What is temptation? Why does God allow us to be tempted?

First Sunday of Lent

Genesis 2:7-9; 3:1-7

The LORD God formed man out of the clay of the ground and blew into his nostrils the breath of life, and so man became a living being. Then the LORD God planted a garden in Eden, in the east, and placed there the man whom he had formed. Out of the ground the LORD God made various trees grow that were delightful to look at and good for food, with the tree of life in the middle of the garden and the tree of the knowledge of good and evil. Now the serpent was the most cunning of all the animals that the LORD God had made. The serpent asked the woman, "Did God really tell you not to eat from any of the trees in the garden?" The woman answered the serpent: "We may eat of the fruit of the trees in the garden; it is only about the fruit of the tree in the middle of the garden that God said, 'You shall not eat it or even touch it, lest you die.'" But the serpent said to the woman: "You certainly will not die! No, God knows well that the moment you eat of it your eyes will be opened and you will be like gods who know what is good and what is evil." The woman saw that the tree was good for food, pleasing to the eyes, and desirable for gaining wisdom. So she took some of its fruit and ate it; and she also gave some to her husband, who was with her, and he ate it. Then the eyes of both of them were opened, and they realized that they were naked; so they sewed fig leaves together and made loincloths for themselves.

Romans 5:12-19

Brothers and sisters: Through one man sin entered the world, and through sin, death, and thus death came to all men, inasmuch as all sinned— for up to the time of the law, sin was in the world, though sin is not accounted when there is no law. But death reigned from Adam to Moses, even over those who did not sin after the pattern of the trespass of Adam, who is the type of the one who was to come. But the gift is not like the transgression. For if by the transgression of the one, the many died, how much more did the grace of God and the gracious gift of the one man Jesus Christ overflow for the many. And the gift is not like the result of the one who sinned. For after one sin there was the judgment that brought condemnation; but the gift, after many transgressions, brought acquittal. For if, by the transgression of the one, death came to reign through that one, how much more will those who receive the abundance of grace and of the gift of justification come to reign in life through the one Jesus Christ. In conclusion, just as through one transgression condemnation came upon all, so, through one righteous act, acquittal and life came to all. For just as through the disobedience of the one man the many were made sinners, so, through the obedience of the one, the many will be made righteous.

Matthew 4:1-11

At that time Jesus was led by the Spirit into the desert to be tempted by the devil. He fasted for forty days and forty nights, and afterwards he was hungry. The tempter approached and said to him, "If you are the Son of God, command that these stones become loaves of bread." He said in reply, "It is written: One does not live on bread alone, but on every word that comes forth from the mouth of God." Then the devil took him to the holy city, and made him stand on the parapet of the temple, and said to him, "If you are the Son of God, throw yourself down. For it is written: He will command his angels concerning you and with their hands they will support you, lest you dash your foot against a stone." Jesus answered him, "Again it is written, You shall not put the Lord, your God, to the test." Then the devil took him up to a very high mountain, and showed him all the kingdoms of the world in their magnificence, and he said to him, "All these I shall give to you, if you will prostrate yourself and worship me." At this, Jesus said to him, "Get away, Satan! It is written: The Lord, your God, shall you worship and him alone shall you serve." Then the devil left him and, behold, angels came and ministered to him.

The subject matter of this Sunday’s Readings focuses on “temptation”. There are countless temptations that each of us faces but there are two great temptations in the human history which have brought a tremendous repercussion in our lives. The first one, recounted in the First Reading, plunges the human race into sin with the consequence of condemnation and death. The second one, recounted in the Gospel Reading, begins the way back in victory with the consequence of justification and eternal life. In the Second Reading, St Paul summarizes neatly the parallels and the contrasts of the two great temptations: sin is overcome by grace, condemnation by justification and death by eternal life. But what is temptation and why does God allow us to be tempted?

