How Real is the Real Presence

Solemnity of the Body and Blood of Christ

DT 8:2-3, 14B-16A

Moses said to the people: "Remember how for forty years now the LORD, your God, has directed all your journeying in the desert, so as to test you by affliction and find out whether or not it was your intention to keep his commandments. He therefore let you be afflicted with hunger, and then fed you with manna, a food unknown to you and your fathers, in order to show you that not by bread alone does one live, but by every word that comes forth from the mouth of the LORD. "Do not forget the LORD, your God, who brought you out of the land of Egypt, that place of slavery; who guided you through the vast and terrible desert with its saraph serpents and scorpions, its parched and waterless ground; who brought forth water for you from the flinty rock and fed you in the desert with manna, a food unknown to your fathers."

1 Corinthians 10:16-17

Brothers and sisters: The cup of blessing that we bless, is it not a participation in the blood of Christ? The bread that we break, is it not a participation in the body of Christ? Because the loaf of bread is one, we, though many, are one body, for we all partake of the one loaf.

John 6:51 - 58

Jesus said to the Jewish crowds: "I am the living bread that came down from heaven; whoever eats this bread will live forever; and the bread that I will give is my flesh for the life of the world." The Jews quarreled among themselves, saying, "How can this man give us his flesh to eat?" Jesus said to them, "Amen, amen, I say to you, unless you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink his blood, you do not have life within you. Whoever eats my flesh and drinks my blood has eternal life, and I will raise him on the last day. For my flesh is true food, and my blood is true drink. Whoever eats my flesh and drinks my blood remains in me and I in him. Just as the living Father sent me and I have life because of the Father, so also the one who feeds on me will have life because of me. This is the bread that came down from heaven. Unlike your ancestors who ate and still died, whoever eats this bread will live forever."

There was once a Catholic CIA agent assigned as a courier of intelligence between Baghdad and Jordan (https://www.bluearmy.com/the-eucharist-is-an-inestimable-gift-not-to-be-taken-for-granted/). He would be driven at night in a truck, 145 kilometers per hour and without headlights, so as not to attract attention. His driver was always a Muslim, and one time, a driver asked him, “Is it true?” “Is what true?” “Is it true you Catholics have Jesus?” “What do you mean?” “Is it true when you pray, you Catholics can make Jesus?” “Oh, you mean the Eucharist… Holy Communion? Yes, it is true, we have the Christ.” “Then, I don’t understand. Why are you here? If it is true that you have Jesus… if I had Jesus I would stop everything and spend every hour every day there with Jesus!” That CIA agent went on to become a priest in Alabama, and this discussion with the driver was part of his journey to switch vocations.

[Listen to Fr. Justin’s homily delivery here.]
Part 1 : http://thejustmeasure.ca/wp-content/uploads/2020/06/p1-Homily-June-14-2020.mp3
Part 2 : http://thejustmeasure.ca/wp-content/uploads/2020/06/p2-Homily-June-14-2020.mp3

[View Fr. Justin’s homily delivery here.]
https://youtu.be/j5skFnerCmg

We Catholics believe Jesus is truly present in a physical way in our churches! Today is the solemnity of the Body of Christ, in Latin, Corpus Christi, and it’s another celebration for us! And I’m going to reuse purposely many of the theological explanations I’ve used in the past so that those of you who have heard these can understand them more deeply, and those who haven’t will appreciate them for the first time.

The only reason why we believe that Jesus is present in the Eucharist is because Jesus said so. He says in the Gospel today, “‘The bread that I will give for the life of the world is my flesh.’ The people then disputed among themselves, saying, ‘How can this man give us his flesh to eat?'” (Jn 6:51-52). Jesus is a teacher, and whenever people misunderstood His words, He clarified. But Jesus doesn’t say that eating means some sort of spiritual, invisible union, as when He says, “I am the vine, you are the branches” (Jn 15:5). No one ever questioned Him about this because they knew He was using a metaphor. Why do they question Him today? Because they know He was speaking literally. The Old Testament forbade Jewish people from drinking the blood of animals, so this metaphor wouldn’t be accepted by them (Ignatius Catholic Study Bible, 174).

