The Eucharist – a life-or-death issue

Solemnity of the Body and Blood of Christ

DT 8:2-3, 14B-16A

Moses said to the people: "Remember how for forty years now the LORD, your God, has directed all your journeying in the desert, so as to test you by affliction and find out whether or not it was your intention to keep his commandments. He therefore let you be afflicted with hunger, and then fed you with manna, a food unknown to you and your fathers, in order to show you that not by bread alone does one live, but by every word that comes forth from the mouth of the LORD. "Do not forget the LORD, your God, who brought you out of the land of Egypt, that place of slavery; who guided you through the vast and terrible desert with its saraph serpents and scorpions, its parched and waterless ground; who brought forth water for you from the flinty rock and fed you in the desert with manna, a food unknown to your fathers."

1 Corinthians 10:16-17

Brothers and sisters: The cup of blessing that we bless, is it not a participation in the blood of Christ? The bread that we break, is it not a participation in the body of Christ? Because the loaf of bread is one, we, though many, are one body, for we all partake of the one loaf.

John 6:51 - 58

Jesus said to the Jewish crowds: "I am the living bread that came down from heaven; whoever eats this bread will live forever; and the bread that I will give is my flesh for the life of the world." The Jews quarreled among themselves, saying, "How can this man give us his flesh to eat?" Jesus said to them, "Amen, amen, I say to you, unless you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink his blood, you do not have life within you. Whoever eats my flesh and drinks my blood has eternal life, and I will raise him on the last day. For my flesh is true food, and my blood is true drink. Whoever eats my flesh and drinks my blood remains in me and I in him. Just as the living Father sent me and I have life because of the Father, so also the one who feeds on me will have life because of me. This is the bread that came down from heaven. Unlike your ancestors who ate and still died, whoever eats this bread will live forever."

On the threshold of entering the Promised Land after 40 years in the wilderness of Sinai, Israel was asked by Moses to remember to observe God’s commandments, ordinances and statutes so that they might “have long life” (Dt. 6:2). “[N]ot by bread alone does one live”, he reminded them, “but by every word that comes forth from the mouth of the LORD” (Dt 8:3).

Before commencing the grand mission of establishing the Kingdom of God, and after fasting for 40 days and 40 nights in the desert of Judea, Jesus was tempted by the devil to change stones into loaves of bread. He responded by reciting the same Mosaic exhortation: “It is written: ‘One does not live by bread alone, but by every word that comes forth from the mouth of God'” (Mt. 4:4).

Although the two events are more than a millennium apart, they share more similarities than differences:

  • Moses is the liberator chosen by God to lead His people – Israel – out of the slavery of Egypt; Jesus is the Messiah anointed by God to liberate His people – the Church, the New Israel – from the enslavement of sin.
  • Both events have the hardships and dangers of the desert as the backdrop.
  • Both represent the dawning of a new era; one promises affluence and prosperity in a “land flowing with milk and honey”, the other guarantees eternal happiness and glory on the coming of the Kingdom of God in “the fullest of time” (Dt. 6:3, Gal 4:4-5).
  • Both Moses and Jesus stress the importance of the word of God as the true source of life, comparing it to bread and upholding its definitive supremacy in the comparison.
  • Most of all, life – how to live – is the dominant theme that penetrates and connects their messages.

Moses knew more than anyone else that observing the word of God – His commandments, ordinances and statutes – was the only way to live. A whole generation of Israelites – including Moses himself, who had to die on Mount Nebo, having seen from afar with his own eyes the land which God swore to Abraham, Isaac and Jacob – had to perish in the wilderness because they had failed to obey God’s commandments (Dt. 34:1-5).

Jesus, “the New Moses” as he is often called, also takes Moses’ position but extends its life-or-death implication to include eternal blessedness and damnation. After all, he is the Word of God (Jn 1:1); he is the “word that comes forth from the mouth of the Lord” that Moses referred to (Dt. 8:3). Like the Israelites who must observe the word of God or perish, we must listen to him or suffer eternal damnation. The Mosaic exhortation for Israel to love God “with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your strength” is pointing us to Jesus, the Word of God (Dt. 6:5). We must love him and unite ourselves with him until his very being – his Body and Blood, Soul and Divinity – is internalized in us, in the core of our being.

