What is the Core of Our Mission?

Third Sunday in Ordinary Time

Isaiah 8:23-9:3

First the Lord degraded the land of Zebulun and the land of Naphtali; but in the end he has glorified the seaward road, the land west of the Jordan, the District of the Gentiles. Anguish has taken wing, dispelled is darkness: for there is no gloom where but now there was distress. The people who walked in darkness have seen a great light; upon those who dwelt in the land of gloom a light has shone. You have brought them abundant joy and great rejoicing, as they rejoice before you as at the harvest, as people make merry when dividing spoils. For the yoke that burdened them, the pole on their shoulder, and the rod of their taskmaster you have smashed, as on the day of Midian.

1 Corinthians 1:10-13, 17

I urge you, brothers and sisters, in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, that all of you agree in what you say, and that there be no divisions among you, but that you be united in the same mind and in the same purpose. For it has been reported to me about you, my brothers and sisters, by Chloe's people, that there are rivalries among you. I mean that each of you is saying, "I belong to Paul," or "I belong to Apollos," or "I belong to Cephas," or "I belong to Christ." Is Christ divided? Was Paul crucified for you? Or were you baptized in the name of Paul? For Christ did not send me to baptize but to preach the gospel, and not with the wisdom of human eloquence, so that the cross of Christ might not be emptied of its meaning.

Matthew 4:12-23

When Jesus heard that John had been arrested, he withdrew to Galilee. He left Nazareth and went to live in Capernaum by the sea, in the region of Zebulun and Naphtali, that what had been said through Isaiah the prophet might be fulfilled: Land of Zebulun and land of Naphtali, the way to the sea, beyond the Jordan, Galilee of the Gentiles, the people who sit in darkness have seen a great light, on those dwelling in a land overshadowed by death light has arisen. From that time on, Jesus began to preach and say, "Repent, for the kingdom of heaven is at hand." As he was walking by the Sea of Galilee, he saw two brothers, Simon who is called Peter, and his brother Andrew, casting a net into the sea; they were fishermen. He said to them, "Come after me, and I will make you fishers of men." At once they left their nets and followed him. He walked along from there and saw two other brothers, James, the son of Zebedee, and his brother John. They were in a boat, with their father Zebedee, mending their nets. He called them, and immediately they left their boat and their father and followed him. He went around all of Galilee, teaching in their synagogues, proclaiming the gospel of the kingdom, and curing every disease and illness among the people.

The reading for this Sunday is one of the most lyrical and beautiful passages in the Gospel. It is the story of Jesus calling the first disciples. The story is right and peaceful. It gets at the very heart of Jesus’ life and work, revealing what He is about. He comes into the world as the Second Person of the Blessed Trinity, a representative from the community that is God—and thus His fundamental purpose is to draw the world into community around Him.

“He said to them, ‘Come after me, and I will make you fishers of men’” (Mt.4:19). There is so much packed into this simple line. Notice the way how God acts. He is the initiative of grace, just like the Father of the Prodigal Son who “ran to his son” (Lk 15:20). In a similar way, Jesus comes out, and He approaches the first disciples in a very direct way. He is not offering a doctrine, a theology, nor a set of beliefs, but rather He is offering himself, and inspires them saying, “Follow me, and walk behind me, become my disciple, apprentice to me”.

The most important part of living a Christian life is to walk after Jesus, to fall in love with Him, and to turn one’s life over to Him. It is not mainly be about adhering to a system of beliefs (even though this is important), but primarily, it is about cultivating a friendship with a person. Christianity is falling in love with God who is the great family of love, and Jesus is to bring this power of love and communion into this broken world. Therefore, the act by which Jesus gathers people around Himself is essential to His life and His work. He is “breaking” into this world, and is fishing us out of the place of darkness, hatred, violence, self-reproach, and guilt. He wants to lead us out of this world into His own; like the first disciples, those who fall in love with Him are going to heed the call to do exactly what He does. They also want to fish people out of the darkness and brokenness. This is also the task of our Church, to be converted to Christ, and to come after Him. Evangelization, proclaiming the faith, and drawing people to Christ, is not an option. That is the heart of the matter! In Fountain of Love and Life, it is the core of our mission, “to stir into flame the gift of God” (2 Tim1:6). Our obligation is to fish them, and to draw them to Christ. This is absolutely essential for all believers, not just for some people in the Church to worry about. All of us should become fishers of people!

