What kind of tenants are we?

Twenty-seventh Sunday in Ordinary Time

Isaiah 5:1-7

Let me now sing of my friend, my friend's song concerning his vineyard. My friend had a vineyard on a fertile hillside; he spaded it, cleared it of stones, and planted the choicest vines; within it he built a watchtower, and hewed out a wine press. Then he looked for the crop of grapes, but what it yielded was wild grapes. Now, inhabitants of Jerusalem and people of Judah, judge between me and my vineyard: What more was there to do for my vineyard that I had not done? Why, when I looked for the crop of grapes, did it bring forth wild grapes? Now, I will let you know what I mean to do with my vineyard: take away its hedge, give it to grazing, break through its wall, let it be trampled! Yes, I will make it a ruin: it shall not be pruned or hoed, but overgrown with thorns and briers; I will command the clouds not to send rain upon it. The vineyard of the LORD of hosts is the house of Israel, and the people of Judah are his cherished plant; he looked for judgment, but see, bloodshed! for justice, but hark, the outcry!

Philippians 4:6-9

Brothers and sisters: Have no anxiety at all, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, make your requests known to God. Then the peace of God that surpasses all understanding will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus. Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is gracious, if there is any excellence and if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things. Keep on doing what you have learned and received and heard and seen in me. Then the God of peace will be with you.

Matthew 21:33-43

Jesus said to the chief priests and the elders of the people: "Hear another parable. There was a landowner who planted a vineyard, put a hedge around it, dug a wine press in it, and built a tower. Then he leased it to tenants and went on a journey. When vintage time drew near, he sent his servants to the tenants to obtain his produce. But the tenants seized the servants and one they beat, another they killed, and a third they stoned. Again he sent other servants, more numerous than the first ones, but they treated them in the same way. Finally, he sent his son to them, thinking, 'They will respect my son.' But when the tenants saw the son, they said to one another, 'This is the heir. Come, let us kill him and acquire his inheritance.' They seized him, threw him out of the vineyard, and killed him. What will the owner of the vineyard do to those tenants when he comes?" They answered him, "He will put those wretched men to a wretched death and lease his vineyard to other tenants who will give him the produce at the proper times." Jesus said to them, "Did you never read in the Scriptures: The stone that the builders rejected has become the cornerstone; by the Lord has this been done, and it is wonderful in our eyes? Therefore, I say to you, the kingdom of God will be taken away from you and given to a people that will produce its fruit."

The allegorical parable in this Sunday’s Gospel reading, adapted by Jesus from Isaiah’s “Song of the Vineyard” (First Reading), is undoubtedly directed at His opponents (rf Mt 21:45). In Jesus’ time, it is common that many vineyard owners were rich absentee landlords who lived in cities away from their properties. The tenant farmers were the ones who tended the vineyard but had to pay rent, taxes and other social dues. And if nature were not cooperative, more than often, they could hardly make ends meet.

However, in the parable, the antagonist is not the landlord but the tenants. It is the landlord who meticulously prepared his vineyard for his tenants to attend. Likewise, in Isaiah, the owner has done all he could for the well being of his vineyard. Whether it is due to greed or frustration that the tenants have been driven to violence; or for any reasons that the vineyard yields wild grapes, justice is on the side of the landlord and the vineyard owner. For in both cases, the tenants and the vineyard do not give their expected dues. But while in Isaiah’s allegory, the problem lies with Israel itself (rf Is 5:7); in Jesus’ parable, it is with the leadership of Israel.

In the Old Testament, “vineyard” is a common metaphor for God’s chosen people and God is the vine grower (rf Is 5:7, 27:2-6; Ps 80:8-16; Jer 2:21; Ez 17:5-10, 19:10-14; Hos 10:1). In the New Testament, the kingdom of heaven is compared to a vineyard and in Jesus’ Last Discourse, He addresses Himself as the vine and God is the vine-dresser (rf Mt 20:1-8, 21:33-41; Jn 15 1-7). In Lumen Gentium (Dogmatic Constitution on the Church 1964), “vineyard” is one of the many different images of the Church. She is “a piece of land to be cultivated, the tillage of God . . .That land, like a choice vineyard, has been planted by the heavenly Husbandman” (LG Par 6).