Jesus doesn’t say, “Whoa, you’ve misunderstood me.” What does He do? He re-emphasizes His point: “Very truly, I tell you [Remember, whenever Jesus says ‘Very truly, I tell you’ He’s solemnly affirming what He’s saying is accurate (Raymond Brown, The Gospel According to John I-XII, 83-84)], unless you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink his blood, you have no life in you. Whoever eats (chews/gnaws) my flesh and drinks my blood has eternal life… for my flesh is true food and my blood is true drink. Whoever eats (chews/gnaws) my flesh and drinks my blood abides in me, and I in them” (Jn 6:53-56). In the original Greek, at this point, Jesus changes the word ‘eat’ to ‘chew/gnaw.’ So, Jesus actually gets more physical in His explanation, not less.

Note also that many of His disciples left Him because of this teaching (Jn 6:66). If it were just a spiritual teaching, why would they leave? They never left Him because of His other metaphors.

Couple this episode with Jesus’ words at the Last Supper, “This is my body” (Mt 26:26; Mk 14:22; Lk 22:19), and early on in Church history, St. Paul understands Jesus’ words as literal when he writes, “Any one who eats and drinks without discerning the body eats and drinks judgment upon himself” (1 Cor 11:29). Discern means to recognize, so we need to recognize Jesus’ body in the Eucharist because Jesus meant it literally. As my good Evangelical friend said, “Obviously, there’s something more than bread there if Paul was saying this” (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2018/11/18/the-most-powerful-prayer-in-the-world/).

The philosopher Peter Kreeft writes: “Look at history. (This is the single clearest reason why I became a Catholic: because I looked at history.) Not a single Christian in the world for 1000 years doubted or denied the Real Presence of Christ in the Eucharist. The 11th century heretic Berengar of Tours was the first, and there were no others until the 16th century” (Jesus Shock, 106).

So, how are we to understand Jesus’ teaching? First, what do we mean by ‘real presence’? I know some Catholics have suggested that the Lord will protect them from COVID-19 if they take the Eucharist. Unfortunately, the real presence doesn’t mean the Eucharist can’t get infected; it can. This is what’s called naïve realism, which looks at the Eucharist in too materialistic a way (Avery Dulles, Church & Society, 458). There was once a young girl who didn’t want to eat ice cream after Holy Communion because she feared Jesus would suffer from the cold.

Opposed to this, the Church teaches that Jesus is present “truly, really, and substantially” (CCC 1374). These adverbs are used in a technical way: ‘Truly’ means it’s not just a sign pointing to Jesus in the heavens, but that He’s here. ‘Really’ means at the level of being (for those who know philosophy, it’s ontologically real). So, even if no one believes Jesus is present in the Eucharist, He’s still here; His presence doesn’t depend on what people believe. ‘Substantially’ means the reality beneath the appearance of bread (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2019/04/14/jesus-gave-everything/).

Second, let’s explain exactly what changes. Catholic philosophers have reflected on Jesus’ teaching for a long time, and use two technical philosophical terms to explain the change: substance and accident. “‘Substance…’ means what stands under the appearances (accidents), which can shift from one moment to the next while leaving the subject intact. Appearances can be deceptive” (Dulles, 456-7).

Consider the following, if I wear a disguise and dress up in my awesome Jedi outfit, am I still Fr. Justin? What if I gain a lot of weight and become a monsignor, am I still Fr. Justin? What if I get horribly burned, you can’t recognize me, I get amnesia, would I still be Fr. Justin? (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2015/08/16/20150816-how-bread-becomes-jesus-body/) So my appearances can change in a profound way but not my substance—the two are different. But God, in a miraculous way, can change the substance without changing the appearance. Hence the word ‘Transubstantiation,’ which means literally across the substance.