“Immediately they left their boat and their father and followed him” (Mt 4:22). Jesus has stirred the “Imago Dei” in them, the image and likeness of God, and they say “Yes”! This is what their life is about; to follow Him, to be like Him, to be fishers of people. Let the Lord stirs the same image of God in us so that we may follow Him. Let us give up everything and make Him the center of our life.

Acknowledgement
This is an excerpt from Bishop Robert Barron’s homilies, including “Following The Lord”, “They Abandoned Everything”, and “The Irresistible Call”. For more information, please visit WordOnFire.org.

Posted: January 26, 2020

Ben Cheng

 


Other Sunday Reflections

Are we able to perceive the hidden Truth?
To be able to perceive the Truth, we need an open heart and a willing ear Continue Reading >
“Come to Me” (Mt 11:28)
It is exactly in these times of uncertainties that we are brought back to the only certainty of hope and love through the in-dwelling Spirit of Christ. Continue Reading >
Freedom in Accepting Our Bodies
Let’s talk about the challenge of not accepting our bodies. All of us have experiences of not being satisfied with the way we look. We’re self-conscious about our size, shape,… Continue Reading >

我們使命的核心是甚麽?

常年期第三主日

依撒意亞先知書 8:23-9:3

昔日,上主曾使則步隆和納斐塔里地域,受了侮辱,但日後卻使沿海之路,約但東岸,外方人的加里肋亞,獲得了光榮。在黑暗中行走的百姓,看見了一道皓光;那寄居於漆黑之地的人,已有光輝照射在他們身上。你加強了他們的快樂,增加了他們的喜悅;他們在你面前歡樂,有如人收割時的歡樂,又如分贓時的愉快;因為,正如在米德楊那天一樣,你折斷了他們所負的重軛,和他們肩上的橫木,以及壓迫他們者的短棍。

格林多前書 1:10-13,17

弟兄姊妹們:我因我們的主耶穌基督之名,請求你們眾人言談一致;在你們中不要有分裂,但要同心合意,精誠團結。因為,我的弟兄們,我由黑羅厄的家人,聽說你們中發生了紛爭。我的意思是說,你們各自聲稱:我是屬保祿的,我是屬阿頗羅的,我是屬刻法的,我是屬基督的。基督被分裂了嗎?難道保祿為你們被釘死在十字架上嗎?或者你們受洗,是歸於保祿名下嗎?原來基督派遣我,不是為施洗,而是為宣傳福音,且不用巧妙的言辭,免得基督的十字架失去效力。

瑪竇福音 4:12-23

耶穌聽到若翰被監禁以後,就退避到加里肋亞;後來,又離開納匝肋,住在海邊的葛法翁,即住在則步隆和納斐塔里境內。這應驗了依撒意亞先知所說的話:「則步隆與納斐塔里地,通海大路,約但河東,外方人的加里肋亞,那坐在黑暗中的百姓,看見了皓光;那坐在死亡陰影之地的人,已有光明為他們升起。」從那時起,耶穌開始宣講說:「你們悔改吧!因為天國臨近了。」耶穌沿加里肋亞海行走時,看見了兩個兄弟:稱為伯多祿的西滿,和他的兄弟安德肋,在海裡撒網;他們原是漁夫。耶穌就對他們說:「來,跟隨我!我要使你們成為漁人的漁夫。」他們立刻捨下網,跟隨了耶穌。耶穌從那裡再往前行,看見了另外兩個兄弟:載伯德的兒子雅各伯和他的弟弟若望,在船上,同他們的父親載伯德,修理他們的網,就召叫了他們。他們也立刻捨下漁船,及自己的父親,跟隨了耶穌。耶穌走遍了全加里肋亞,在他們的會堂施教,宣講天國的福音,治好民間各種疾病、各種災殃。

