We are all called to be everyday saints, not superheroes

Fourth Sunday of Advent

Isaiah 7:10-14

The LORD spoke to Ahaz, saying: Ask for a sign from the LORD, your God; let it be deep as the netherworld, or high as the sky! But Ahaz answered, “I will not ask! I will not tempt the LORD!” Then Isaiah said: Listen, O house of David! Is it not enough for you to weary people, must you also weary my God? Therefore the Lord himself will give you this sign: the virgin shall conceive, and bear a son, and shall name him Emmanuel.

Romans 1:1-7

Paul, a slave of Christ Jesus, called to be an apostle and set apart for the gospel of God, which he promised previously through his prophets in the holy Scriptures, the gospel about his Son, descended from David according to the flesh, but established as Son of God in power according to the Spirit of holiness through resurrection from the dead, Jesus Christ our Lord. Through him we have received the grace of apostleship, to bring about the obedience of faith, for the sake of his name, among all the Gentiles, among whom are you also, who are called to belong to Jesus Christ; to all the beloved of God in Rome, called to be holy. Grace to you and peace from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ.

Matthew 1:18-24

This is how the birth of Jesus Christ came about. When his mother Mary was betrothed to Joseph, but before they lived together, she was found with child through the Holy Spirit. Joseph her husband, since he was a righteous man, yet unwilling to expose her to shame, decided to divorce her quietly. Such was his intention when, behold, the angel of the Lord appeared to him in a dream and said, “Joseph, son of David, do not be afraid to take Mary your wife into your home. For it is through the Holy Spirit that this child has been conceived in her. She will bear a son and you are to name him Jesus, because he will save his people from their sins.” All this took place to fulfill what the Lord had said through the prophet: Behold, the virgin shall conceive and bear a son, and they shall name him Emmanuel, which means “God is with us.” When Joseph awoke, he did as the angel of the Lord had commanded him and took his wife into his home.

For many winters, I have been taking grade nine students downtown on special missions – to share friendship, food and winter supplies with some of the loneliest, neediest, invisible and marginalized individuals in the city, the homeless who roamed the busy streets of Toronto every single day; rain (snow) or shine. We would begin our journey at Nathan Phillip Square and continue eastbound along Queen Street all the way to the Good Shepherd Mission just east of Parliament Street. The city-scapes quickly shift from the surreal, glamourous shopping district around Yonge and Queen to the shabby reality for so many living in a big city. Along the way, we would visit three to four homeless shelters, and various parks and street corners frequented by many homeless individuals. Before the trip, most students would feel apprehensive, to say the least! To these young people who spend most of their time in Scarborough, a journey to downtown Toronto is challenging enough. Many admitted that they were afraid.

“What are your fears?” I asked.

“Well, everything! Where is Parliament Street? Is it dangerous? Are they [the home-less] scary? Are they violent? They must be really dirty and smelly!”

The students’ fears are not unfounded; however, when one delves deeper into the heart of the situation, they would discover that homelessness is not a choice for the majority but forced due to domestic violence, addictions (drugs, alcohol, gambling, etc.), and mental health issues. Through their interactions with the less fortunate, participants are gifted with a glimpse of the real humanity buried under layers of grime and dirt; grinded down by poverty, illnesses, and pervasive stereotypes. Therefore, this venture challenges participants to not only reexamine their personal biases and expectations, but also to open their hearts to new (and sometimes strange) encounters that may result in a complete turn-around of their hearts and minds – a conversion! They would realize that even individuals as young as themselves can accomplish great things by a simple “yes” as well as their mere presence and willingness to physically walk with and among the poor.

This week’s Gospel has offered us a poignant reflection of the intricacy between what we think we know is true and what is the truth. Matthew tells us that Joseph, “being a righteous man”, has found out about Mary’s pregnancy and plans to quietly call off the marriage to preserve her dignity (Mt 1:19). In the eyes of the world, Joseph has made a noble choice. However, God has a very different plan for him, for Mary, and their child. God wants Joseph to be so much more than an ordinary father and husband; God has chosen Joseph to be a saint!

