The Fullness of Life

Fifth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Job 7:1-4,6-7

Job spoke, saying: Is not man's life on earth a drudgery? Are not his days those of hirelings? He is a slave who longs for the shade, a hireling who waits for his wages. So I have been assigned months of misery, and troubled nights have been allotted to me. If in bed I say, "When shall I arise?" then the night drags on; I am filled with restlessness until the dawn. My days are swifter than a weaver's shuttle; they come to an end without hope. Remember that my life is like the wind; I shall not see happiness again.

1 Corinthians 9:16-19, 22-23

Brothers and sisters: If I preach the gospel, this is no reason for me to boast, for an obligation has been imposed on me, and woe to me if I do not preach it! If I do so willingly, I have a recompense, but if unwillingly, then I have been entrusted with a stewardship. What then is my recompense? That, when I preach, I offer the gospel free of charge so as not to make full use of my right in the gospel. Although I am free in regard to all, I have made myself a slave to all so as to win over as many as possible. To the weak I became weak, to win over the weak. I have become all things to all, to save at least some. All this I do for the sake of the gospel, so that I too may have a share in it.

Mark 1:29-39

On leaving the synagogue Jesus entered the house of Simon and Andrew with James and John. Simon's mother-in-law lay sick with a fever. They immediately told him about her. He approached, grasped her hand, and helped her up. Then the fever left her and she waited on them. When it was evening, after sunset, they brought to him all who were ill or possessed by demons. The whole town was gathered at the door. He cured many who were sick with various diseases, and he drove out many demons, not permitting them to speak because they knew him. Rising very early before dawn, he left and went off to a deserted place, where he prayed. Simon and those who were with him pursued him and on finding him said, "Everyone is looking for you." He told them, "Let us go on to the nearby villages that I may preach there also. For this purpose have I come." So he went into their synagogues, preaching and driving out demons throughout the whole of Galilee.

If you had a magical power to change the world, what would you do (Matthew Kelly, The Four Signs of a Dynamic Catholic, 143-145)? “Superheroes use their powers to outwit the bad guys”; song writers use their powers to win the heart of the one they love. But, if we had the power to change the world, shouldn’t we use it for the greatest good, for the greatest number of people, and for the longest duration?

[Watch Fr. Justin’s homily delivery here.]

Many would suggest eliminating poverty and hunger, others would eliminate COVID-19 and all disease—both good. But poverty will come back because of human behaviour, and, if there were no diseases, human behaviour would still cause misery.

The greatest thing we could do is change people from the inside out, because, if people loved like Jesus and had His peace, then external factors wouldn’t be able to destroy that peace. And, from a Christian perspective, if we could give people eternal happiness, wouldn’t that be better than 100 years of living happily on earth?

So, the greatest thing we can do for the world is to give people Jesus, because He changes our hearts, and He is the fullness of life. This is what evangelization means, and this is why we talk about it so much here.

Think about it this way: If people just followed the Ten Commandments, how much better would the world be? Let’s go in reverse order: If we were to eliminate envy (9th and 10th), then lying (8th), stealing (7th), adultery (6th), murder (5th), if people honoured their parents (4th), respected Sunday as a holy day (even at a human level, people would be more rested and wise)(3rd), then honoured God’s name (2nd), and loved Him with their whole heart (1st), the world would be much better. But there’s more to life than the Commandments, there’s the fullness of life.

This desire to help people in the best way possible is part of what’s behind St. Paul’s words in the Second Reading: “Brothers and sisters: If I proclaim the Gospel, this gives me no ground for boasting, for an obligation is laid on me, and woe to me if I do not proclaim the Gospel!” (1 Cor 9:16).

St. Paul talks about the ‘obligation’ to evangelize. Why? First, if we had a medicine that could cure people, it would be wrong to keep it to ourselves. St. Paul knows he’ll be judged by Jesus based on his faithfulness to this responsibility. The second reason for his obligation to evangelize is his love for Jesus and others (2 Cor 5:14). Jesus died for him and he wants to love Him back. And, in one of St. Paul’s letters (Rom 9:3), he exaggerates that he loves his own people so much that, if he could be separated from Christ in order for others to love Him, he would do even that!

He then asks, “What then is my reward? Just this: that in my proclamation I may make the Gospel free of charge, so as not to make full use of my rights in the Gospel” (9:18). He taught in an earlier part of the letter that apostles have a right to earn a living when they preach, but he foregoes this so as not to financially burden the people to whom he’s preaching (1 Cor 9:6-7,12-14). So his reward is not money, but evangelizing itself! If you talk to people who love evangelizing, the greatest reward is to see people come alive and have their lives changed!