At Mass when a priest says the words of consecration over the bread and wine, the bread and wine still look, smell. and taste the same (which should be obvious; by the way, no one has ever asserted that these properties change), but the underlying reality is Jesus Himself. That’s why we take care of each tiny fragment of the Eucharist. No matter how small the fragment, Jesus is substantially present and because we love Him, we worship and adore Him wherever He is present.

Third, how does this change happen? By words that affect reality. For example, certain human words can change our inner reality, as when someone affirms or criticizes us and this affects us for life. When a properly deputized police officer says, “You’re under arrest,” you’re arrested. His words change reality, at a juridical level. If I were to pronounce these words, they’d have no effect because I have no authority. But when a properly ordained priest, invested with spiritual authority, repeats the words of Jesus over bread and wine, he affects reality at a substantial level (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bJjW3LXuHzo&vl=en).

In 1950, the Catholic author Flannery O’Connor was invited to dinner, during which the host, a fallen-away Catholic, said to her that the Eucharist was a symbol and “a pretty good one.” Flannery responded, “Well, if it’s only a symbol, to hell with it” (Robert Barron, Eucharist, 95). Not a very diplomatic response, but it sums up Catholic faith very well. If it’s just a symbol, why bother kneeling before it, teaching our kids about it, sacrificing time and energy to protect it, receiving it with the utmost care?

One of our sisters, Natalie Ng, said she would have gone to the protests downtown last week to fight against racism—good job. But she didn’t because of COVID-19. But why is she coming to Mass? Because Jesus is really present here.

Today is a celebration! Jesus loves us so much that He gives us His physical presence. For the past three months, we have all learned the difference between real and virtual presence. Being with people on Zoom is good but no comparison to the real thing. Now, as I taught on Holy Thursday, April 9, 2020, spiritual communion isn’t a consolation prize to real communion, but, spiritual communion is always meant to lead us to physical communion (Vinny Flynn, 7 Secrets of the Eucharist, 86-89)! Jesus knew the importance of the real and physical 2,000 years ago, and so wouldn’t settle for giving us a virtual presence, and He wants all spiritual communion to lead to physical communion.

During the lockdown, someone said, “I would kill for the Eucharist!” He’s joking, but we know what he’s getting at. Whether or not we are able to receive the Eucharist during this time, let’s celebrate it! I got criticized by another priest for saying that, on the morning my dad died, I went to celebrate Mass before seeing my mom. I said during the homily, “Take everything else and just give me the Mass”. But I believe this sentiment is in line with the teachings and examples of the saints.

In 1997, St. Paul Parish in Richmond started their perpetual adoration chapel, led by Fr. Peter Chiang, who died this past May 23. That’s where I’d go as a teenager to be with Jesus, after tennis, after hanging out with friends, whatever. And it had a big part in helping me become a priest. When I was in my fourth year of studies, I wrote Fr. Peter asking if he knew anyone who could help me pay for my final semester at Christ the King Seminary. He wrote me the cheque himself for over $2,000 and told me not to tell anyone, and I never have until now.

Fr. Peter’s generosity in starting the chapel and helping other people concretely flowed from his huge Eucharistic heart, and to every parish he went, he tried to honour the Eucharist, and would always sing a very simple, childlike song to Jesus after receiving Communion. Everyone found it cute, but it expressed his simple faith in Jesus. I’ve asked Chris to sing it for us today during Communion. Fr. Peter’s spiritual legacy is that he helped someone become a priest and helped hundreds of people have a Eucharistic heart. Someone just told me that she recognizes how important and powerful the Eucharist is through my ministry.

Two questions for you today: 1) When you die, will anyone have a Eucharistic heart because of you? Your family, spouse, children, friends? Will you have any spiritual legacy with regards to the Eucharist? 2) When we approach communion today, how will our disposition and actions change when we truly receive Jesus Christ?