At the pivotal moment when Joseph is “resolved” to dismiss Mary, the angel appears to tell him, “do not be afraid” (Mt 1:20). What are Joseph’s fears? The scandal of marrying a woman who is already with child? Of breaking the social norms? Of what others may think of him? Of losing respect from his peers? If Joseph follows what he thinks is right and just according to the social and religious expectations of his time, then he would have missed out on the greatest gift of his life! Perhaps moved by the Spirit, Joseph has a complete change of heart – a conversion of sorts – together with Mary, he has become a participant in God’s salvific plan. God calls Jo-seph to be a “saint”; not a superhero. Joseph is to fulfill his call through the most ordinary means – being a husband and father. In this story, we see two ordinary individuals who have accomplished the most extraordinary mission: they help ushering into the world, Emmanuel, God is with us, with a simple “yes”!

Just as God has a plan for Mary, for Joseph, and for His only Son; God also has a plan for each one of us. St. Paul tells the Romans that they are “called to belong to Jesus Christ and […] to be saints” (Rm 1:6-7). Each one of us, too, is called to “belong” and “to be saints” (Ibid). With humility and trust, we can accomplish the most extraordinary mission with the most ordinary means.

Posted: December 22, 2019

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


Other Sunday Reflections

To Love Outside of the Box
We are called to be imitators of Christ; to be holy and “perfect” as our Heavenly Father is perfect. Continue Reading >
Gentle and Judgemental Equals Perfection
You have to see the recently released movie A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood about Mr. Rogers. For those who are unaware, Fred Rogers had a very influential television show… Continue Reading >
The mysteries of the Kingdom
“Blessed are you, Father, Lord of Heaven and earth; you have revealed to the little ones the mysteries of the kingdom” (Gospel Acclamation Ma 11:25). Continue Reading >

我們並非被召叫做超級英雄,而是日常生活中的聖人。

將臨期第四主日

依撒意亞先知書 7:10-14

那時候,上主又對阿哈次說:「你向上主、你的天主,要求一個徵兆吧!或求諸陰府深處,或求諸上天高處。」阿哈次回答說:「我不要求,我不願試探上主。」依撒意亞說:「達味的家族,你們聽吧!你們使人厭惡還不夠,還要使我的天主厭惡嗎?因此,吾主要親自給你們一個徵兆:看,有位貞女要懷孕生子,給他起名叫厄瑪奴耳。」

羅馬書 1:1-7

基督耶穌的僕人保祿,蒙召作宗徒,被選拔去傳天主的福音。這福音是天主先前藉自己的先知,在聖經中論及他的兒子、我們主耶穌基督,所預許的。他按肉身,是生於達味的後裔。按至聖的神性,由於他從死者中復活,被立為具有大能的天主之子。藉著他,我們領受了宗徒職務的恩寵,為使萬民服從信德,以光榮他的聖名,其中也有你們這些蒙召屬於耶穌基督的人。我保祿致書給一切住在羅馬,為天主所鍾愛,並蒙召為聖徒的人:願恩寵與平安,由我們的天主父,和我們的主耶穌基督,賜與你們。

瑪竇福音 1:18-24

耶穌基督的誕生是這樣的:他的母親瑪利亞,許配於若瑟後,在同居前,因聖神有孕的事,已顯示出來。她的丈夫若瑟,因是義人,不願公開羞辱她,有意暗暗休退她。當若瑟在思慮這事時,看,在夢中,上主的天使顯現給他,說:「達味之子若瑟,不要怕,娶你的妻子瑪利亞,因為在她內受生的,是出於聖神。她要生一個兒子;你要給他起名叫耶穌,因為他要把自己的民族,由他們的罪惡中拯救出來。」這一切事的發生,是為應驗上主藉先知所說的話:「有一位貞女,將懷孕生子,人將稱他的名字為厄瑪奴耳,意思是:天主與我們同在。」若瑟從夢中醒來,就照上主的天使所囑咐的去做,娶了他的妻子。

已經有多個冬天,我帶著九年級的學生到市中心進行特別任務—就是和城中最孤獨、最貧乏、最隱藏和最被邊緣化的人分享友誼、食物及禦寒物資。這些無家可歸者不論晴天、雨天(或雪天),都在多倫多鬧市街頭流連。我們從彌敦菲臘廣場(Nathan Phillip Square)出發,沿著皇后街(Queen Street)向東行,直至國會街(Parliament Street)以東的善牧中心(Good Shepherd Mission )。市容由央街夾皇后街一帶五光十色,超現實的購物區,迅速轉變成為很多住在大城市的人一個落泊破舊的現實。沿途我們會探望三、四個無家可歸者的收容所,以及他們經常流連的一些公園和街角。出發之前,大部份學生都會感到憂慮!為這些大部份時間在士嘉堡區生活的年青人,市中心之旅已經是個挑戰。他們很多都承認自己是感到害怕的。

