Our Own Walk to Emmaus

Third Sunday of Easter

Acts 2:14, 22-33

Then Peter stood up with the Eleven, raised his voice, and proclaimed: "You who are Jews, indeed all of you staying in Jerusalem. Let this be known to you, and listen to my words. You who are Israelites, hear these words. Jesus the Nazarene was a man commended to you by God with mighty deeds, wonders, and signs, which God worked through him in your midst, as you yourselves know. This man, delivered up by the set plan and foreknowledge of God, you killed, using lawless men to crucify him. But God raised him up, releasing him from the throes of death, because it was impossible for him to be held by it. For David says of him: I saw the Lord ever before me, with him at my right hand I shall not be disturbed. Therefore my heart has been glad and my tongue has exulted; my flesh, too, will dwell in hope, because you will not abandon my soul to the netherworld, nor will you suffer your holy one to see corruption. You have made known to me the paths of life; you will fill me with joy in your presence. "My brothers, one can confidently say to you about the patriarch David that he died and was buried, and his tomb is in our midst to this day. But since he was a prophet and knew that God had sworn an oath to him that he would set one of his descendants upon his throne, he foresaw and spoke of the resurrection of the Christ, that neither was he abandoned to the netherworld nor did his flesh see corruption. God raised this Jesus; of this we are all witnesses. Exalted at the right hand of God, he received the promise of the Holy Spirit from the Father and poured him forth, as you see and hear."

1 Peter 1:17-21

Beloved: If you invoke as Father him who judges impartially according to each one's works, conduct yourselves with reverence during the time of your sojourning, realizing that you were ransomed from your futile conduct, handed on by your ancestors, not with perishable things like silver or gold but with the precious blood of Christ as of a spotless unblemished lamb. He was known before the foundation of the world but revealed in the final time for you, who through him believe in God who raised him from the dead and gave him glory, so that your faith and hope are in God.

Luke 24:13-35

That very day, the first day of the week, two of Jesus' disciples were going to a village seven miles from Jerusalem called Emmaus, and they were conversing about all the things that had occurred. And it happened that while they were conversing and debating, Jesus himself drew near and walked with them, but their eyes were prevented from recognizing him. He asked them, "What are you discussing as you walk along?" They stopped, looking downcast. One of them, named Cleopas, said to him in reply, "Are you the only visitor to Jerusalem who does not know of the things that have taken place there in these days?" And he replied to them, "What sort of things?" They said to him, "The things that happened to Jesus the Nazarene, who was a prophet mighty in deed and word before God and all the people, how our chief priests and rulers both handed him over to a sentence of death and crucified him. But we were hoping that he would be the one to redeem Israel; and besides all this, it is now the third day since this took place. Some women from our group, however, have astounded us: they were at the tomb early in the morning and did not find his body; they came back and reported that they had indeed seen a vision of angels who announced that he was alive. Then some of those with us went to the tomb and found things just as the women had described, but him they did not see." And he said to them, "Oh, how foolish you are! How slow of heart to believe all that the prophets spoke! Was it not necessary that the Christ should suffer these things and enter into his glory?" Then beginning with Moses and all the prophets, he interpreted to them what referred to him in all the Scriptures. As they approached the village to which they were going, he gave the impression that he was going on farther. But they urged him, "Stay with us, for it is nearly evening and the day is almost over." So he went in to stay with them. And it happened that, while he was with them at table, he took bread, said the blessing, broke it, and gave it to them. With that their eyes were opened and they recognized him, but he vanished from their sight. Then they said to each other, "Were not our hearts burning within us while he spoke to us on the way and opened the Scriptures to us?" So they set out at once and returned to Jerusalem where they found gathered together the eleven and those with them who were saying, "The Lord has truly been raised and has appeared to Simon!" Then the two recounted what had taken place on the way and how he was made known to them in the breaking of bread.

The readings on this third Sunday of Easter take us on a spiritual roller-coaster ride; one that compels us to take courage and plunge into the deepest and darkest chamber of our heart, so that we may experience the exhilaration of being raised all the way to the top where the fullness of God’s love awaits. That plunge, or leap of faith, is always a choice for each one of us. Are we willing to let go of our human instincts and place our trust in the unfailing hands of our Heavenly Father?

