Madness or Love? It’s all in the Eyes of the Beholder

Fifth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Job 7:1-4,6-7

Job spoke, saying: Is not man's life on earth a drudgery? Are not his days those of hirelings? He is a slave who longs for the shade, a hireling who waits for his wages. So I have been assigned months of misery, and troubled nights have been allotted to me. If in bed I say, "When shall I arise?" then the night drags on; I am filled with restlessness until the dawn. My days are swifter than a weaver's shuttle; they come to an end without hope. Remember that my life is like the wind; I shall not see happiness again.

1 Corinthians 9:16-19, 22-23

Brothers and sisters: If I preach the gospel, this is no reason for me to boast, for an obligation has been imposed on me, and woe to me if I do not preach it! If I do so willingly, I have a recompense, but if unwillingly, then I have been entrusted with a stewardship. What then is my recompense? That, when I preach, I offer the gospel free of charge so as not to make full use of my right in the gospel. Although I am free in regard to all, I have made myself a slave to all so as to win over as many as possible. To the weak I became weak, to win over the weak. I have become all things to all, to save at least some. All this I do for the sake of the gospel, so that I too may have a share in it.

Mark 1:29-39

On leaving the synagogue Jesus entered the house of Simon and Andrew with James and John. Simon's mother-in-law lay sick with a fever. They immediately told him about her. He approached, grasped her hand, and helped her up. Then the fever left her and she waited on them. When it was evening, after sunset, they brought to him all who were ill or possessed by demons. The whole town was gathered at the door. He cured many who were sick with various diseases, and he drove out many demons, not permitting them to speak because they knew him. Rising very early before dawn, he left and went off to a deserted place, where he prayed. Simon and those who were with him pursued him and on finding him said, "Everyone is looking for you." He told them, "Let us go on to the nearby villages that I may preach there also. For this purpose have I come." So he went into their synagogues, preaching and driving out demons throughout the whole of Galilee.

A friend of mine has a rather unusual position on the issue of parenthood. In his view, the world we live in is full of sorrows and tribulations. He thinks bringing innocent children into this world of toils and snares is both unfair and cruel because you are effectively making them suffer against their will; which is also why he and his wife have decided against having children. His view is unusual but not uncommon these days in a world captivated by the culture of death. Obviously, this is not what the Church teaches. The Church has always encouraged parenthood. It’s considered the culmination of the married couple’s expression of love, which gives rise to a selfless and generous participation in the creative work of God (CCC1652).

My friend’s pessimistic life view will find resonance in Job’s words in this Sunday’s first reading. “Is not man’s life on earth a drudgery? Are not his days those of hirelings?”, Job asks as he struggles to understand the sudden onslaught of misfortunes that have left his life in tatters and complete disarray (Job 7:1). Abandoned and mocked by his friends – even by his wife – Job begins to see life as a “drudgery”; a futile and meaningless exercise that one must grudgingly put up with. This is a very dark mindset that often drives people desperate for a way out to end their own life or, in my friend’s case, avoid starting a new one. In fact, ending his life is exactly what Job is counseled to do. “Curse God and die”, his wife yells at him in disgust (Job 2:9).

A suicidal mind is, of course, not what the Bible wants from us. After many difficult struggles; heated arguments with friends, who openly question his claim of innocence; and serious intellectual reflections that include a heart-to-heart discussion with God, Job finally regains his trust in God. In the end, he is convinced that God is always in control in spite of the inexplicable personal misfortunate that befell him; and that God, in His unfathomable wisdom and omnipotence, has a plan that is simply too profound for the human mind to fully comprehend.

God’s plan certainly is difficult to comprehend, but Job’s decision to continue to trust God in spite of personal sufferings and devastations is not any easier to understand for many people. It takes faith and humility. When I first read Job while taking a university course on Medieval Philosophy, I hastily wrote the book off as “blind faith”. As a young and aspiring “philosopher”, I considered it an affront to my rational mind. But what goes around comes around. So many years later – now that I’m done studying, done raising children, done pursuing a career, done admiring the philosophers, done ridiculing the Bible – I find myself embracing Job’s position unreservedly. I honestly believe that of all the explanations and solutions put forward by all the great thinkers, philosophers and theologians alike on the issue of suffering, Job’s is the only sensible one.

What have changed? Just one thing really: my heart. Where the person gloriously enthroned in there used to be me, now it is Jesus – him and only him, front and center, unreserved and all-consuming. That’s it? That’s it. The change didn’t come easy. But when it did, repentance followed; so did faith and humility and a rush for action to proclaim the unspeakable joy of knowing Christ. The experience was just overwhelming, consuming my whole being, pushing me hard to make up for lost time.

The urge was irresistible – almost panicky. It was a powerful awakening that “cut to the heart” (Acts 2:37). Like the three thousand who heard Peter’s gospel message and received baptism on Pentecost, the urgency just dawned on you powerfully. As though your life depended on it, you blurted out loud desperately: “What are we to do?” (Acts 2:37). No one can express the urgency I experienced better than Paul when he says in this Sunday’s 2nd reading, “If I preach the gospel, this is no reason for me to boast, for an obligation has been imposed on me, and woe to me if I do not preach it!” (1 Cor 9:16); and again elsewhere, “For the love of Christ compels us” (2 Cor 5:14).

