Trust in the Lord

Fourteenth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Isaiah 66:10-14C

Thus says the LORD: Rejoice with Jerusalem and be glad because of her, all you who love her; exult, exult with her, all you who were mourning over her! Oh, that you may suck fully of the milk of her comfort, that you may nurse with delight at her abundant breasts! For thus says the LORD: Lo, I will spread prosperity over Jerusalem like a river, and the wealth of the nations like an overflowing torrent. As nurslings, you shall be carried in her arms, and fondled in her lap; as a mother comforts her child, so will I comfort you; in Jerusalem you shall find your comfort. When you see this, your heart shall rejoice and your bodies flourish like the grass; the LORD's power shall be known to his servants.

Galatians 6:14-18

Brothers and sisters: May I never boast except in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ, through which the world has been crucified to me, and I to the world. For neither does circumcision mean anything, nor does uncircumcision, but only a new creation. Peace and mercy be to all who follow this rule and to the Israel of God. From now on, let no one make troubles for me; for I bear the marks of Jesus on my body. The grace of our Lord Jesus Christ be with your spirit, brothers and sisters. Amen.

Luke 10:1-12,17-20

At that time the Lord appointed seventy-two others whom he sent ahead of him in pairs to every town and place he intended to visit. He said to them, "The harvest is abundant but the laborers are few; so ask the master of the harvest to send out laborers for his harvest. Go on your way; behold, I am sending you like lambs among wolves. Carry no money bag, no sack, no sandals; and greet no one along the way. Into whatever house you enter, first say, 'Peace to this household.' If a peaceful person lives there, your peace will rest on him; but if not, it will return to you. Stay in the same house and eat and drink what is offered to you, for the laborer deserves his payment. Do not move about from one house to another. Whatever town you enter and they welcome you, eat what is set before you, cure the sick in it and say to them, 'The kingdom of God is at hand for you.' Whatever town you enter and they do not receive you, go out into the streets and say, 'The dust of your town that clings to our feet, even that we shake off against you.' Yet know this: the kingdom of God is at hand. I tell you, it will be more tolerable for Sodom on that day than for that town." The seventy-two returned rejoicing, and said, "Lord, even the demons are subject to us because of your name." Jesus said, "I have observed Satan fall like lightning from the sky. Behold, I have given you the power to 'tread upon serpents' and scorpions and upon the full force of the enemy and nothing will harm you. Nevertheless, do not rejoice because the spirits are subject to you, but rejoice because your names are written in heaven."

For students and parents, the end of June does not only signal the end of a school year and the beginning of summer holidays, more importantly, it is the time of graduation; saying goodbyes to old friends and mentors, and preparing for the next exciting chapter of one’s life journey. While the graduates must learn to venture out from their comfort zone and welcome new experiences, so must their parents or caregivers learn to let go and trust that their children will stand on their own two feet with full confidence rooted in their loving families. This journey will, no doubt, be filled with uncertainties and challenges for both parents and children; however, this is also a necessary and pivotal point where things are just starting to get more interesting, rewarding, joyful, and life-giving.

This Sunday’s readings offer a poignant imagery of trust. Like these graduates and their parents, the seventy individuals commissioned by Jesus to evangelize in “every town and place” must have been filled with doubts; if not outright fear (Lk 10:1). They are told to “carry no purse, no bag, no sandals; and greet no one on the road” (Lk 10:4). In other words, they are asked to go against human survival instincts and completely entrust themselves in God. Imagine today’s parents saying the same thing to their children before sending them out to the world upon graduation, “carry no iPhone or iPad, no credit card, …”; the panic would have been palpable! Jesus admits that He is sending these men out “like lambs into the midst of wolves”; however, He has already equipped them with the most important tool – “authority to tread on snakes and scorpions, and over all the power of the enemy” (Lk 10:3,19). They return “with joy” and proclaim that “even demons submit” to them when they invoke Jesus’ name (Lk 10:17). Indeed, Jesus has never left them throughout their mission. Jesus knows what they’ve accomplished and has “watched Satan fall from heaven like a flash of lightning” (Lk 10:18). These disciples, full of joy, peace, and confidence in the Lord, are indeed, ready for whatever challenges that may come as Jesus tells them that their “names are written in heaven” (Lk 10:20).