Temptation generally means a desire/urge to do or have something that we know we should not do or have. But why do we desire to do or have something that is wrong or unwise? The reason is none other than what is presented to Eve, “ . . . the tree was good for food, pleasing to the eyes, and desirable for gaining wisdom” (Gn 3:6), that is, temptation works by appealing to our physical, aesthetic or intellectual senses. Temptation is most appealing when it contains some degree of truth; and is strongest when it disguises under the appearance of goodness so that self-gratification can be justified. According to the teachings of Christianity, temptation is the enticement to disobey God’s words, with the objective to distort God’s way or to defy God’s will. While Christians understand that temptation comes from the devil, the flesh and the world, the nature of the bait is the same. In short, temptation is an invitation to walk away from the path that leads to God; to incite us to obtain satisfactions different from what God intends.

In English, the word “temptation” usually carries a negative connotation; but in Hebrew and Greek, the word has a broader meaning. It can also mean “testing”, like the testing of Abraham and Job (rf Gen 22:1, Job 1-2). Jesus, being God Himself, cannot be tempted; but as the incarnate Son of God, He can be tested (rf Jas 1:13). If God the Father allowed His son to be tested, we can be sure that we have no exemption. Testing allows us to prove our character, to reveal the depth and integrity of our faith in God. Like flexing the muscle in order to strengthen it, every temptation can be an opportunity to help us grow in our spiritual lives and enhance our spiritual health. In the process of struggling with temptation, we become more mature in moral formation and in volition. We learn to handle our given freedom properly and come to realize our shortcomings and weaknesses. Temptation thus can be a guard rail for us lest we mislead ourselves into over confidence and self-reliance. “Temptations are very profitable to man, troublesome and grievous though they may be, for in them a man is humbled, purified and instructed” (Imitation of Christ Bk 1 Ch 13). St Leo the Great also said: “Virtue is nothing without the trial of temptation, for there is no conflict without an enemy, no victory without strife”.

Thus, sin occurs if we are conquered by temptation like Eve and David (rf Gn 3:6, 2 Sam 11:1-5). Joseph, enticed by the chief steward Potiphar’s wife, is a great example of one who does not let temptation to take root and become sin (rf Gen 39:6-12). Saints overcome many temptations in order to be purified and perfected in their virtues. St. Paul shares with us his own struggle, “when I want to do right, evil is at hand. For I take delight in the law of God, in my inner self, but I see in my members another principle at war with the law of my mind” (Rm7:22-23). He gives some advice on avoiding situations that may lead to temptation: “conduct ourselves properly as in the day, not in orgies and drunkenness, not in promiscuity and licentiousness, not in rivalry and jealousy. But put on the Lord Jesus Christ, and make no provision for the desires of the flesh” (Rm 13:14). The good news is that as Christians we do not face temptation alone, for we have a Savior who has fought and struggled with temptation and is always victorious (rf Hebrews 2:18). God “will provide the way out” when we are tempted (1 Cor 10:13), but it is our responsibility to be vigilant, especially at the onset of a temptation. “Fire tries iron, and temptation a just man. We often know not what we are able to do, but temptations discover what we are” (Imitation of Christ Bk 1 Ch 13).

Therefore, we should not be afraid or despair when we are tempted. With patience, true humility and prayers and by the grace of God, little by little, we can make progress. Yes, God does not preclude us from temptations but He sustains us in the midst of them (rf Hebrew 4:15–16).

Posted: March 1, 2020

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


Other Sunday Reflections

Remember!
Turn our gaze and see with eyes of an enlightened heart Continue Reading >
Life is a Test and Temporary Assignment
"The way you see your life shapes your life" (Rick Warren, The Purpose Driven Life, 41). Some people may see life as a journey, or a roller coaster (up and… Continue Reading >
"The holy Spirit … will teach you everything and remind you of all that [I] told you” (Jn 14:26)
The voice of the Holy Spirit may become clearer if we listen and pray with a faithful heart. Continue Reading >

什麼是誘惑?為什麼天主容許我們受到誘惑?

