The Mystery of Suffering

Twenty-fourth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Isaiah 50:5 - 9A

The Lord GOD opens my ear that I may hear; and I have not rebelled, have not turned back. I gave my back to those who beat me, my cheeks to those who plucked my beard; my face I did not shield from buffets and spitting. The Lord GOD is my help, therefore I am not disgraced; I have set my face like flint,knowing that I shall not be put to shame. He is near who upholds my right; if anyone wishes to oppose me, let us appear together.Who disputes my right? Let that man confront me. See, the Lord GOD is my help; who will prove me wrong?

James 2:14 - 18

What good is it, my brothers and sisters, if someone says he has faith but does not have works? Can that faith save him? If a brother or sister has nothing to wear and has no food for the day, and one of you says to them, “Go in peace, keep warm, and eat well, ” but you do not give them the necessities of the body, what good is it? So also faith of itself, if it does not have works, is dead. Indeed someone might say, “You have faith and I have works.” Demonstrate your faith to me without works, and I will demonstrate my faith to you from my works.

Mark 8:27 - 35

Jesus and his disciples set out for the villages of Caesarea Philippi. Along the way he asked his disciples, “Who do people say that I am?” They said in reply, “John the Baptist, others Elijah, still others one of the prophets.” And he asked them, “But who do you say that I am?” Peter said to him in reply, “You are the Christ.” Then he warned them not to tell anyone about him. He began to teach them that the Son of Man must suffer greatly and be rejected by the elders, the chief priests, and the scribes, and be killed, and rise after three days. He spoke this openly. Then Peter took him aside and began to rebuke him. At this he turned around and, looking at his disciples, rebuked Peter and said, “Get behind me, Satan. You are thinking not as God does, but as human beings do.” He summoned the crowd with his disciples and said to them, “Whoever wishes to come after me must deny himself, take up his cross, and follow me. For whoever wishes to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for my sake and that of the gospel will save it.”

14 years ago, two busloads of pilgrims from the Chinese Martyrs Catholic Church toured the Holy Land under the spiritual supervision of their pastor, Fr. Peter Leung. My wife and I had the blessing of joining the pilgrimage which included many well-known places in the Holy Land. Over the years, we had come to know these places very well through the Bible. Now, for the first time, we were able to actually set foot on them and saw them with our own eyes. The experience was one of great joy and incredulity! From the moment we exited from Tel Aviv’s Ben Gurion Airport, I had felt as though I was walking on cloud #9. It was hard to believe that this sacred land that we were touring had once been graced by the presence of our Lord himself; and that it was here in this ancient land along the Mediterranean coast that saintly biblical figures like Mary, the apostles, John the Baptist, Isaiah, Elijah, David, Moses, Abraham, etc. had once walked and breathed

Our tour went as far north as the Sea of Galilee and the nearby cities before heading south to Jerusalem. (Remember Capernaum? Does Tiberias ring a bell? Who can possibly forget Cana?!) It stopped short of taking us further north to Caesarea Philippi, the city that forms the backdrop of this Sunday’s gospel. According to Mark, it’s in Caesarea Philippi that Peter, whose original name is Simon, makes his famous confession to Jesus, recognizing him as “the Christ” or “Christos” in Greek, which means “the Anointed One”.

The Matthean account of the same episode offers an added perspective that brings to light Jesus’ response to Peter’s “Christos” confession: he names him “Petros” (Gk) or “Peter”, which means “rock”; promising to build his church “upon this rock”. He also gives Peter “the keys to the kingdom of heaven”, signifying Peter’s new role as his successor on earth. He is the kingdom’s chief teacher and administrator with the authority to bind and loose, which means unbridled teaching authority and the ability to render binding decisions (see Ignatius Catholic Study Bible – New Testament, Matthew 16:18-19).

As important as the Matthean story is, the Church wants us to focus on the issue of suffering on this Sunday. This explains why the corresponding first reading for this Sunday is the 3rd “Servant song” of Isaiah. (The other 3 Servant songs of Isaiah are: Isaiah 42:1-9, 49:1-6, 52:12-53:12.) In connection with the gospel motif of suffering, the 3rd Servant song of Isaiah gives us the powerful example of the “suffering servant”, which Christians have identified with Jesus. Similarly, the psalm that follows is a thanksgiving psalm written by someone who has recovered from a serious illness. It echoes the trust in God expressed by Isaiah in the 3rd Servant song: “The Lord GOD is my help, therefore I am not disgraced” (Isaiah 50:7).

It’s no exaggeration to say that suffering anchors the whole Christian faith. The whole economy of salvation is built on the suffering of one person, our Lord Jesus Christ. His redemptive self-offering on the cross and subsequent resurrection are the reasons why humanity can live in hope, trusting that Christ has already overpowered sin and death, and that through him we can also do the same. His is the ultimate offering to which all offerings in the Old Testament point and anticipate: from Abel’s offering of “one of the best firstlings of his flock”; to the bread and wine offering of the first priest that appears in the Bible, Melchizedek; to Abraham’s offering of his only son, Isaac; to many years of offering of the Pascal lamb in the Jerusalem temple (Gen 4:4, 14:18, Gen 22:1-14). As a result, faithful Christians view the various trials in the light of God’s cosmic plan and consider them “all joy” (James 1:2). Following Christ, we must confront them with perseverance, trusting that our steadfastness and faith in God will enable us to reach spiritual maturity and human perfection.

