Humanity’s Got Talent!

Thirty-third Sunday in Ordinary Time

Proverbs 31:10-13, 19-20, 30-31

When one finds a worthy wife, her value is far beyond pearls. Her husband, entrusting his heart to her, has an unfailing prize. She brings him good, and not evil, all the days of her life. She obtains wool and flax and works with loving hands. She puts her hands to the distaff, and her fingers ply the spindle. She reaches out her hands to the poor, and extends her arms to the needy. Charm is deceptive and beauty fleeting; the woman who fears the LORD is to be praised. Give her a reward for her labors, and let her works praise her at the city gates.

1 Thessalonians 5:1-6

Concerning times and seasons, brothers and sisters, you have no need for anything to be written to you. For you yourselves know very well that the day of the Lord will come like a thief at night. When people are saying, "Peace and security, " then sudden disaster comes upon them, like labor pains upon a pregnant woman, and they will not escape. But you, brothers and sisters, are not in darkness, for that day to overtake you like a thief. For all of you are children of the light and children of the day. We are not of the night or of darkness. Therefore, let us not sleep as the rest do, but let us stay alert and sober.

Matthew 25:14-30

Jesus told his disciples this parable: "A man going on a journey called in his servants and entrusted his possessions to them. To one he gave five talents; to another, two; to a third, one-- to each according to his ability. Then he went away. Immediately the one who received five talents went and traded with them, and made another five. Likewise, the one who received two made another two. But the man who received one went off and dug a hole in the ground and buried his master's money. After a long time the master of those servants came back and settled accounts with them. The one who had received five talents came forward bringing the additional five. He said, 'Master, you gave me five talents. See, I have made five more.' His master said to him, 'Well done, my good and faithful servant. Since you were faithful in small matters, I will give you great responsibilities. Come, share your master's joy.' Then the one who had received two talents also came forward and said, 'Master, you gave me two talents. See, I have made two more.' His master said to him, 'Well done, my good and faithful servant. Since you were faithful in small matters, I will give you great responsibilities. Come, share your master's joy.' Then the one who had received the one talent came forward and said, 'Master, I knew you were a demanding person, harvesting where you did not plant and gathering where you did not scatter; so out of fear I went off and buried your talent in the ground. Here it is back.' His master said to him in reply, 'You wicked, lazy servant! So you knew that I harvest where I did not plant and gather where I did not scatter? Should you not then have put my money in the bank so that I could have got it back with interest on my return? Now then! Take the talent from him and give it to the one with ten. For to everyone who has, more will be given and he will grow rich; but from the one who has not, even what he has will be taken away. And throw this useless servant into the darkness outside, where there will be wailing and grinding of teeth.'"

“A capable wife, who can find her? … She does him good, and not harm, all the days of her life” (Proverbs 31:10, 12). Is the author promoting the image of a subservient female serving her husband “all the days of her life”?!? Equally perplexing is the Gospel reading where Matthew recounts a parable of Jesus that seems to suggest that the rich will become richer and the poor will become poorer!

At first glance, this week’s readings seem to be perpetuating deep-rooted social injustices against women and the poor. There’s no doubt that these passages are shocking but aren’t most things that came out of Jesus’ mouth equally thought-provoking, if not more? When we put on the lens of Jesus’ teachings about love, service, and the Kingdom of God, we are empowered to understand these narratives more thoroughly. The “capable wife” in Proverbs can be interpreted as the Church and her husband, Jesus. In fact, this passage sheds light on the mission of the Church. Central to the Catholic social teaching is the preferential option for the poor. The canon law states that “The Christian faithful are also obliged to promote social justice and, mindful of the precept of the Lord, to assist the poor”. Hence, the “capable wife”, or followers of Christ, “opens her hand to the poor and reaches out her hands to the needy” (Prov 31:20). Pope Benedict XVI affirms the centrality of social justice in “Caritas in Veritate”:

If we love others with charity, then first of all we are just towards them. Not only is justice not extraneous to charity, not only is it not an alternative or parallel path to charity: justice is inseparable from charity, and intrinsic to it. […] To desire the common good and strive towards it is a requirement of justice and charity…. The more we strive to secure a common good corresponding to the real needs of our neighbours, the more effectively we love them.
(Caritas in Veritate n.6 as quoted in “Catholic Social Teaching on Poverty, an Option for the Poor, and the Common Good”, USCCB.org)

Indeed, by virtue of our baptismal dignity, we have been anointed to “bring good news to the poor” and sent to “proclaim release to the captives and recovery of sight to the blind, to let the oppressed go free, to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favour” (Lk 4:18-20).