四旬期第一主日

創世紀 2:7-9; 3:1-7

上主天主用地上的灰土,形成了人,在他鼻孔內,吹了一口生氣,人就成了一個有靈的生物。上主天主在伊甸東部,種植了一個樂園,就將他形成的人,安置在裡面。上主天主使地面生出各種好看好吃的果樹;生命樹和知善惡樹在樂園中央。在上主天主所造的一切野獸中,蛇是最狡猾的。蛇對女人說:「天主真說了,你們不可以吃樂園中,任何樹上的果子嗎?」女人對蛇說:「樂園中樹上的果子,我們都可以吃;只有樂園中央,那棵樹上的果子,天主說過,你們不可以吃,也不可觸摸,免得死亡。」蛇對女人說:「你們決不會死!因為天主知道,你們那天吃了這果子,你們的眼就會開了,將如同天主一樣知道善惡。」女人看那棵果樹,實在好吃好看,令人羨慕,且能增加智慧,於是摘下一個果子吃了,又給了她的男人一個;他也吃了。於是,兩人的眼立即開了,發覺自己赤身露體,於是用無花果樹葉,編了裙子,圍著身體。

羅馬書 5:12-19

弟兄姊妹們:就如罪惡藉著一人,進入了世界,死亡藉著罪惡,也進入了世界;這樣,死亡就殃及了眾人,因為眾人都犯了罪。沒有法律之前,罪惡已經在世界上,雖然因為沒有法律,罪惡本應不算為罪惡。但從亞當起,直到梅瑟,死亡卻作了王,連那些沒有像亞當一樣,違法犯罪的人,也屬它權下;這亞當原是那未來亞當的預像。但恩寵決不是過犯所能相比的,因為如果因一人的過犯,大眾都死了;那麼,天主的恩寵,及那因耶穌基督一人的恩寵,所施與的恩惠,更要豐富地洋溢到大眾身上。這恩惠的效果,也不是那因一人犯罪的結果,所能相比的,因為審判固然是由於一人的過犯而來,被判定罪,但恩寵卻使人在犯了許多過犯之後,獲得成義。如果因一人的過犯,死亡就因那一人,作了王,那麼,那些豐富地蒙受了恩寵和正義恩惠的人,更要藉著耶穌基督一人,在生命中為王了。這樣看來:就如因一人的過犯,眾人都被定了罪,同樣,也因一人的正義行為,眾人也都獲得了正義和生命。正如因一人的悖逆,大眾都成了罪人,同樣,因一人的服從,大眾都成了義人。

瑪竇福音 4:1-11

那時候,耶穌被聖神領到曠野,為受魔鬼的試探。他四十天四十夜禁食,後來就餓了。試探者就前來對耶穌說:「你如果是天主子,就命令這些石頭變成餅吧!」耶穌回答說:「經上記載:『人生活不只靠餅,也靠天主所說的一切話。』」那時,魔鬼引耶穌到了聖城,使他站在聖殿頂上,對他說:「你如果是天主子,就跳下去,因經上記載:『他為你吩咐了自己的天使,用手托著你,免得你的腳碰在石頭上。』」耶穌對魔鬼說:「經上又記載:『你不可試探上主,你的天主!』」魔鬼又把耶穌帶到一座極高的山上,將普世萬國及其榮華,指給他看,對他說:「你如果俯伏朝拜我,我必把這一切交給你。」那時,耶穌就對魔鬼說:「去吧!撒旦!因為經上記載:『你要朝拜上主,你的天主,唯獨事奉他。』」於是,魔鬼離開了耶穌,就有天使前來伺候耶穌。

本週讀經的中心思想圍繞著「誘惑」。我們每個人都會面對着無數的誘惑,但人類歷史上有兩次重大的誘惑,對我們的生命影響深遠。第一個誘惑記載於讀經一,陷人類於罪惡,結果是譴責和死亡。第二個誘惑紀錄在福音讀經,是勝利之路,結果是公義和永生。在讀經二,聖保祿簡潔地摘要了這兩次重大的誘惑的異同:恩典戰勝罪惡,公義戰勝譴責,永生戰勝死亡。但究竟什麼是誘惑?為什麼天主會容許我們受到誘惑?