That CIA agent’s life was changed when the Muslim driver said, “If I had Jesus I would stop everything and spend every hour every day there with Jesus!” Our lives have changed, too, because other people helped us understand that Jesus has given us His Real Presence.

Source: The JustMeasure: How Real is the Real Presence (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2020/06/14/how-real-is-the-real-presence/)

Posted: June 14, 2020

Fr. Jusin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


Other Sunday Reflections

Eighteenth Sunday In Ordinary Time
How to turn our littleness into greatness?
"Incline your ear, and come to me; listen, so that you may live"(Is 55:3) Continue Reading >
Eighteenth Sunday In Ordinary Time
Would You Bring Only the Old or the New?
What does Jesus teach about the Kingdom of God? What is the significance of rejecting the ideologies of both left and right, the idolatry of both the new and the… Continue Reading >
Eighteenth Sunday In Ordinary Time
How to Ask for the Best Gifts
"At Gibeon the Lord appeared to Solomon in a dream by night; and God said, 'Ask what I should give you'" (1 Kg 3:5).—This is what God is saying to… Continue Reading >

「真正的臨在」有多真實

基督聖體聖血節

申命紀 8:2-3,14-16

梅瑟對人民說:「你當紀念:上主你的天主,使你這四十年,在曠野中所走的路;那是為磨難你,試探你;要知道你的心,是否願意遵守他的誡命。 「他磨難了你,使你感到飢餓,卻以你和你祖先,所不認識的『瑪納』,養育了你,叫你知道:人生活不但靠食物,而且也靠上主親口所說的一切話。 「你不要忘記,由埃及地,由為奴之家,領你出來的上主、你的天主;是他領你經過了遼闊、可怖、有火蛇、蝎子的曠野,經過了乾旱無水之地;是他使水,由堅硬的磐石,為你流出;是他在曠野裡,以你祖先不認識的『瑪納』,養育了你。」

格林多前書 10:16-17

弟兄姊妹們: 我們所祝福的那祝福之杯,豈不是共結合於基督的血嗎?我們所擘開的餅,豈不是共結合於基督的身體嗎?因為餅只是一個,我們雖多,只是一個身體,因為我們眾人,都共享這一個餅。

若望福音 6:51-58

那時候,耶穌對群眾說:「我是從天上降下的、生活的食糧;誰若吃了這食糧,必要生活,直到永遠。我所要賜給的食糧,就是我的肉,為使世界獲得生命。」 猶太人彼此爭論說:「這人怎麼能把他的肉,賜給我們吃呢?」 耶穌向他們說:「我實實在在告訴你們:你們若不吃人子的肉,不喝他的血,在你們內,便沒有生命。誰吃我的肉,並喝我的血,必得永生;在末日,我且要叫他復活。 「因為我的肉,是真實的食糧;我的血,是真實的飲料。誰吃我的肉,並喝我的血,便住在我內,我也住在他內。就如那生活的父,派遣了我,我因父而生活;照樣,那吃我的人,也要因我而生活。 「這是從天上降下來的食糧。不像祖先吃了『瑪納』,仍然死了。誰吃這食糧,必要生活,直到永遠。」

(本篇譯稿為黃謙善神父主日講道,若內容有不一致的情況,一概以英文原稿, http://thejustmeasure.ca/2020/06/14/how-real-is-the-real-presence/,為準。)

