Lord, Why Don’t You Listen?

Twenty-seventh Sunday in Ordinary Time

Habakkuk 1:2-3; 2:2-4

How long, O LORD? I cry for help but you do not listen! I cry out to you, “Violence!” but you do not intervene. Why do you let me see ruin; why must I look at misery? Destruction and violence are before me; there is strife, and clamorous discord. Then the LORD answered me and said: Write down the vision clearly upon the tablets, so that one can read it readily. For the vision still has its time, presses on to fulfillment, and will not disappoint; if it delays, wait for it, it will surely come, it will not be late. The rash one has no integrity; but the just one, because of his faith, shall live.

2 Timothy 1:6-8, 13-14

Beloved: I remind you, to stir into flame the gift of God that you have through the imposition of my hands. For God did not give us a spirit of cowardice but rather of power and love and self-control. So do not be ashamed of your testimony to our Lord, nor of me, a prisoner for his sake; but bear your share of hardship for the gospel with the strength that comes from God. Take as your norm the sound words that you heard from me, in the faith and love that are in Christ Jesus. Guard this rich trust with the help of the Holy Spirit that dwells within us.

Luke 17:5-10

The apostles said to the Lord, “Increase our faith.” The Lord replied, “If you have faith the size of a mustard seed, you would say to this mulberry tree, ‘Be uprooted and planted in the sea,’ and it would obey you. “Who among you would say to your servant who has just come in from plowing or tending sheep in the field, ‘Come here immediately and take your place at table’? Would he not rather say to him, ‘Prepare something for me to eat. Put on your apron and wait on me while I eat and drink. You may eat and drink when I am finished’? Is he grateful to that servant because he did what was commanded? So should it be with you. When you have done all you have been commanded, say, ‘We are unprofitable servants; we have done what we were obliged to do.’”

“How long, O LORD? I cry for help but you do not listen!” (Habakkuk 1:2) The exasperating lamentation of Habakkuk, whose prophetic ministry was exercised during one of the most diffi-cult times in the history of Israel – the Babylonian invasion of Judah – will resonate with many of us who seek to exercise our own prophetic ministry of promoting love, truth, and life in a world intoxicated with hatred, lies, and the culture of death.

Unprovoked and indiscriminate mass shootings driven by hatred and misguided ideologies; gov-ernment leaders who lie through their teeth and lie some more when their falsehood is exposed, believing that repetition of lies is the mother of all truths; politicians who barter in their souls in exchange for keeping their seats in the legislature; news media that defend their own freedom of press but are quick to trample the Church’s freedom of religion when they disagree with the Church’s moral values, especially on the issues of abortion and sex – such is the state of intoxica-tion of the world today. Like the woman of Revelation 17, “the mother of harlots and of the abominations of the earth”, the world is “drunk on the blood of the holy ones and on the blood of the witnesses to Jesus” (Rev 17:5-6).

“How long, O LORD? I cry for help but you do not listen!” (Habakkuk 1:2) Like Habakkuk, we wonder why God does not address the cry of anguish from the depth of our much-tormented souls. What should we do when it seems God just doesn’t care? “Stir into flame”, St. Paul re-minds us in this Sunday’s 2nd reading (2 Tm 1:6). “[D]o not be ashamed of your testimony to our Lord…but bear your share of hardship for the gospel”, he says (2 Tm 1:8).

“But why?! Why should we bear our share of hardship for the gospel when God Himself doesn’t seem to care?” Many of us will rise in protest upon hearing St. Paul’s advice.

Difficult times call for difficult measures. This is the time when our faith in God is really put to the test. We are the servant in today’s gospel who is given one difficult task after another by his master. If we truly believe that God exists; that He is our Creator and our Lord; that He is loving, just, and good; that He is almighty and remains in control in spite of all the difficulties that we are experiencing in the world today; we should continue to do what He commands us, and have the faith and humility to see ourselves as His “unprofitable servants [who] have done what we were obliged to do” in bearing our share of hardship for the gospel (Lk 17:10). Moreover, as pointed out by St. Paul, take his advice “in the faith and love that are in Christ Jesus”, and do so not by our own effort but “with the help of the Holy Spirit that dwells within us” (2 Tm 1:13-14).

Like Jesus, whose cry of anguish on the cross – “My God, my God, why have you abandoned me?” (Ps. 22:2/Mk 15:34) – ends in a profession of trust (see Ps. 22:23ff) because of God’s res-cue, i.e. his resurrection; we must remain steadfast in our determination to follow Christ and con-tinue to live radically in love and holiness in spite of “the abominations of the earth” (Rev 17:6). Yes, the challenges are formidable; the temptation to give up is getting harder and harder to re-sist. But Jesus assures us in this Sunday’s gospel that faith no bigger than “the size of a mustard seed” is enough to uproot and plant a mulberry tree in the sea (Lk 17:6). “Faith is the realization of what is hoped for and evidence of things not seen” (Heb 11:1). By faith, “things not seen” – what we long for while living in hope – will be fully realized, including our eventual triumph over death, resurrection, and glorification as the children of God.

Posted: October 6, 2019

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


Other Sunday Reflections

God Never Gives up on Us; Why Should We?
Be persistent, “will not God grant justice to his chosen ones who cry to Him day and night?” (Lk 18:7)  Continue Reading >
The miracle of the ten lepers
“God calls us to live in gratitude, obeying with joy to the One who has given us so much, infinitely more than we could ever give to him” (Pope Francis… Continue Reading >
Healing is Simpler Than Imagined
I know a man who’s got a lot of problems: He struggles with his closest relationships, with his work, and with his direction in life. He blames everything: God hasn’t… Continue Reading >

上主,為何祢不垂聽?