In both the Old and the New Testaments, God often threatens to prune or even uproot the unproductive vine (rf Is 5:5-6; Mt 7:17-20). Before Jesus starts His public ministry, John the Baptist echoes a similar warning to the Jewish people regarding their presumptuous attitude of ancestral tie, “. . . every tree therefore that is not bringing forth good fruit is to be cut down and thrown into the fire” (Mt 3:10). Jesus makes it even clearer with the parable, “that the kingdom of God will be taken away from you and will be given to a people yielding its fruits” (Mt 21:43). But the demand to produce good fruits is not just for the Jewish people at that time; it is the same for us as of today.

In baptism, we have given our assent to bear witness of who we are, that is, to grow in faith and to manifest this commitment in our daily lives. However, the indelible mark of our baptism does not exempt us from becoming a fallen branch that could be removed. As members of the Church, we should endeavour to produce fruits that can help to build up the Church like offering our time and talents in the various ministries of our parishes, reaching out to the needy and stray members or engaging in charitable services and works of the church etc. Internally, we should strive for the fruits of holiness that St Paul enumerates as love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control (rf Gal 5:22-23). Whether producing fruits collectively or individually, the Church, as the New Israel is to be in union with Christ, the true vine “who gives life and the power to bear abundant fruit to the branches, that is, to us, who through the Church remain in Christ without whom we can do nothing” (LG Par 6).

Perhaps we should remember that we are only tenants and the stewardship that we are given will be taken away if we do not tend the vineyard properly and make it fruitful for its owner.

Posted: October 4, 2020

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


Other Sunday Reflections

How do we prepare for Advent in this unprecedented time?
In the beginning of the Advent season, we are waiting, watching, expecting, and preparing ourselves for the coming of a Savior. With the entire globe weathering COVID-19, the highly infectious… Continue Reading >
The Shepherd and the King
Jesus is no ordinary king. Like David, his Old Testament type, he is a Shepherd-King. Continue Reading >
Is the rich getting richer and the poor getting poorer?
In God's kingdom of eternal joy, there is no shortage of resources nor discrimination of treatment. Continue Reading >

我們是怎樣的園戶?

常年期第二十七主日

依撒意亞先知書 5:1-7

我要為我的愛友,謳唱一首有關他葡萄園的情歌:我的愛友,有一座葡萄園,位於肥沃的山崗上;他翻掘了土地,除去了石塊,栽種了精選的葡萄樹,園中築了一座守望台,又鑿了一個榨酒池。他原希望葡萄園出產好葡萄,但它卻出產了野葡萄。耶路撒冷的居民和猶大人啊!現在請你們,在我與我葡萄園之間,判別是非:我為我的葡萄園所能做的,還有什麼沒有做到?我原希望它出產好葡萄,為什麼卻出產了野葡萄?現在,我要告訴你們,我將怎樣對待我的葡萄園:我必撤去它的籬笆,讓它被吞噬;拆毀它的圍牆,讓它受踐踏;我要使他變成荒地,不再修剪,不再耕鋤;荊棘和蒺藜,將叢叢而生;並且我要命令雲彩,不再給它降下時雨。萬軍上主的葡萄園,就是以色列家,而猶大人,即是他鍾愛的幼苗。上主原希望正義,看,竟是流血;上主原希望公平,看,卻是冤聲!

斐理伯書 4:6-9

你們什麼也不要掛慮,只在一切事上,以懇求和祈禱,懷著感謝之心,向天主呈上你們的請求;這樣,天主那超乎各種意想的平安,必要在基督耶穌內,固守你們的心思念慮。此外,弟兄們!凡是真實的,凡是高尚的,凡是正義的,凡是純潔的,凡是可愛的,凡是榮譽的,不管是美德,不管是稱譽:這一切,你們都該思念;凡你們在我身上所學得的,所領受的,所聽見的,所看到的:這一切,你們都該實行。這樣,賜平安的天主,必與你們同在。

瑪竇福音 21:33-43

那時候,耶穌對司祭長和民間長老說:「你們再聽一個比喻吧!從前有一個家主,培植了一個葡萄園,周圍圍上籬笆,園內掘了一個榨酒池,築了一座守望台,把它租給園戶,就離開了本國。快到收成的時候,家主打發僕人,到園戶那裡,去收取果子。園戶捉住了僕人,將一個鞭打了,將一個殺死了,將另一個用石頭砸死了。家主再打發一些僕人去,人數比以前還多;園戶也照樣對待了他們。「最後,家主打發自己的兒子,到園戶那裡去。家主心想:他們會敬重我的兒子。「但園戶一看見是兒子,就彼此說:這是繼承人,來!我們殺掉他,我們就能得到他的產業。於是,園戶捉住家主的兒子,把他推到葡萄園外面,殺了。「那麼,當葡萄園的主人回來時,他要怎樣處置那些園戶呢?」司祭長和民間長老回答說:「要凶惡地消滅那些凶惡的人,把葡萄園,另租給按時給他繳納出產的園戶。」耶穌對他們說:「『匠人棄而不用的石頭,反而成了屋角的基石;那是上主的所作所為,在我們眼中,神妙莫測』這句經文,你們沒有讀過嗎?「為此,我對你們說:天主的國,必由你們當中奪去,而交給結果實的外邦人。」

