661,詠 42:1-2; 63:1)

但我們比「天父是成全的」( 瑪5:48) 渺小得多,人怎能像無限和全能的天主般成全呢? 朋友們,不要為耶穌所召叫的成全而感到沮喪。只靠我們自己的努力,是不可能成功的 。耶穌深知我們的弱點和局限,祂只是要求我們堅定不移地信賴祂,及努力懈地嘗試,因為「為天主,一切都是可能的」(瑪19:26), 「在天主前沒有不能的事」(路1:37)。

「基督徒的成全只有一個限制,便是沒有限制」(St Gregory of Nyssa, De vita Mos.: PG 44, 300D)。

Posted: February 19, 2017

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


其他主日反省

甲年(瑪竇) 常年期第七主日: 如同天父一樣愛仇 吳智勳神父

「以眼還眼,以牙還牙」這條法律,今天已成為成語,可惜帶有消極報復的意味。舊約中,它卻是幫助法官判案的公平原則或償還原則,免得人毫無標準地野蠻報復,有點像孔子所主張的「以直報怨」。這句話並非給私人執行法律時作報復用。

繼續閱讀 >