誘惑通常意味著一個渴望或慾念,去做或擁有一些我們知道不應該做或擁有的事物。但為什麼我們會渴望做或擁有不對或不智的事物呢?原因就正如展示給厄娃的誘惑一樣:「. . .果樹實在好吃好看,令人羨慕,且能增加智慧」 (創 3:6) ,即是說,誘惑吸引人的感官、美學或智能。含有某程度真理的誘惑最吸引人;而最大的誘惑是當誘惑偽裝成良善,讓人把自我的滿足合理化。根據基督宗教的教導,誘惑慫恿人不服從天主的話,目的是扭曲天主之道或違抗天主的旨意。儘管基督徒明白誘惑是來自魔鬼、肉身和世界,但誘餌的性質是相同的。簡而言之,誘惑讓人偏離往天主的道路;促使我們獲得並非天主旨意的滿足。

「誘惑」這詞在英文通常都帶有負面的意思;但在希伯來文和希臘文,這詞語有一個較廣闊的意思。這詞的意思可以是「試探」,像亞巴郎和約伯的試探(參 創 22:1, 約 1-2)。耶穌身為天主,不能被試探;但作為取得肉軀降生為人的天主子,祂則可以受試探 (參 雅 1:13)。如果天父容許祂的兒子受試探,那麼可以肯定地,我們也不能倖免被試探的。試探讓我們證明自己的品格,顯示出我們信仰天主的深度和氣節。就像為了增強肌肉而鍛鍊一樣,每一次在誘惑中掙扎都是一個機會,幫助我們在屬靈生活中成長,增強我們的靈性健康。在對抗誘惑的過程中,培養我們的品德和意志,使其日趨成熟。我們學會正確地利用所獲得的自由,從而了解自己的不足和弱點。因此,誘惑是我們的防護欄,以免我們陷於過度自信和依賴自己。「儘管誘惑會帶來麻煩和痛苦,對於人卻大有裨益,讓人謙卑、淨化和獲得教導 (Imitation of Christ Bk 1 Ch 13)。」聖良一世曾說過:「沒有試探和誘惑的鍛鍊,成就不了美德,因為沒有敵人就不會有衝突,沒有衝突就不會有勝利」。

因此,如果我們像厄娃和達味那樣,被誘惑征服,就會衍生罪惡 (參 創 3:6, 撒下 11:1-5)。若瑟沒有被衛隊長普提法爾的妻子引誘到,是一個不讓誘惑扎根而成為罪惡的好榜樣 (參 創 39:6-12)。聖人也需克服許多誘惑,使自己的德行淨化和完美。聖保祿與我們分享他的掙扎:「當我願意為善的時候,總有邪惡依附著我。因為照我的內心,我是喜悅天主的法律;可是,我發覺在我的肢體內,另有一條法律,與我理智所贊同的法律交戰」。(羅 7:22-23)他又給我們一些建議,避開一些可能引起誘惑的情況:「行動要端莊,好像在白天一樣,不可狂宴豪飲,不可淫亂放蕩,不可爭鬥嫉妒;但該穿上主耶穌基督;不應只掛念肉性的事,以滿足私慾」(羅 13:14)。好消息是作為基督徒,我們不會孤身作戰面對誘惑,因為我們有一位曾與誘惑搏鬥而常勝的救世主(參 希 2:18)。我們受到誘惑時,天主「必開一條出路」(格前 10:13),但我們的責任是保持警惕,尤其是誘惑剛開始時。「火冶鐵,誘惑煉人修成正義。我們通常不知道自己的能力,誘惑卻會讓我發現自己是怎樣的人」(Imitation of Christ Bk 1 Ch 13)。

因此,我們受到誘惑時,不要害怕或沮喪。要以耐心、真正的謙卑和禱告,藉著天主的恩寵,我們可以一步步的成長。對,天主沒有免我們於誘惑,卻會在我們被誘惑時支撐我們,免於跌倒(參 希4:15–16)。

Posted: March 1, 2020

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


其他主日反省

謹記!
轉一轉我們的注視,以被光照的心眼來看 繼續閱讀 >
甲年(瑪竇) 耶穌升天節:做個容易受傷的基督徒
今天第一、二篇讀經提到耶穌受難、死亡、復活、升天及坐在天主的... 繼續閱讀 >
生活是考驗和臨時任務
「你看待生活的方式塑造了你的生活」(Rick Warren,... 繼續閱讀 >