常年期第二十七主日

哈巴谷先知書 1:2-3; 2:2-4

上主,我向你求救,而你不垂聽,要到何時?向你呼喊「殘暴」,而你仍不施救?為什麼你使我見到邪惡;人受壓迫,而你竟坐視不管?在我面前,只有迫害和殘暴,爭吵不休,辯論四起。上主回答我說:「你寫出這神視,清楚地刻在版上,使人能流利誦讀。因為這神視有一定的期限,最後必要實現,決無欺詐;若遲延了,你應等待;它必定來,決不誤期。看,心術不正的,必然消逝;義人必因他的信德而生活。」

弟茂德後書 1:6-8,13-14

親愛的:我提醒你把天主藉我的覆手,所賦予你的恩賜,再熾燃起來,因為,天主所賜給我們的,並非怯懦之神,而是大能、愛德和慎重之神。所以,你不要以給我們的主作證為恥,也不要以我這為主被囚的人為恥,但要依賴天主的大能,為福音同我共受勞苦。你要以信德,及在基督耶穌內的愛德,把從我所聽的健全道理,奉為模範;且依賴那住在我們內的聖神,保管你所受的美好寄託。

路加福音 17:5-10

那時候,宗徒向主說:「請增加我們的信德吧!」主說:「如果你們有信德,像芥子那樣大,即使你們給這棵桑樹說:你連根拔出,移植到海中去!它也會服從你們。「你們中間,誰有僕人耕田或放羊,從田裡回來,即給他說:你快過來,坐下吃飯吧!而不對他說:給我預備晚飯,束上腰,伺候我,等我吃喝完了,以後你才吃喝?僕人做了吩咐的事,主人豈要向他道謝?「你們也是這樣,既做完吩咐你們的一切,仍然要說:我們是無用的僕人,我們不過做了我們應做的事。」

「上主,我呼救而你不予垂聽,要到何時?」(哈 1:2) 哈巴谷於以色列歷史上最艱難的時刻–巴比倫入侵猶大–行先知職,在現今這被仇恨、謊言及死亡文化所荼毒的世界,先知哈巴谷氣惱的哀嘆引起我們這些以履行先知職,促進仁愛、真理和生命為己任的人很大的共鳴。
現今世界已被荼毒:仇恨及錯誤的理想和價值觀引發無緣無故、格殺勿論的大規模槍殺;政府首長無恥地撒謊,並相信重複的謊言就是真理,於是謊言一旦被揭露,便撒更多的謊;政客為守護自己在國會中的席位,不惜出賣靈魂作交換;新聞媒體捍衛自己的新聞自由,但當他們不同意教會的道德觀,特別是有關墮胎和性的議題時,便迅速地壓制教會的宗教自由。如《默示錄》17章中的婦人,那「淫亂和地上可憎之物的母親」,這世界「痛飲了聖徒的血,和為耶穌殉道者的血」(默 17:5-6)。

「上主,我呼救而你不予垂聽,要到何時?」(哈 1:2)猶如哈巴谷,我們奇怪為何天主不垂聽來自靈魂深處痛苦萬分的呼號。當天主像毫不在乎的時候,我們該怎麼辦?在本主日的讀經二,聖保祿提醒我們要「再熾燃起來」(弟後 1:6),「不要以給我們的主作證為恥…要為福音同我共受勞苦」(弟後 1:8)。

「但為何?!為何天主看似毫不在意,我們卻要為福音共受勞苦?」聽到聖保祿這勸勉,我們中許多人都會齊起抗議吧。

非常時期需要非常措施。這是我們對天主的信德受到真正考驗的時刻。我們就是今天福音中的僕人,主人給他接二連三的艱鉅任務。若我們真心相信天主的存在;祂是我們的創造者及我們的主;祂是慈愛、公義及至善的;祂是全能的,雖然在現世,我們經歷困難,天主卻仍然掌管一切;我們必需繼續履行祂給我們的命令,懷著信德和謙遜,承認我們是祂「無用的僕人,我們不過做了我們應做的事」,為福音共受勞苦 (路 17:10)。況且,如聖保祿所言,「要以信德,及在基督耶穌內的愛德」聽從他的勸勉, 「依賴那住在我們內的聖神」,而不是靠自己的努力 (弟後 1:13-14)。

耶穌在十字架上的痛苦呼號—「我的天主,我的天主,你為什麼捨棄了我?」(詠22:2/谷15:34)— 最後以信任交托的表白來結束 (參閱 詠 22:23 及以下), 因為他信賴天主的救援,即祂的復活。面對「地上可憎之物」,我們必須保持堅定不移的決心,跟隨基督,繼續竭力在仁愛和聖善中生活 (默 17:6)。沒錯,挑戰極大;放棄挑戰的誘惑越來越難以抗拒。但耶穌在本主日的福音向我們保證,「像芥子那樣大」的信德已經足夠把桑樹連根拔出,移植到海中去 (路 17:6)。「信德是所希望之事的擔保,是未見之事的確證」(希11:1)。懷着信德,那「未見之事」— 我們生活在望德中所渴望的 — 都會一一實現,包括我們最終戰勝死亡、復活和作為天主兒女的光榮。

Posted: October 6, 2019

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


其他主日反省

如何寫信仰?風險 Fr. Jusin Huang

許多人跟我說還記得我去年講的關於Mother Angelica修女驚人的信德。故事是這樣的:這位修女,在1981年創辦了一個天主教電視網。之後,她覺得受到感召,有必要擴大規模。於是,這位修女明知道在沒有錢支付的情況下,卻訂購了一個巨大的圓盤式衛星天線。貨車送貨上門,需要支付60萬美元。

繼續閱讀 >
主日的聖言與反省 : 甲年常年期第廿七主日 – 做個感恩的人 • 吳智勳神父 吳智勳神父