Is the mystery of the Trinity important to our salvation?

Solemnity of the Most Holy Trinity

Proverbs 8:22-31

Thus says the wisdom of God: "The LORD possessed me, the beginning of his ways, the forerunner of his prodigies of long ago; from of old I was poured forth, at the first, before the earth. When there were no depths I was brought forth, when there were no fountains or springs of water; before the mountains were settled into place, before the hills, I was brought forth; while as yet the earth and fields were not made, nor the first clods of the world. "When the Lord established the heavens I was there, when he marked out the vault over the face of the deep; when he made firm the skies above, when he fixed fast the foundations of the earth; when he set for the sea its limit, so that the waters should not transgress his command; then was I beside him as his craftsman, and I was his delight day by day, playing before him all the while, playing on the surface of his earth; and I found delight in the human race."

Rome 5:1-5

Brothers and sisters: Therefore, since we have been justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have gained access by faith to this grace in which we stand, and we boast in hope of the glory of God. Not only that, but we even boast of our afflictions, knowing that affliction produces endurance, and endurance, proven character, and proven character, hope, and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out into our hearts through the Holy Spirit that has been given to us.

John 16:12-15

Jesus said to his disciples: "I have much more to tell you, but you cannot bear it now. But when he comes, the Spirit of truth, he will guide you to all truth. He will not speak on his own, but he will speak what he hears, and will declare to you the things that are coming. He will glorify me, because he will take from what is mine and declare it to you. Everything that the Father has is mine; for this reason I told you that he will take from what is mine and declare it to you."

Last year, my reflection on the Holy Trinity touched upon its ineffable mystery and its efficacious signs on those who bear its seal. Today, let us look at the importance of the oneness of the Trinity (cf CCC253) in regard to our salvation.

The Trinitarian doctrine teaches us that all three Persons of the Trinity have the same essence and nature (ontologically/immanently) but in relation to the world, each One has different roles or activities: the Father creates, the Son redeems, the Holy Spirit sanctifies. Thus they are co-eternal, co-equal and co-powerful—-“none is afore or after another: none is greater or less than another” (Athanasian Creed).

While there is no problem in acknowledging God the Father as “the source and origin of the whole divinity” (CCC245), the problem lies in the recognition of the other Persons of the Trinity. The affirmation of the creed is crucial because if God the Son (second person of the Trinity) is not totally God Himself, His redemptive work would not have any salvific value and He could not be our Savior and the Lamb who “takes away the sin of the world” (Jn 1:29). His resurrection, though astounding, would not have brought hope and life for “if it were simply that somebody was once brought back to life, and no more than that, in what way should this concern us?” (Pope Benedict XVI’s Easter Vigil homily, 2006). The Christology of St Paul and his letters to the Romans and the Galatians would then be considered as deceptive for we would not be saved by faith nor be justified before God through Jesus Christ, the Son of God. In short, if the second person of the Trinity is not fully God, then there would be no assurance of salvation, no reason to hope and no new life to come.

In like manner, if God the Holy Spirit (the third person of the Trinity) is not totally God Himself, then He could not be called the “Spirit of Truth” (Jn 14:17; 16:13, 1 Jn 5:6) and neither could He sanctify (Ex 31:13, Jn 17:17-19, Rom 15:16, 1 Cor 6:11, 1 Pt 1:2, 2 Thes 2:13). He could not “teach all things” (Jn 14:26), “bear witness” (Jn 15:26), “convict sin” (Jn 16:8-9), “declare things that are to come” (Jn 16:13) and “forgive sins” ( Mt 12:31-32, Jn 20:21-23) for only God alone can do all these things—–“what person knows a man’s thoughts except the spirit of the man which is in him? So also no one comprehends the thoughts of God except the Spirit of God” (1 Cor 2:11). In short, if the third person of the Trinity is not fully God, then what was told of the Holy Spirit by Jesus to His disciples before His departure from the world would be at best, a consolation and at worst, a lie (Jn 14:15-17).

Yes, the mystery of the Trinity is hard to comprehend but that does not mean it is not credible. It is just too profound for us that it surely takes more than our present lives to understand it. As Christians, we are saved not by perfect understanding of God but by having faith in Him. Not only should we be happy to live in this mystery but we should try to live up to it in the hope that we will discover this mystery face to face upon our leaving from this world.

Posted: May 22, 2016

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


Other Sunday Reflections

Cut it off! A difficult message from Jesus
In this Sunday's Gospel, Jesus speaks with incredible bluntness about cutting off one’s own hand, cutting off one’s own foot, and plucking out one’s own eye. These are hard, stark,… Continue Reading >
Honesty With God About Our Envy
Sometime in the past year, I actually felt envious of Fr. Richard Conlin. I can’t remember exactly why, but it was either because people were leaving St. Anthony’s to go… Continue Reading >
“They had argued with one another who was the greatest (9:34).
Jesus said to the twelve, “Whoever wants to be the first must be last of all and servant of all” (9:35). Continue Reading >

天主聖三的奧秘為我們的得救是否重要?