Isaiah has offered an intimate portrayal of this immense trust: “As a mother comforts her child, so I will comfort you; you shall be comforted in Jerusalem. You shall see, your heart shall rejoice; your bodies shall flourish like the grass” (Is 66:13-14). Isaiah wants to reassure the Israelites that amidst their despair and challenges, a new Jerusalem is upon them; they will be cared for by their God, like a mother caring for her child. God has never abandoned them. Such a powerful affirmation of God’s faithfulness and unconditional love!

Whether you are the graduate or the parent, be not afraid and trust that you have already been equipped with the best possible tools to continue your journey. “Carry no purse, no bag, no sandals …”; ask our heavenly Father to “give us this day our daily bread”. Jesus is our most faithful companion on the journey. Your iPhone may tell you how to get to your destination but only God will show you your amazing gifts and the best ways to share them with the world along your journey. May your journey be fruitful, joyful, loving, rewarding, and life-giving; may you “flourish like the grass” under the tender-loving care of our heavenly Father!

Posted: July 7, 2019

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


Other Sunday Reflections

With whom do we identify ourselves, Martha or Mary?
Good works will not produce a Christ-centered life if they are done without the presence of Christ. Continue Reading >
Healing While Resting
Let me explain more deeply why, as a parish family, we’ve just started a season called. Not only do we need to rest, but, after being here for five years… Continue Reading >
“Go and do likewise” (Luke 10:37)
“Love your neighbour as yourself" (Luke 10:27) Continue Reading >

信任上主

常年期第十四主日

依撒意亞先知書 66:10-14

凡愛慕耶路撒冷的,你們都應同她一起快樂,因她而歡喜!凡為她而憂傷的,你們都要同她盡情歡樂!如此,你們能從她充滿安慰的懷裡吃奶,而得到飽飫;你們能從她那豐滿的乳房哺乳,而得到快樂。因為上主這樣說:看!我要在她身上,廣賜和平,有如河流一樣;我要賜給她萬國的財寶,好似氾濫的江河。她的乳兒,將被抱在懷裡,放在膝上搖幌。就如人怎樣受母親的撫慰,我也要怎樣撫慰你們;你們必要在耶路撒冷,享受安慰。你們見到這種情形,你們的心必要歡樂,你們的骨骸,必要如青草一樣茂盛;那時,上主的手,將顯示於他的僕人。

迦拉達書 6:14-18

弟兄姊妹們:至於我,我只以我們主耶穌基督的十字架,來誇耀,因為藉著基督,世界於我,已被釘在十字架上了;我於世界,也被釘在十字架上了。其實,割損或不割損,都算不得什麼,要緊的,是新受造的人。凡遵循這準則而行的人,願平安與憐憫,降臨在他們身上,即降臨在天主的新以色列身上!從今以後,我切願沒有人再煩擾我,因為在我身上,我帶有耶穌的烙印。弟兄們!願我們主耶穌基督的恩寵,常與你們的心靈同在!阿們。

路加福音 10:1-12,17-20

那時候,主另外選定了七十二人,派遣他們兩個兩個,在他前面,到他自己將要去的各城各地去。耶穌對他們說:「莊稼多,而工人少,所以,你們應當求莊稼的主人,派遣工人來,收割他的莊稼。你們去吧!看,我派遣你們猶如羔羊,往狼群中。你們不要帶錢囊,不要帶口袋,也不要帶鞋;路上也不要向人請安。「不論進入那一家,先說:願這一家平安!那裡如有和平之子,你們的和平就要停留在他身上;否則,仍歸於你們。你們要住在那一家,吃喝他們所供給的,因為工人自當有他的工資。你們不可從這一家,挪到那一家。不論進入那座城,人如果接納你們,給你們擺上什麼,你們就吃什麼。要醫治城中的病人,並給他們說:天主的國,已經臨近你們了。「不論進入那座城,人如果不接納你們,你們就出來,到街市上,說:連你們城中,粘在我們腳上的塵土,我們也要當你們面前拍掉;但是,你們當知道:天主的國,已經臨近了。我告訴你們:在那一日,索多瑪所受的懲罰,要比這座城容易忍受。」那七十二人,歡喜地歸來,說:「主!因著你的名號,連惡魔都屈服於我們。」耶穌向他們說:「我看見撒旦,如同閃電一樣,自天跌下。看,我已經授予你們權柄,使你們踐踏蛇蠍,並能制伏仇敵的一切勢力;沒有什麼能傷害你們。但是,你們不要因為魔鬼屈服於你們,而喜歡,你們應當喜歡的,乃是因為你們的名字,已經登記在天上了。」