有一名天主教中央情報局特工CIA被派往巴格達和約旦之間擔任情報信使(https://www.bluearmy.com/the-eucharist-is-an-inestimable-gift-not-to-be-taken-for-granted/)。他經常晚上乘坐時速145公里 的卡車,在黑暗中行駛,以免引起注意。他的司機常是穆斯林,有一次,一個司機問他:「你說是真的嗎?」「什麼真的?」“「你們天主教徒真的有耶穌嗎?」「你什麼意思?」「你們天主教徒在祈禱時能讓耶穌臨在,是真的嗎?」「哦,你是說聖體…嗎?」「聖體?」「是的,這是真的,我們有基督。」「那我就不明白了。你怎麼還在這兒?如果你真的有耶穌…。如果我有耶穌,我會停止一切,每天每一小時都和耶穌在一起!」這名情報局特工後來成為阿拉巴馬州的一名神父,與司機的這段討論是他轉向聖召的部分原因。

講道錄音 (英語):
第1部分 : http://thejustmeasure.ca/wp-content/uploads/2020/06/p1-Homily-June-14-2020.mp3
第2部分 : http://thejustmeasure.ca/wp-content/uploads/2020/06/p2-Homily-June-14-2020.mp3

[黃神父主日講道視頻 (英語)]
https://youtu.be/j5skFnerCmg

我們天主教徒相信耶穌真的以肉體的方式出現在我們的教堂裡!今天是基督聖體的瞻禮,拉丁文是「Corpus Christi」,這又是我們的另一次的慶祝活動!我將有意地重複使用我過去引用過的許多神學解釋,這樣你們中聽過這些解釋的人就可以作更深入的理解。而那些第一次聽到的人們能領會其意義。

我們相信耶穌在聖體中, 唯一原因是因為耶穌是這麼說的。在今天的福音中祂說,「我是從天上降下的生活的食糧;誰若吃了這食糧,必要生活直到永遠。」「我所要賜給的食糧,就是我的肉,是為世界的生命而賜給的。」 因此, 猶太人彼此爭論說:「這人怎能把他的肉,賜給我們吃呢?」(若6:51-52)。耶穌是一位老師,每當人們誤解祂的話時,他都會澄清。但是耶穌並沒有解說「吃」是意味著某種屬靈的、看不見的結合,就像祂說的,「我是葡萄樹,你們是枝條;」(若15:5)。沒有人問過祂,因為他們知道祂在用比喻。為什麼他們今天要追問祂?因為他們知道祂說的是字面意思。舊約禁止猶太人喝動物的血,所以他們無法接受這個比喻。 (Ignatius Catholic Study Bible, 174)

但耶穌不會說,「噢,你誤會了。」祂是怎麼回應的?。他再次強調:「我實實在在告訴你們,(記住,每當耶穌說;『我實實在在告訴你們』的時候,祂都嚴肅地強調祂是認真的)耶穌向他們說:「我實實在在告訴你們:你們若不吃人子的肉,不喝他的血,在你們內,便沒有生命。 誰吃我的肉,並喝我的血,必得永生,在末日,我且要叫他復活,因為我的肉,是真實的食品;我的血,是真實的飲料。 誰吃我的肉,並喝我的血,便住在我內,我也住在他內。」(若6:53-56)。在原始希臘語中,耶穌在將“吃”一詞改為“咀嚼/咀嚼”。請看一下屏幕。因此,耶穌實際上在祂的解釋中不是不是減少,而是變得更加具體化。

還請注意,祂的許多門徒因為這一個訓導都離開了祂(若6:66)。如果這只是一種靈修上的教導,他們為什麼要離開呢?因為祂之前的其他比喻,他們都沒離開過祂。

將這段插曲與耶穌在最後晚餐上說的話:「這是我的身體。(瑪26:26;谷14:22;路22:19)結合起來,早期的教會歷史,聖保祿教導說,「若不分辨主的身體,就是吃喝自己的罪案。」(格林多前書11:29)。分辨的意思是認識,所以我們需要在聖體中認識出耶穌的身體,因為耶穌說的就是字面意思。正如我的福音派好朋友所說,「顯然,如果保羅這樣說的話,那裡就有比麵包更多的東西。」(http://thejustmeasure.ca/2018/11/18/the-most-powerful -prayer-in-the-world/).。