When we go through rough patches of our life, experience extraordinary challenges or significant loss, our human instincts of fight or flight immediately kick in. Some may continue to put up a good fight while others may choose to throw in the towel. When one is overcome by grief or anger, it is hard to imagine that there is a way out of that bottomless pit of pain. In this week’s Gospel, Luke tells us the roller-coaster adventure of the two disciples on the road to Emmaus, who after experiencing what feels like to them a complete defeat in Jerusalem, decide to leave their troubles behind – they choose flight over fight. One can easily imagine the range of emotions that they might have gone through: grief, anger, fear, loss, and despair. Jesus of Nazareth, someone in whom they have “hoped that he was the one to redeem Israel”, has been “condemned to death and crucified” (Lk 24:20-21). Even though they have also been told about the women’s encounter of the “Angels who said that [Jesus] was alive”, they still cannot bear to remain in Jerusalem (Lk 24:23). These disciples must be feeling pretty downtrodden. What compels them to leave? From what are they running away? Perhaps fear – fear of authorities who may come after them; or grief – their hearts are broken by losing someone dear to them; perhaps hopelessness – they figure that there’s nothing more they can possibly do; or despair – the anchor of their lives is gone and their hearts have become unravelled; perhaps shame – they have not done anything to defend or help Jesus.

When Jesus appears to the two disciples on their journey, “their eyes were kept from recognizing him” (Lk 24:16). Jesus’ comment about how “foolish” they are is by no means demeaning, rather Jesus, recognizing their “slow of heart”, wants to take this opportunity to open their eyes and heal their heavy hearts (Lk 24:25). Jesus begins to interpret “to them the things about himself in all the Scriptures” (Lk 24:27). Their eyes and hearts are finally open in the breaking of the bread. Amazed, they said to each other, “Were not our hearts burning within us while he was talking to us on the road, while he was opening the Scriptures to us” (Lk 24:32)?

The story does not end at the meal. Within the hour, the disciples “got up and returned to Jerusalem” so that they may bear witness to the risen Lord (Lk 24:33). When Jesus opens their eyes and heals their hearts, their spirits are renewed! Jesus has shown them the “path of life” (Ps 16:11) – Jesus is “the way, the truth, and the life” (Jn 14:6). Through the resurrected Christ, their trust in God is resuscitated, “through him you have come to trust in God” (1Pet 1:21). Their journey back to Jerusalem, contrary to their departure, would have been filled with joy and hope. With reluctance, the disciples descend into a place of loss, anger, grief, and despair. With joy, they have been lifted up to the mountain top where they encounter the glory of God, Christ resurrected and breaking bread with them!

The disciples’ walk to Emmaus has ended here; however, our own walk to Emmaus has just begun. Each one of us must walk down this path which may be littered with obstacles and challenges; however, we are not walking alone but with each other and our teacher, Jesus Christ. During this Easter season, may we take courage to take this journey with Christ; with joy and hope, and place our trust in the palms of God’s hands. When we feel tired and hungry, do not fret; return to the Bread of Life – the Eucharist – and be nourished.

Posted: April 26, 2020

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


Other Sunday Reflections

Jesus said, “You are witnesses of these things.” (Lk 24:48)
“That the Christ is to suffer and to rise from the dead on the third day.” (Lk 24:46) Continue Reading >
Will We Still Eat and Drink on Resurrection?
Does this mean our risen bodies will continue to live biologically? So many unanswered questions! Continue Reading >
How Jesus Deals with Our Failures
Jesus is the Lord of life, therefore, let’s look at how He resurrects life from our failures. Everyone knows that, when we fail, God forgives us and begins again, but… Continue Reading >