對於學生及家長來說,六月下旬不單意味著學年的終結和暑假的開始,更重要的是這是畢業的季節;告别老朋友和師長,準備人生旅程中刺激的新一頁。當畢業生要學習走出舒適區,迎接新經驗之際,家長與監護人同時也要學習放手,並相信孩子已在充滿愛的家庭中扎根,充滿信心及有自立的能耐。接下來的路,對孩子與家長來說,無疑充滿挑戰與未知數,但這也是一個必經的轉捩點,以後事情會開始變得更為有趣、收穫豐盛、充滿喜樂和生氣。

本主日的讀經,有一個關於信任的深刻描述。正如這些畢業生和他們的父母,受耶穌派遣去「各城各地」傳播福音的七十個門徒,縱使不至於充滿惶恐,也一定充滿疑慮 (路 10:1)。耶穌吩附他們「不要帶錢囊,不要帶口袋,也不要帶鞋,路上也不要向人請安」(路 10:4)。換句話說,他們被囑咐要違反人的求生本能,把自己完全交托給天主。試想像一下,如果今天父母把孩子送出去面對世界時,對他們說:「不要帶手機,不要帶平板電腦,不要帶信用卡…….」;很明顯孩子們會非常恐慌!耶穌承認衪派這些人出去「像把綿羊送進狼群中」, 但是,祂已經授予他們最重要的工具 — 「權柄,使【他】們踐踏在蛇蠍上,並能制伏仇敵的一切勢力」(路 10:3,19)。他們「歡喜地」歸來,並說因着耶穌的名號「連惡魔都屈服」於他們 (路10:17)。的確,在門徒執行這使命時,耶穌從未離開過他們。耶穌知道他們完成了什麼,也看到「撒殫如同閃電一般自天跌下」(路 10:18)。這些門徒都充滿了喜樂、和平以及對上主的信任,的而且確,為未來的任何挑戰,他們都準備好了,正如耶穌告訢他們,他們的「名字,已經登記在天上了」(路10:20)。

依撒意亞對這種極大的信任有細膩的描寫:「就如人怎樣受母親的撫慰,我也要怎樣撫慰你們,你們必要在耶路撒冷享受安慰。你們見到這種情形,你們的心必要歡樂,你們的骨骸必要如青草一般的茂盛」(依 66:13-14)。依撒意亞要向在失望和備受挑戰的以色列人再三保證,新耶路撒冷已經臨在於他們當中。以色列人會被他們的天主照顧,像母親照顧自己的孩子。天主從來沒有放棄他們。對於天主的信實和祂無條件的愛,這是一個如此強而有力的肯定!

無論你是畢業生或是父母,不要害怕,要相信你已經裝備了最好的工具,去繼續你的旅程。「不要帶錢囊,不要帶口袋,也不要帶鞋」;要求我們的天父「賞給我們日用的食糧」。在旅程中,耶穌是我們最忠實的旅伴。你的手提電話可以告訴你怎樣去到目的地,但只有天主才會把你所得到的奇妙恩典和怎樣在旅程中與世人分享展示給你。願你的旅程果實纍纍,充滿喜樂、仁愛、收穫豐盛和生氣勃勃。願你在我們的天父溫柔的愛護和照顧下,如「青草一般的茂盛」!

Posted: July 7, 2019

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


其他主日反省

我們將成為我們所慶祝的那樣 Fr. Jusin Huang

這個夏天,我們可以問有幾個問題:1) 你需求什麼?天主通過我們真正的需求與我們交談。 2) 這個夏天有什麼可以給你帶來寧靜? 3) 你需要多少睡眠?睡眠並不一定是躱懶。天主要我們休息。 4) 你怎樣祈禱?是給了天主足夠的時間還是欺騙他,意思是沒有把我們所愛的天主可以給也應該給的時間? 5) 有什麼能給你真正的快樂?

繼續閱讀 >
丙年常年期第十四主日:傳福音的門徒 吳智勳神父

今日福音記載耶穌派遣門徒傳福音,我們就以「傳福音的門徒」做反省。耶穌要門徒傳福音,似乎更重視傳福音者這個「人」,這人「是」甚麼似乎比他「做」甚麼更重要。

繼續閱讀 >