哲學家彼得•克里夫特(Peter Kreeft)寫道:「看看歷史。(這是我成為天主教徒最明確的原因:因為我審視了歷史。)。1000年來,世界上沒有一個基督徒懷疑或否認基督在聖體中的真實存在。11世紀的圖爾異教徒Berengar是第一個,直到16世紀才有其他的」(Jesus Shock, 106)

那麼,我們如何理解它呢?首先,我們所說的「真實存在」是什麼意思?我知道一些天主教徒建議,如果他們領聖體,天主會保護他們不受新冠肺炎的傷害。不幸的是,真正的存在並不意味著聖體不會被感染;它可以。這就是所謂的天真現實主義,它以一種過於唯物主義的方式看待聖體(Avery Dulles, Church & Society, 458)。從前有一個年輕的女孩,她在領聖體後不想吃冰激凌,​​因為她擔心耶穌會著涼。

與此相反,教會教導耶穌「真正地、真實地、且實體地」臨在(CC1374)。 「真正地」的意思是,它不只是一個指向天上耶穌的標誌,而是祂就在這裡。 「真實地的意思是在存在的層面上(對於那些了解哲學的人來說,它在本體論上是真實的)。所以,即使沒有人相信耶穌出現在聖體中,祂仍然在這裡。「實體地」指的是麵餅外表下的現實。 (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2019/04/14/jesus-gave-everything/)

其次,讓我們確切地解釋一下是什麼發生了變化。天主教哲學家長期以來一直在反思耶穌的教義,並用兩個哲學術語來解釋這種變化:「實體和偶然」。 「實體Substance…」指的是表面下的情況,它可以在保持實體不變的情況下從一個時刻轉移到下一個時刻。可以被外表蒙蔽的(Dulles, 456-7)。

那麼,如果我偽裝起來,穿上我那套令人驚嘆的星球大戰武士Jedi服裝,我還是Fr.Justin嗎?如果我胖得像一位蒙席,我還是Fr.Justin嗎?如果我被嚴重燒傷,你認不出我來,我得了健忘症,我還會是Fr.Justin嗎? (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2015/08/16/20150816-how-bread-becomes-jesus-body/) 所以我的外表可以有極大的改變,但我的實質不會改變–兩者是不同的。但是天主,以一種神奇的方式,可以在不改變外觀的情況下改變實質。因此就有了「實體轉變Transubstantiation」這個詞,字面意思是跨物質的。

當神父將麵餅和葡萄酒祝聖時,它的外觀、氣味和味道都是一樣的,這應是很明顯的,但從未有人斷言這些物質的變化,背後的現實是耶穌自己。這就是為什麼我們要照顧聖體的每一小塊。無論耶穌多麼細小,耶穌都在我們面前,因為我們愛祂,所以我們敬拜和崇拜祂所在的每一個地方。

第三,這種變化是如何發生的?通過影響現實的詞語(https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bJjW3LXuHzo&vl=en).。例如,某些的人類話語可以改變我們的內心,比如當有人肯定或批評我們時,這會影響我們的一生。當一個真正的警察說,「我逮捕你」,你就被逮捕了。他的話在司法層面改變了現實。但是,當一個正式被祝聖和授予權柄的神父,在麵餅和酒上重複耶穌的話時,他會使實體產生轉變。

1950年,天主教作家弗蘭納里•奧康納(Flannery O’Connor)應邀參加晚宴,宴會的主人以前是一位天主教徒,她對她說聖體是一種象徵,是「相當不錯的象徵。弗蘭納里回答說:「如果它只是一種象徵,那就讓它見鬼去吧! (Robert Barron, Eucharist, 95) 這不是一個非常外交的回應,但它很好地概括了天主教的信仰。如果它只是一個像徵,為什麼要費心跪在它面前,教我們的孩子有關它的知識,犧牲時間和精力來保護它,以最小心的方式領受它呢?

