The Holy Spirit is a Spirit of Transformation, Unity, Peace, and Forgiveness

Pentecost Sunday

Acts 2:1-11

When the time for Pentecost was fulfilled, they were all in one place together. And suddenly there came from the sky a noise like a strong driving wind, and it filled the entire house in which they were. Then there appeared to them tongues as of fire, which parted and came to rest on each one of them. And they were all filled with the Holy Spirit and began to speak in different tongues, as the Spirit enabled them to proclaim. Now there were devout Jews from every nation under heaven staying in Jerusalem. At this sound, they gathered in a large crowd, but they were confused because each one heard them speaking in his own language. They were astounded, and in amazement they asked, “Are not all these people who are speaking Galileans? Then how does each of us hear them in his native language? We are Parthians, Medes, and Elamites, inhabitants of Mesopotamia, Judea and Cappadocia, Pontus and Asia, Phrygia and Pamphylia, Egypt and the districts of Libya near Cyrene, as well as travelers from Rome, both Jews and converts to Judaism, Cretans and Arabs, yet we hear them speaking in our own tongues of the mighty acts of God.”

1 Corinthians 12:3B-7, 12-13

Brothers and sisters: No one can say, “Jesus is Lord,” except by the Holy Spirit. There are different kinds of spiritual gifts but the same Spirit; there are different forms of service but the same Lord; there are different workings but the same God who produces all of them in everyone. To each individual the manifestation of the Spirit is given for some benefit. As a body is one though it has many parts, and all the parts of the body, though many, are one body, so also Christ. For in one Spirit we were all baptized into one body, whether Jews or Greeks, slaves or free persons, and we were all given to drink of one Spirit.

John 20:19-23

On the evening of that first day of the week, when the doors were locked, where the disciples were, for fear of the Jews, Jesus came and stood in their midst and said to them, “Peace be with you.” When he had said this, he showed them his hands and his side. The disciples rejoiced when they saw the Lord. Jesus said to them again, “Peace be with you. As the Father has sent me, so I send you.” And when he had said this, he breathed on them and said to them, “Receive the Holy Spirit. Whose sins you forgive are forgiven them, and whose sins you retain are retained.” Thomas, called Didymus, one of the Twelve, was not with them when Jesus came. So the other disciples said to him, “We have seen the Lord.” But he said to them, “Unless I see the mark of the nails in his hands and put my finger into the nailmarks and put my hand into his side, I will not believe.” Now a week later his disciples were again inside and Thomas was with them. Jesus came, although the doors were locked, and stood in their midst and said, “Peace be with you.” Then he said to Thomas, “Put your finger here and see my hands, and bring your hand and put it into my side, and do not be unbelieving, but believe.” Thomas answered and said to him, “My Lord and my God!” Jesus said to him, “Have you come to believe because you have seen me? Blessed are those who have not seen and have believed.” Now Jesus did many other signs in the presence of his disciples that are not written in this book. But these are written that you may come to believe that Jesus is the Christ, the Son of God, and that through this belief you may have life in his name.

The whole Church rejoices in jubilation with resounding “Alleluia’s” and “happy birthdays” as we celebrate Pentecost this week. The moment when Jesus emerges through the locked doors of the “house where the disciples had met” is equally triumphant as it is shocking (Jn 20:19). This reminds me of the scene in “The Avengers: Endgames” (2019) when all the “disappeared” Avengers miraculously emerge from portals opening up all over the battlefields in the final and ultimate contest between good and evil. Both scenarios defy human logic: modern science tells us that it is almost impossible for mortals to return from the dead, walk through locked doors or appear out of thin air from another dimension. The breaking through of doors, or portals in the movie, is definitely not the “endgame” but what follows. At the end, the Avengers triumph over Thanos, the villain, despite fear, doubt or personal concerns; they persevere in their mission and push toward their final goal of saving humanity as a united body. Upon receiving the Holy Spirit, Jesus’ disciples are also commissioned to bring the good news to the world, that is, to bring the gifts of transformation, unity, peace, and forgiveness to the ends of the world.

This week’s readings highlight the unique qualities of the Holy Spirit. In the first reading, we witness how the Spirit transforms and renews: the Spirit comes crashing down onto the Apostles “like the rush of a violent wind”; appearing as “divided tongues … of fire” (Acts 2:2-3). This fire has sparked in their hearts and minds a renewed courage and determination to proclaim the Risen Christ and “God’s deeds of power” (Acts 2:11). This fire is so powerful that it melts away their resistance that is rooted in fear and has transformed them into evangelization “machines”, immediately speaking “in other languages, as the Spirit gave them ability”, reaching out to people of all nations (Acts 2:4). After being touched by the Holy Spirit, they are empowered to bring the good news to all. Indeed, God “send[s] forth [His] Spirit “ to “renew the face of the earth” (Ps 104:30).