天主聖三節

箴言 8:22-31

天主的智慧這樣說:「上主自開始,即拿我作他行動的肇始,做他作為的開端。「大地還沒有形成以前,遠自太古,從無始,我已被立定。「深淵還沒有存在,水泉還沒有湧出以前,山嶽還沒有奠定,丘陵還沒有存在以前,我已受生。那時,上主還沒有創造大地、原野、和世上的土壤。「當他建立高天時,我已在場;當他在深淵之上,劃出穹蒼時,當他上使穹蒼穩立,下使淵源固定時,當他為滄海劃定界限,令海水不要越境,給大地奠定基礎時,我已在他身旁,充作技師。那時,我天天是他的喜悅,不斷在他前歡躍,歡躍於塵寰之間,樂與世人共處。」

羅馬書 5:1-5

弟兄姊妹們:我們既因信德成義,就是藉我們的主耶穌基督,與天主和好了。藉著耶穌,我們得因信德,進入了現今所站立的這恩寵中,並因希望分享天主的光榮,而歡躍。不但如此,我們連在磨難中,也歡躍,因為我們知道:磨難生忍耐,忍耐生老練,老練生望德,望德不叫人蒙羞,因為天主的愛,藉著所賜與我們的聖神,已傾注在我們心中了。

若望福音 16:12-15

那時候,耶穌對門徒說:「我本來還有許多事,要告訴你們,然而,你們現在不能承擔。當那一位真理之神來到時,他要把你們引入一切真理,因為,他不憑自己講論,只把他所聽到的,講出來,並把未來的事,傳告給你們。「他要光榮我,因為,他要把由我所領受的,傳告給你們。凡父所有的一切,都是我的;為此,我說:他要把由我所領受的,傳告給你們。」

在去年聖三主日的反思, 我曾談及這難以言喻的奧秘, 以及那些領受了聖三印記的人如何彰顯著這奧秘的特質。今天,就讓我們再探討聖三是一個天主(參考天主教教理253)在救恩中的重要性。

三位一體的天主道理教導我們,聖三中的三位, 都具有同樣的的本質和本性 (同性同體),為對這世界來說 ,祂們各司其職:聖父創造,聖子救贖,聖神聖化。三位都是永恆的,同等的和全能的 ——「且三位是無分先後, 無分尊卑」(達修信經)。

承認天主聖父為 「整個天主性的根源」(天主教教理245)是沒有問題的,問題是在承認天主聖三中的其他兩位.首先我們必須確信信經中的經文.假如天主聖子(聖三中的第二位)不是完全的真天主,祂的救贖工作便沒有贖世的價值了.祂更不可能是我們的救世主和除免「世罪」的天主羔羊(若1:29)。祂的復活,雖然令人驚訝,但絕不會為世人帶來希望和生命.「如果單單有人從死者中復活,這和我們有甚麼關係?」(2006年教宗本篤十六世的復活節彌撒講道)。聖保祿的基督論和他致羅馬人和迦拉達人的書信將成為騙人的話,因為我們不能藉著信德,也不能藉著耶穌基督天主聖子成義而得救。總而言之,如果天主聖三中的第二位不是完全的真天主,那麼,我們便沒有得救的保障,沒有希望的理由, 更不會有來世的新生命。

同樣地,如果天主聖神(天主聖三中的第三位)不是完全的真天主,那麼祂不能被稱為「真理的神」(若14:17; 16:13,若一5:6)祂更不可以聖化,(出31:13,若17:17-19,羅15:16,格前6:11,伯前1:2,得後2:13)。祂也不能「教導一切」(若14:26),「作證」(若15:26),「指證罪行 」(若16:8-9),「預告未來的事」(若16 :13)和「赦罪」(瑪12:31-32,若20:21-23),因只有天主才有能力完成這些事情.「除了人內裏的心神外,有誰能知道那人的事呢﹖同樣,除了天主聖神外,誰也不能明瞭天主的事。」(格前2:11)。簡單來說,如果天主聖三的第三位不是完全的真天主,那麼耶穌在離世前告訴門徒們有關天主聖神的一切, 充其量只是在安慰他,或甚是個謊言(若14 :15-17)。

的確,三位一體的奧秘是很難理解的,但並不意味著這是不可信的.只是它太深奧,則窮此一生,我們也不能明白。作為基督徒,我們之所以獲得救,並非因我們完全明白天主,而是靠我們對天主的信賴。我們不僅要喜樂地生活在這奧秘中,更要活出承認這奧秘的信德.懷著希望,待我們在離開這世界面對天主時,這奧秘便會展示給我們的了。

Posted: May 22, 2016

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


其他主日反省

丙年(路加) 天主聖三節:聖三內在的生命與工作 吳智勳神父

不少教理書遇到天主聖三這個困難題目時,傾向輕輕帶過;這樣處理有點取巧、畏難的味道,未能夠發揮自己宗教信仰獨特的地方。回教和猶太教都是一神的宗教,信仰唯一的天主,但唯獨基督宗教是信天主三位一體的;所以教會在常年期再開始時,首先慶祝天主聖三節,就是希望我們正視這個信仰的根基。就讓我們以天主內在的生命、天主的工作這兩方面來談天主聖三。

繼續閱讀 >