During Confession, I’ve sometimes given the person a penance to spend the rest of their day trying to make other people happy. Think about that: If you were just to think of tomorrow as your day to make other people happy, bringing joy to people would be your reward.

Finally, he writes, “To the weak I became weak, so that I might win the weak. I have become all things to all people, that I might by all means save some. I do it all for the sake of the Gospel, so that I might share in its blessings” (9:22-23). St. Paul adapts himself: When he was with Jewish people, he ate like them and washed his hands. When he was with the Gentiles, he followed their customs.

You know how in certain Asian cultures, when you’re at dinner, other people will serve you from the main dishes? I remember realizing how thoughtful this was when I started seeing young people do it for others—ah, they’re adapting themselves for the good of others! That’s how it should be with evangelization. We pay attention to the needs of people’s hearts, meet them where they’re at in their life journey, and we bring them Jesus. And we never force Him down their throats like our grandmothers do when we’re eating!

But don’t worry about making mistakes! If we offer people Jesus with a sincere heart and it’s not received, don’t get discouraged. People know when we’re sincere, so, have faith that Jesus will do something good with our attempts. We’ll be running Alpha again after Easter, so, just keep that in mind with regard to those you love.

St. Paul says, ‘I do it all for the sake of the Gospel, so that I might share in its blessings.’ The word ‘Gospel’ is a reality broader than we think! In 1995, St. John Paul II wrote an encyclical letter Evangelium vitae, which means, ‘Gospel of Life,’ and said that “The Gospel of life is at the heart of Jesus’ message” (1). What do we proclaim at Easter? Jesus’ Resurrection to new life. What do we celebrate at Christmas? The life of a new child. Jesus also said, “I came that they may have life, and have it abundantly” (Jn 10:10), and He’s referring to eternal life. So, when we evangelize, we’re talking to people about the fullness of life: about Jesus Himself, the sacredness of human physical life, the eternal life God offers us, and the fullness of life when we become like Jesus.

A few days ago we had Groundhog day, and one time, Sr. Gabriella Yi told me to watch the Bill Murray film, Groundhog Day, because it’s spiritually deep! “Yeah, right,” I thought. But she was correct. It’s number one on the Arts & Faith Top 25 Divine Comedies (https://www.patheos.com/blogs/goodletters/2014/02/the-arts-and-faith-top-25-divine-comedies/). Murray’s character, Phil, starts out as completely selfish and arrogant. The premise of the film is that he gets stuck repeating the same day for years and can’t get out. When he starts reliving the same day, he exploits it by using people, partying, and stealing. But he desires more. He loves his co-worker, Rita, who’s beautiful and caring. He tries to seduce her, but she never gives in. Eventually, he commits suicide over and over because his life has no meaning.

But then there’s a transition: He asks Rita for help and humbles himself. They stay up all night playing cards, Rita falls asleep on top of the bed, and Phil looks at her sleeping and says, “I promise I won’t touch you.”

The very next day, he buys food for his co-workers, starts reading, taking piano lessons, and improving himself, and a very moving part is the way he responds to a homeless man, whom he always ignored. Here are all the days with the homeless man (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7NjNOAncIlI).

Phil spends his final day going through the town helping every person he meets: saving a boy’s life, helping elderly women, etc. One day is completely selfless. That’s when Rita falls in love with him, because there’s so much goodness in him. The world around him hasn’t changed, but he has. From a Christian point of view, his love is sacrificial. When we celebrate the Gospel of life, we’re talking about sacrificial love, and that’s at the root of all our decisions regarding sexuality, relationships, abortion, and euthanasia.

What if we were to spend the rest of the day or tomorrow just trying to bring them Jesus in words and action? Or try just one part of your day, like the morning, afternoon, or evening?

This is our second to last week before we start 40 Days for Life, and I received word this morning that there’s some problem with doing it this year because of COVID-19, so I’ll tell you more when I find out. Let’s pray that we can go ahead with it.

And if you want to receive more life so that you can give more life, then you can sign up for Faith Studies starting on Tuesday, Feb. 16.

