Learn from St. Joseph

Fourth Sunday of Advent

Isaiah 7:10-14

The LORD spoke to Ahaz, saying: Ask for a sign from the LORD, your God; let it be deep as the netherworld, or high as the sky! But Ahaz answered, “I will not ask! I will not tempt the LORD!” Then Isaiah said: Listen, O house of David! Is it not enough for you to weary people, must you also weary my God? Therefore the Lord himself will give you this sign: the virgin shall conceive, and bear a son, and shall name him Emmanuel.

Romans 1:1-7

Paul, a slave of Christ Jesus, called to be an apostle and set apart for the gospel of God, which he promised previously through his prophets in the holy Scriptures, the gospel about his Son, descended from David according to the flesh, but established as Son of God in power according to the Spirit of holiness through resurrection from the dead, Jesus Christ our Lord. Through him we have received the grace of apostleship, to bring about the obedience of faith, for the sake of his name, among all the Gentiles, among whom are you also, who are called to belong to Jesus Christ; to all the beloved of God in Rome, called to be holy. Grace to you and peace from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ.

Matthew 1:18-24

This is how the birth of Jesus Christ came about. When his mother Mary was betrothed to Joseph, but before they lived together, she was found with child through the Holy Spirit. Joseph her husband, since he was a righteous man, yet unwilling to expose her to shame, decided to divorce her quietly. Such was his intention when, behold, the angel of the Lord appeared to him in a dream and said, “Joseph, son of David, do not be afraid to take Mary your wife into your home. For it is through the Holy Spirit that this child has been conceived in her. She will bear a son and you are to name him Jesus, because he will save his people from their sins.” All this took place to fulfill what the Lord had said through the prophet: Behold, the virgin shall conceive and bear a son, and they shall name him Emmanuel, which means “God is with us.” When Joseph awoke, he did as the angel of the Lord had commanded him and took his wife into his home.

In this Sunday’s Gospel Reading, we hear the familiar story of how Joseph decided to dismiss Mary quietly when he found out that she was with child even though the engaged couple had had no conjugal relationship, how he heard the Angel’s words in a dream to take Mary as his wife, that the son Mary was bearing was from the Holy Spirit, and how he abandoned his own plan immediately and “did as the Angel of the Lord commanded him; he took her as his wife”. (Matthew 1:24)

What strikes me most in this gospel passage is how promptly and readily St. Joseph gave up his own plan to follow God’s. For myself, I am often very attached to my own plans, be they big or small. It is this attachment that makes me unable to hear God’s whispers in my ears and open my heart to God’s will in my life. Even in prayer, I have to remind myself not to insist on my own will but to seek God’s instead.

In the Second Reading, St. Paul gave us a clue how we can open our hearts to God’s will in our lives. He taught us “obedience of faith” (Romans 1:5, second reading). It truly opens up my mind! Yes we must obey God in faith – although at this moment in time, we cannot see His will clearly, we do not understand, yet we must not be afraid, we must take courage and follow what we feel are His directions even though it could mean taking a more difficult path in the eyes of the world.

Obedience of faith is not easy, but it will make us a better person, a better Catholic who can better live out the Gospels. In this last Sunday of Advent, let us make it our Christmas resolution to welcome Jesus into our hearts with obedience of faith so that we can be more like St. Joseph who was prompt and ready to abandon his own plan for the sake of God’s.

Posted: December 18, 2016

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


Other Sunday Reflections

You’re Free to Choose
Today’s homily is about freedom, because some people have been wondering if anyone will feel pressure in our upcoming Christ the King Challenge. ‘What will my wife think if I… Continue Reading >
The Joy of Knowing How to Read the Bible
This Sunday’s readings give us a good glimpse into Typology - an amazing biblical interpretation technique that enables us to see the unity of the Old and New Testaments. Continue Reading >
This is Justice, This is Mercy
Mr. Perry, our school principal, once shared a story about when he was young, he and his family took the ferry to Salt Spring Island. He had a friend who… Continue Reading >

學習聖若瑟

將臨期第四主日

依撒意亞先知書 7:10-14

那時候,上主又對阿哈次說:「你向上主、你的天主,要求一個徵兆吧!或求諸陰府深處,或求諸上天高處。」阿哈次回答說:「我不要求,我不願試探上主。」依撒意亞說:「達味的家族,你們聽吧!你們使人厭惡還不夠,還要使我的天主厭惡嗎?因此,吾主要親自給你們一個徵兆:看,有位貞女要懷孕生子,給他起名叫厄瑪奴耳。」

