Stay awake, be prepared! Watch and be ready!

First Sunday of Advent

Isaiah 2:1-5

This is what Isaiah, son of Amoz, saw concerning Judah and Jerusalem. In days to come, the mountain of the LORD’s house shall be established as the highest mountain and raised above the hills. All nations shall stream toward it; many peoples shall come and say: “Come, let us climb the LORD’s mountain, to the house of the God of Jacob, that he may instruct us in his ways, and we may walk in his paths.” For from Zion shall go forth instruction, and the word of the LORD from Jerusalem. He shall judge between the nations, and impose terms on many peoples. They shall beat their swords into plowshares and their spears into pruning hooks; one nation shall not raise the sword against another, nor shall they train for war again. O house of Jacob, come, let us walk in the light of the Lord!

Romans 13:11-14

Brothers and sisters: You know the time; it is the hour now for you to awake from sleep. For our salvation is nearer now than when we first believed; the night is advanced, the day is at hand. Let us then throw off the works of darkness and put on the armor of light; let us conduct ourselves properly as in the day, not in orgies and drunkenness, not in promiscuity and lust, not in rivalry and jealousy. But put on the Lord Jesus Christ, and make no provision for the desires of the flesh.

Matthew 24:37-44

Jesus said to his disciples: “As it was in the days of Noah, so it will be at the coming of the Son of Man. In those days before the flood, they were eating and drinking, marrying and giving in marriage, up to the day that Noah entered the ark. They did not know until the flood came and carried them all away. So will it be also at the coming of the Son of Man. Two men will be out in the field; one will be taken, and one will be left. Two women will be grinding at the mill; one will be taken, and one will be left. Therefore, stay awake! For you do not know on which day your Lord will come. Be sure of this: if the master of the house had known the hour of night when the thief was coming, he would have stayed awake and not let his house be broken into. So too, you also must be prepared, for at an hour you do not expect, the Son of Man will come.”

The scenarios in today’s Gospel Reading are not meant to instill fear nor are they literal “predictions” about the end of the world as doomsayers often contend. They are apocalyptic images commonly employed in Jesus’ time and of the early Christians to describe the eschatological coming of the Lord without designating any time and date. Earlier on, Jesus gave similar descriptions to His disciples regarding the destruction of Jerusalem, the destiny of those in the early Church and the coming of the Last Judgment (rf Mt 24:1-35). They are meant to be warnings of things destined to come so that those who hear and believe will be prepared.

Two thousand years have passed, does this apocalyptic warning still apply? What if instead of “in the days before the flood” it is now “in the days after the flood”, and we are still “eating and drinking, marrying and giving in marriage” (Mt 24:37-38)? As we no longer feel the tension of Jesus’ coming as the early Christians did, we often pay lip service in our daily prayers to a fundamental element of our faith, that is, Christ will come again to judge the living and the dead. Unlike Jesus’ disciples who want to know “when are these things to happen?” (Mt 24:3), many of us now are not interested to know anymore but simply carry on with our daily living in the stupor of comfort and pleasure.

Almost everyone has experiences of frustrations and impatience in waiting. In our modern world that demands instant gratification, waiting often leads to anxiety for some; and to most of us, is a waste of time. Prolonged waiting will not only dissipate the once enthusiastic anticipation but will make doubtful the belief of the expected outcome. This negative experience is vastly different from the biblical concept of “waiting for the Lord”. Even King David, who had shown evident impatience with God, “How long, O Lord? . . .” (Ps 13:1-2), later made correction to his attitude and said, “Be still before the Lord and wait patiently for Him, do not fret . . .” (Ps 37:7). Throughout the Old Testament, the wait for the coming of the Messiah does not result in boredom or disheartenment. On the contrary, those who remain faithful experienced joy, hope and peace — “I believe that I shall see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living. Wait for the Lord, be strong and let your heart take courage; wait for the Lord” (Ps 27:13-14); “It is good that one should wait quietly for the salvation of the Lord” (Lam 3:26).

As Christians, we too, should adopt the biblical mode of waiting, not a lethargic passivity but a devout and patient endurance. This “quiet” activity should not let us lose sight of the spiritual reality and give in to apathy or laxity. In fact, waiting can become a positive experience if we put ourselves in peaceful trust of the Lord. St. Paul often uses the word “eagerly” when referring to the waiting of Christ’s Second Coming (rf 1Cor 1:7; Gal 5:5; Rom 8:19, 25; Phil 3:20-21); but eagerness does not imply impatience. In fact, eagerness and patience are the paradoxical qualities of this waiting. It entails a fervent yearning accompanied by prayers and watchfulness.

True that no one knows about the day and the hour of the Lord’s coming, a secret guarded by the Father only. The Son’s mission is to save the world and gives warnings of His sudden appearance. Let not this suddenness catch us off guard; let not our regrets be “If only I listen . . . if only I believe . . . if only I have prepared . . .” and let not Jesus’ exhortation — stay awake, be prepared, watch and be ready — falls on deaf ears and dull hearts today.

Posted: December 1, 2019

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


Other Sunday Reflections

“Rejoice in the Lord always; … the Lord is near” (Philippians 4:4-5)
Let us take a moment from our busy Christmas preparations to contemplate on what “the Lord is near” means for us (Philippians 4:5) Continue Reading >
A Shoot from the Stump of Jesse and a Voice in the Desert
Two takeaways from this Sunday’s readings. Both are powerful prophecies of Isaiah. Continue Reading >
Welcoming Others as Christ Welcomed Us
Three weeks ago, we gathered donations for the seven people who lost their belongings in a fire that burned their three-storey apartment building in our neighbourhood. Two of them, Fernanda… Continue Reading >

醒悟, 做好準備吧!警覺, 隨時戒備吧!