What God has gifted each one of us is sufficient to fulfill our mission as Catholic Christians in the service of our fellow sisters and brothers. Whether we receive one, two, or five “talents”, we are called to bear fruits. Whatever talents we may have, we are reminded to use them in serving others. What if I only receive “one talent”? In truth, God can even use our perceived weaknesses to build a community of faith, hope, and love. It is through such diversity and openness that we may support each other along the journey as companions in faith. Jean Vanier reminds us that “one of the marvelous things about community is that it enables us to welcome and help people in a way we couldn’t as individuals. When we pool our strength and share the work and responsibility, we can welcome many people, even those in deep distress, and perhaps help them find self-confidence and inner healing” (Community and Growth). When the Church, meaning all of us, contribute to the greater good, we build a more hopeful and beautiful world in which everyone may “enter the joy of [our] Master” (Mt 25:23).

Posted: November 19, 2017

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


Other Sunday Reflections

Are we ready to accompany Jesus into Jerusalem and point out His true identity to others?
It is not until after Jesus' death does His true identity is revealed. Continue Reading >
We are spiritually dead. Who can help?
In this 5th Sunday of Lent, we continue our Lenten journey with a magnificent meditation from the Gospel of John, the story of raising Lazarus from the dead. The details… Continue Reading >
Something Dying Leads to Something Coming to Life
Most of us are experiencing unusual suffering right now, and the human person needs to understand what's going on! On a human level, once we have clarity about how long… Continue Reading >

天才橫溢的人類!

常年期第三十三主日

箴言 31:10-13,19-20,30-31

賢淑的婦女,有誰能找到?她本身價值,遠勝過珠寶。她的丈夫,對她衷心信賴,一切所需,從來不會缺少。她一生歲月,只叫丈夫幸福,不給丈夫煩惱。她弄來羊毛細麻,愉快地親手勞作。 她手執紡錘,手指旋轉紗錠。對貧苦的人,她隨手賙濟;對無靠的人,她伸手扶助。 姿色是虛幻,美麗是泡影;敬畏上主的女人,才堪當受人讚美。願她享受她雙手操勞的成果!願她的事業,使她在城門口受讚揚!

得撒洛尼前書 5:1-6

關於那時候與日期,不需要給你們寫什麼。你們原來確實知道:主的日子,要像夜間的盜賊一樣來到。 幾時人正在說:「平安無事」,那時,滅亡會猝然來到他們身上,就像痛苦,來到懷孕者身上一樣,決逃脫不了。 但是,你們,弟兄們,你們不是在黑暗中,以致那日子,像盜賊一樣襲擊你們;你們眾人都是光明之子,和白日之子;我們不屬於黑夜,也不屬於黑暗。 所以,我們不應像其他人一樣貪睡,卻當清醒謹慎。

瑪竇福音 25:14-30

那時候,耶穌給門徒講了這個比喻,說:「天國好像一個要遠行的人,將自己的僕人叫來,把財產託付給他們:按照他們的才能,一個給了五個『塔冷通』,一個給了兩個,一個給了一個;然後動身走了。 「那領了五個『塔冷通』的,立刻去用來營業,另外賺了五個。同樣,那領了兩個的,也賺了另外兩個。但是,那領了一個的,卻去把地掘開,把主人的銀子,埋藏起來。 「過了很久,僕人的主人回來了,便與僕人算賬。那領了五個『塔冷通』的,上前,呈上另外五個『塔冷通』,說:主啊!你曾交給我五個『塔冷通』,看,我賺了另外五個『塔冷通』。主人對他說:好!善良忠信的僕人,你既在少許事上忠信,我必委派你管理許多大事:進入你主人的福樂吧! 「那領了兩個『塔冷通』的,也前來,說:主啊!你曾交給我兩個『塔冷通』,看,我賺了另外兩個『塔冷通』。主人對他說:好!善良忠信的僕人!你既在少許事上忠信,我必委派你管理許多大事:進入你主人的福樂吧! 「隨後,那領了一個『塔冷通』的,也前來,說:主啊!我原知道你是個刻薄的人,在你沒有下種的地方收割,在你沒有散布的地方聚斂。因為我害怕,所以我去把你的『塔冷通』,藏在地下;看,你的,仍還給你。 「主人回答說:可惡懶惰的僕人!你既知道:我在沒有下種的地方收割,在沒有散布的地方聚斂;那麼,你該把我的銀子,交給錢莊裡的人,待我回來時,連本帶利,收回給我。所以,你們從他手中,把這個『塔冷通』奪過來,給那有了十個『塔冷通』的。因為凡是有的,還要給他,叫他富裕;那沒有的,連他所有的,也要由他手中奪去。至於這個無用的僕人,你們把他丟在外面的黑暗中;在那裡必有哀號和切齒。」