「你們懼怕什麼?」我問。

「唔, 甚麼都害怕!國會街在哪裡?危險嗎?他們(無家可歸者)會令人恐懼嗎?他們是暴力的嗎?他們肯定又髒又臭!」

學生們的恐懼也不是沒有根據;然而,在深入探究事情的核心,他們會發現無家可歸並非大部份露宿者的選擇,而是被家庭暴力、癮癖(例如吸毒、酗酒、賭博)以及精神健康問題所迫成。參與的學生透過與不幸者的接觸互動,有寶貴機會瞥見被層層污垢灰塵所埋沒的真實人性;被貧窮、疾病及處處被定型所踐踏碾碎的真實人性。這個勇敢的嘗試,挑戰他們不僅重新檢討自己的偏見和期望,同時也讓他們對新的(又或許奇特的)遭遇而敞開心靈。這些經驗甚至可以徹底改變他們的思想和心靈—是一個皈依!他們會意識到,即使有如他們一般年少,也可能藉著一個簡單的「我願意」,以及他們的參與及願意走到窮人當中,與他們同行,也可以成就偉大的事情。

本週的福音提供我們一個機會,深刻地反思一些錯綜複雜的事情:我們認為的事實和什麼才是真相。瑪竇告訴我們,若瑟「因是義人」,知道了瑪利亞有孕,便計劃暗暗地解除婚約以維護她的尊嚴(瑪 1:19)。在世人眼中,若瑟作了一個崇高的的選擇。但天主為他,為瑪利亞和他們的孩子,卻有一個截然不同的計劃。天主要若瑟成為一個非比尋常的父親和丈夫;天主選擇若瑟成為聖人!

當若瑟「下定決心」休退瑪利亞時,天使顯現給他說:「不要怕」(瑪 1:20)。若瑟害怕什麼?和一個已經懷孕的女人結婚的醜行?不跟隨社會標準?其他人會怎樣看他?失去同輩對他的尊重?如果若瑟跟隨當時社會和宗教的期望,做他認為是對和公義的事,他便會失去他一生中最重要的恩寵!可能是天主聖神的啟迪,若瑟完全改變了自己的心—可以說是一個皈依—和瑪利亞一起,若瑟成為天主救世計劃的參與者。天主召叫若瑟成為「聖人」,不是一個超級英雄。若瑟要用最普通的方法來滿全他的召叫—成為丈夫和父親。在這個故事,我們看見兩個普通人,完成了絕不普通的任務:他們簡單地向上主說:「我願意」,就幫忙把厄瑪奴耳—天主與我們同在—迎到世上。

就像天主有一個計劃給瑪利亞、若瑟和祂的獨生子;天主為我們每一個人也有一個計劃。聖保祿告訴羅馬人,他們蒙召為「屬於耶穌基督的人和【⋯】為聖徒的人」(羅 1:6-7)。我們每一個人也被召叫「屬於」和「為聖徒」(同上)。懷着謙遜和信任,我們可以用最尋常的方式,成就絕不尋常的使命。

Posted: December 22, 2019

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


其他主日反省

克服被拒絕的恐懼 Fr. Jusin Huang

有一次,我和十一名神父進行了一次視頻電話會議,討論的主題是:「在試圖更新你的堂區,希望它在靈性上充滿活力時,你最害怕的是什麼?」所以我把答案寫下。 (你猜我寫下了什麼答案;只是一個詞)。

繼續閱讀 >
甲年 將臨期第四主日 若瑟領報 吳智勳神父

基督徒相信耶穌是真天主真人,瑪竇福音就用生動的手法去表達。他用族譜交代耶穌是亞巴郎之子、達味之子,有圓滿的人性;跟著用報夢若瑟的故事,指出祂由聖神而生,名字叫耶穌,又稱厄瑪奴耳,即天主與我們同在之意。

繼續閱讀 >