For many people, Paul and people like Job should simply be written off as madness. Festus, the Roman governor, was one of them. “You are mad, Paul; much learning is driving you mad”, he shouted after hearing Paul’s spiritual conversion story and his defense against the charges made by the Jews (Acts 26:24). Call him a madman, a weirdo, or anything you want; the reality is, the fire in Paul’s heart, ignited by the Spirit, is something people of this world won’t understand, unless they are prepared to welcome the same Spirit into their hearts.

People call what they don’t understand “madness”. For them, Jesus who preaches in the synagogues and performs healings tirelessly in various villages in this Sunday’s gospel may well be just another madman rejected by the world – one who “came to his own home, and his own people received him not” (John 1:11). For my friend, parenthood may well be just another form of madness. But if faith in God, proclaiming the gospel, and promoting the culture of life are the different forms of madness; madness is what we must choose.

Posted: February 7, 2021

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


Other Sunday Reflections

This is Justice, This is Mercy
Mr. Perry, our school principal, once shared a story about when he was young, he and his family took the ferry to Salt Spring Island. He had a friend who… Continue Reading >
“You do not know what you are asking” (Mk 10:38)
By this time in his ministry, Jesus has foretold three times his own Death and Resurrection to the apostles. The last prediction is the most detailed, specifying that his death… Continue Reading >
Too hard a demand from Jesus?
This Sunday's Gospel reading is one of the many hard sayings of Jesus. It is about renunciation - first, of material possessions and second, of relations (rf Mk 10:23, 29).… Continue Reading >

是瘋狂還是愛情? 見人見智吧

常年期第五主日

約伯傳 7:1-4,6-7

約伯說:人生在世,豈不像服兵役?人的歲月,豈不像傭工的時日?有如奴工切望陰涼,傭工期待工資;這樣,我也只有承受失意的歲月,及為我注定的苦痛長夜。我臥下時說:「幾時天亮?」我起來時又說:「黑夜何時到?」我整夜輾轉反側,直到天亮。我的歲月流逝,速如織梭,也因無望而中斷。請你記住:我的生命不過是一口氣;我的眼睛再也見不到幸福。

格林多前書 9:16-19,22-23

弟兄姊妹們:我若傳福音,並沒有什麼可誇耀的,因為這是我不得已的事;我若不傳福音,我就有禍了。如果我自願做這事,便有報酬;若不自願,可是責任已委託給我。這樣看來,我的報酬是什麼呢?就是傳布福音時,白白地去傳,不享用我在傳福音上,所有的權利。我原是自由的,不屬於任何人;但我卻使自己成了眾人的奴僕,為贏得更多的人。對軟弱的人,我就成為軟弱的,為贏得那軟弱的人;對一切人,我就成為一切,為的是總要救些人。我所行的一切,都是為了福音,為能與人共沾福音的恩許。

馬爾谷福音 1:29-39

那時候,耶穌離開葛法翁的會堂,就同雅各伯和若望,來到了西滿和安德肋的家。那時,西滿的岳母正躺著發燒;有人就向耶穌提及她。耶穌上前,握住伯多祿岳母的手,扶起她,熱症立即離開了她;她就伺候他們。到了晚上,日落之後,人把所有患病的,及附魔的,都帶到耶穌面前。全城的人都聚在門前。耶穌治好了許多患各種病症的人,驅逐了許多魔鬼,並且不許魔鬼說話,因為魔鬼認識他。第二天早晨,天還很黑,耶穌就起身出去,到荒野的地方,在那裡祈禱。西滿和同他一起的人,都去尋找耶穌,找到了,就向耶穌說:「眾人都在找你呢!」耶穌對他們說:「讓我們到其他地方去,到鄰近的村鎮去吧!好叫我也在那裡宣講,因為我正是為此而來的。」他於是到加里肋亞各地,在他們的會堂裡宣講,並驅逐魔鬼。

我有一個朋友對為人父母有個不尋常的立場。對他來說, 我們生活在一個充滿著苦痛和磨難的世界。他認為把無辜的孩子帶到這個勞苦及奸詐的世界, 既不公平且殘酷, 因為你其實違背了他們的意願, 強迫他們受苦;正因如此, 他和妻子決定不要孩子。在現今被死亡文化迷惑了的世界, 他的看法雖不尋常, 但並不罕見。這顯然不是教會的訓導。一直以來, 教會都鼓勵生育子女, 視這為夫妻之間表達愛的高峰, 使人無私及慷慨地參與天主的造化工程 (天主教教理 1652)。