But how can we possibly do that? It’s not hard to see that this task is far beyond our human ability. In other words, it will take a miracle or some form of divine intervention to make it happen. Once again, it’s Jesus who has come to our rescue. To help us achieve this lofty and humanly impossible mission of becoming one with him, he has given us the Sacrament of the Eucharist, in which the whole substance of bread and wine is transformed into the substance of the body and blood of Christ through the mysterious power of transubstantiation (CCC 1376). We call the consecrated bread and wine the “Eucharist”.

Like Moses, Jesus – the New Moses – sees the observance of the word of God as a life-or-death issue, but the observance has been sacramentally transformed to enable us to accomplish what is humanly impossible to do: to share in his divine nature (cf. 2 Peter 1:4). “Amen, amen, I say to you, unless you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink his blood, you do not have life within you,” he insists in this Sunday’s gospel (Jn. 6:53). On this Solemnity of the Body and Blood of Christ, let’s remember the cry of the martyrs of Abitene, who were killed in 303 A.D. for celebrating Sunday Mass: “We cannot live without Sunday”. Yes, the Mass liturgy – and its culmination, the Eucharistic celebration – is that important. This is no exaggeration or fantasy; it is our Lord’s teaching.

Posted: June 14, 2020

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


Other Sunday Reflections

Eighteenth Sunday In Ordinary Time
How to turn our littleness into greatness?
"Incline your ear, and come to me; listen, so that you may live"(Is 55:3) Continue Reading >
Eighteenth Sunday In Ordinary Time
Would You Bring Only the Old or the New?
What does Jesus teach about the Kingdom of God? What is the significance of rejecting the ideologies of both left and right, the idolatry of both the new and the… Continue Reading >
Eighteenth Sunday In Ordinary Time
How to Ask for the Best Gifts
"At Gibeon the Lord appeared to Solomon in a dream by night; and God said, 'Ask what I should give you'" (1 Kg 3:5).—This is what God is saying to… Continue Reading >

聖體 — 一個生或死的問題

基督聖體聖血節

申命紀 8:2-3,14-16

梅瑟對人民說:「你當紀念:上主你的天主,使你這四十年,在曠野中所走的路;那是為磨難你,試探你;要知道你的心,是否願意遵守他的誡命。 「他磨難了你,使你感到飢餓,卻以你和你祖先,所不認識的『瑪納』,養育了你,叫你知道:人生活不但靠食物,而且也靠上主親口所說的一切話。 「你不要忘記,由埃及地,由為奴之家,領你出來的上主、你的天主;是他領你經過了遼闊、可怖、有火蛇、蝎子的曠野,經過了乾旱無水之地;是他使水,由堅硬的磐石,為你流出;是他在曠野裡,以你祖先不認識的『瑪納』,養育了你。」

格林多前書 10:16-17

弟兄姊妹們: 我們所祝福的那祝福之杯,豈不是共結合於基督的血嗎?我們所擘開的餅,豈不是共結合於基督的身體嗎?因為餅只是一個,我們雖多,只是一個身體,因為我們眾人,都共享這一個餅。

若望福音 6:51-58

那時候,耶穌對群眾說:「我是從天上降下的、生活的食糧;誰若吃了這食糧,必要生活,直到永遠。我所要賜給的食糧,就是我的肉,為使世界獲得生命。」 猶太人彼此爭論說:「這人怎麼能把他的肉,賜給我們吃呢?」 耶穌向他們說:「我實實在在告訴你們:你們若不吃人子的肉,不喝他的血,在你們內,便沒有生命。誰吃我的肉,並喝我的血,必得永生;在末日,我且要叫他復活。 「因為我的肉,是真實的食糧;我的血,是真實的飲料。誰吃我的肉,並喝我的血,便住在我內,我也住在他內。就如那生活的父,派遣了我,我因父而生活;照樣,那吃我的人,也要因我而生活。 「這是從天上降下來的食糧。不像祖先吃了『瑪納』,仍然死了。誰吃這食糧,必要生活,直到永遠。」

在西乃曠野四十年,在將要進入應許之地之際,梅瑟要求以色列人謹記遵守天主的誡命、律法和法令好讓他們「獲享長壽」(申 6:2)。他提醒他們「人生活不但靠食物」,「而且也靠上主口中所發的一切言語」(申 8:3)。