Unfortunately, this core Christian teaching of suffering is also the least understood teaching, not only by many of us feeble believers but also by our first Pope, Peter (granted that it happened before the Pentecost, which made every disciple a new person)! Now we understand why Jesus, who has just made Peter his vicar on earth and granted him the authority to bind and lose in his kingdom, minces no words in rebuking Peter immediately: “Get behind me, Satan. You are thinking not as God does, but as human beings do” (Mk. 8:33). The next time we are confounded by the human fear of suffering, will we choose to follow James’ advice to persevere for spiritual maturity? Or, will we adopt the mindset of the pre-Pentecost Peter and refuse to accept suffering: “God forbid, Lord! No such thing shall ever happen to you” (Mt 16:22)?

Posted: September 12, 2021

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


Other Sunday Reflections

The Joy of Knowing How to Read the Bible
This Sunday’s readings give us a good glimpse into Typology - an amazing biblical interpretation technique that enables us to see the unity of the Old and New Testaments. Continue Reading >
This is Justice, This is Mercy
Mr. Perry, our school principal, once shared a story about when he was young, he and his family took the ferry to Salt Spring Island. He had a friend who… Continue Reading >
“You do not know what you are asking” (Mk 10:38)
By this time in his ministry, Jesus has foretold three times his own Death and Resurrection to the apostles. The last prediction is the most detailed, specifying that his death… Continue Reading >

苦難的奧秘

常年期第二十四主日

依撒意亞先知書 50:5-9

我主上主開啟了我的耳朵,我並沒有違抗,也沒有退避。我將我的背,轉給打擊我的人;把我的腮,轉給扯我鬍鬚的人;對於侮辱和唾污,我沒有遮掩我的面。因為,我主上主協助我,因此,我不怕蒙羞;所以,我板著臉,像一塊燧石,因為我知道:我決不會受辱。那為我伸冤者,已來到了。誰要和我爭辯,讓我們一齊站起來吧!誰是我的對頭,叫他到我這裡來吧!請看!有我主上主扶助我,誰還能定我的罪呢?——上主的話。

雅各伯書 2:14-18

弟兄姊妹們:如果有人說自己有信德,卻沒有行為,有什麼益處呢?難道這信德能救他嗎?假設有弟兄或姊妹,赤身露體,且缺少日用糧,即使你們當中,有人對他們說:「你們平安去吧!穿得暖暖的,吃得飽飽的!」卻不給他們身體所必需的,有什麼益處呢?信德也是這樣:若沒有行為,本身便是死的。也許有人說:你有信德,我卻有行為;把你沒有行為的信德,指給我看,我便會藉我的行為,叫你看見我的信德。——上主的話。

馬爾谷福音 8:27-35

那時候,耶穌和他的門徒起身,前往斐理伯的凱撒勒雅附近的村莊。在路上,耶穌問自己的門徒說:「人們說我是誰?」他們回答說:「是洗者若翰;也有些人說,是厄里亞;還有些人說,是先知中的一位。」耶穌又問他們說:「你們說我是誰呢?」伯多祿回答說:「你是默西亞。」耶穌就嚴禁他們,不要向任何人談及他。耶穌於是開始教訓門徒:人子必須受許多苦,被長老、司祭長和經師棄絕,且要被殺害;但三天以後,必要復活。耶穌坦白地說了這番話。伯多祿便拉耶穌到一邊,開始諫責他。耶穌卻轉過身來,注視著自己的門徒,責斥伯多祿說:「撒旦,退到我後面去!因為你所體會的,不是天主的事,而是人的事。」耶穌於是召集群眾和門徒,對他們說:「誰若願意跟隨我,該棄絕自己,背起自己的十字架,跟隨我,因為,誰若願意救自己的性命,必會喪失性命;但誰若為我和福音的原故,喪失自己的性命,必會救得性命。」——基督的福音。