我們的厄瑪烏之行

復活期第三主日

宗徒大事錄 2:14,22-33

五旬節那天,伯多祿同十一位宗徒站起來,高聲向群眾說:「猶太人,及所有居住在耶路撒冷的人!請你們留意,側耳靜聽我的話!諸位以色列人!請聽這些話:「納匝肋人耶穌是天主用德能、奇蹟和徵兆——即天主藉他在你們當中所行的,一如你們所知道的——給你們證明了。他照天主已定的計劃和預知,被交付了。你們藉著不法者的手,釘他在十字架上,殺死了他。天主卻解除了他死亡的苦痛,使他復活了,因為他不可能受死亡的控制,因為達味指著他說:『我常將上主置於我眼前;我決不動搖,因他在我右邊。因此,我心歡樂,我口歌唱,連我的肉身,也要安息於希望之中,因為你決不會將我的靈魂,遺棄在陰府,也不會讓你的聖者,見到腐朽。你要將生命的道路,指示給我,使我在你面前,獲得圓滿的喜樂。』「諸位仁人弟兄!容許我坦白對你們講論聖祖達味的事吧!他死了,也埋葬了。他的墳墓,直到今天,還在我們這裡。他既是先知,也知道天主曾以誓詞,對他起了誓,要從他的子嗣中,選立一位來承繼他的王位。他既預先看見了,就論及默西亞的復活,說:『他沒有被遺棄在陰府,他的肉身也沒有見到腐朽。』這位耶穌,天主使他復活了;我們都是他的見證人。他被舉揚到天主的右邊,由父領受了所恩許的聖神。你們現今所見所聞的,就是他所傾注的聖神。」

伯多祿前書 1:17-21

親愛的諸位:你們既稱呼那不看情面,而只按每人的行為,施行審判的天主為父,就該懷著敬畏的心,度過你們這旅居的時期。該知道:你們不是用能朽壞的金銀等物,而是用寶血,即無玷無瑕羔羊——基督的寶血,由你們祖傳的虛妄生活中,被贖出來的。基督固然是在創世以前,就被預定了的,但在最末的時期,為了你們才出現,為使你們因著他,而相信那使他由死者中復活,並賜他光榮的天主;這樣,你們的信德和望德,都同歸於天主。

路加福音 24:13-35

就在一周的第一天,耶穌的門徒中,有兩個人,往一個村莊去,村名厄瑪烏,離耶路撒冷約六十『斯塔狄』。他們彼此談論所發生的一切事。正談話討論的時候,耶穌親自走近他們,與他們同行。他們的眼睛卻被蒙蔽住了,以致認不出耶穌來。耶穌對他們說:「你們走路,彼此談論的是些什麼事?」他們就站住,面帶愁容。一個名叫克羅帕的,回答耶穌說:「在耶路撒冷作客的,獨有你不知道這幾天在那裡所發生的事嗎?」耶穌問他們說:「什麼事?」他們回答說:「就是有關納匝肋人耶穌的事。他本是一位先知,在天主及眾百姓前,行事說話都有權力。我們的司祭長及首領,竟解送了他,判了他死罪,釘他在十字架上。我們原指望他就是那要拯救以色列的。可是……此外還有:這些事發生到今天,已是第三天了。我們中有幾個婦女,驚嚇了我們;她們清早到了墳墓那裡,沒有看見耶穌的遺體,回來說她們見了天使顯現,天使說耶穌復活了。我們中也有幾個,到過墳墓那裡,所遇見的事,如同婦女們所說的一樣,但是,沒有看見耶穌。」耶穌於是對他們說:「唉!無知的人哪!為信先知們所說的一切話,你們的心竟是這般遲鈍!默西亞不是必須受這些苦難,才進入他的光榮嗎?」耶穌於是從梅瑟及眾先知開始,把全部經書論及他的話,都給他們解釋了。當他們走近他們要去的村莊時,耶穌裝作還要前行。他們強留他說:「請同我們一起住下吧!因為快到晚上,天已垂暮了。」耶穌就進去,同他們住下。當耶穌與他們坐下吃飯的時候,就拿起餅來,祝福了,擘開,遞給他們。他們的眼睛開了,這才認出耶穌來;但耶穌卻由他們眼前隱沒了。他們就彼此說:「當他在路上與我們談話,給我們講解聖經的時候,我們的心不是火熱的嗎?」他們於是立即動身,返回耶路撒冷,遇見那十一位門徒,及同他們一起的人,正聚在一起,彼此談論說:「主真復活了,並顯現給西滿!」兩人就把在路上的事,及在分餅時,他們怎樣認出了耶穌,述說了一遍。

復活期第三主日的讀經,帶我們坐上一部靈性過山車;這段車程迫使我們鼓起勇氣,跳進自己心中最深、最黑暗的角落,好讓我們經歷被提升至頂峰的興奮雀躍。在那裏,天主圓滿的愛正等待着我們。這一躍而跳,或信德的跳躍,是我們每人經常要作的抉擇。我們是否願意放棄自己的人性本能,將我們的信任放在天父那永不失誤的手中?