The second reading demonstrates how the Spirit not only brings “varieties of gifts” but more importantly, it brings unity. St. Paul explains that though there are varieties of “gifts”, “services”, and “activities”, it is the same “Spirit”, “Lord” and “God who activates all of them in everyone” (1Cor 12:4-6). All those who have been baptized are baptized into the one body of Christ, and “to each is given the manifestation of the Spirit for the common good” (1Cor 12:7). Whether our gift is speaking or listening; walking or running; writing or interpreting; creating or fixing; giving or receiving; sowing or harvesting, we are one in Christ and are “all made to drink of the one Spirit” (1 Cor 12:13).

Finally, John’s account of the Pentecost event reveals that the Holy Spirit is a Spirit of peace and forgiveness. In the early days after Jesus’ death, the disciples lived in “fear of the Jews” behind locked doors (Jn 20:19). Yet, Christ’s presence among them dispels all their fears. The first thing Jesus offers to his disciples is a profound “Peace be with you” (Ibid). Then, Jesus also sends them on a mission, “As the Father has sent me, so I send you”; to proclaim forgiveness and reconciliation, “If you forgive the sins of any, they are forgiven them; if you retain the sins of any, they are retained” (Jn 20: 21,23).

“No one can say ‘Jesus is Lord’ except by the Holy Spirit.” “God has sent the Spirit of his Son into our hearts, crying, ‘Abba! Father!”‘ This knowledge of faith is possible only in the Holy Spirit: to be in touch with Christ, we must first have been touched by the Holy Spirit. He comes to meet us and kindles faith in us. By virtue of our Baptism, the first sacrament of the faith, the Holy Spirit in the Church communicates to us, intimately and personally, the life that originates in the Father and is offered to us in the Son. (CCC 683)

When we received the Holy Spirit through the Sacraments of Baptism and Confirmation, we, too, have been transformed and renewed, and are gifted with unity, peace, and forgiveness. The Spirit in us opens our hearts to God’s love so that we may become living signs of this love in the world.

Posted: June 9, 2019

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


Other Sunday Reflections

The mystery of the Most Holy Trinity is the central mystery of the Christian faith and of Christian life. (CCC 261)
Our mission is to witness to the world, thirsty for love, that the meaning of life is precisely the infinite love, the tangible love of the Father, of the Son… Continue Reading >
The Holy Spirit is a Spirit of Transformation, Unity, Peace, and Forgiveness
as the Father has sent me, so I send you” (Jn 20:21) Continue Reading >
Stories strengthen souls.
The whole Church rejoices in jubilation with resounding “Alleluia’s” and “happy birthdays” as we celebrate Pentecost this week. The moment when Jesus emerges through the locked doors of the “house… Continue Reading >

天主聖神是轉化、團結、和平與寬恕的神

五旬節主日(節日)

宗徒大事錄 2:1-11

五旬節一到,門徒及眾人都聚集一處。忽然,從天上來了一陣響聲,好像暴風颳來,充滿了他們所在的全座房屋。有些散開好像火的舌頭,停留在他們每人頭上,他們都充滿了聖神,照聖神賜給他們的話,說起外方話來。那時,居住在耶路撒冷的,有從天下各國來的虔誠猶太人。這聲音一響,就聚集了許多人,都倉皇失措,因為人人都聽見他們說各人的方言。他們驚訝奇怪地說:「看,這些說話的,不都是加里肋亞人嗎?怎麼我們每人聽見他們說我們出生地的方言呢?我們中有帕提雅人、瑪待人、厄藍人和居住在美索不達米亞、猶太及卡帕多細雅、本都並亞細亞、夫黎基雅和旁非里雅、埃及,並靠近基勒乃的利比亞一帶的人,以及僑居的羅馬人、猶太人和皈依猶太教的人、克里特人和阿拉伯人。怎麼我們都聽見他們用我們的話,講論天主的奇事呢?」

格林多前書 12:3-7,12-13

弟兄姊妹們:除非受聖神感動,沒有一個人能說:「耶穌是主」。神恩雖有區別,卻是同一聖神所賜;職分雖有區別,卻是同一的主所賜;功效雖有區別,卻是同一的天主,在一切人身上,行一切事。聖神顯示在每人身上雖有不同,但全是為人的好處。就如身體只是一個,卻有許多肢體;身體所有的肢體雖多,仍是一個身體;基督也是這樣。因為我們眾人,不論是猶太人,或是希臘人,或是為奴的,或是自主的,都因一個聖神受了洗,成為一個身體,又都為一個聖神所滋潤。