羅馬書 1:1-7

基督耶穌的僕人保祿,蒙召作宗徒,被選拔去傳天主的福音。這福音是天主先前藉自己的先知,在聖經中論及他的兒子、我們主耶穌基督,所預許的。他按肉身,是生於達味的後裔。按至聖的神性,由於他從死者中復活,被立為具有大能的天主之子。藉著他,我們領受了宗徒職務的恩寵,為使萬民服從信德,以光榮他的聖名,其中也有你們這些蒙召屬於耶穌基督的人。我保祿致書給一切住在羅馬,為天主所鍾愛,並蒙召為聖徒的人:願恩寵與平安,由我們的天主父,和我們的主耶穌基督,賜與你們。

瑪竇福音 1:18-24

耶穌基督的誕生是這樣的:他的母親瑪利亞,許配於若瑟後,在同居前,因聖神有孕的事,已顯示出來。她的丈夫若瑟,因是義人,不願公開羞辱她,有意暗暗休退她。當若瑟在思慮這事時,看,在夢中,上主的天使顯現給他,說:「達味之子若瑟,不要怕,娶你的妻子瑪利亞,因為在她內受生的,是出於聖神。她要生一個兒子;你要給他起名叫耶穌,因為他要把自己的民族,由他們的罪惡中拯救出來。」這一切事的發生,是為應驗上主藉先知所說的話:「有一位貞女,將懷孕生子,人將稱他的名字為厄瑪奴耳,意思是:天主與我們同在。」若瑟從夢中醒來,就照上主的天使所囑咐的去做,娶了他的妻子。

這個主日的福音讀經,我們聽到一個耳熟能詳的故事。瑪利亞和若瑟訂了婚,但是還沒有迎娶過來,瑪利亞就被發現懷了孕,若瑟原本打算秘密解除婚約, 但當他在夢中聽到天使的話,要娶瑪利亞為妻,她要生的兒子是由於聖神而懷孕,他便立刻放棄自己的計劃並「按照上主的天使所吩咐的 ,把妻子迎娶過來」。(瑪竇福音 1:24)

這篇福音最觸動我的地方就是聖若瑟為了跟隨天主的計劃,毫不猶豫地立刻放棄自己的計劃。以自己來說,事無大小,我對自己的計劃都非常執著。就是這種執著,使我不能好好聆聽天主在我耳邊的細語,不能打開心扉來接受天主在生命裡為我的安排。甚至在祈禱時,我亦要提醒自己要尋求天主意思而不是堅持自己的意思。

在讀經二,聖保祿提示我們,如何能開放自己的心靈來接受天主的計劃。他教導我們「聽從信德」(羅1:5, 讀經二) 真的令我茅塞頓開!對,我們一定要在信德中聽從天主: 在這一刻, 雖然我們還未能看清天主的旨意,未能明白,但我們不能害怕,要鼓起勇氣跟隨我們認為是來自天主的指示,儘管在世人眼中,這樣做可能要走上一條比較難行的路。

聽從信德並不容易,但會使我們成為一個更好的人,一個更好的教友,更能活出福音的精神。在將臨期的最後一個主日,就讓我們以聽從信德為聖誕願望,以聽從信德來迎接耶穌降臨心中,讓我們更肖似為跟隨天主的計劃,而立刻放棄自己計劃的聖若瑟。

Posted: December 18, 2016

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


其他主日反省

甲年 將臨期第四主日 若瑟領報 吳智勳神父

基督徒相信耶穌是真天主真人,瑪竇福音就用生動的手法去表達。他用族譜交代耶穌是亞巴郎之子、達味之子,有圓滿的人性;跟著用報夢若瑟的故事,指出祂由聖神而生,名字叫耶穌,又稱厄瑪奴耳,即天主與我們同在之意。

繼續閱讀 >
厄瑪奴耳: 天主與我們同在 FLL Editorial Team

將臨期第四主日甲年讀經 將臨期第四主日的到來,意味着耶穌誕生的日子已經非常接近,而主日讀經也以這即將誕生的嬰孩 […]

繼續閱讀 >