在開始建立天主的國這偉大的使命之前,在猶大沙漠齋戒了四十個晝夜之後,耶穌被魔鬼試探,要他把石頭變成麵包。祂用同樣的梅瑟訓令來回應:「經上記載:『人生活不只靠餅,而也靠天主口中所發的一切言語。』」 (瑪 4:4)。

雖然相隔千多年,這兩件大事卻大同小異:

  • 梅瑟是天主揀選的解放者,他帶領天主的子民 — 以色列 — 從埃及的奴役中解放出來;耶穌是天主祝聖的默西亞,祂把天主的子民 — 教會,新以色列 — 從罪惡的奴役中解放出來。
  • 兩件大事都發生在以沙漠為背景的困厄與危險中。
  • 兩件事都代表著一個新時代的展開;一是應許了在「流奶流蜜的地方」,獲得富足和幸福,另一件事則保證了當「時期一滿」,天主的國來臨時所帶來的永遠的福樂和榮耀 (申 6:3, 迦 4:4-5)。
  • 梅瑟和耶穌都強調天主聖言的重要性在於其為真正生命之源,比之為麵包,並確認天主聖言肯定是至高無上的。
  • 最重要的是,生命 — 應如何生活 — 是串連他們這些訊息的一個主導題目。

梅瑟比任何人都清楚,遵守天主聖言 — 祂的誡命、律法和法令— 是生活的唯一方法。整代的以色列人— 包括梅瑟本人,他親眼從遠方遙望天主給亞巴郎、依撒格和雅各伯應許的地方後,便在乃波山上逝去, — 都因為不遵守天主的誡命而在曠野中滅亡 (申 34:1-5)。

經常被稱為「新梅瑟」的耶穌與梅瑟有著同一的理解,而祂更將肉身的生或死伸展至永生和永罰。畢竟祂是天主聖言 (若 1:1);祂是梅瑟所指的「上主口中所發的一切言語」(申 8:3)。有如以色列人必須遵守天主聖言否則便會滅亡,我們必須聽從祂,否則我們會受永罰。梅瑟教導以色列人「當全心、全靈、全力」愛天主;這教導將我們指向耶穌,天主的聖言 (申 6:5)。我們必須愛祂和與祂共融團結,直至到祂的一切 — 祂的聖體聖血、靈魂及天主性 — 成為自己生命的中心,自己的五內。

但我們怎能做到?很明顯這任務是不能靠我們自己的能力達成的。換言之,是需要一個奇蹟或者某些來自天主的干預才能成就。耶穌再次來幫助我們。為成就這崇高而人力辦不到的任務——使我們能與祂合而為一,祂給了我們聖體聖事,以餅酒的實體轉變這奧秘的力量,將餅和酒的實體轉變為耶穌體血的實體 (天主教教理 1376)。我們稱這祝聖的餅酒為「聖體」。

正如梅瑟一樣,耶穌 — 新梅瑟 — 視遵守天主聖言為一個生死攸關的問題,而遵守聖言這個本來單憑人力無法成就的任務,已經藉著聖事,轉變成為我們能成就的:分享祂的天主性 (參 伯後 1:4)。祂在本主日的福音堅持說:「我實實在在告訴你們:你們若不吃人子的肉,不喝他的血,在你們內,便沒有生命」(若6:53) 。在這基督聖體聖血節,讓我們謹記公元 303 年在慶祝主日彌撒時被殺的北非阿比特內(Abitene)的殉道者的吶喊:「我們生存不能沒有主日」。是的,彌撒禮儀和聖祭的高峰— 感恩(聖體)聖事— 就是這樣重要。這不是誇大或幻想;這是我們主的教導。

Posted: June 14, 2020

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


其他主日反省

甲年(瑪竇) 基督聖體聖血節:信德、愛德 與 共融 的標記 吳智勳神父

初期基督徒是兼領聖體聖血的,後來發展為只領聖體,節日也稱為「基督聖體」瞻禮(Corpus Christi)。梵二後,教會恢復從前兼領聖體聖血的習慣,因為意識到聖血包含了重要意義。

繼續閱讀 >
「真正的臨在」有多真實 Fr. Jusin Huang

有一名天主教中央情報局特工CIA被派往巴格達和約旦之間擔任情報信使。他經常晚上乘坐時速145公里 的卡車,在黑暗中行駛,以免引起注意。他的司機常是穆斯林,

繼續閱讀 >