This is Betty Navey (). She was a young widow in her 20s when she met Julian Timms. I know little about their relationship or their circumstances. However, they conceived a child. Betty made an appointment to have an abortion. When she went to the appointment, there was a delay. She changed her mind, decided to have her baby, and walked out of the locale. She knew it would be difficult to be a single parent, but accepted that. Betty is my grandmother. Through the mercy of God, her selfless act of love protected the life of my mother. And that allowed her and her children the opportunity to meet Jesus, the opportunity to spend our lives trying to become like Him, and God willing, have eternal life with Him.

The greatest way to help the world is to proclaim Jesus, and that means the fullness of Life, celebrating the beauty of every human life, becoming like Him, and sharing eternal life with Him.

Source: The JustMeasure – The Fullness of Life (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2021/02/07/the-fullness-of-life/)

Posted: February 7, 2021

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


Other Sunday Reflections

Jesus said, “You are witnesses of these things.” (Lk 24:48)
“That the Christ is to suffer and to rise from the dead on the third day.” (Lk 24:46) Continue Reading >
Will We Still Eat and Drink on Resurrection?
Does this mean our risen bodies will continue to live biologically? So many unanswered questions! Continue Reading >
How Jesus Deals with Our Failures
Jesus is the Lord of life, therefore, let’s look at how He resurrects life from our failures. Everyone knows that, when we fail, God forgives us and begins again, but… Continue Reading >

【黃謙善神父主日講道】完滿的生命

常年期第五主日

約伯傳 7:1-4,6-7

約伯說:人生在世,豈不像服兵役?人的歲月,豈不像傭工的時日?有如奴工切望陰涼,傭工期待工資;這樣,我也只有承受失意的歲月,及為我注定的苦痛長夜。我臥下時說:「幾時天亮?」我起來時又說:「黑夜何時到?」我整夜輾轉反側,直到天亮。我的歲月流逝,速如織梭,也因無望而中斷。請你記住:我的生命不過是一口氣;我的眼睛再也見不到幸福。

格林多前書 9:16-19,22-23

弟兄姊妹們:我若傳福音,並沒有什麼可誇耀的,因為這是我不得已的事;我若不傳福音,我就有禍了。如果我自願做這事,便有報酬;若不自願,可是責任已委託給我。這樣看來,我的報酬是什麼呢?就是傳布福音時,白白地去傳,不享用我在傳福音上,所有的權利。我原是自由的,不屬於任何人;但我卻使自己成了眾人的奴僕,為贏得更多的人。對軟弱的人,我就成為軟弱的,為贏得那軟弱的人;對一切人,我就成為一切,為的是總要救些人。我所行的一切,都是為了福音,為能與人共沾福音的恩許。

馬爾谷福音 1:29-39

那時候,耶穌離開葛法翁的會堂,就同雅各伯和若望,來到了西滿和安德肋的家。那時,西滿的岳母正躺著發燒;有人就向耶穌提及她。耶穌上前,握住伯多祿岳母的手,扶起她,熱症立即離開了她;她就伺候他們。到了晚上,日落之後,人把所有患病的,及附魔的,都帶到耶穌面前。全城的人都聚在門前。耶穌治好了許多患各種病症的人,驅逐了許多魔鬼,並且不許魔鬼說話,因為魔鬼認識他。第二天早晨,天還很黑,耶穌就起身出去,到荒野的地方,在那裡祈禱。西滿和同他一起的人,都去尋找耶穌,找到了,就向耶穌說:「眾人都在找你呢!」耶穌對他們說:「讓我們到其他地方去,到鄰近的村鎮去吧!好叫我也在那裡宣講,因為我正是為此而來的。」他於是到加里肋亞各地,在他們的會堂裡宣講,並驅逐魔鬼。

(本篇譯稿為黃謙善神父主日講道,若內容有不一致的情況,一概以英文原稿, http://thejustmeasure.ca/2021/02/07/the-fullness-of-life/ , 為準。)

如果你有改變世界的魔力,你會怎麼做(Matthew Kelly, The Four Signs of a Dynamic Catholic, 143-145)「超級英雄用他們的力量智取壞人」;歌曲作者用他們的力量贏得他們所愛的人的心。但是,如果我們有能力改變世界,難道我們不應該為了最大的利益,為最多的人,為能讓它持久嗎?