若望福音 20:19-23

一周的第一天晚上,門徒所在的地方,因為怕猶太人,門戶都關著;耶穌來了,站在中間,對他們說:「願你們平安!」說了這話,便把手和肋膀指給他們看。門徒見了主,便喜歡起來。耶穌又對他們說:「願你們平安!就如父派遣了我,我也同樣派遣你們。」說了這話,就向他們噓了一口氣,說:「你們領受聖神吧!你們赦免誰的罪,誰的罪就得赦免;你們保留誰的罪,誰的罪就被保留。」

這星期,我們慶祝五旬節,整個教會在洋溢着「亞肋路亞」和「生辰快樂」的歡呼聲中踴躍歡騰。耶穌穿過關着的門戶,出現在「門徒所在的地方」,是勝利亦是令人震驚的一刻 (若 20:19)。這提醒了我,電影「復仇者聯盟─終局之戰」(2019)的一個畫面,所有失蹤了的復仇者奇蹟地從戰場上所有門戶中走出來,是正邪的最後決戰。這兩個場面都違背人類邏輯:現代科學告訴我們,人絕對不能從死者中復活,不能穿過鎖着的門,或忽然從另一維度中出現。穿過門或電影中的門戶,絕對不是終局之戰,跟着下來的才是終局。最後復仇者聯盟在恐懼、懷疑和個人憂慮中戰勝了壞人Thanos;他們努力不懈,完成最後任務,拯救了人類這個團結的群體。在接受天主聖神後,耶穌的門徒也被派遣到世界各地,傳揚福音,即是說,把轉化、團結、和平與寬恕這些神恩帶到地極,帶給天下萬民。

本週的讀經突出了聖神的特質。在讀經一,我們見證了聖神如何轉化及更新:聖神向著宗徒們直衝而下「好像暴風颳來」,出現了「散開好像火的舌頭」(宗 2:2-3)。這火燃點了他們的心智,令他們重新鼓起勇氣,下定決心,去宣講復活了的基督和「天主的奇事」(宗 2:11)。這團火,如此強而有力,溶化了宗徒們因恐懼所引起的抗拒,把他們轉化為福傳「機器」,立刻能夠「照聖神賜給他們的話,説起外方話來」,向天下萬民展開雙手(宗 2:4)。宗徒們受到聖神的感動,有力量把福音帶給世人。的確,是上主的「一噓氣」使「地面,更新復興」(詠104:30)。

讀經二展示了聖神所賜的神恩雖然「有區別」,但重要的是,神恩帶來團結。聖保祿解釋說「神恩」、「職分」和「功效」雖有不同,卻是同一的「聖神」,「主」和「天主,在一切人身上行一切事」(格前 12:4-6)。受了洗的人因聖洗而成為基督的身體,而「聖神顯示在每人身上雖不同,但全是為人的好處」(格前 12:7)。無論我們的神恩是說話或聆聽;走路或跑步;寫作或闡釋;製造或修理;施予或接受;播種或收穫,我們在基督內是一體「為同一個聖神所滋潤」(格前 12:13)。

最後,聖若望記載五旬節發生的事情,展示給我們天主聖神是和平寬恕之神。在耶穌死後不久,門徒們因為「怕猶太人」故此在關着的門戶裡生活(若 20:19 )。然而,基督卻臨在於他們當中,驅走他們的害怕。首先,耶穌賜給祂的門徒一個深刻奧妙的「願你們平安」(同上)。然後耶穌派遣他們一個任務「就如父派遣了我,我也同樣派遣你們」;為宣講寬恕與修和,「你們赦免誰的罪,就給誰赦免;你們存留誰的,就給誰存留」(若 20:21,23)。

「除非受聖神感動,沒有一個人能說:『耶穌是主』」。「天主派遣了自己兒子的聖神,到我們心內喊說:『阿爸,父呀!』」。這種信仰的知識,只有在聖神內才能得到。我們必須先受聖神的感動,才能跟耶穌接觸。祂先於我們及在我們內激發信仰。藉著我們的洗禮─信仰的第一件聖事,在教會內的聖神親密而個別地將生命傳給我們。那生命是源於父,並在子內賜給我們的。(天主教教理 683)

當我們藉着洗禮和堅振聖事,接受了天主聖神,我們也被轉化和更新,得到團結、和平與寬恕的恩典。在我們內的天主聖神,打開我們的心,接受天主的愛,讓我們成為生活在世上,天主仁愛的象徵。

Posted: June 9, 2019

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


其他主日反省

丙年聖神降臨節(五旬節主日):聖神的力量 吳智勳神父

五旬節是教會的重要節日,梵二後教會承認過去有冷落聖神之嫌,特別呼籲重視聖神的運作,基督徒重新領略聖神在信仰及生活上的必要性。讓我們反省今天的三篇讀經,因為每一篇都與聖神有關。

繼續閱讀 >