將臨期第一主日

依撒意亞先知書 2:1-5

阿摩茲的兒子依撒意亞,關於猶大和耶路撒冷所見的事情:到末日,上主的聖殿山,必要矗立在群山之上,超乎一切山岳;萬民都要向它湧來。將有許多民族前去,說:「來!我們攀登上主的聖山,往雅各伯天主的聖殿去!他必指示我們他的道路,教導我們遵行他的途徑。因為法律將出自熙雍,上主的話將出自耶路撒冷。」他將統治萬邦,治理眾民;致使眾人都把自己的刀劍,鑄成鋤頭,將自己的槍矛,製成鐮刀;民族與民族,不再持刀相向,人也不再學習戰鬥。雅各伯家!來!讓我們在上主的光明中行走吧!

羅馬書 13:11-14

弟兄姊妹們:你們該認清這個時期,現在已經是由睡夢中醒來的時辰了,因為我們的救恩,現今比我們當初信的時候,更臨近了。黑夜深了,白日已近,所以我們該脫去黑暗的行為,佩戴光明的武器;行動要端莊,好像在白天一樣,不可狂宴豪飲,不可淫亂放蕩,不可爭鬥嫉妒;但該穿上主耶穌基督;不應只掛念肉性的事,以滿足私慾。

瑪竇福音 24:37-44

那時候,耶穌向門徒們說:「就如在諾厄的日子怎樣,人子的來臨也要怎樣。因為就如在洪水以前的日子,人照常吃喝婚嫁,直到諾厄進入方舟的那一天,仍然沒有覺察;直到洪水來了,把他們都捲去了;人子的來臨,也必要這樣。那時,兩個人同在田間,一個被接去,一個卻被遺棄;兩個女人同在磨旁推磨,一個被接去,一個卻被遺棄。「所以,你們要醒寤,因為你們不知道:你們的主人在那一天要來。這一點你們要明白:如果家主知道,盜賊幾更天要來,他必要醒寤,不讓自己的房屋被挖穿。為此,你們應該準備,因為你們料想不到的時辰,人子就來了。」

今天讀經所描述的情景,並不是要帶來恐慌,也不是那些末世主義者所指的世界末日「預測」。這些末日圖像,經常在耶穌時代和被早期基督徒用來形容主的末世再臨,但沒有說明時間和日子。早前,耶穌用同樣的描述向門徒們講及耶路撒冷的毀滅,基督徒在早期教會的命運和最後審判的來臨 (參 瑪 24:1-35)。 這是為注定會發生的事情作預警,好讓那些聽到而相信的人作好準備。

二千年過去了,這些末世警告還適用嗎?假如 「洪水以前的日子」 是如今 「洪水以後的日子」,我們仍 「照常吃喝婚嫁」嗎(瑪 24:37-38) ? 正因我們並不像早期基督徒那樣緊張耶穌的再來, 在我們日常祈禱中, 當宣認基督會再來審判生者死者這基本信條時,只是口惠而已。我們既不像耶穌的門徒們那樣渴望知道 「什麼時候要發生這些事?」(瑪 24:3),當中很多人甚至已經沒有興趣知道,就只管繼續麻木地生活在舒適和享樂中。

差不多人人都有經歷過不耐煩的等待。在現今要求速成、立即滿足的世代, 等待通常會為一些人帶來焦慮;對多數人來說,等待就是浪費時間。長期的等待不但會令當初熱情的盼望消散,甚至會懷疑期待的結果。這個負面的經驗與聖經中「等待上主」 的概念完全不同。 達味王也曾明顯地表達他對天主的不耐煩,「上主, 要到何時? . . .」 (詩 13:1-2),後來他修正了自己的態度說 「你應該在上主面前安心依靠,不要 . . . 煩惱」 (詩 37:7)。 在舊約聖經中,等待默西亞的來臨並不會令人厭倦和沮喪。反而,那些能保持信德的人會經驗喜樂、希望與平安 — 「我深信在此活人地區,定會享見上主的幸福。你要鼓起勇氣,期望上主!你要振作精神,期望上主」 (詩 27:13-14); 「最好是靜待上主的救援」(哀 3:26)。

作為基督徒,我們也應該採用聖經裏面的等待模式,不是昏睡般的被動,而是虔誠和耐心的忍耐。這「靜」的活動不應使我們忘記了靈性的現實,令我們變得冷漠和鬆懈。反之,如果我們安心倚靠上主,這等待可以成為一個正面的經驗。聖保祿經常用「熱切」來形容等待基督的第二次來臨 (參 格前 1:7; 迦 5:5; 羅 8:19, 25; 斐 3:20-21);但熱切的期望並不意味着不耐煩。其實,切望和耐心看來矛盾,卻是這等待的特色。 這等待是切熱的渴望,伴隨著祈禱和警覺。

誠然,沒有人知道上主再來的日子和時間,這是天主聖父堅守的秘密。 聖子的任務是救贖世界,並警告世人祂會突然出現。 讓我們不要因為突然而來的事而措手不及; 也讓我們不要後悔地說 「如果我聆聽 . . . 如果我相信 . . . 如果我作好準備 . . . 」 的話。 今天就讓我們不要以聽不到的耳朵和封閉的心靈去接受耶穌的勸告 — 醒悟, 做好準備吧! 警覺, 隨時戒備吧!

Posted: December 1, 2019

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


其他主日反省

甲年將臨期第一主日 : 我期待天主的國來臨嗎? 吳智勳神父

我們日常生活中有很多期待:期待男女朋友來電、期待子女成才、期待經濟好轉、期待假期來臨可以「嘆世界」。期待總帶著憧憬與興奮。

繼續閱讀 >