[黃神父主日講道視頻 (英語)]

許多人會建議消除貧困和飢餓,其他人會建議消除新冠肺炎和所有疾病-這兩者都是好的。但是,貧窮會因為人類的行為捲土重來,如果沒有疾病,不良的人類行為仍然會造成痛苦。

我們能做的最偉大的事情就是從內到外改變人們,因為如果人們像耶穌一樣去愛,並擁有祂的平安,那麼外部因素就不能摧毀這一平安。而且,從基督教的角度來看,如果我們能給人們帶來永恆的幸福,那不是比在地球上幸福地生活了100年更好嗎?

所以, 我們能為世界做的最偉大的事就是把耶穌帶給人們,因為祂改變了我們的心,祂是完滿的生命。這就是傳福音的意思, 也因此我們在這裡反复討論的原因。

這樣想一想:如果人們只是遵循十誡,世界會變得多好?讓我們逆序而行:讓我們消除嫉妒(第9和第10誡),然後是偷竊(第8誡)、撒謊(第7誡)、姦淫(第6誡)和謀殺(第5誡),那麼如果人們尊敬父母(第4誡),守主日(即使在人性層面上,人們也會更加平和和明智( 第3誡),然後欽祟上主的名,全心全意地愛祂,世界會變得更美好。但是生命的意義除去誡命還有更多,那就是生命的完滿。

以可能的最好的方式幫助人們, 這個願望是聖保祿在第二篇讀經中所說的話的一部分:「我若傳福音,原沒有什麼可誇耀的,因為這是我不得已的事;我若不傳福音,我就有禍了。」 (格前9:16)

聖保祿談到傳福音的「不得已」。為什麼?首先,如果我們有一種可以治愈人的藥物,那就不應該把它保留給自己。聖保祿知道耶穌會根據他對這個責任的忠誠度來評判他。他有義務傳福音的第二個原因是他對耶穌和其他人的愛(格後5:14)。耶穌為他而死,他想要回報祂的愛。而且,在聖保祿的一封信(羅9:3)中,他誇大其詞地說,他是如此愛自己的同胞,就是與基督隔絕為代價,能夠使得大家愛耶穌,他也甘心情願!

然後他問道:「那麼,我的報酬是什麼呢?就是傳福音時白白地去傳,不享用我在傳福音上所有的權利。」 (9:18)。他在信的前半部分教導門徒們在傳道時有權謀生,但他放棄了這一點,以免給他傳道的人帶來經濟負擔(格前書9:6-7,12-14)。所以他的回報不是錢,而是傳福音本身!如果你和愛傳福音的人交談,最大的回報就是看到人們獲得新生,改變他們的生活!

在聽告解時,我有時會給人補贖,讓對方在一天的剩餘時間裡努力讓別人開心。想想看:如果你把明天看作是讓別人快樂的一天,給人們帶來歡樂將是你的回報。

最後,他寫道:「軟弱的人,我就成為軟弱的,為贏得那軟弱的人;對一切人,我就成為一切,為的是總要救些人。我所行的一切,都是為了福音,為能與人共沾福音的恩許。」(9:22-23)。聖保祿能入鄉隨俗:當他和猶太人在一起的時候,他吃得像猶太人一樣,洗手也像他們一樣。當他和外邦人在一起的時候,他跟隨他們的習俗。

你知道在某些亞洲文化中,當你用餐時,別人會用給你夾菜來招待你?我記得當我開始看到年輕人為別人這麼做時,我意識到這是多麼體貼—-啊,他們正在為了別人的利益而調整自己!傳福音應該是這樣的。我們從人們的處境出發,關注他們內心的需要,把耶穌帶給他們。我們從來不會像我們的老祖母在吃飯時強廹我們多吃點那樣, 把耶穌強加於他們!

但不要擔心會犯錯!如果我們用真誠的心向人們獻上耶穌,卻不被接受,不要灰心喪氣。人們知道我們是真誠的; 相信耶穌會在我們不斷地嘗試中做一些好事。復活節過後,我們將再次進行「啟發Alpha」,所以,對於那些你所愛的人,請記住這一點。

聖保祿說:「我所行的一切,都是為了福音, 為能與人共沾福音的恩許」,「福音」這個詞 比我們想像中寬泛! 1995年,聖望•保祿二世寫了一封通諭「生命的福音Evangelium v​​itae」,意思是「生命的福音」,並說「生命的福音是耶穌信息的核心」(1)。我們在復活節宣布什麼?耶穌復活,走向新生命。我們在聖誕節慶祝什麼?新生孩子的生命。耶穌也說:「我來,卻是為叫他們獲得生命,且獲得更豐富的生命。」(若10:10) 他所指的是永恆的生命。當我們傳福音並與人談論耶穌時,我們談論的是完滿的生命,是耶穌自己, 也是神聖身體的生命,天主給我們的永生,以及當我們變得像耶穌時的完滿的生命。