今個星期的福音讀經,是耶穌從 《依撒意亞先知書》「葡萄園的愛歌」(第一篇讀經)改編而成的比喻. 毫無疑問,這個比喻.是針對祂的對頭人的、(參 瑪 21:45)。在耶穌的時代,一般葡萄園的園主都是住在市鎮,遠離自己田產的富人。園戶才是種植和管理葡萄園的人,他們需要付租金、稅款及其他社區雜項開支,要是那一年大自然不配合,收成不好,很多時他們會難以維持生計。

但在比喻中,反派不是園主而是園戶。園主精心準備了葡萄園,供園戶耕耘。同樣,在《依撒意亞先知書》裡的家主,花盡心思,為了葡萄園的好處,能做的,都做了。不管是因為貪婪或遭受挫折讓園戶變得暴力;或因其他理由使葡萄園結出野葡萄,公義都站在家主和葡萄園主人的一方。因為在這兩個情況中,園戶和葡萄園都沒有繳納該付的田產。在依撒意亞的比喻,問題出自以色列本身 (參 依 5:7);而在耶穌的比喻,癥結在於以色列的領袖。

在舊約,「葡萄園」這詞通常是暗喻天主的選民,而天主是種植葡萄的園丁 (參 依 5:7, 27:2-6; 詠 80:8-16; 耶 2:21; 則 17:5-10, 19:10-14; 歐 10:1)。在新約,天國則被喻為葡萄園,, 而耶穌在最後的講道中,形容自己是葡萄樹,而天主是園丁(參 瑪 20:1-8, 21:33-41; 若 15 1-7)。在 Lumen Gentium (梵蒂岡第二屆大公會議文獻《教會》教義憲章 1964),「葡萄園」是教會其中一個象徵,「她是一塊農田,天主的農場 . . . 教會是天上的『農人』所種的特選葡萄園」(《教會》第6段)。

在舊約和新約中,天主經常恫嚇要修剪甚至剷除不結果的葡萄樹 (參 依 5:5-6; 瑪 7:17-20)。在耶穌開始公開傳教之前,洗者若翰曾向猶太人發出類似的警告,叫他們不要因為祖先的關係而流於自大傲慢,「凡不結好果子的樹,必被砍倒,投入火中」(瑪 3:10)。而耶穌的比喻說得更為清晰:「天主的國,必由你們中奪去,而交給結果子的外邦人」(瑪 21:43)。但結好果子不是單單要求當時的猶太人;也同樣要求今天的我們。

在聖洗聖事中,我們表明願意為自己的身份作證,就是說,在信德中日趨成熟,並在日常生活中履行這個承諾。但聖洗這不可磨滅的印記,卻不是可豁免我們不會成為腐敗的枝幹並被切除。作為教會的成員,我們應努力嘗試結出可以幫助建設教會的好果子,例如:我們可以為堂區的不同事工奉獻自己的時間和才幹、向有需要或迷途的成員伸出援手、或參與教會的慈善服務和工作等等。對自己,我們應努力結出如聖保祿列舉至聖的果實:仁愛、喜樂、平安、忍耐、良善、溫和、忠信、柔和、節制 (參 迦 5:22-23)。無論是個人或團體結出的果子,教會作為新以色列,要與基督,那真的葡萄樹,共融,因為「祂賜給我們為樹枝者以生命和結果的能力,我們藉着教會存在於基督內,沒有祂我們什麼也不能作」(《教會》第6段)。

也許我們應該謹記,我們只是園戶,如果不打理好葡萄園,讓園主收穫豐盛的話,我們被付予的管理權是會被撤回的。

Posted: October 4, 2020

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


其他主日反省

甲年(瑪竇) 常年期第廿七主日:做個感恩的人 吳智勳神父

今日福音的比喻是接著上星期的,對象也是司祭長和民間長老。耶穌說這比喻的時候,是祂榮進耶路撒冷之後,並且已經和當權者發生過正面衝突;接二連三的比喻,都是耶穌給予他們震撼性的當頭棒喝。

繼續閱讀 >