當我們人生不順遂,經歷巨大挑戰,或重大損失時,我們人性的本能,會準備立刻逃走或作戰。有些人可能會努力奮鬥,另一些人會選擇離開。當人因傷心或憤怒而筋疲力盡時,很難想像在無盡的痛苦深淵裏會有出路。在本週的福音,路加告訴我們,這兩位在往厄瑪烏路上的門徒,經驗了有如過山車般的驚險旅程,他們在耶路撒冷,經歷了全面挫敗,便決定把煩惱放低 — 他們選擇逃避而不是繼續作戰下去。我們不難想像他們經歷過的情緒波動:極度哀傷、憤怒、害怕、失落和失望。他們「原指望【納匝肋的耶穌】就是那要拯救以色列的」,竟被「判了 ⋯ 死罪,釘 ⋯在十字架上」(路 24:20-21)。雖然,他們已得知幾個婦女遇見了天使,而「天使說【耶穌】復活了」,他們仍然不能忍受留在耶路撒冷(路 24: 23)。門徒一定覺得飽受壓抑。是什麼迫使他們離開?他們逃避什麼?可能是恐懼 — 害怕被當局追查;或是傷心 — 他們心碎了,因為失去了一個這樣親愛的人;或許是沒有希望 — 他們估計自己不可能再做什麼;或是失望 — 他們生命中的錨不見了,他們心緒不寧;又或許是慚愧 — 因為他們沒有做過什麼去捍衛或幫助耶穌。

當耶穌在這兩個門徒的旅程中顯現給他們的時候,「他們的眼睛卻被阻止住了,以致認不出他來」(路 24:16)。耶穌稱他們「無知」,並沒有貶低的意思,只是看出了「【他們】的心竟是這般遲鈍」於是想藉此機會打開他們的眼目,治癒他們沈重的心(路 24:25)。耶穌便開始 「把全部經書論及他的話,都給他們解釋了」(路 24:27)。在擘餅時,他們的眼目和心,終於打開了。他們滿心驚喜,彼此說:「當他在路上與我們談話,給我們講解聖經的時候,我們的心不是火熱的嗎?」(路 24: 32)

這故事並沒有在飯後結束。兩位門徒隨即動身,在一個小時內「返回耶路撒冷」好為復活的主作見證(路 24:33)。當耶穌打開他們的目光,治癒他們的心時,他們的靈魂獲得了重生!耶穌已展示給他們「生命的道路」(詩 16:11)— 耶穌是「道路、真理、生命」(若14:6)。藉着復活的基督,他們重拾對天主的信任,「你們因著他,而相信 … 天主」(伯前 1:21)他們在返回耶路撒冷的旅程中充滿喜樂和希望,與他們離開時完全相反。門徒起初勉強地墮進了一個失落、憤怒、哀傷和失望的地方。在喜樂中,他們被提升至高山之巔,與天主的光榮,復活的基督相遇,和他們一起擘餅!

門徒往厄瑪烏之行在這裏已經完成;我們往厄瑪烏之行卻剛開始。我們每人都要走過這條滿佈障礙和挑戰之路;但我們不是單獨行走,而是互相同行,也在與我們的老師 — 耶穌基督 — 同行。在這復活期,讓我們勇敢地與基督同行;懷着喜樂和希望,把我們的信心放在天主的掌心之中。當我們感到又累又餓時,不必煩惱;只需要回到生命之糧 — 聖體,便能獲取滋養。

Posted: April 26, 2020

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


其他主日反省

甲年(瑪竇) 復活期第三主日:經驗復活的基督 吳智勳神父

耶穌復活的消息傳到耶路撒冷教會,反應並非想像中熱烈,相信的人不多,甚至伯多祿也生疑惑,不知發生了甚麼事。往厄瑪烏去的兩個門徒,代表教會內失望的一群。他們聽到婦女的報告,但不相信女人的話,最後離開耶路撒冷教會。

繼續閱讀 >
耶穌在我們生活中的行事模式 Fr. Justin Huang

如果你是一名神父,在下列情況下,你會對人說什麼?有人來辦告解,告訴神父一些讓他們感到羞愧和尷尬的事。他們不敢相信自己竟然這樣做,而且還繼續做著。說他們甚至為此哭泣為此哭泣不止。他們對你說:「我感到非常內疚。我感覺糟透了。」你會對他們說什麼呢?

繼續閱讀 >