幾天前是土撥鼠日(Groundhog day),有一次,加布里埃拉•易修女(Sr Gabriella Yi ) 介紹我去看比爾•默里(Bill Murray)的電影《土撥鼠日》(Ground Hog Day),因為它寓意很深刻! 「不會吧!」我想。但她說對了。這部片子在「首25名藝術與信仰趣劇」中居首位。 (https://www.patheos.com/blogs/goodletters/2014/02/the-arts-and-faith-top-25-divine-comedies/).

默里飾演的角色菲爾一開始完全是自私和傲慢的。這部電影的前提是,他陷入周而復始重複同一天的生活長達幾年之久,無法回到之前的正常生活。當他這一天的生活再一次重新來過時,他卻耗費在利用人、玩樂和偷竊中。但他想要的其實比這更多。他愛上他的同事麗塔Rita,她清純、美麗、有同情心。他試圖勾引她,但她從不買賬。最後,他因為覺得生活沒有意義所以一次又一次地自殺。

但之後出現了轉變:他謙卑地請求麗塔幫助。他們徹夜玩牌,麗塔不覺在床上睡著了,菲爾看著睡著的她說:「我保證我不會碰你。」

重來的第二天,他為他的同事們買了食物,開始閱讀,上鋼琴課,提升自己,一個非常感人的部分是他回應一個流浪漢的片段,他之前不斷地忽視這個流浪漢。以下是與流浪漢(https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7NjNOAncIlI)在一起的所有日子。

菲爾在鎮上度過的最後一天,他走街串巷,幫助他遇到的每一個人:拯救一個男孩的生命,幫助老婦,等等。那一天是完全無私的一天。那是麗塔愛上他的時候,因為他內心有那麼多的善良。他周圍的世界其實沒有改變,但他改變了。從基督徒的角度來看,他的愛是犧牲之愛。當我們慶祝生命的福音時,我們所指的是犧牲之愛,這是我們所有關於作性、戀愛、墮胎和安樂死的決定的根源

如果我們在今天剩下的時間或明天只想是用言語和行動把耶穌帶給人們,那會怎樣呢?或者只用一個上午、下午或黃昏也好。

這是我們開始《生命40天》之前的倒數第二週,今天早上我收到消息說,由於新冠肺炎的原故,今年在進行上遇到了一些問題,所以等我得知更多資訊後,我會告訴你。讓我們祈禱我們能繼續進行這件事。

如果你想獲得更多生命,從而給予更多生命,那麼你可以報名參加2月16日(週二)開始的信仰研究(Faith Studies)課程。

這是貝蒂•納維Betty Navey。當她遇到朱利安•帝姆斯Julian Timms時,她還是個20多歲的年輕寡婦。我對他們的關係或他們的情況知之甚少。然而,他們懷上了一個孩子。貝蒂預約墮胎。當她去赴約時,出現了延誤。她最後改變了主意,決定把孩子生下來,離開了現場。她知道做單親媽媽很不容易,但她接受了這一點。貝蒂是我的外婆。藉著天主的仁慈,她無私的愛保護了我母親的生命。這讓她和她的孩子們有機會與耶穌相遇,有機會用我們的一生努力變得像祂一樣,如果天主允許的話,與祂有共亨永生。

幫助世界最好的方式是宣揚耶穌,也就是 「完滿的生命」, 慶祝每一個美麗的生命, 效法耶穌, 與祂共享永遠的生命。

Posted: February 7, 2021

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


其他主日反省

是瘋狂還是愛情? 見人見智吧 Edmond Lo

稱他為瘋子、怪人或甚麽也好; 其實保祿心中烘烘烈火, 是聖神燃點的; 這是人不能理解的, 除非他們也準備好, 迎接同一的聖神進入他們心中。

繼續閱讀 >
乙年(馬爾谷) 常年期第五主日:注視耶穌本人 吳智勳神父

這個星期的福音讀經與上星期的讀經在時空上自成一個單元,敘述耶穌在安息日於會堂驅魔之後,便來到西滿和安德肋的家,以「拉手」這個簡單的動作,治愈了西滿的岳母,她甚至可以起來伺候這群訪客。

繼續閱讀 >