我朋友對生命悲觀的看法反影著本主日 《讀經一》中約伯的話。約伯竭力去理解那些突如其來和使他的生活徹底地變成一團糟的災難,他問道:「人生在世,豈不像服兵役?人的歲月,豈不像傭工的時日?」(約 7:1)。在被朋友遺棄及甚至被妻子取笑時, 約伯開始視生命如苦役;一件徒勞無功, 毫無意義, 但卻必須無可奈何地忍受的事情。這極度灰暗的心態, 往往驅使在絕望中拼命尋找出路的人,結束自已的生命;又或許像我朋友般, 避免去開始一個新生命。事實上, 約伯就被人勸他結束自己的生命。他的妻子厭惡地向他怒叫:「你倒不如詛咒天主,死了算了」(約 2:9)。

當然, 聖經不是要我們有自殺的念頭。約伯經過多次艱苦的掙扎;他為自己的清白, 與公開質疑他的朋友們作了一番激烈的爭辯;亦以知識分子的思維認真地反思, 甚至與天主坦誠地對話。約伯終於重拾對天主的信靠。儘管有莫名其妙的變故落在他身上, 最後他堅信天主時刻掌管一切;天主具有深不可測的智慧和全能, 祂深奧的計劃, 不是人類思想能完全理解的。

天主的計劃的確難以理解, 但約伯在受盡個人苦難的蹂躪後, 仍決意繼續信靠天主, 為許多人來說, 也並不容易明白。這需要信德和謙遜。我在大學修讀中世紀哲學時, 第一次讀到《約伯傳》。那時, 我二話不說把這本書視為「盲目的信仰」。作為一個年輕、有抱負的「哲學家」, 我認為這本書對我理性的思維來說是個侮辱。但是天理循環,許多年後的今天, 當我完成了學業,完成了養育兒女的責任;再不發展事業, 再不敬佩哲學家, 也再不譏諷聖經之後;我發現自己的立場, 毫無保留地與約伯相同。我真心相信苦難這議題, 在所有的偉大思想家、哲學家和神學家的解釋和解決辦法中, 約伯是唯一明智的一個。

是甚麽改變了?實在只有一樣: 我的心。以前, 在我心目中, 光榮地為王的是我自己, 而現在是耶穌 — 只有祂, 完全地、徹底地高踞我心, 浩盡我的一切。就是這樣?就是這樣。這改變來得不易。但一旦來到, 緊步而至的是悔改、信德、和謙遜。我恨不得要趕快行動, 去宣講那認識了基督後,不能言喻的喜悅;這改變佔據著我整個人, 催逼我努力去彌補虛耗了的時間。

這催逼難以抗拒 — 近乎令人慌忙失措。是一個使人「心中刺痛」的、強而有力的醒悟 (宗 2:37)。這催逼猛然降在你身上, 就如在聖神降臨那天, 那三千個聽了伯多祿的福音而領洗的人一樣。就像你面對生死存亡的取決, 你拼命大聲呼叫: 「我們該作甚麼?」(宗 2:37)。沒有人能像保祿,將我所體會到的迫切性表達得更好, 在本主日的《讀經二》他說:「我若傳福音,原沒有什麼可誇耀的,因為這是我不得已的事;我若不傳福音,我就有禍了!」(格前 9:16);在聖經的另一處,他又說:「因為基督的愛催迫著我們」(格後 5:14)。

為許多人來說, 像保祿及約伯這樣的人, 可算是瘋狂的 。羅馬總督斐斯托 就是其中一個。當他聽完保祿心靈皈依的故事, 及保祿為猶太人對他的指控而作的辯護後, 他大喊道:「保祿,你瘋了!太多的學問把你弄瘋了」(宗 26:24)。你稱他為瘋子、怪人或甚麽也好;其實保祿心中烘烘烈火, 是聖神燃點的; 這是人不能理解的, 除非他們也準備好, 迎接同一的聖神進入他們心中。

人們喜歡把自己不能理解的事, 稱之為「瘋狂」。對他們來說, 本主日福音中, 那個在會堂講道, 及在各村莊不懈不倦地為人治病的耶穌, 可能只是另一個被世人排斥的瘋子 — 一個「來到了自己的領域,自己的人卻沒有接受他」的人 (若 1:11)。對於我那位朋友來說, 為人父母可能只是另一種形式的瘋狂。但如果信天主, 宣講福音及提倡生命文化是不同形式的瘋狂;那麼,瘋狂就是我們必然的選擇。

Posted: February 7, 2021

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


其他主日反省

乙年(馬爾谷) 常年期第五主日:注視耶穌本人 吳智勳神父

這個星期的福音讀經與上星期的讀經在時空上自成一個單元,敘述耶穌在安息日於會堂驅魔之後,便來到西滿和安德肋的家,以「拉手」這個簡單的動作,治愈了西滿的岳母,她甚至可以起來伺候這群訪客。

繼續閱讀 >
【黃謙善神父主日講道】完滿的生命 Fr. Justin Huang

如果你有改變世界的魔力,你會怎麼做(Matthew Kelly, The Four Signs of a Dynamic Catholic, 143-145)「超級英雄用他們的力量智取壞人」;歌曲作者用他們的力量贏得他們所愛的人的心。但是,如果我們有能力改變世界,難道我們不應該為了最大的利益,為最多的人,為能讓它持久嗎?

繼續閱讀 >