我們的一位姐妹娜塔莉•吳(Natalie Ng)說,她上周本想去市中心參加抗議活動,反對種族主義–這是好事。但是她沒有去, 因為新冠肺炎的緣故。然而她為什麼堅對要來參與彌撒呢?因為耶穌真的在這裡。

今天是個慶祝的日子!耶穌是如此的愛我們,甚至把自己的肉體給了我們。在過去的三個月裡,我們都學到了真實存在和虛擬存在之間的區別。通過Zoom上和人在一起很好,但無法與真實的相比。現在,正如我在4月9日的聖周星期四上所教的那樣,神領聖體並不是實領聖體的安慰獎,但是神領聖體總是要帶領我們走向實領聖體的( Vinny Flynn,7 Secrets of the Eucharist,86-89)。耶穌早在2000年前就知道真實和物質的重要性,因此不會滿足於給我們一個虛擬的存在,祂希望所有的靈性結合都能導玫真實的結合。

在隔離期間,有人說,「我願意為聖體殺傷!」他是在開玩笑,但我們誰都知道他對聖體的理解。不管我們能不能在這段時間領聖體,讓我們慶祝一下吧!我曾被一位神父批評,因為我說,在我父親去世的那天早上,我先去參加彌撒,然後才去看我母親。我在講道時說,「把其他的都拿走,把彌撒給我。」(http://thejustmeasure.ca/2020/03/08/experiencing-transcendence/)。但我相信這種情緒是符合聖人的教誨和榜樣的。

1997年,列治文的聖保祿教堂在已故的姜神父Peter Chiang的領導下,開始在他們的明永恆明恭聖體,他剛於今年的五月二十三日去世。那就是我十幾歲的時候,在打完網球,和朋友出去玩之後, 和耶穌在一起的地方。它在使我成為一名神父方面起到了很大的幫助。在我上神學四年級的時候,我給姜神父寫了封信,問他是否認識人可以幫我支付基督君王神學院最後一學期的學費。他親自給我開了一張2000多元的支票,叮囑我不要告訴任何人,我一直沒有,直到現在。

姜神父慷慨地建立明恭聖體小堂和實際地幫助他人,這是來自他的一顆大的聖體之心,在他去過的每個堂區,他都尊重聖體,在領聖體後,他總是給耶穌唱一首非常簡單的、像孩子一樣的歌。每個人都覺得它很可愛,它表達了他對耶穌的簡單信仰。我已經請克里斯Chris在今天的聖體時刻為我們唱這首歌。姜神父的靈性遺產是:他幫助一些人成為神父,並幫助上百的人擁有一顆聖體之心。剛剛有人告訴我,她通過我的事工認識到聖體是多麼的重要和強大。

今天我要問你的兩問題是:第一: 當你死的時候,會有人因為你而擁有一顆聖體的心嗎?是你的家人、配偶、孩子、朋友?你擁有與聖體有關的靈性遺產嗎?第二: 今天當我們上前真心領聖體時,我們的性情和作為將有何改變?

當那個穆斯林司機說:「如果我有耶穌,我會停止一切,每天每一小時都和耶穌在一起!」這改變了那個情報局特工CIA的生命!我們的生命也改變了,因為有人幫助我們理解這個事實: 耶穌給了我們祂真正的臨在。

Posted: June 14, 2020

Fr. Jusin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


其他主日反省

聖體 — 一個生或死的問題 Edmond Lo

正如梅瑟一樣,耶穌 — 新梅瑟 — 視遵守天主聖言為一個生死攸關問題

繼續閱讀 >
甲年(瑪竇) 基督聖體聖血節:信德、愛德 與 共融 的標記 吳智勳神父

初期基督徒是兼領聖體聖血的,後來發展為只領聖體,節日也稱為「基督聖體」瞻禮(Corpus Christi)。梵二後,教會恢復從前兼領聖體聖血的習慣,因為意識到聖血包含了重要意義。

繼續閱讀 >