本主日的讀經是福音其中一篇最抒情及最美麗的,是耶穌召叫首批門徒的故事。這是一個既恰當又寧靜祥和的故事。它進入了耶穌的生活和事工的核心,顯示了祂是誰。祂以天主聖三的第二位來到世上,是天主這團體的代表。因此,祂基本的目的是要吸引世人歸向祂,成為以祂為中心的團體。

「祂對他們說:『來,跟從我!我要使你們成為漁人的漁夫。』」 (瑪4:19)。這一句簡單的話,卻意義深厚。請留意天主是如何行事。祂主動施放恩寵,正如浪子的父親向兒子「跑 ⋯ 去」(路 15:20)。同樣,耶穌來到,直接走近首批門徒。祂並沒有提出任何教義、神學或信條,反之,祂獻出自己,並啟發他們,說:「跟隨我,並隨我後面走,作我的門徒,我的徒弟」。

基督徒生活,最重要的是跟隨耶穌,愛上祂,並把自己的生命全交給祂。這不單是遵循一個信仰的系統 (雖然這也很重要),而是與一個人建立情誼。天主是大愛的家庭,基督宗教就是愛上天主,耶穌就是要把這愛與共融的力量帶進這破碎的世界。因此,耶穌特意把人聚集到祂自己身邊,對祂的生命和工作至為重要。祂「闖入」這世界,把我們從這黑暗、仇恨、暴力、自我責備和自咎的地方中帶出來,像捕魚一樣。祂要把我們從這世界引領到祂那裏去;正如首批門徒,愛上祂就會聽從祂的召叫,依照祂的榜樣行事。他們也要把人從黑暗和破碎中帶領出來,領人皈依基督,跟隨祂,而這也是我們教會的任務。福傳、宣揚信仰、導人歸向基督,並非一個選擇,而是事情的關鍵!在《生命恩泉》,我們使命的核心是「把天主 … 賦予你的恩賜,再熾燃起來」(弟後 1:6)。我們有義務去「捕人」,導引他們歸向耶穌。這不只是教會裏某些人的掛慮,而是所有信徒都是絕對必須掛心的事。我們所有人都應該成為漁人的漁夫!

「他們也立刻捨下漁船和自己的父親,跟隨了他」(瑪 4:22)。耶穌觸動了他們內心的 “Imago Dei”─天主的肖像和模樣─他們便說「願意」!這便成了他們的人生;去跟隨祂,肖似祂,作漁人的漁夫。讓主觸動我們內心同一個天主的肖像,好使我們也去跟隨祂。讓我們放棄一切,使祂作我們生活的中心吧!

嗚謝
摘錄自Bishop Barren 的講道,包括 “Following The Lord”, “They Abandoned Everything” 及 “The Irresistible Call”。詳情請瀏覽網站 WordOnFire.org

Posted: January 26, 2020

Ben Cheng

 


其他主日反省

甲年(瑪竇) 常年期第三主日:悔改罷!跟我來 吳智勳神父

若翰洗者被監禁了,這意味著先知時代結束,新的時代開始了。耶穌離開納匝肋,往則步隆和納斐塔里去,從前這兩支派被亞述人擄走當奴隸,現在先知的話應驗了,耶穌來解救他們;但這不是政治性的解救,而是罪惡奴役的解救。所以,耶穌說︰「悔改罷!」悔改包含離開罪惡及錯誤的行為,不承認有錯誤就不可能悔改。

繼續閱讀 >
防止堂區分裂 Fr. Jusin Huang

在聖安多尼堂,有一些事情可能會導致我們意見分歧:一些人認為我們不應該使用Alpha;一些人不希望我們把奉獻的百分之十捐給有需要的人;有些人不喜歡一個小時十五分鐘的彌撒;有些人不同意我們在道德問題上的立場,比如墮胎、談論大罪、酗酒等等;有些人甚至抱怨我的講道! (倒抽一口氣!)。

繼續閱讀 >