14 年前,中華殉道聖人堂有滿滿兩巴士的朝聖者,在本堂司鐸梁達才神父的帶領下往聖地朝聖。我和太太很有恩寵,參加了這個包括聖地很多著名景點的朝聖團。多年來,在聖經上,我們已經很熟悉這些地方。那一刻,是我們第一次可以真正踏足和親眼看見這些地點。這是莫大的喜樂和難以置信的經驗!由我們從特拉維夫的 Ben Gurion 機場出來的那一刻,我已仿彿身處雲端;實難以置信,我們遊覽的這個聖地,曾是上主親自臨在的地方;在這地中海沿岸之古地,聖經裡雲雲聖者如瑪利亞、宗徒們、約翰洗者、依撒意亞、厄里亞、達味、梅瑟和亞巴郎等等,竟曾在此行走和呼吸過!
我們的旅程北上至加里肋亞海和鄰近城市,然後轉向南朝耶路撒冷進發。(記得葛法翁嗎?提庇黎雅這名字是否熟識? 誰能忘記加納呢?!)差一點點,我們就到達位處較北的達斐理伯的凱撒勒雅,本主日福音讀經的背景城市。根據馬爾谷的記載,在達斐理伯的凱撒勒雅,本名西滿的伯多祿,向耶穌作出了他著名的表白,承認祂是「基督」或希臘語的 “Christos”,意思是「受傅者」。
《瑪竇福音》所記載的同一事件,多了一個角度,展示了耶穌對聖伯多祿承認祂是「基督」的回應:祂給他命名 “Petros”(希臘語)或「伯多祿」,是「磐石」的意思;祂答應要「在這磐石上」,建立祂的教會。祂也將「天國的鑰匙」交給伯多祿,象徵了伯多祿的新身分 — 在世上祂的繼承者。伯多祿是這國度的首席老師和行政者,有束縛和釋放的權柄,即是有不受約束的教導權和有能力作出具約束力的決定(參 Ignatius Catholic Study Bible – New Testament, 瑪16:18-19)。
儘管《瑪竇福音》的故事非常重要,但本主日,教會要我們將注意力集中於苦難的議題上。這解釋了為什麼本主日的《讀經一》是取自《依撒意亞先知書》中,詠「上主僕人」的第三首詩歌。(其他三首詠「上主僕人」的詩歌是:依 42:1-9, 49:1-6, 52:12-53:12)。承接著福音中苦難的主題,依撒意亞第三首「上主僕人」的詩歌,給我們的是一個強而有力的「受苦僕人」的例子,這形象被基督徒認定為指向耶穌本人。同樣,接下來的是一首感恩的聖詠,由一個病重後復原的人所寫。這聖詠是依撒意亞在「上主僕人」第三首詩歌中,表達對天主信賴的迴響:「因為吾主上主協助我,因此我不以為羞恥」(依 50:7)。
若說苦難支配著整個基督信仰,這一點也不為過。整個救恩工程建基於一個人 — 我們的主耶穌基督 — 的苦難。祂將自己奉獻於十字架上所獲得的救恩和之後的復活,就是人類可以在希望中生活的理由,我們相信基督已經戰勝罪惡和死亡,藉着祂,我們也可以這樣。祂是最終極的祭獻,是所有舊約祭獻的指向和期望:從亞伯爾的祭品「自己羊群中最肥美而又是首生的羊」;到聖經裏出現的第一位司祭 — 默基瑟德的餅酒;到亞巴郞以他的獨生子 — 依撒格 — 作為祭品;到在耶路撒冷聖殿,歷年來宰殺逾越節羔羊所作的祭獻 (出 4:4, 14:18, 22:1-14)。故此,信實的基督徒會從天主的浩瀚計劃這個觀點來看各種煎熬,認為他們是「大喜樂」(雅 1:2)。跟隨基督,我們要以堅忍的心來面對,相信我們的堅定不移和對天主的信德,會使我們在靈性上成熟和在人性上達至完美。
不幸地,雖然苦難是基督宗教的核心教導,它同時也是一個人們最不明白的教導,不只是我們這些意志薄弱的信徒,甚至我們的第一位教宗 — 聖保祿 — 也不明白(當然,這件事發生在那令每一位門徒成為一個新人的五旬節之前)!現在,我們明白為什麼耶穌在剛剛立聖伯多祿為祂在世上的代表,賦予他在祂自己的國度裏,約束和釋放的權柄之後,會立刻責斥伯多祿說:「撒殫,退到我後面去!因為你所體會的,不是天主的事,而是人的事」(谷 8:33)。下次,當我們因人性對痛苦的恐懼而感到困惑時,我們會選擇跟隨雅各伯的勸告,用堅忍來達至靈性上的成熟嗎?或者,我們會跟隨五旬節前的伯多祿的意識,拒絕接受痛苦呢? 他說:「主,千萬不可!這事絕不會臨到你身上!」 (瑪 16:22)

Posted: September 12, 2021

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


其他主日反省

在基督裡找到完全的自由 Fr. Justin Huang

六月,我讀到2016年皈依天主教的伊朗人索赫拉布·艾哈邁裡(Sohrab Ahmari)的一篇文章,提及他作為一名新父親的焦慮。他的焦慮不是為了兒子的健康、教育或諸如此類的事情,而是:當代西方文化會把我的兒子塑造成什麼樣的人? (https://catholicherald.co.uk/living-life-to-the-max/)。他擔心他的兒子在舒適地成長的同時卻沒有道德目標。他寫道:「如果我47歲的麥克斯(Max)和他的女朋友開著一輛豪華電動房車去歐洲旅遊,兩人斷斷續續地同居了近十年,

繼續閱讀 >
主日教理 天主教香港教區
教理中心及教理委員會
教理主題:基督徒信仰的宣認
繼續閱讀 >