「賢淑的婦女,有誰能找到﹖…她一生歲月,只叫他幸福,不給他煩惱」(箴言31:10, 12)。 作者是否在鼓吹一個的卑躬屈膝的女性形象, 要用「她一生歲月」 來服侍丈夫 ?!? 同樣令人困惑的是在福音讀經中,瑪竇轉述了耶穌的一個比喻,似乎有富人會變得更富有,而窮人將變得更貧窮的意思!

社會對待婦女和窮人一向是不公義的,驟眼看來,本週的讀經似乎在延續那根深蒂固的現象。毫無疑問,這些經文確實令人震驚,但大部分從耶穌口裡説出來的話,不是跟這一樣,甚至更出人意表和發人深省麼?當我們以耶穌教導的目光看愛、侍奉和天主的國,我們便能更徹底地理解這些敘述。箴言中的 「賢淑的婦女」可以解釋為教會和她的丈夫耶穌。事實上,這段經文展示了教會的使命。天主教社會訓導的核心就是優先關愛窮人。天主教法典規定:「基督徒必須促進社會正義,並心存天主的準則,協助窮人」。因此,「賢淑的婦女」或基督的追隨者,「對貧苦的人,她隨手賙濟;對無靠的人,她伸手扶助」(箴31:20)。教宗本篤十六世更在《在真理中實踐愛德》通諭中重申社會公義在教會中的核心地位:

凡真正愛人的,一定先會對他們公道。公義不但不能與愛德無關,兩者也不能各行其道,公義不能與愛德分割,公義是愛德的一個固有的因素。[…] 追求公益並為之而努力,是公義和愛德的要求。我們越努力促進真正的公益,也越真實地愛我們的近人 。

(美國主教團在 < 天主教社會教導 :貧窮、窮人的選擇和公益 > 中引用《在真理中實踐愛德》第六段)

事實上,當我們接受了聖洗聖事,我們便被委派了「向貧窮人傳報喜訊」並被祂差遣「向俘虜宣告釋放,向盲者宣告復明,使受壓迫者獲得自由,宣佈上主恩慈之年」(路4:18-20)。

天主給我們每個人的天賦都足以讓我們履行作為天主教基督徒的使命,去服務我們的姐妹兄弟。不論我們被賦與一個、兩個或五個「塔冷通」,我們都被召叫將這些天賦結出果實。姑勿論我們擁有什麼天賦,我們都要記著要用這天賦為他人服務。如果我只收到一個「塔冷通」怎麼辦?事實上,天主甚至可以利用我們自以為的弱點,來建立一個信、望、愛的團體。通過這多元性和開放性,我們可以在信仰的旅途上相互扶持,成為信仰伙伴。溫立光先生(Jean Vanier)提醒我們:「團體令我們做到我們不能以個人力量做到的,去歡迎和幫助人,這是團體的奇妙之處。當我們凝聚力量,分擔工作和責任時,我們可以歡迎更多人,甚至是那些深陷痛苦的人,或許可以幫助他們尋回自信和內心的治愈」(團體和成長)。當教會,即我們所有人,為大眾的利益 作出貢獻時,我們便在建立一個更有希望和美好的世界,每個人都可以「進入你 (我們) 主人的福樂」的世界(瑪竇25:23)。

Posted: November 19, 2017

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


其他主日反省

甲年(瑪竇) 常年期第三十三主日:善用恩賜 吳智勳神父

今天讀的福音是瑪竇福音中有關天國比喻的最後一個,我們要知道不同的比喻是從不同角度講論天國,而比喻之間是互相補充的。耶穌曾講過天國好比人撒種,種子如何發芽生長,他卻不知道,這強調天主救恩的能力,但不要結論;人對此恩賜,甚麼也不需要做。今日的比喻便明言:天國雖是天主的恩賜,但要人努力去回應;金幣的比喻強調天國的恩賜並非不勞而獲,它要求人積極地參與建設天國。

繼續閱讀 >